Davis Monthan AFB FamCamp

Featured Hot
 
4.6 (161)
111544   1   18   2   73

User reviews

23 reviews with 4 stars

161 reviews

 
(125)
 
(26)
 
(6)
 
(3)
 
(1)
Overall rating 
 
4.6
 
4.8  (161)
 
4.8  (161)
 
4.4  (161)
 
4.6  (161)
 
4.6  (161)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
23 results - showing 1 - 20  
1 2  
Ordering 
 
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

24 Oct-1 Nov 2017

This is our 4th say here and not much has changed since our last one. Called ahead to check if sites were available and was told no problem. I will add that the WiFi has improved since our last stay but does slow down in the late mornings and early evenings. Other than those times it’s great. Although we never use public bathrooms and showers I did a walk-through and found those in the “new” section very clean. Same with the laundry facilities. If you have a package sent to the park the staff will call you when it’s there for pickup. Nice touch. Verizon 4g was good with 2-3 bars and DTV satellite signal is no problem in most sites. Great water pressure (reducer needed) and solid 30/50 amp power.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

November 16-29, 2016

This was our second visit to Agave Gulch and our first extended stay (two weeks). This is a very nice FamCamp. Our site was a semi-level gravel site (I had to do considerable blocking on the left side due to a pretty significant slope). The access roads are a mix of gravel and asphalt. All sites have nice, long concrete patios and good hookups (very high water pressure--bring a pressure reducer). There is a very nice commissary and exchange very close by with a nice gym in that same general vicinity. There were only two negatives for this FamCamp. First, the WiFi was sporadic and effectively useless to us. We home school our daughters, and WiFi is critical to that process. For our entire two-week stay, we had to spend our days at the local library to enable our girls to do their school work. The second negative is that there is no recycling on site. For a FamCamp this large, recycling bins should be available. There is a recycling center on base (south on Craycroft, left on Yuma St, and the recycling bins are about 1/4 mile down on the right), but I doubt that many folks in the FamCamp take the effort to cart their recyclables to the center. Despite the negatives, we would still stay here again if we were in the Tucson area.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Jan-Mar 2016

We have been spending 3 months Jan - Mar at Davis-Monthan Fam Camp for the past seven years. It deserves all of the high ratings and awards it has received. Last spring, 2015, new management was installed. Rather than continue a successful system the new managers had their own ideas and began to vilify previous procedures and camp hosts to implement their new "system". Their oft told anecdotes about the problems they were resolving are largely fictional - no one we know that is a regular here can confirm them. They are claiming they "fired' the camp hosts, when in fact the hosts all resigned when management violated the written rules in order to give preferential check-in to favored parties. Managing the Fam Camp from the spring of 2015 through the end of the year probably seemed easy, given that the camp is far from full then. The trouble started as the camp filled up in Dec 2015 and Jan 2016. Then the overflow crowds presented situations that the camp staff was not prepared for. Rather than stick with the tried and true, hugely successful and widely accepted rotation system that had made Davis Monthan a legend in fairness, they started "winging it". The short list of overflow rules they posted raised more questions than it answered. They lost track of open sites, resorting to driving around and counting vacancies at 10 am instead of using previously reliable computer data. We often saw sites set empty overnight, some for 2 days, when there were many people in overflow waiting. The new arrivals told us they had just been notified and were unaware the site had set empty. This happened almost every day during the January rush. The office staff offered varied excuses when the empty sites were pointed out to them. To be fair, some empty sites were those of 3 and 6 month campers who took a day or more to travel elsewhere. Their empty sites were not assignable we were told.  Different staff would announce different times to come in to get assigned from overflow to hookup sites, "around" 10 or 11 a.m. Twice we witnessed them start assigning sites 15-20 minutes early, before everyone had the chance to show up. There were no consistent rules. At the end of January they published a full page instruction sheet that helped resolve some of the uncertainty. Yet nearly everyone we met had tales of disgust with the lack of professionalism and clear rules in the camp office. The manager herself was vocally and physically confrontational to anyone she felt was being critical. Even her husband got involved in one shouting incident outside the office, declaring that Fam Campers were just a bunch of whiners. The sad fact is that the folks in charge appear to not really like people and do not understand that they are dealing with military professionals who expect rules to be clear, posted, and to apply to all. Maybe they will learn from their first season and re-establish order for next year. Maybe. This is too great a military campground to allow it to descend into the chaos so many experienced in winter of 2016.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

