Redstone Arsenal MWR RV Park

Featured
 
4.4 (47)
74247   0   17   0   41

User reviews

16 reviews with 4 stars

47 reviews

 
(28)
 
(17)
3 stars
 
(0)
 
(1)
 
(1)
Overall rating 
 
4.4
Location 
 
4.6  (47)
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.5  (47)
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.3  (47)
Value 
 
4.4  (47)
Overall Experience 
 
4.4  (47)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
16 results - showing 1 - 16
Ordering
May 18-26, and Sep 19, 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Close to commisary exchange and gas station. Very nice walking trails. Huge cement pads with pull thrus from spots 15 - 70. Spots 8 -14 were back in with hookups to far forward actually at my front door of motorhome. This is a realy nice campground and we would always go back. They need to get rid of the abandoned truck and travel trailer on spot 1 for camphost which has been there fora year. We never saw this guy. Two new camphost on spot 14 and 70 are working to make this one of the best campgrounds we have stayed at. No swingsets or playground for children.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
June 4 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Had a pull through site. Large pad. Jogging path next to park. Clean bathhouse but only one shower. No cable. Mwr said no free cable but can be purchased through local cable company. Huntsville has everything in close vicinity. New addition with 28 sites complete and awaiting opening. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Feb. 25, 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Nice campground. Full hook-ups up to 50 amps all sites. Huge pads. All but second row, sites 7-14 are pull through. Some of the hook ups are well forward which takes away most of the site for parking unless you have really long hoses and cables. Main gate is gate 9 at Redstone. New gate has been built in the past few months but still was tight for my 40 foot Tiffin Phaeton. I’m former Navy, but...Army did good. OBTW, they are building a bunch of new sites adjoining the ones here already. That will really be nice for busy season. 
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
Nov 2, 2014
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
November 2, 2014... once again the directions have changed. As of today: Take Exit 14 as directions indicate. Once you've passed through Gate 9, travel approximately 1/4 mile until you reach the first stop light. Turn left. Despite the fact that there are no street signs, this actually is Goss Road now! It essentially now turns you back the direction you came from (back -toward- Gate 9) but you are now on the base and paralleling the road you entered on. It will eventually make a long sweeping right curve and you'll now see signs indicating you are on Goss Road and it becomes two lanes. Follow Goss Road 1.5 miles. You'll see an "RV Campground" sign on your right just before Jupiter St. Turn right onto Jupiter St. and follow it on into the campground. The information re the shoppette if you go too far is still correct. Per the folks at MWR, plans are in the works to revise the Gate 9 access, so this may very well change again in the future.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
August 2014
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
All sites are near perfect, long, wide and concrete, pull thru, but NO shade. It's HOT in AL in summer. Each site rises just a little from rear to front. Even the hookups are in concrete next to the parking pad, no dirty lines to put in the unit when moving on. Not BBQ, yes picnic table. I had no contact with anyone about our stay, I had a pre-paid reservation. There is a camp host but I never saw him/her. The bath house is clean but small, 2 toilets, 1 shower. The laundry is clean and only $1 to wash or dry. The walking/biking trail is about 100 yards southwest. The PX and commissary less than 1 mile east. The directions are right on, easy access, no need to scout for problems.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
December 2, 2013
(Updated: December 03, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Stopped by to check the RV Park out. It was a cool and cloudy Fall day. There were still about 6 - 9 RV sits available. This is an RV Park we wouldn't mind coming back to and staying at for a month or so. Glad to see the have the proper stay limits posted. We didn't notice any homesteading abuse.
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
March 2012
(Updated: June 21, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
...folks are friendly and helpful. Making reservations is easy. Location is convenient to everything in Huntsville. Each site is large, concrete pads, and easy in and out. We stay there every time we are in Huntsville, which is 3 to 4 times a year.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
June 10, 2012
(Updated: June 16, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Arrived and never expected to see such large pads to set up on. They were great. However, the showers were much to be desired. The men's shower could have been cleaner and my wife said that the women's shower was terribly dirty with moldy curtains and stalls that were fiberglass so they could be cleaned if any one cared to do so. Otherwise, everything was very convenient and we enjoyed our stay. We would definitely come back.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
October 3 - 11, 2010
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
G.M. left this review using the Directory software: Lots of amenities on base-surprising for the army. Sites needed more trees.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 1
