Maxwell/Gunter AFB FamCamp

 
4.0 (61)
91507 0 21 1 24

User reviews

30 reviews with 4 stars

61 reviews

 
(17)
 
(32)
 
(10)
 
(1)
 
(1)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.1  (61)
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0  (61)
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.9  (61)
Value 
 
4.1  (61)
Overall Experience 
 
3.9  (61)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
30 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2
Ordering
April 9, 2018
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Maxwell/Gunther AFB $24 a day concrete slab RV site with electric/water/dump/covered picnic table Pros + Campsites were plentiful, there were quite a few empty while we were staying + Laundry room (.75 per wash/dry) + Bathhouses were handicap accessible, clean and temperature controlled + Ice Machine in laundry room free of charge + About 30 channels available through regular antenna + Good Verizon coverage + Fishing pond/fenced in dog park/baseball field/base gym within walking distance + Commissary/BX with food court nearby Cons - We struggled to find the RV park, use the previously mentioned directions in other reviews - BE CAREFUL with the many surprise dips in the road, no fault of the campground but the base has many RV unfriendly roads (especially at the Maxwell entrance) - USE A WATER REGULATOR, the water pressure is off the charts - Runway is nearby and we heard trains pretty consistently - WiFi signal was spotty +/- As others have mentioned there are a fair amount of full time residence in this park, that is due to the amount of schools located on this base. Anyone attending a school is authorized to stay in the FamCamp throughout their time on the base. We found the residents we interacted with to be not only welcoming but a great resource for things to do in the area. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
Feb 27, 2018
Overall rating 
 