October 17 - 20, 2014

Very clean CG, staff was very professional and friendly. Our previous commercial CG near Deming was nearly full, gave us tons of local info and cost $14 for a one night stay WITH great internet. Agave wasn't half full and had terrible internet for $20 a night. Laundry facility is tight to move around in, but clean, reasonably priced and had good machines. Did some driving about Tuscon - a little third-worldlike, so watch for red light runners, lane changers on top of you, middle of the road folks and all the rest. We were here for a weekend and were hoping to take the boneyard tour, but that's only available during the week. Don't know as we'd want to come back unless the alternatives were worse.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

June 17, /2014

Location is great. this is the desert, so I have to expect that the ground around you is not grassed, only rock. the water quality was not good, I found it cloudy, thanks for the water filter. The power supply was not without problems. I had surges that caused my plug to burn and kick my breaker. Minor problems, the base facilities are great and all was pleasant. Desert life sure is different. This time of the year it was hot, could not enjoy being outside.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: July 03, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Dec 2011- April 2012

We had a wonderful visit except the bathrooms are not that clean at all! - the cleaning lady spends more time on phone or walking thru the laundry room than cleaning. We watched a coffee stain for three weeks than when told she cleaned half and didn't move the bench to finish. (soap scum on tile/chrome and watch her use a water spray bottle to clean the toilets). There was also two dogs in camp being "trained" with shock collars so the dogs thought every other dog was 'shocking' them- they went after our dog and attacked another dog. All the manager did was move them to other side and every other dog was afraid of them. So watch out for two huskies next winter!! Otherwise great campground/recycling available and facilities on base and sight-seeing stuff and programs available.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: May 27, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

24 - 26 May 2012

Heads Up if you use GPS coordinates. ONSTAR will take you to the the Wilmot Gate. This gate is CLOSED untill 9 July 2012.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: March 24, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Mar 17 to 22, 2012

On a Saturday arrival, after hours, we had 6 or 7 pull through and 2 back in sites available, so no overflow this trip. The only complaints I have are the slowness of the Wi-Fi and lack of a community/family room. The DSL and dialup connections in the office are nice but not always convenient. The fastest WiFi that I found was at the community center. The FamCamp should have those people over to overhaul their WiFi. An automated pet wash has been added, 10 minutes for $5 which is much appreciated. The maintenance and cleanliness of the campground is a model for other Famcamps.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: October 13, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

11-16 Oct 2011

Stayed for five nights. Check-in was very easy. We were given a large collection of handouts for the base and local area. Hosts were outstanding! Great park with mostly pull-trough's. Sites are fairly close together but workable. There are some back-ins which are used for the monthly's. Monthly rate: Twenty-six sites in the Horseshoe area are available for $3660, payable upon check-in. No reservations. Guests can stay no more that 21 days at the park before beginning their 6-month stay. After the 6-months (183 days) you must leave the park for for a minimum of 24 hours. WiFi was up and down while we were there. No diesel fuel at gas station but the Firestone Care Car Center is outstanding.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: September 08, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
3.8
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0

Aug 4th 2011

The campground and staff is excellent and enjoyed the stay. Being retired DOD civilian I had a very difficult time getting my wife (considered a guest) in the base to use the campground. DOD retired civilians are not able to sponsor a guest. Davis-Monthan AFB is the only base we have had such a difficult time getting my wife on the base.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: April 12, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

April 7 - 12, 2011

Nice Park, level gravel sites. Bathhouses conveniently located. Wi-fi is adequate but limited in band-with during peak periods, but ethernet hookups are available in lobby of office 24 hours per day. Washers and dryers work well with change machine in the laundry area. Also has "refill your own bottled water" dispenser on site. Lots of "dog run" areas with pre-filled dog poop baggies stocked in various locations. No diesel fuel sold on base. I will stay again at this park when I am passing through or decide to take in more sights in the area. Note to follow instructions to get on base: Keep LEFT as Alvernon breaks off to the right and Golf Links branches to the left. Also, do not use coordinates to get on base - they will try to take you to the Wilmot Gate - which is open weekdays only and cannot be navigated through with a big rig RV. Always go through the main gate with your RV. If the staff does not offer a "Passport to Tucson" discount booklet, ask for it. It costs $15.00 and will pay for itself with one of two visits to attractions in the book. Some are 2 for 1 and others are discounts. Check into it!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.6
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

March, 2011

O.K. if you are into large parking lot type of parks. Good place for dog lovers, and mine enjoyed it. Could not use the WIFI as it could not handle the number of people using it. Had to use my smart card most of the time.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.4
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Jan-Feb 2010

