Lake Tholocco RV Park & Campground

 
3.6 (39)
67519 1 17 0 29

User reviews

39 reviews

 
(14)
 
(12)
 
(3)
 
(7)
 
(3)
Overall rating 
 
3.6
Location 
 
3.4  (39)
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.7  (39)
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.2  (39)
Value 
 
3.8  (39)
Overall Experience 
 
3.8  (39)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
39 results - showing 21 - 39
1 2
Ordering
20 Oct 2010
(Updated: October 25, 2010)
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
I have stayed at this campground several times and enjoyed the experience. However, on the last occasion the campsites which have easy to get satellite signals were occupied by rental trailers which did not even use satellite. I believe this was very short sighted of the decision making for rental trailers. My wife does not like to fish so the TV is her only recreation while we stay there and off the air TV is very limited. Other than that I really like the area. Since I never stay beyond 1 black water tank lack of sewer is not a problem.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
2 July 2010
Overall rating 
 
2.4
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
1.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
I live in the area and have stayed here a number of times. The big turn-off to most is the lack of sewer (oh well) and the sad shape of the bathrooms. I was out on a drive lately and went down to the campground. I am happy to report it appears they are building a new, modern bathroom facility. It is large enough that it may even have a small laundry area? but I don't know for sure. The steel frame skeleton was being erected the day I was there. It is three times the size of the old one. More to follow.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
Dec. 8 - 9, 2009
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
2.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
J.O. left this review using the Directory software: We enjoyed our stay at the RV park. Out side of the whirlybirds during the day it was very peaceful and quiet.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
November 4, 2009
Overall rating 
 
1.0
Location 
 
1.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
1.0
Value 
 
1.0
Overall Experience 
 
1.0
On Wednesday, November 4th, 2009, my wife and I drove our car up to Ft. Rucker from Panama City Beach. Primary mission was to visit the audiology clinic. Secondary mission was to check out the Engineer Beach camp site. We did not stop at the office or check the bathroom facilities. The June 2008 review was right on: 1. The cost is not in line with other campsites because there is no sewer hookup. 2. The last 2 (appx) miles of the road is gravel, full of holes and dusty. 3. I used Microsoft Streets and Trips to find it. Very few of the roads are labeled in that program. However, the directions given on how to get there from the Daleville Gate are quite good. All of the streets are well marked - just keep your eyes open. 4. The site is a long way from anything else on the base. However, the PX,commissary and class 6 stores are well stocked! Also the day we were there, fuel (gas) was about 4 cents cheaper than outside. This was surprising because the fuel at Tyndall AFB runs about a penny MORE than outside! At least it was the last time we were there. 5. The lake front by the site is off limits, but I wouldn't want to swim there anyway. I know this review is a "slam dunk", but with so many other sites that are better, I know I will not be camping there.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 2
June 2008- July 2008, and then a weekend in Nov. 2
Overall rating 
 
1.9
Location 
 
1.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
1.0
Value 
 
1.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0
The cost of the campground is okay, it would be much better if there was sewer hook up. The camp boss and his wife are amazing, and made the stay much more pleasurable!! The bathrooms were very clean and the camp boss and his wife made sure it was not just cleaned, but properly sanitized, I was impressed. The dirt/gravel road is a nightmare if you like a clean car. The campground is a bit confusing to find, and unless you know it area, it's very hard to find the commissary and px- the campground is located on a very beautiful lake with a beach/water park close by. My children loved the beach, but you have to drive to the beach. The water around the campground is off limits. The rustic spots are priced just right, but the new spots are priced far to high, esp. compared to other campgrounds around, Fort Benning has amazing sites, with cable, phone, water, sewage, and a swimming pool, for the same price as only water and elec. at Lake Tholocco- something doesn't seem right about that. The price needs to be adjusted! There are a ton of pilots that live there, so they take up the rustic spots, which means you are most likely going to have to go to the "modern" site and pay a lot more for a cement pad.
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 2
November 21 and 22, 2008
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
I found this to be a nice campground. The bathrooms and showers are old, but very clean. I did not go anywhere on base, so cannot comment on anything there. I did enter the GPS coordinates and had a hard time finding. Changed it to Johnson Rd. (anywhere) at Ft. Rucker and it got me to the main gate sort of. If you turn off US 84 onto state 85, it will take you right to the main gate. From there, straight ahead until you come to signs that will take you right to the RV Park and the Outdoor Rec. office. After I got into my site, #4, I entered the GPS coordinates again and it said I had 9.8 miles to go and showed the destination on the other side of the lake. Staff was friendly.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
30 Aug - 2 Sep 2008
Overall rating 
 
