Glass Park RV Park

Glass Park RV Park & Outdoor Adventure

 
4.2 (11)
27897   1   26   0   3

User reviews

6 reviews with 4 stars

11 reviews

 
(4)
 
(6)
3 stars
 
(0)
 
(1)
1 star
 
(0)
Overall rating 
 
4.2
 
4.7  (11)
 
4.0  (11)
 
4.2  (11)
 
4.1  (11)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
6 results - showing 1 - 6  
 
Ordering 
 
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

30 Jun-4 Jul 2016

The Rec office is closed on Tuesdays and Wednesdays. Camp Hosts Jim and Becky(?)are the greatest. We were scheduled into a dry site but Jim was able to upgrade us to a site with water. Jim came by the camp site and brought us maps of the Post and of Fairbanks. These maps were very helpful. Jim pointed out a few of the highlights around town and the fact that the Expressways around town resembled Santa's sleigh. Jim explained why there were power pedestals at the campsites but no power to some including ours in site 39. He also advised that we could use our generator 24/7 if we wanted to. We always try to keep the generator use to a minimum. Jim also advised that he had a blue tank and ATV available for the campers to use to facilitate dumping the holding tanks without moving the RV. I thought this was particularly unusual but a nice way to make up for not having sewer available. The office staff was very friendly and helpful. We didn't utilize the laundry or showers so cannot attest to there condition. Easy access through the main gate with the exception of the traffic circle as you approach the gate. It gets a bit tricky with a 43' 5th wheel. $18/night seemed a bit expensive for water only but at least the water quality was 100% better than Eielson Fam Camp. I wish more people would leave their reviews. It would help to see trends good or bad. It's been over 2 years since the last review. 

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: October 20, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

June 16 - 23, 2011

Impossible to get a site through Outdoor Rec but new Camp Hosts will work with you. Park quite rough around the edges. Some wooded sites are nice and private. Some sites are right on road and some are side-by-side. Utilities being slowly restored. Yes, showers and laundry are expensive and bathrooms get very messy. Many on-base facilities. Easy access to all of Fairbanks. It must be judged by Alaska and not Lower 48 standards. And SO much better than Eielson.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: July 29, 2016)
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

July 15, 2011

This an update from our May posting. We have the road and site areas widened and groomed. All sites are large enough for the biggest rigs. We are working to save Glass Park. We have a variety of W/E sites, some have only 30 amp but others have 30/50. The one site I mentioned earlier had a tree fall on it which makes it a dry site as it has not been repaired. There are remnants of the previous Denali Loop (5 sites) nearer to the recreation office which we also can use as dry sites (much better atmosphere than Walmart). The components were completely stripped out but are quite usable. The laundry and restrooms are at the rec office as you enter the park. Moose Loop is the only one currently with W/E (now 15)sites. Park remains open until sometime in September depending on the weather. The office is open 11-7 Thurs thru Mon. One of the great things about Glass Park is that you have the "way out of town" atmosphere while being right at the front gate of Ft Wainwright. Everything is so close. Come visit and tell all your friends we are open this year. We have been full including the dry sites at times so don't hesitate to call for a reservation. We've been blessed this year to have friends come and stay while on their Alaskan trips who we'd met while we were camp hosts in GA. There are separate fees for water only site and for dry sites. When approaching the gate, stay in the left lane as entrance to the park is just inside the gate to the left. Hope this has helped any military who have had questions regarding the park for the 2011 season as it is not in the Military CG book at this time.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: July 11, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

July 2011

This campground was great for the money. The camp hosts were wonderful and the camp spot itself was great with lots of wonderful trees and privacy. The only thing I would have loved was free wi-fi access, but everything else was great.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: June 24, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

May 21, 2011 for the summer as Camp Hosts

We have volunteered as Camp Hosts this year to open it up a little and widen the sites. There are 8 sites with W/E. There is one loop available after the housing construction took out two loops a few years back. Of the remaining 12 sites, 11 have water at this time. One W/E pole was removed. There are 4 electrical boxes that appear to have been vandalized thereby affecting the other sites. We are in a wonderful location so very close to the main gate and thereby close to anything in Fairbanks and the juncture of Airport Way, Richardson Hwy and Steese Hwy. The commissary is open 10 AM - 7 PM or 1000-1900 hrs daily, except for holidays. Wooded environment. We enjoy the lower cost compared to the available campgrounds in the area. Looking forward to a good summer here in the Golden Heart of Alaska.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

June 2010

Glass Park is NOT closed. It was under new construction last year, but it was not closed to make way for new housing. It's open and more beautiful and convenient than ever!

Was this review helpful to you? 
6 results - showing 1 - 6