Davis Monthan AFB FamCamp

Featured Hot
 
4.6 (161)
111544   1   18   2   73

User reviews

9 reviews with 3 stars

161 reviews

 
(125)
 
(26)
 
(6)
 
(3)
 
(1)
Overall rating 
 
4.6
 
4.8  (161)
 
4.8  (161)
 
4.4  (161)
 
4.6  (161)
 
4.6  (161)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
9 results - showing 1 - 9  
 
Ordering 
 
Overall rating 
 
3.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0

February 2016

I agree with the previous review. We have been going to Davis Monthan (DM) for nearly 15 years.  Over that time, we found the system that was in place for managing the sites to be better and fairer than any other campground we have ever experienced.  As witness to this success, Davis Monthan has won best US Military campground many times over previous years. There was a change in both management style and policies this year and it has taken the luster off the reputation of the campground.  The management decided to allow anyone to “contract" for a long term stay in any single site (homesteading), where in the past there was only a small, designated number of long term sites.   This new policy eliminated the availability of the most desirable sites and cut down the number of sites available for shorter term stays.  Historically, DM gets very busy after January 1st and they start a process of rotation in and out of dry camping every 21 days (overflow). Because of this new policy of  a greater number of “contracted” sites, and an easy policy of medical deferrals for rotation, the wait in dry camping has been extended far beyond what was experienced in past years.   DM management has decided to put non-seasonal and shorter term visitors in a position where they are relegated to the least desirable sites and very long waits in overflow during the busiest times. Because of the problems these new policies caused, the help at the campground office has become rude and adversarial.  The attitude is particularly negative given they are dealing with career military personnel and veterans and have little personal RV experience and understanding. DM, once the jewel of the military campgrounds, has become the epitome of poor management decisions that have taken a near perfect RV Site Management System and degraded it. If you are coming to Tucson for only a short stay between January and March and you do not wish to contract for a long term site, you should think twice and possibly  look for somewhere else to stay, I suggest the Pima County Fairgrounds, great place that caters to RVers. You should be okay other times of the year. I do not recommend that DM be selected for best campground this year.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.5
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

Jan-Feb 2016

This CG still has one big thing going for it - location - but unfortunately, there have been some changes for the worse since I visited last year.  The wait to get from the dry camp area to full hookups is now 5-6 days during the busy season, and the dry camp area was full or nearly so the whole time of my visit (so be advised to have a plan B, since there might not be space in the dry camp area when you arrive).  This appears to be the result of them opening up more spaces for 3 and 6 month contracts.  When the dry camp area is full, you might as well be parked in a truck stop, with the generator noise that results.  Another negative change is that they no longer publish a list every day so that you can see what your chances are of moving to full hookups.  The whole process is very secretive. Worst of all, the woman who appears to be in charge of the office is surly and rude.  She yells at people for bizarre reasons. Everyone else in the office is polite and friendly, but its sad to watch them, because they are all walking on eggshells around the crazy lady.  They have gone to paid employees this year, rather than work campers, which means some of the people in the office aren't really understanding of RV issues. Another problem I noticed this year which was not present last year was some issues with the electricity.  I noticed my microwave operating erratically, and this cleared up after I left.  Also, for the whole time I was in the full hookup section, I noticed some of the big rigs running their generators periodically. The wifi is as bad as it ever was, but given the other issues I noticed this year, it seemed like a minor issue.  You can usually get online for simple things like email if you do it late at night or early in the morning.  Its sad to see this place going downhill.  It still is a decent value in a great location, but I think I will look for some other options in Tucson when I come back next year.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.5
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

April 2014

Do not know why this FamCamp gets such good ratings, the people in the office act like they are doing you a favor to "let" you stay there, should NOT allow non-military /DOD personal stay at FamCamps. Base is great, has everything you need except diesel.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

December 9, 2013

P.A. left this review using the Directory software: - Nice campground stayed here a few times with no problems, just wish that they would change there traffic pattern but it is a Air Base after all.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: December 26, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
3.2
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
1.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

