Maxwell/Gunter AFB FamCamp

New
 
4.0 (61)
89150 0 21 1 23

User reviews

17 reviews with 5 stars

61 reviews

 
(17)
 
(32)
 
(10)
 
(1)
 
(1)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.1  (61)
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0  (61)
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.9  (61)
Value 
 
4.1  (61)
Overall Experience 
 
3.9  (61)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
17 results - showing 1 - 17
Ordering
22 May - 25 May 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Stayed 3 nights in 34' fifth wheel. Paid $24 a night. Nice camp but sites are pretty close together and camp is pretty full due those staying for long term training. Staff was great. 50 amp FHU and everything you need including commissary and BX (back across runway). Concrete pads were level and long enough to remain hooked up if we had wanted. Did not use WIFI but Verizon worked fine. Closest gate is Kelly gate but it closes at night. Easy to take Maxwell (main) Gate and drive all the way to the end of the street (yes I know there are shorter ways) but for those unfamiliar with the base it's easy enough to drive all the way to the end on Maxwell and take a left on Kelly and drive all the way to Kelly gate and take a right when almost at the gate. When Kelly gate is closed it looks like there could be no road in front of the closed Kelly gate (on the base) but it is there. Take the right literally right in front of Kelly gate and go across the runway to the camp on the other side. Be careful of the dips at the turns in the road. Best to go real slow at the turns. Good camp. We would stay there again. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 5 0
May 8-9, 2017
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Nice camp. Easy to get to on the far side of the runway. Concrete pads are level. Bathroom/showers are very clean. Only negative is camp is close to a train track and the trains may disturb you.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
September 27, 2016
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Nice, quiet, relaxing spot but just stayed for just an overnighter traveling from Colorado to Florida. Didn't unhitched. All pull throughs and concrete pads with 50 amp, water and sewer. Excellent Showers and restrooms in the newer section. We were in site 51. Looks like a lot of nice recreational items/rentals for the nearby lake. Grass and grounds very well maintained.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
May 2016
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We loved it here. We were only spending a few days.  The softball fields are across the street so you can get in entertainment during the season. There is a lake with kyaks to rent. There is also a softball field turned into a pet park. Love the spacial feeling.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
April 21 to 22, 2016
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We stay here fairly often when traveling to/from the Gulf Coast.  Have never been turned away.  The pull thrus have plenty of length and the utility hook ups are well placed.  There is more than adequate space between units to open your slides.  Departures on Saturday morning from the center pull thrus can be a little tight if your neighbor has parked his/her truck well forward on their pad.  WiFi has always been good when we have been there. There is an old ball field at the south end of the camp that has been converted into a very nice off leash dog area. Our schnauzer loved the experience. The staff has always been friendly and accommodating every time we have used the park.  The bathhouses are clean and have plenty of room.  Yes, some people have been in camp for a long time.  Most of them are students attending long duration schools.  I have no heartburn with that.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
June 7-11, 2015
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We stayed here June 7-11 in spot 49 next to the newer bath house. They have 6 restrooms (3 on each side) and a laundry room with 3 washers and 3 dyers, cost 75 cents each. Bathrooms were cleaned daily and in very good condition, while the water pressure in the shower wasn't as high as the sink it was still very good. Do heed the warnings on using a pressure regulator at your site. We arrived late on a Sunday and our information and site were posted on the window at check in, we had previously booked a 4 night stay on our way to Pensacola NAS. The only con this trip was the wifi signal was slow and intermittent. Camp Manager was aware of the problem and was trying to get it fixed. He also said they had submitted requests for another 6 projects including a permanent concrete structure for the new bathhouse and a new playground. Looking forward to coming again and staying longer.. Excellent staff, well taken care of landscape and quiet.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
April 26, 2014
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Driving 43' Newmar Mountain Aire with tow. Easy access from I-65 or I-85. Confirmed via phone availability for one night. Very friendly people staying at Famcamp. Clean and more importantly level RV pads. Did not use showers or laundry. This place is a 'KEEPER'. Thanks to all who maintain! Only negative is some of the sites were reserved; but no one showed up the night we were there. We stayed only one night!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
March 29-31, 2013
(Updated: April 09, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We stayed here two nights in route to Brunswick GA. A very well kept campground. Will try and stay there anytime we are going through Montgomery.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
May 31 - June 2, 2012
(Updated: June 09, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
After calling a number posted on the door a call was returned almost immediately and we met the host at the office within 10minutes. We had already chosen our site and he said that was fine. It was a very nice area and enjoyed even playing golf at the base. Overall we were very pleased with the campground.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
28 April 2012
(Updated: May 08, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We spent a weekend in this park. Tried to call in on Saturday to inquire about space and got voice mail and no call back (didn’t expect one because it was the weekend). Pulled in and checked at the office and found that there was a list of open spaces. We took Space 59, one of the newer pull thrus. The space was nice and wide with a level, concrete hardstand, picnic table and full hook-ups. The WiFi antenna was next door so reception wasn’t an issue. The park is set up with two areas, one older which appears to be longer term residents and the new area with more of a transient population. Recommend that when you are entering the base to go through the Maxwell Gate, past the Visitor Center. This gate has the commercial vehicle entrance and it is a straight shot through the entrance. As we exited on Monday morning we were able to exit the Kelley Gate, which is open on weekdays. While you are in Montgomery take some time to see the city. Downtown is surprisingly pretty and there is a wealth of history to see. We had dinner in “The Alley” in a pretty good BBQ joint; it is located across the street from the Montgomery baseball team field. My thanks to the staff for keeping the park so clean and neat.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