3.6
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
We stopped for one night. Pay attention to the directions for arrival on the web site and you'll have no problem. Good satellite hookup and verizon signal was strong. Nice camp and we will stop again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
14-17 Jul 2016
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
I really like being able to call for a reservation. IMO it is MUCH better than being told to just show up and hope for a vacancy. Yes, there appears to be a LOT of long term residents. But, if you get a site, why does it matter? The park is not junkie looking. Sites 31-64 seem to be very long. I had site 60 and it was easily 75 feet long, maybe more. If you are assigned between site 7-30, I hope you have a coach that is not very tall. The trees near the end of those rows need serious trimming. A tall coach could easily get significant roof damage. If you are assigned to site 31-64, you might want to enter the park via the first entry road (right between the softball field and the rv park), then take the second driveway and loop around to pull into your site. Go to the office after you get set up. Besides, there is nowhere to park at the office to register. The entrance to the dog park is on the far side of the field. No wonder it gets so little use. The directions at the top to get to the base/park are accurate. I looked it up on Google maps, too. Helped make sense out of the first 3 left turns. March Rd, the one that goes around the end of the runway, is rough. The 35 mph speed limit is optimistic. Water pressure was good. Antenna pulled in a good selection of channels. Satellite reception is probably good, too. The lake area looked clean. The lack of geese is a big plus. Exiting the base was simply backtracking the entry route. If I had left during the Kelley Gate operating hours, it would have been much easier. Forget about entering via Kelley unless you can find a place to turn around after entering the base, such as the BX parking lot.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
17 Mar-7 Apr 2016
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
WARNING!  When coming through the main gate, make your way to the left lane.  There is a traffic bump just before the stop light that is very steep in the right lane.  Go slow!  We had to stay at Maxwell for three weeks to have damage fixed to our tow car from that speed bump.  I hit it at less than 10 MPH!  Rick, the manager went above and beyond to help us get a site for the time we were here.  Very nice bath and laundry rooms.  Sites are fairly level with good power and very high water pressure.  Use a pressure reducer!  Quite a few long-timers, both school students and retired.  WiFi is available throughout the park and works fairly well most of the time.  It does slow down in the early evening.  We did have a partial failure of the system during our last week here so we could not connect at our site (#63) at all.  Good Verizon 4G service and in our site and we were able to get a strong DTV satellite signal with our on-board satellite dish.  There is some train and road noise very close to the park.  Don’t recommend getting fresh fruits and veggies at the commissary.  They aren’t very fresh at all.  Exchange is adequate.  Highly recommend you visit Selma, AL while you are here.  Go to the National Historic Site visitor center to learn what to see in the town.  We highly recommend Jason’s Deli in Montgomery.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 2
21-22 Mar 16
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
CALL IN ADVANCE!! Stayed here at the end of 2013. A lot of improvements have been mad and still being made. Like before, the staff was extremely pleasant and helpful. We called in advance and made our reservation, so glad we did.. When we arrived they had only one additional space left and before I left the office it was taken. They said that the place pretty much stays full year round, so be sure to call in advance to make sure you can get a space. Since the last visit, the restrooms have been finished, more sites have been added and more trees for shade. The wifi has been apparently been upgraded. We were in site 47 and the signal was great, no matter what time of day it was. Some of the downfalls; the homesteading is still here. The building roof by the office has been ripped off by a motorhome not watching (massive damage to coach). BE AWARE OF THE LEFT SIDE ENTERING FamCamp !!!! Over-all a good stay...  Oh, one more thing... They acquired the old youth ball field at the end of the famcamp.... Now its a Dog Park!!! Its Hugh!! The dogs love it... All fenced, benches, trash cans and poop bags....(just wish people would use them) I would and have come back here... Can't wait to see what new improvements are made by our next visit.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
January 6, 2016
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
We stayed for a night passing through.  We were placed in the newer section of the park at a nice long pull thru with cement pad.  The park is very nice and seems to be kept up.  However there are quite a few long term residents that have lots of stuff around their sites that to me makes it feel like a trailer park.  Site was level, close to neighbors but not on top of each other.  No cable, but plenty of over the air channels.  WiFi was pretty much useless.  They recommend using a water pressure valve, which we did along with our filter and pressure was still good.  A very nice park that we would like to see in the summer with all of the available gear rentals by the lake.  Only heard one plane during our stay so can't complain about the noise.  However we did hear quite a few trains during our short stay.  Laundry was 75 cents per wash and dry cycle.  We would definitely return. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
December 2014
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Stayed one night while traveling from GA to TX. Made our reservation easily and found the site level and easy to get into. The directions were very good, although the gate guard (not military) said we came in the wrong gate ..... it was the one in the directions! It's a very nice campground that we will come back to for a longer visit.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
May 24-28 2014
