Maxwell/Gunter AFB FamCamp

 
4.0 (61)
91507 0 21 1 24

User reviews

12 reviews with 3 stars

61 reviews

 
(17)
 
(32)
 
(10)
 
(1)
 
(1)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.1  (61)
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0  (61)
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.9  (61)
Value 
 
4.1  (61)
Overall Experience 
 
3.9  (61)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
12 results - showing 1 - 12
Ordering
May 2019
(Updated: May 17, 2019)
Overall rating 
 
2.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
I agree with all previous comments except for the poor visual maintenance and upkeep of the RV Park. The grass appears it hasn't been cut in a long time and lots of leaves have clumped around the curbs, low points and trees. Many of the tree limbs over the sites need to be trimmed too; many will drag on passing RVs. In some areas the weeds are over a foot tall. With the grounds not being taken care of, the park is dumpy simply because it looks dumpy and nowhere near the quality level of most other military parks. We feel bad for the families with kids who have to play here. In addition many of the sites have overhead shade shelters over the picnic table pad areas. Most have rust and are in need of cleaning/painting. The Air Force Base should be ashamed! It's a big distracter to step out of your RV into tall grass. No matter how good the restrooms/showers/washers are, the poor visual of the park leaves you with disappointment. The park needs a lot of TLC. Also, Wifi was not available/working; we used our own hotspot. We stayed for three nights in a fifth wheel. We might stay here again if the grounds are improved.
Maxwell/Gunter AFB FamCamp
Maxwell/Gunter AFB FamCamp
Maxwell/Gunter AFB FamCamp
Maxwell/Gunter AFB FamCamp
Maxwell/Gunter AFB FamCamp
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
3 - 5 Apr 18
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
Second time staying here and probably the last. Not because it is a bad place, but because we really have no reason to return to Montgomery. The big bump in the right lane at the front gate one reviewer mentioned appears to be the rails for a heavy vehicle defense gate. That bump will never go away. Still the same old trailers in the old section of the park being sold over and over to new students. Yeah, many look like crap, but if the Wg/CC and SPTG/CC are o.k. with it, who am I to judge? I had a wide open site long enough for my fifthwheel and truck. I should have entered the park using the road between the old softball field/new dog park and the RV park. Already had a site assigned when I reserved, so I parked at the site and walked to the office to register/pay. Nothing flashy at this park and sites are a bit close, but it is what it is.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 1
March 24, 2016
Overall rating 
 
2.6
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0
We were passing through and stopped to visit the Exchange and Commissary. While here we drove out to the Famcamp to see if things had changed since last time we were here. NO! They should call it Maxwell Trailer Park as most of the RVs looked as if they are there permanently. We stopped at the office just to see if there were any sites available and was told there wasn't. Yet when we drove out we found 2 sites with no indication that they were occupied. It looks like the good old boy network is operating very well here. That's fine because I don't know if I would stay here. I'm getting a little sick of the way the MWR facilities are being run today. They seem to not care about anything but the dollar coming in.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 3
Jan 2016
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
When did the "R" in MWR stand for residential?  The Fam Camp is no where to raise a child.  There were so many campers there that the campground looked like a housing area.  Children's toys, bycycles and storage under campers everywhere.  There are hardly places to eat nearby and the dining facility does not allow retirees to eat there, but the place is empty on the weekends.  How does this campground get by without a camp host?  We were here a whole month and never got to see the young man who was in the office when we paid for the month.  I can,t say if I'll return.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 2
Oct 11 - 19, 2010
Overall rating 
 
3.2
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
G.M. left this review using the Directory software: The office phone is hardly ever answered and they don't seem to return phone calls on a timely basis. The sites are decently laid out. The base facilities are typical (excellent) for an AFB.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
May 27, 2010
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
1.0
OK...Great campground. Problem is, it is saturated with senior officers going to school and they don't think that they have to be responsible for their pets (dogs). We are full timers (senior officer retired Navy) and checked in for a couple of days. Just touring around..spot was a little tough but nothing we couldn't deal with and knew in advance that we would need extensions. No problem. Had been on the road about 3 hours so our pups (2) need to do their "thing". We got positioned and parked and took our pups out for a stroll (poop bags in hand). First thing we noticed was MUCH dog crap in the grass around the RV's and then one dog charged ours because "it" was not on a leash. I think that a leash is required but not sure because we were never given any rules for the park. Maybe it's OK for your dog to crap where people walk (and no human pickup) and not be on a leash. Don't think so...then later another dog (bulldog) came into our space (at our RV no leash) and our border collie (on a leash) went nuts. Now I know that dogs should be socialized but when an aggressive bulldog charges...anyway we will definitely NOT be back because of the dog issue. Could be a GREAT park for retired (they know dog etiquette). Park host, or whatever he is, SHOULD enforce pet rules and he doesn't. Overworked..?? I think not. Leaving 2 days before we should. SUCKS man!!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
March 1, 2009
Overall rating 
 