17 Feb 2012
(Updated: February 20, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Spent one night while on the road. Called in the afternoon and asked if there was space. They said yes, gave us a spot and said if we get there after they were closed to drop the money in the drop box. This works like a lot of the other parks that don't have Camp Host. We used the lat long to get there. It took us to one of the gates, the gate guard gave us quick instructions on how to get to the Fam Camp. It was a long way but his directions were accurate. However he didn't mention that as we passed the Exchange there would be an Active Barrier. So when we got to the barrier I wasn't sure if I should go thru. I turned at the BX and ended up at the Gas Station where I saw a AP and asked him where the Camp was. He confirmed I should go thru the barrier and around the end of the runway. We did, the road was a little rough, bumps but slowing down helped. As said before it would be a lot easier in the light. Park was great as everyone has said. Antenna TV was pretty good wish they had cable. But park was nice and big rig friendly for sure. I have a Class B. $20 isn't a lot but it wasn't any better then other camps that charge less.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
March 2011
(Updated: April 08, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Base is on opposite side of expressway from downtown Montgomery which is convenient, but not a lot of shopping in immediate vicinity of base. Major shopping area about 10 miles north. FamCamp itself is very nice. Spots are close together, but did not detract from our visit. Area is lovely, quiet and pretty. Dogs loved the adjacent grassy area and we didn't experience the dog or doggy waste problem mentioned earlier. Older of the 2 bath facilities is dated, but clean. Manager is very helpful and nice. Stopped going and coming from Tiffin in Red Bay. 2nd visit could only get dry camp, but manager took the time to 'look around' to see if anyone had vacated early. Unfortunately no one had, but it was nice of him to make the effort.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
28 Feb - 7 Mar 2011
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
R.L. left this review using the Directory software: I called on 2-14-2011 for a reservation on 2-28-2011. Rick took my reservation, and was very cordial and friendly. He told me there would be no problem if we arrived early or late. Arrived as scheduled, but after sundown, and found the site difficult to find in the dark on our first visit. Daylight would have made a big difference. Flashing lights at the Kelly St. gate and on the end of the runway tend to intimidate if you're towing; you like to know you won't be driving into a dead end somewhere. On your first visit, try to arrive in the daylight; it will be much easier to find (This is true of arriving anywhere, not just here). The park itself is well laid out with lots of wide open grassy fields adjacent to the sites, a playground at the end, and a small, man-made lake at the other end. It is very clean and well-kept. It's a great place for our two grandsons to play! At the other end, they are expanding, putting in 13 new sites. Their WiFi network works great, with a very strong signal at our site (56). They are planning upgrade to the WiFi network, anyway. (Being a computer guy, I prefer when networks are secured, but open networks are fine, if you are careful; i.e., banking should not be done on an open network. Hopefully, they will install security as part of the upgrade.) Rest rooms and showers are in individual small rooms with excellent privacy. Laundry room could be better - there is no place to sit or fold clothes. But, rates were very reasonable ($.75 per load in washers and dryers). We found our stay here to be such a pleasant experience that we decided to stay a whole week instead of the four days originally planned!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
Dec 22 - 30, 2010
(Updated: January 04, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We stayed here on our way to Biloxi & again on our way home. We had no problem leaving a msg & having the mgr return our call to make a reservation. The campground is expanding. Nice concrete pads, level lots. Great wifi. The shower house is exceptionally clean. Separate restrooms with showers. Laundry was spotless. Also has an ice machine. The mgr was helpful with info on the area. There's no cable but plenty of TV off antenna. We'll stay here again so we can see the Montgomery area.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
Sept 2010
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Second time here, and the addictions of sites are greatly improved over old sites. The old sites have permanent canopies installed which can present a problem with slide outs on door side. The new ones have no such interference. Nice level sites with large connected patio pad, all concrete. I enjoyed the jogging trail on side of road, just great for jogging or riding a bike. Facilities on the new addiction all have private one person bathrooms. Laundry has three washers, three dryers, costing 75 cents. Free ice machine.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
19-20 April 2010
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Follow the directions carefully as the area adjacent to Maxwell is under construction. Base is guarded by Air Force SP's who provide a map and directions. Camp is on far west side of the base, adjacent to golf course and running track. Outdoor activities abound, although BX and Commissary will require a vehicle as they are about 2-3 miles back to the main part of the base. Very helpful camp host. Arrived mid afternoon and camp was 100% sold out, but there were four overflow sites (no sewer) and we got the last one! Most sites were back in, and about half the camp had little or no tree cover so rooftop satellite dishes work well. Plenty of local TV channels with an antenna are available. No wi-fi, but Verizon 3G card works fine. Camp Manager said half of the camp sites are reserved for students who attend one of several schools - Squadron Officer School, Air Command & Staff, and Air War College, and a few others. These are virtually always sold out except for between school times. The other half is your basic FamCamp for retirees, TDY's, military on leave, and a handful of assigned personnel awaiting housing. Because the camp allows all eligible users to make reservations up to a year in advance, and its central location on I-65 & I-85 the camp stays near sold out all the time. Wise to always make a reservation. Will definitely stay here again. Lots of good facilities on base, although the usual local stuff - fast foods, shopping, etc., are several miles away on I-65 & US-231.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
November 26-30 2008
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
The Cleanest, most quite campground we have stayed at in a long time. If ever in that area again, I will try to stay there. Grady
GW
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
17 results - showing 1 - 17