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Were there Memorial Day weekend. Had reservations so we were able to go to our site. Nice accessible sites. However, minimal shade trees in the new section. Our site (#54) had direct sun all day long. Not able to get shade even under our canopy and it was dreadfully hot that weekend. Shower facilities and laundry decent. However, it appears they are in the process of building new facilities. Heed the warning about water pressure. It is HIGH. Commissary/BX very convenient to the famcamp. Overall, a decent place to stay--just would try to get a different facing site next time.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
23-26 December 2013
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Nice FamCamp. Large concrete pads but a bit close together. HIGH WATER PRESSURE!!! Be sure to use a pressure valve on the water!! Called in advance and had no problems getting a reservation. Assigned to a site over the phone. Be aware when coming into the FamCamp approaching the office, its a bit tight, watch the building on the left, it looks as if some travelers have tagged it a few times. It is a challenge to get into the office on a mobility scooter, no ramp. Some of the facilities are dated but, good news, they are building a new bath/laundry room. They did have free WiFi through out the area. From some of the old posting this place was in need of improvements, apparently they have listened and they are making the improvements that are needed. What would make this a great place is asphalt the rest of the roads and have some more space between the sites. I would go back and use this facility again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
8 March - 15 March 2013
(Updated: March 25, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Maxwell Fam Camp is a hidden gem waiting to be polished. We called ahead and talked with Rick to acquire reservations. On our previous visit in 2007, I failed to be impressed with the operation of the camp or its amenities. Fast forward to 2013; today we have new management and a new addition added to the park. With the energy and desire to make this Fam Camp the best it can be Rick is making a difference. The new addition offers several pull-thru sites. True some have the patio cover over the tables. And true for some the sites might be too close together. It all depends on how well you can manage your rig. There are few trees in the newer area, but then we can’t have everything.
In addition to the historical history of the city of Montgomery, there is more to offer the Rv’r who wishes to sit back, enjoy nature. Adjacent to the park are two six acre ponds. If you prefer an afternoon of fishing or just sitting at one of the many benches enjoying the sounds of nature this Fam Camp is a hidden hide-a-way. Many of our veterans Rv’r opt to stay in the newer addition of the park. There are several units set aside in the older section for those going to school at Maxwell. So they do have some homestead type units. But as long as the Fam Camp has plenty of room for the retiree to set up for a few days I have no qualms making room for those who need housing on a ‘short’ term bases. I did discuss with Rick the ambiance of the park and the impression it makes as you drive into the camp. Especially with the homestead family having laundry hanging on the cloths line adjacent to the unit. The laundry facilities were adequate with four washers and dryers. One addition that we have not seen in other Fam Camps was the addition of an ice machine in the laundry room. There were several guests stocking up on ice before they headed back out on the road. This is something you don’t often see in a Fam Camp. Bath facilities were very nice, with each bath having its own separate shower room attached. In conclusion this Fam Camp had a lot to offer. It has several historic sites to visit. The visitor’s center is downtown in a renovated train station. The camp itself offers the traveler fishing and boating on site for a reasonable fee. No license required for fishing ‘catch and release’. Maxwell AFB Fam Camp is a well worth the value for your camping needs. The PX and Commissary are very small, but adequate.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 3
Mar. 3-4, 2013
(Updated: March 05, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
I would agree with everything the previous writer wrote. We stayed in the new section, and my dog which is a guardian, was barking all the time, because of the close pads. It seemed that every camper had a dog and walked them by our site. I had to put her inside. The free wifi was a plus, but I was surprised at the amount of campers, the place was almost full.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Jan 17-30, 2013 and Feb 21-Mar 6, 2013
(Updated: March 02, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Great camp. We stayed here for two weeks on each occasion. The sites in the new section are very easy to maneuver into; all pull through FHUs with level concrete hook-ups. They are a bit closely-spaced, but no worse than some resorts that charge a great deal more. The old section - mostly long-termers - could use some policing; big rigs could have difficulty getting into them because of the narrow roads/sites and the canopy over the picnic tables in that section. The amenity rating is for the bathhouse, which is made up of individual rooms rather than being communal; did not use the laundry. Great water pressure; make sure you use a regulator to connect to the water hook-up. Commissary conveniently close by. GPS may route you through Kelly or Day gates; recommend coming in through Maxwell Gate instead. Nice little air park deserves to be explored. The nearby lakes make for a nice place to stroll, with benches and swings along the rim. Fast wi-fi (free). Very easy access to downtown Montgomery.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
18 October 2012 to 21 October 2012
(Updated: October 23, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
