Apache Flats RV Resort

Featured
 
4.6 (84)
120292   1   14   1   73

User reviews

84 reviews

 
(66)
 
(12)
 
(4)
 
(2)
1 star
 
(0)
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
4.6  (84)
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.8  (84)
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.6  (84)
Value 
 
4.6  (84)
Overall Experience 
 
4.7  (84)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
84 results - showing 41 - 60
1 2 3 4 5
Ordering
July 2013
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
This RV resort is one of the best run facilities in the entire United States. The Manager is always onsite and is very friendly and professional. The resort is extremely clean and all of the facilities work well. We stay a few times a year and will always be customers.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
February 2013
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
A great place. It's way off the beaten path, so you won't come here unless you really want to see the area. We stayed several nights and drove to Tombstone, Bigsbee, and other touristy spots not too far away. The park is well maintained and deathly quiet at night. Pretty far from the base gates. The base itself has much to offer, including two free wonderful museums and a fascinating post cemetery going back all the way to the 1800s. There is also a great view point near the cemetery up on a hill that you can drive to. From there the panoramic view is spectacular. We loved this place.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
April 18, 2013
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
C.S. left this review using the Directory software: - Park is at the far eastern edge of the base, which is good because it is quiet and very pleasant environment, but it is bad because one has to drive all the way across the base if you come in the Main Gate. All sites are pull through. Slight incline from back to front in the Row 45-50 so leveling is a bit challenging unless you move far forward in the site. Power is clean 20/30/50 amp electric, water and sewer. The camp host is meticulous, informative and very pleasant to do business with. She went to great detail to describe the attractions in the area and recommended certain things to do. Rules are strict, but the place is clean and attractive because they enforce the rules. If.. there is a 90 day limit on a single stay I wonder if it is being adhered to. Some units look like they have been here for quite some time. The park was only half full when we arrived. Calling ahead 1 day was sufficient to have a confirmed site for 3 days. We have a 40 foot motorhome towing a Jeep SUV. The entrance road is paved and the interior roads are paved and generally wide enough for maneuvering, but it might be better had we unhooked the towed at the office before moving to the site.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
23-26 April 2013
(Updated: April 26, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
This is one of the nicest military parks we have ever stayed. One of the reasons for this has a lot to do with Sharon, the park's manager. When we made reservations, she told us to call back when we got closer for better directions to the park. She had us come in the east gate (0700-1900, Mon-Fri) which is a little easier than going through the main gate. Also, she gave us our site and told us to park and catch up with her later. When I went to pay, she provided a lot of information about the local area, especially for the attractions in Tombstone and Bisbee. Parking is one level, concrete pads with very good water and electric service. The bathrooms and laundry facilities were immaculate. There is an exercise room but there are too many machines crammed in it and really not useful. Thanks Sharon for making our stay great. We hope to return soon.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
Mar 2012
(Updated: June 03, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
My wife and I needed a place to stay for a while as we were enroute to places north and east but need it to be a bit warmer first. This was a great place to stay. We visited friends, saw all the sites in the area (Caverns, Bisbee, Tombstone, etc.) and planned for further travel. Sharon Blakley and all her staff & volunteers are the best ever. This camp and facilities were clean and orderly. Nice big concrete pads with room to spare. We are definitely planning to stay next year if we can get in for a week or 2. This is high on our list for sure.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
Decemeber 2011 - March 2012
(Updated: April 28, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
This is the nicest campground we've been to and definitely plan on returning. The grounds are clean, the staff and volunteers are great. Even though there was an increase in rates, it is the best deal around. All other private campgrounds charge for electricity and I am grateful that this campground doesn't. We love it here.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
March 20 - 27- 2012