This was our first stay at Agave-Gulch FAM camp. We only planned to stay a week or so and ended up staying for 25 days. We had to stay in overflow for 3 days but it was not bad at all it was kind of exciting to try out dry docking for the first time and learn how to do it. Everything is so convenient on base and in Tuscon. Lots to do and see in town and surrounding area. Found Laundry to be small for the size of the campground but very nice. All the staff is extremely nice and accommodating. It's good to know that there are adding on FHU's to camp because it is definitely busy in Jan-Feb. Will definitely return next winter!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Aug 31, 2009

Very clean, crushed rock pads, full service, WiFi @ office, Nice laundry, very courteous hosts.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

April 5, 2009

Very friendly staff and helpful staff. Had to use the over flow but no problem, just needed to get there a little early in the day. One bad thing was a person came in at the same time as me went to over flow then their friends showed up and they had sign up for a full hook up site so they moved. Didn't think that was fair to other RVer's, since they have a no reservation policy. But that's not the campgrounds fault just RVer's.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

23 Jan to 7 Feb 2009

This is a very good park. That said these are my observations during my recent 16 night Jan/Feb 2009 stay. Pro's: Excellent staff with great attitude. Clean park. Animals always under control. Very fast WiFi with AgaveGulch 4 router in park. Bathhouse in long-term part of park updated and clean. Availability of overflow. Extremely fair and executed overflow => park policy. No reservations, first come, first served is best policy. 21 day policy before rotate out. Con's: Sites are too close together in most of the park. WiFi in overflow (AgaveGulch 2) is scared turtle slow. Pressure to vote for park on MilitaryCamprounds web site. Bathhouse at laundry and west end of park not updated and not very clean (especially showers). Laundry too small for size of park. No fitness facilities in park. Actually, there are no real campground facilities other than utilities, you must go across base and use the base facilities if you want anything extra.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

February 2008

Although I have enjoyed this campground very much in the last few years, my last visit was a disapointment. It was the first time that I was assigned to the newer 201-215 row. For several days, there were other campers in the overflow sites both in front and in back of me with extremely loud generators. These loud generators are usually the lower cost units used on construction sites. It seemed that these units ran continously making it very uncomfortable to sit outside. During my stay, there were over 30 units in the overflow area plus the 15 units on the 200 row. The occupants must cross a busy street to use the shower and restroom facilities. Suggest new facilities be built as soon as possible to avoid a serious accident.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Nov. 25 - Feb. 5, 2007

VERY neat, clean park with plenty of sites; all level and with great hook ups. All staff and hosts are very friendly and accomodating. Vehicle washing on site allowed (YAY), and a good selection of organic at the Comm. The base is well laid-out, and very tidy as well. Although no recycling is in the CG, the manager said they are trying to get some. Meanwhile, there is a huge recycling center on base that takes everything, even old furniture (not that I had any ;0). My complaints; 1)laundry is only convenient if you're in the entrance of the camp, otherwise you have to drive, 2)many of the sites are close to each other (maybe three people's arm lengths max), 3) the price - with no weekly discount - is a bit high, but not ridiculous, 4)no play ground in the CG or within' 'hollerin' distance. Quite a ways down the street is the pool, skate park, and youth center (they have monthly fees of $2 per child) with lots for kids to do - so grandkids can have some fun too! My children love the time away from adults, and I like it too! :) Suguaro NP is very near, and there is plenty of great shopping in Tuscon; Micheals, Book Stores and Wild Oats too.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Nov. 1, 2007

I am traveling across the US and stayed just one night. I arrived after dark, so could not see a lot of the campground. The next morning, I could see a litle more and it looked like a very neat, clean place. The staff at MWR when I checked were very friendly. I can't recommend this campground because I only stayed overnight, but I would definately give it a try.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

February 2007

Bottom Line Up Front. This is a nice park and we'd highly recommend it. It is very busy during late January through February. Get into the park by 15 January and you'll probably not have to wait for a site. Later than that and you'll end up in the overflow without services until a space comes available. You'll wait from 3 to 5 days to get an actual full service site during late January through February. There are no reservations, which is fine because they consistently apply the first-in/first served policy. Bathhouses are available to those staying in the overflow sites and they're clean. The overflow sucks but the actual sites are quite nice. Cost is $5 in overflow and $16 per night in full hookup sites. Hardwire DSL internet connections are available free in the office building, which is open 24/7. Free is nice! Besides the campground, there aren't any on-site amenities such as fitness center or clubhouse. You'll have to go to the main base facilities for these.

Was this review helpful to you? 
23 results - showing 1 - 20  
1 2