Dec. 22-25, 2011

Sleeping was difficult because of all the noise. There is a dog close by that was barking throughout the night. Nearby traffic was loud, and we could hear police sirens a few times a night. The wifi was extremely slow and was not accessible inside the RV. There is no cable TV. Inside the common area the TV only has local channels. So if you wish to watch your favorite football team play football on ESPN, you won't be able to. The common area does not have comfortable seating so TV watching was not enjoyable. There is no public transportation on base, so it is a long walk to access transportation. Worst of all, the base is not pedestrian friendly. Long distances to amenities. On the walk to the exchange, there were many sections without sidewalks. Now that I have discussed all the horrible aspects of this location, I will take a moment to rave about the campground. The bathrooms were fantastic, clean, warm, and there were an adequate number of bathroom stalls and showers. The highlight of my stay was my social interactions, with other visitors and camp hosts. Overall I enjoyed my stay, but I wish their common area would improve.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.5
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

Jan 5 and 6, 2009

I agree with some of the previous reviews. This place is a little expensive for a military campground. The sites are small, I have 15 feet on one side of me and 20 on the other to my neighbors. The sites are long enough, but that is too close. Landscaping consists of a few shrubs. Sites are raised and are just rocks. There is a picnic table and concrete slab, but my neighbors picnic table is just 4 feet from my window. The staff at check-in were friendly enough, but as stated before, they tell you everything you can't do. There seems to be nothing positive about their greeting. They do have a good "package" of brochures and printouts that you are given about the area. I rode my scooter off base and on the way back in, was told I had to push it back to the campground because I did not have on gloves and boots. Maybe they should have something in their handouts about motor scooters/motorcycles. To me, this is not a destination. OK if you like rocks or are just using it as a base of operations to tour the area. I just don't see why it would be voted the best.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
1.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

Nov 11-17, 2008

This park is highly over rated. While it is very convenient to all the facilities on base and to the Tucson area, the drawbacks are many. It is too expensive for military RV parks, parking pads are too close together, and you better hope your neighbor doesn't have a noisy dog. Also I seem to see the same folks here every year in the same spots (and they are not hosts), so there may be some hanky panky. Also, this park has more hosts than any RV park (commercial or military) that I have ever seen. There are a small number of sites they rent for the entire season, which is fine, but it really can be a hassle for those who want to stay for a couple of weeks. Also, only one bath house that is fairly close to those in overflow (which is way too small during peak season). If you plan to stay in Tucson for 3-4 weeks, the commercial parks are a much better deal.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
2.7
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

Feb-Sep 2008

I am sorry that I can not give the glowing review that most people give this campground. When you check in you will be told all the things you can not do while you are there. The price of this campground is 30% higher than what you can find off base, and it is going up every year. You can not stay in overflow unless the campground is full. If you use Verizon you will find that your cell phone will not work properly most of the time. If you stay in the north overflow area your salalite TV will not work properly either. If you have pets there is no place to let them exercise. Most of the people in the office act like they are still in the military and will treat you the same way. They act like they are doing you a favor by letting you stay there. If you plan a lengthy stay you will not be able to receive your mail while there. I stayed there for the summer as I thought that I could not find a better place for the price, my mistake. There are campgrounds in Tucson that offer as much or more for much less money. Look around! If you want to see the mentality and the hassels that you will be subjected to, try to post a review on this site.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: September 10, 2007)
Overall rating 
 
3.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0

May 2006

This place is good except they don't have monthly rates. Also the amount you pay for a month is $400.00, very expensive. Another negative is the rotation policy in the winter. Most people (snow birds) come here for the winter, therefore, they should let people who get here first keep their spots for the winter months. I don't have a generator and I have a medical condition that requires electricity. The hassle of rotating to dry camping and my medical condition makes this a Big negative for me. Otherwise I would like to stay at this campground.

Was this review helpful to you? 
9 results - showing 1 - 9