3.4
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Park Staff helpful and accommodated last minute Labor Day Weekend booking that we wanted as I had to evacuate LA for Hurricane Gustav. We enjoyed Scenic Site 7 on outside of loop. Could have stood a little forest debris cleanup, but was right up against woods so some natural debris is acceptable to me. Campground never filled, staff thinks due to no sewer hookups and has availability year round for this reason. Nice to have concrete pad and 50 AMPs. I thought I parked pretty well but was too close to Shepherds Crook Light Pole to easily use awning - my fault or theirs? Dump station was fine. Bathhouse was clean but dated and concrete shower floor paint was very worn. We don't usually use the "facilities" and for a short no more than one black tank full visit worked out very well for us. Never met the "Camp Boss".
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
July 25 to August 1, 2008
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We enjoyed Lake Tholocco and our camping experience. We stayed in number 24, one of the new modern sites. Our campsite needed much attention. We carry a weed eater and a blower in our Class A Monoco LaPalma so cleaning up the site wasn't a problem for us, however, it should have been done by whoever was in charge of grounds. Some of the long termers allowed their animals to roam the campground so we had to be careful where we stepped. Our little poodles came face to face with three large golden retrievers on more than one occasion while we walked them on a leash. We loved the fact that they take "golden access passes". It made our week stay very reasonable especially if one was on a fixed pension. We live less then 50 miles from Fort Rucker and had hopes this might be our next "Tyndell Fam Camp". We are not fully retired yet and because of that it gets harder and harder to find a spot during the winter months within our time frame. The helicopters flying at night are much quieter then the raptor which is a great plus. You can still talk when one flies overhead. LOL This place has so much potential to be a great place to camp if they would build a modern laundry and restroom/shower facility to go along with their modern sites, a recreation center to meet other campers and pave the road to the RV park. I just don't understand why they didn't put sewer and cable in when they built these new modern sites. The pavement stops after passing the entrance to the "new" lodging cabins. Hey Rucker lots of us RVER's on the road today looking for a good place to camp. Tyndall Fam Camp is the money maker for all of MWR. Why not give TYNDALL AFB fam camp a run for their money and draw people from all over this nation to Rucker? The #1 action to take.... remove "CAMP BOSS" and replace it with "CAMP HOST" Have a great day!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
June 2007 -June 2008
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
From first contact with the Lake Tholocco Lodging staff and through four visits in the last 12 months, enough cannot be said. The staff is professional, knowledgeable, friendly and use their knowledge and position to be of the greatest benefit of visitors. The campsite is remote and rustic, but has excellent reception for those who wish to keep up with their soaps and other TV programs. It's approximately one mile over gravelled clay from the bath house to the paved road. It's right on the lake with all the attnedant flying, crawly and other insects - bring your bug repellants. Ozark, about 15 miles from camp has most of your RV needs that aren't available at the PX. I found quality, inexpensive tires at Roadmart Tires and the only RV maintenance facility between Dothan and Montgomery at R.D.S. Mechanical Inc. Both places provided excellent professional service. Though some find the sound of Blackhawks overhead a disturbance, it is "The Sound of Freedom" to me. This is, for those unaware, a training base for America's warriors. If you have a problem being in the presence of young Americans preparing to fight your battles, try one of those camps out on the highway where you can listen to the roar of 18-wheelers passing by. Over-all: Ft. Rucker makes available the kind of RV experience advertised in every RV'ing media. You can't beat it!!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 1
Labor day weekend 2007
Overall rating 
 
2.2
Location 
 
2.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
1.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0
The outside "ring" has the new sites. About 2 yrs old and nice and level. The grading around them could have better, when it rains the water pools in front of your door instead of running off. They are also "suppose" to be for no more than 2 weeks at a time, but they don't follow their own rules. Some of them have had long term campers on them.(attending schools at Rucker or transient workers) I even called and asked why but received the "run-around" on my query. (The inside ring is suppose to be for the long term campers). The bathrooms are at the far northeast end and are in pretty bad shape. Don't know why when they put in the new pads the bathrooms weren't upgraded. My wife refuses to use them and I know some people while we were there left the very next day due to the deplorable shape of them. The gravel road isn't that bad, just slow down and you'll be fine. The campground has a concrete boat launch that you are authorized to use if a registered camper. Pretty quite except when the Apache helicopters are flying out to the firing range, then they go right over the campround at low level. A good value if you don't mind the gravel road and the bathrooms. Great for the fisherman, the Lake is producing good fish now.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
March 2007
Overall rating 
 
2.0
Location 
 
2.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0
Had heard about the nasty gravel road before arrival and took it real slow. Nice new concrete pads with new electricity and water hook ups, but why no sewer? The office has no parking area for RVs but was told on the phone the site number when reservation was made. Very, very dusty. Stayed there to visit family in Daleville but would stay at civilian park in Dothan next time.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
August 2007
Overall rating 
 
3.6
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Quite an improvement over the last 2 years. New campsites and better facilities. Easier to locate and improved office management. Roads are still dusty and a little rough, but not too bad. Would recommend to all military RVers who want peace and quiet and rustic surroundings.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
Drive thru on April 19, 2007
(Updated: April 21, 2007)
Overall rating 
 