We stayed here for 3 days Thu. thru Sunday. We came in the Maxwell Gate which was an easy go to the CG. Go to the end of Maxwell keeping to the left as you go. At the end or T junction turn left and follow Kelley St. passing the BX and Commissary which will be on your left as you travel. Nearly at the end of this street and just before the gate you’ll make a right and follow the road as described on the web site. The park is nice as described. We stayed in the newer area. Wi-Fi was great. The water pressure was high with a warning on the window at the office. The office, we couldn’t catch open which was a negative. The attendant was gone a lot. The laundry’s need serious attention. One of the machines we use, new area, would only fill about a third of the way. We put a sign on it. The trash in the lower laundry area was over flowing when we got there and was worse when we left. Venting seemed to be a problem in both laundries. Cleaning behind the machines hasn’t happened in quite some time. Other than that we had a pleasant stay.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
July 14th and 15th, 2011
(Updated: July 17, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
The RV park has a lot of sites filled with students in schools on base. Rick, the park manager was very nice and we had one of the new sites, (#60). The free WiFi worked great and the private, bathrooms with a shower were very nice. They had a free ice machine and .75 washers and dryers. BBQ grilles were installed at the sites while we were there. My wife said the water didn't taste great. and, we both noticed a smell that Rick said was from a nearby pulp mill.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
January 27, 2011
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
G.P. left this review using the Directory software: We were en-route to FL. Stopped here for one night. We called about 4 hours prior to arrival and were given a site number by phone. Staff very friendly and helpful. Several new concrete pads were under construction as we arrived.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
March 13-20, 2010
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
It is a very nice campground with some minor drawbacks. Some of the newer sites do not have any shade and I can imagine that would be a big factor in the summer. Not so much while I was there. They have added a "trailer" type building that has six new shower rooms. Each with sink and toilet. Across the end of this is a new laundry room with three washers and dryers. 75 cents in each. i used the older laundry facility which is the same price. The newer bathrooms could use some better cleaning, but when I checked them it was early in the day and maybe had not been cleaned for the day. I think the spaces are too close together, but most were occupied although I did not see that many people actually coming to their rigs at night. Water pressure is very high and with a pressure regulator inline on my hose, it kept shutting the water flow off. The only way to get it back was to checking around, visual, I did not see any regulators on the hoses of other rigs. I put my gauge on it and was reading about 100 PSI. I gave everything a four because it is a nice place. As stated, some minor drawbacks.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
Oct 17-19, 2009
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
As mentioned before, very popular and usually full with students/active duty. Strongly suggest calling for a reservation. Office is not open on weekends and the instructions posted on door can be confusing to newcomers, but Rick leaves his cell phone # posted and can be called during the weekend and after office hours. We were very fortunate as we were coming in on the weekend without reservations and only thing left was overflow. But this turned out to be great as the overflow has a beautiful view of the lake and with the E/W hookups we were just fine. The lake has a nice walking path all around it with lots of egrets and heron. Although the base has no designated paved bike paths, we found on weekends it is quiet enough to enjoy a very nice bike ride all around the base. The Selma Montgomery national historical trail with its almost new Visitor Center proved to be very informative and enjoyable.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
Sept. 1 - 15, 2009
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
R.B. left this review using the Directory software: Arrived 1 September, the assigned site is in the middle row of new sites and they are way off level, my front step is about 18 inches off the ground to be level and back in almost sitting on the pad. Also do not try to enter or exit at the day street gate (old main gate). It is closed and looks like they are going to rebuild it. That leaves the Kelly street gate (was only open weekdays) which can be a problem for long rv's and the new main gate on poplar street. The campground is nearly always full even with the added new sites and they plan to add more but once again they cannot seem to get the funds to do it.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
9 and 10 July 2009
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Great facility--the bathrooms/showers are fantastic. Lots of area to walk a dog and the doggies bags are a nice touch. I would only change some things. The new sites do not have any covers and, thus, if outside you are in the blazing sun. Hopefully, the aforementioned is in the works. Place was full. Had to call back the second time in order to get Rick (out working on property) before he closed for the night. Didn't get a chance to meet him, maybe next time. Sounds like they need to get him some help, especially on the weekends--shouldn't be closed. Directions mentioned the FamCamp being on the left; however, if you come in the Bell St gate, it is on the right. Could have better signage on base. Glad I was able to get in since I only called 30 miles out--first big RV trip, so I wasn't sure if I could make it and, thus, did not make a reservation. Now I know that this will be a future destination.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
5 and 6 June 09
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Rick is an excellent host with the interest of the camper in mind. There are a few trees that need trimming so it doesn't damage coaches. The new 50 amp sites are well designed except they are about 3" low in the front part of the slab. The price is $18.00 with discounts only for the USAF frequent camper program. Don't try and exit the Kelly avenue gate unless you have a class B as the turn and width are too tight. You can continue straight past the Bell avenue gate and enter Maxwell during the week at the Kelly gate. However you must go to the BX parking lot and turn around to get to Craig avenue.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
30 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2