(Updated: March 25, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We've stayed here several times in March for the last several yrs. Obviously we enjoy it or we wouldn't keep coming back. Sharon, the camp host is very friendly & always is willing to be of help. We use the laundry, but not rest rooms. It's typical & very clean with all the machines working. We enjoy the area & usually beautiful Spring weather. The golf course is pretty nice. fairways are generally pretty good & very green for this time of yr. Greens are better than I would have expected. We visited the Calvary Chapel in Sierra Vista & were shocked at how big it is for a fairly small town. Obviously they are on fire for the Lord! The CG is in excellent shape as it always has been when we've been here. We like the base & it has all that one would need.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
December 5, 2011
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
J.B. left this review using the Directory software: - I was amazed at the negative comments on this campground. My wife and I considered not visiting this campground after reading it, but have visited the campground before, and decided to give it another try, and judge it for ourselves once again. We are full time RVers, and have been for the last nine years, and have visited all forty nine states in North America, mainly military campgrounds. I could not disagree more with the negative comment on this campground. The manager of the campground is Sharon Blakley, and in my opinion is still one of the best, if not the best campground manager in the system. She has three assistants, Luz Pena, Mac and Hoa McKinzey, along with Vera Norman, and has many volunteers that help. After my military stint, I became part owner, and manager of a company, and consider myself a good judge of people. I wish I had the personal like these people work for me. Such dedication to this campground could not be better or improved, and I say this with nothing to gain, except to give another opinion without any financial gain, or other other gains. If I was asked to rate this campground on a scale of one to ten, I would rate it at a fourteen, Sites are exceptionally well kept, restrooms are spotless, activities are many for any taste, and if you do not want to cook, the dining facility is open to the campers with ID, and is located just a short distance away. If you like to bike or hike, this location can not be better, and the views are just beautiful. I could go on, and suggest anyone who has not been here, make sure you give it a try. You will not be disappointed, and will be more than pleasantly surprised. I am not ashamed to give my name to this comment, and it is James Blawat. Please feel free to use it in this comment, and hope it is published in the comment section.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
Oct 13, 2011
(Updated: October 20, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
The park is laid out with large sites. We stopped here mid Oct and was only half full. Looks like there are folks who are permanent residence here. The overall park is overrun with weeds. There is no grass anywhere on the park. The sites have a good concrete pad but the weeds are thick in the rock areas around the rig. For the money, I can find better facilities. On a good note, the people in the office were very friendly and informative about things to do in the area. The laundry room was clean, did not use the shower facilities.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
August 2011
(Updated: August 26, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
I feel that the weather this year in southern Arizona has caused some problems with some folks about the overall cleanliness of the park itself. Fact is, it's monsoon season here and overnight the weeds and grass seem to grow a foot taller making it a problem to keep up with grass and weed killing. As soon as monsoon season ends things will be back to normal. And please do not overlook that all sites are in working order and well kept. Plus the laundry room and rest rooms are always spotless. The price increase is unfortunate to say the least. We will all feel the pain of the increase but that decision was made by MWR. The price has increased by $120.00 in 13-14 months and it is hard to justify an almost 50 per cent increase in rates. Again that decision was made by MWR because of budget cuts and without regard for our lack of pay increase. This is a beautiful park and we've always enjoyed our stays here. If you can handle the rate increase this is a military park that should not be missed.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 1
Apr-Aug 2011
(Updated: August 17, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
2.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
1.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
Rumor that the rates are being raised by 100 per month that would be 420 per month and definitely not worth it. Sites maintenance continues to go down each year and the shortage of site makes all but those in the know get told no vacancy have always enjoyed this park but the increase in cost will scratch if from my list of places to visit. MWR must not have gotten the word retirees haven't had a pay raise in two years and the future looks pretty sad.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Dec 2010 - Mar 2011
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
J.B. left this review using the Directory Software: Super great campground. Host and volunteers very professional and helpful. Cool to cold nights, great during the daytime even in winter months. More activities than one could dream of participating in. Super clean wide pull thrus that are concrete and extremely level. Better place for bikes could not be found at any other campground. Close to everything for anyone's desires. Great views of the valley which you overlook towards Sierra Vista, with the Hauchucas in the backyard. Wildlife abounds everywhere. The camp host should be given special recognition by MWR, as I have never meet one that is good as this lady Sharon Blakley. I will come back every winter until I go to the promised land.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