29 SEP 09
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
M. H. left this review using the Directory software: This is a good campground. We used this for an overnite heading north and it was a little out of the way but it is worth it. Plus we got to go to Big Bob Gibson's BBQ.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
Sept. 6-9, 2009
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
W.E.W. left this review using the Directory Software: Great RV Park. The new sites are outstanding, but no shade. Has 50 amp, water, sewer and cable TV. WiFi coming soon (I was told). Good Commissary and PX about one-half mile away. Largest concrete pads I have seen in any RV Park in my 8 years traveling around the US and Canada. Space Center is nearby. Wal-Mart about 5 miles. If we are back in this area, this is definitely where we will stay. We were here in a Motor Home.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
29 April-5 May 09
(Updated: May 10, 2009)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
The CG is an old housing area.. Your GPS will show streets that are not there so be sure that you set it for Hermes Rd and Nike St SW (entrance to rv park). Some GSP (like mine) will take you to roads that don't go through any more. Lets look at all the good things first. LARGE level concrete sites, will fit the biggest rigs out there. All 50amp with water and sewer. All crush and run gravel roads through out the cg, but all packed hard. Easy to travel through out with handicap scooter. Great shot at the southern sky. Px and Commissary with-in 1/2 mile from cg. Sites 1 thru 14 were not thought out well, hook-ups are just to far forward on pads, engineers just need to come back and re-do this. I suggest using sites 15 and above. Now this MWR must think its Club Med too, $20.00 per night for what. Small bath house, paid laundry, no cable, no wi-fi (but they say wi-fi is coming). Its all so new, but for the price I would expect allot more. The CG at the rocket center is the same price but offers allot more. I would hope they look at some of the premier military sites that give allot more and charge allot less.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
Drive through 9/27/08
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Only 2 sites empty so good to hear they are adding 28 more sites. Hope someone figures out where the utilities belong on these sites so you do not need to double up hoses. Noticed some trees on roads into the campground where cut down but no one knew why, did not see rot in the stump. Commissary was not up to the standard we expect and some shoppers said over the last year they have noticed a change too, many empty shelves and some produce looked old.
L
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 4 0
15-22 Nov. 2007
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
This is about the "NEW" MWR RV park on Redstone Arsenal. We made reservations on the phone w/ Josh. he gave great directions also. Didn't have to check in anywhere upon arrival. The big, main gate # 1, off Interstate 565 on the North side of "post", now can handle RV's. It was a tight fit, but we made it- no barricades to navigate. The new RV park is 1 block from the commissary/PX/gas station/shoppette. They have 16 LARGE, perfectly level concrete pads. As mentioned by somebody else, the W/E/S hook ups are nearer the front of the pads, but they are on the correct side. plan on using extensions. 8 sites are pull through, 8 are back in. Each one can fit a Greyhound bus and have enuff room left over for our 25' TT. (I mean BIG) Somebody said that there were no trees in the area; we have several huge ones just 10 feet from our trailer. There are none inside the gravel roads or between pads but near enough. A park like, well forested & grassy area surrounds the Rv park & we find it very pretty. The new bathhouse is a "1 holer". Each gender's side has but 1 shower. Womens' has 2 toliets, men's has 1 sit down, & 1 stand up urinal. The 3 other huge class A's that are here now, don't use it. So we have it to ourselves. When the park really fills up, it could get busy to do the three s's. Compared to the old RV park by the river, this one is really nice. The post has every ammenity/facility & I highly recommend it.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
Drive through Oct. 17th, 2007
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Rating may not be accurate as we just drove through the new campground when we were visiting Tiffin Motorhomes in Red Bay, Al. Sites were wide and long and good open sites for roof mounted satellite. Only problem we saw was the utilities were too close to front of site. May want to pull thru rather than back in and put your hose and electric under the rig to hook up. Very convenient for all shopping on base and we talked to some folks camping there and they had good comments about all utilities being strong and security does go through several times a day.
L
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
June 14 - June21
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
There are two CG's now. I stayed at the new one, the bath house was not open when there. Location is in housing area, The BX, commissary, class six, car wash all located down the street. Sites have concrete pad about 24 by 50 feet. The CG street is packed gravel. I prefer this site to the old one by the river. The river sites are in the woods, difficult to manuver a rig, sites are paved only about 16 feet long, not angled like the new site.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
16 results - showing 1 - 16