2.0
Location 
 
2.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0
At least found signs this time to Engineer Beach RV Park, in 2002 it was almost impossible to find it (did not stay in 2002). Only improvement is the 30 modern sites around the rustic campsites. No one there to talk to. The parking lot for the playground and day visitors is being paved but the road to the RV park is deplorable. Our SUV was covered with dirt even after driving about 10 miles an hour on the road. Two pickup trucks seemed to think this road was for racing and almost ran us off the road. Would not take our 40' diesel pusher into this campground no matter how much discount you are given!
LA
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
March 2007
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
The campground had been cleaned up considerably. The new pads are level and large, with both back in and pull through sites. It is quiet (aside from the helicopters flying overhead on occasion) and rustic. The bathrooms/showers desperately need updating and a good cleaning, but since we don't use them it wasn't an issue for us. A bigger issue (and one that would keep us from staying longer than a week) is the lack of sewer hook-ups. However, the power was strong and the setting is beautiful. There are still some old units on the old sites, but they appear to have been cleaned up. The issue of no signs indicating that you should check in at the MWR office at the marina is a big one. However,it would have been almost impossibe for us to park our 36' 5th wheel there in any case. I would suggest calling ahead on the day of arrival to get your site number so you can set up and then go check in. The gravel road is dusty, but otherwise in pretty good shape. At $7.50/day (with a Golden Age Passport) it is a great deal and we would stay here again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
Feb 2007
Overall rating 
 
1.9
Location 
 
2.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
1.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0
Very rustic with no laundry and wouldn't dare use the showers. We also missed the office. I called and was told which site to go to, set up and check in later. Bad luck on first site. Plugged in, wires were crossed on pole and zapped our microwave and converter. Called back and was told to move to another site. Was only planning on staying a couple of days but had to stay over a week to get compensation for damage to our camper. Kept getting the run-a-round. We could not ride the motorcycle. Had to take the Fort Rucker safety course. Were told it would be $300.00. My husband has DE safety course but that was not accepted. Sorry but I was a very unhappy camper. I wish I had read the reviews before we camped here.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 4 0
Dec 2006
Overall rating 
 
1.8
Location 
 
1.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
1.0
Value 
 
1.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
I fully agree with the guy who rated this a one. We were lucky as we stopped by there without the trailer along. But had the same problems, dirty bathrooms, no signs for office, etc. Office women knew nothing and seemed like it was work to talk to you, also found this same thing when called on the phone. Price would be cheap if used Golden Access permit, conditions very rustic. The worst military one have seen so far. Could be a great place if was fixed up as is on a lake and nice location.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Nov 25 2006
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
The new sites are an improvement over the older sites. They have nice concrete pads with numbered, lighted electrical and water supply posts. Yes it is still down a gravel road, but it is quite and peaceful in the pine trees, with the exception of the occassional helicopter overhead. We had some coyotes serenade us over Thangksgiving. They have redone the dump station and it is easier to utilize then in the past. The new sites can not be utilized for long term camping. The personel have always been helpful to us. If you have a Golden Age Card or a Golden Access Card it is half price.
CG
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
April 2005
Overall rating 
 
1.0
Location 
 
1.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
1.0
Value 
 
1.0
Overall Experience 
 
1.0
Very poor as a military fam camp. Listing should state very, very rustic. Many rv's on perm type status, with no waste water hookups. Had to drive over other sites as our site could not be entered from road. Access road extremly dusty and rough. If I had known the camp and entry road condition I would not have taken the time to travel there. A very poor representation of the Army Aviation Center.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
Jun 2006
Overall rating 
 
1.0
Location 
 
1.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
1.0
Value 
 
1.0
Overall Experience 
 
1.0
This is the worst Military Campground we have ever visited. We could not find the campground office so drove directly to campground via a filthy,extremely dusty,washboarded road for a couple of miles only to find it filled with people living there. No one available to ask about camping facilities and availibility. It is true they are building some new sites, however, from what I saw at the campground they too will probably be lived in full time and there appears to be no plans to pave the road going to the campground. On the way out I found the office, located in the game wardens building, there was nothing to indicate that the campground office was there, I could barely get my rv into the parking lot to talk to the campground office personnel. They, the office personnel, were lackluster at best and showed no interest in assisting me with a campspot. I asked them why there weren't any signs posted explaining where the office was, why there weren't signs posted that one must drive down a rough and dusty road to get to a campground that was filled with campers with no posted site numbers and from what we could see...no spots available. The person in charge simply and nonchalantly asked me what I expected her to do. When I told her that they needed to post signs directing us to the campground office she had no response and regarding the issue ot the terrible road and the fact that the campground was filled with fulltimers she simply stated that no one else had ever complained about it. It is a disgrace to see a military campground in this condition and tended by such careless personnel.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
39 results - showing 21 - 39
1 2