2.8
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0
Had reservation for 2 days and got there around 10:30am on Sunday during a snow storm. List on door had about 15 people assigned to sites and said not to take a site that did not belong to you. Being 1st of month found several guys were changing sites. Someone had mine and was not around. I took empty one talked to couple people waiting to move but they had same problem as me there were people in their sites so they could not move. Now the good part, OFFICE IS CLOSED ON WEEKENDS ????? How is this possible no one working on busy time of week. After set up a guy come and knocked on door and said just for the record you are on my spot and I took another empty site. I stepped outside and said just for the record that big bus is in my spot so if you move him I will than also move. What a merry go around. The electric was off for couple hours so bad trip all around, snow storm, no electric and no site. Check my review from 2 years ago not much changed here just more overflow and more problems. I paid for 1 night and left, my advice is if at all possible try not to use this place.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 1
Oct 15, 2008
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
Has been several years since we stopped here and the campground was almost full. Office personnel stated AD can stay 6 months max and we can stay 3 months max. Strictly "no homesteading anymore" was his phrase! There are 14 new sites but whoever laid them out is not an RV'r. They are nice concrete pads for the RV with a picnic pad but the RV pad is too narrow and when you step out your door (diesel pusher) you step into grass. Picnic pad is in the middle and your picnic table is on the line of the site next to you. With slides out there is no room to walk around your coach. On the drivers side we had to go under the slide or walk around our neighbors picnic table to get to our utilities. Not a place I would stay for an extended period of time but a one nighter is okay. Also very tight going in and out of the gate with a 45' RV and tow vehicle and we had to actually go up the road turn around and come back to turn into the road into the campground. I guess that is why I saw about a half dozen class A's and the rest were trailers or 5th wheels.
L
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
Nov 2007
Overall rating 
 
3.5
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
New policy started in Oct. Unless student 90 day stay limit. Bathrooms need lots of work, showers dirty painting needed inside and out of building. Suppose to be no reservations but this seems to be not true depending on who you are. Are about 4 two weeks sites and you can go from overflow to one of them. BEWARE someone might get moved in front of you depending on who is in control of the office. Does not seem to be fair with the rules to all. Overflow has 4 spaces however I seen as much as 7 or 8 trailers here. Some only get electric. Park needs to expanded as plenty of room in field next to main grounds. Seems each year the overflow is harder to get into. Unless you really need the base for something the Army Corp of Eng about 10 miles away is much nicer at $8 a night with Golden Passport. Main gate has been under construcion for over one year, would not suggest bringing any kind of rv thru it. Seen one motorhome rub front side of new rig trying to get thru fence and another guy get flat tire on dolly from running over stuff coming that way.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 7 0
8 March 2007
Overall rating 
 
3.5
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
This Famcamp has become "always full" in recent years. We arrived at 1030 and got one of two sites in overflow (with water & electric). The other site was taken minutes later. Another arrival about an hour later was dry-camped near the picnic pavilion. A new addition in the campground is free WIFI! When I inquired about any stay limits, I was told by the host they have a 6 month limit (apart from the active duty students who normally are here aprox 10 mo). She also said they have a few sites set aside with 2 week limits. With that in mind, I did note one rig that has been in the same site every time I have been here in the past four years, and another in the same site at least two years. Rather curious... The campground is very pleasant. We always enjoy being here.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 8 0
Jan.18, 2007
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
Clean, easy to get in/out. Lots of sites, but lots of homesteaders, too. Lots for kids to explore, two playgrounds (one quite far off), but laundry and showers nearby. Only two W/D, though, and the showers are VERY mildewy smelling. My boys said the devils' spawn must be "going" in the men's restroom, because it was BAD! Late at night, I snuck them into the ladies to shower. Some recylcing on base across from commissary, not a good selection of organics at the comm. Nearby airfield but more noise from some train in the distance....
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 4 2
Sep 2005
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
Somewhat tight but level with mostly pull through gravel sites with covered tables and open patios.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
12 results - showing 1 - 12