15 Jan 2011 to 14 Feb 2011
(Updated: February 24, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
The host is very upbeat and helpful I almost felt like it was a resort at time's with the activities, but feel the laundry should have been open longer and not shut down along with the facilities for women's night, of course I could be thinking wrong. You have to go off base to get any mail other than UPS/FedEx which is brought to the park.I did however enjoy the price and able to eat at the galley. I will come back if I am in the area.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 1
October-December 2010
(Updated: December 25, 2010)
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Staying on post for TDY, this is the best deal in the area. Having the convenience of everything on post within a mile makes it a big plus. The park is very well maintained. The sites are level and the hook-ups are reliable. The laundry and restrooms are always spotless. The only reason it didn't get 5 stars all the way down is the lack of wi-fi internet. Using VZW broadband device without issue but would prefer free internet, which seems to be a cable provider issue. Great park that we will use anytime we are in the area.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
05 April 2010
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
I have been staying at Apache Flats regularly for 5 years as a (working) DoD contractor, and sincerely appreciate the friendliness of the hosts, cleanliness of the park, and the free Gym. I am disappointed that their Internet service provider has let them down and cannot provide service. I paid $17/night which included FHU and 50 channels of cable TV service. I'm afraid my contract at Ft Huachuca is coming to an end but I hope to visit Apache Flats again in the future!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
31 Mar- 6 Apr 2010
(Updated: April 07, 2010)
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We stayed here from 31 Mar-6 Apr 2010. You need to make reservations this place stays full. Really nice and quiet, bathrooms are clean. Close to the commissary and even the grocery stores down town are inexpensive. Lots of museum and other stuff to do here. When coming down Hwy 90 take East gate entrance because of Main gate construction. Will stay here again when in the area.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
3 Days in Jan 2010
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
While we only stayed for 3 days and weather not cooperating I must say that this facility should be at the very top of the list, military and civilian RV parks included. Sharon, the host, very, very knowledgeable and has all the attributes a campground host needs to have. Other campground hosts could certainly learn a thing or two from her. Grounds are very well maintained and laid out. Being able to chow down at the mess hall was added treat. Best "bang to the buck" anywhere. Only drawback might be the difficulty obtaining a reservation for a period of a few days since most seem to be long termers. Also noticed that while there may be a reason for it, but ID cards were not checked when registering. Will certainly return.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
Dec. 12, 13, 14, 2009.
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Called ahead and got reservations for the three days. When office opened on Monday, tried to extend two more days, but no luck. This place is always full. It is a nice campground, clean, quiet. Level concrete pads for rig and a concrete patio at each site with picnic table and grill. Between sites is crushed rock. A few trees and nice lighted concrete walkways. They do accept reservations 60 days in advance, not 30 as stated above. What little I did explore in town, was nice. People in the area are very friendly. I did not use any of the base facilities, so cannot comment on them. The men's room and showers were very clean. The laundry area is in the office and I think laundry must be done when the office is open, but not sure of that. I would stay here again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
Sept 2-17, 2009
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Great RV park probably one of best values in the whole system. Sites are well laid out and the post is easy to get into and signs to the Park lead you right to it. Since the addition of six new site those who want to spend a night or two have a lot better chance. There have been from 5 to 9 sites open each day we have been here. Everything you need is close by and the town has about everything anyone would need. The staff is very helpful and easy to work with. The only negative comment is they need to update their recreation building. We will be staying often in the coming years.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 4 0
August 20-22, 2009
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Beautiful campground! Tastefully landscaped, friendly office personnel, and warm atmosphere. We'll definitely be back.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 4 0
84 results - showing 41 - 60
1 2 3 4 5