Apache Flats RV Resort

Featured
 
4.6 (84)
120290   1   14   1   73

User reviews

84 reviews

 
(66)
 
(12)
 
(4)
 
(2)
1 star
 
(0)
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
4.6  (84)
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.8  (84)
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.6  (84)
Value 
 
4.6  (84)
Overall Experience 
 
4.7  (84)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
84 results - showing 61 - 80
1 2 3 4 5
Ordering
April 2009
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
S.R. left this review using the Directory software: The wonderful lady who checked us in gave us all the information available about services, amenities and more than we could even have digested. She was wonderful and is to be commended for her hospitality. This was our first stay there, but definitely not our last. Keep up the good work.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 1
May 3, 2009
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
BRIEF UPDATE FOR ALLCON: Apache Flats campground has just completed construction on six new sites! All are just like the others. Full hook ups and ready to go. They have been finished for about a week now and so far only ONE camper has used them. I can't believe it. All the complaining folks are doing about not being able to get a site. Probably because it is springtime and snowbirds are leaving again. The new sites are really nice but no landscaping yet. This campground is the one to compare all others to in my opinion. The host Sharon is very gracious, friendly and knowledgeable about all subjects you would be interested in and if she doesn't know then she will find out about it. Best campground I have EVER been in. Period.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
March 15, 2009
Overall rating 
 
1.6
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
1.0
Value 
 
1.0
Overall Experience 
 
1.0
Couldn't get in but found a $20.00 per night, RV CITY, 13 miles before you get to the base.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 5
Feb. 17, 2009
Overall rating 
 
3.6
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
1.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
The showers have pressure only in one stall, the other three to include the handicap has no pressure. There has been numerous complaints with nothing done. They state the active military do not have to leave for the seven days during the busy season, I don't think this is fair to the other people wanting to use the RV park.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 6
10 Nov 08
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Visited week of 10 Nov 08 and leaving tomorrow 15 Nov 08. One of the better military RV parks I have stayed in. Very friendly staff and professionally run park. Wifi in day room and cable at your site with about 50 channels. $14 per night and you can use the chow hall for your meals if you want. Very good value over all. 18 miles to Tombstone if you take Charleston blvd. Ask the lady in the office for directions. Only down side was the road maintenance being done on some of the base roads. Tough to navigate around the base with the construction and not knowing my way around. I had no reservations and called 2 hours before showing up, i was lucky to get a spot. Will come back for sure.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
Aug. 2008
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
H.B. left this review using the Directory software: best one so far, will be hard to beat. Hope to return.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 2
Sept 15, 2008
Overall rating 
 
2.2
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
1.0
We called the number listed today for one of the five tent sites listed in the resorts listing only to be told that they have not had tent sites for quite a long time. We diverted to a hotel to figure out where to go next.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 8
June 2008
Overall rating 
 
4.4
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Would like and would appreciate it if we could use this famcamp in place of the 3 to 5 month regulars that gather here. This rule should be investigated so that we can all have a chance.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 4
May 4, 2008
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
This campground is the standard by which I rate all other military camp grounds. I'm a very critical person, and I gotta say this place is about perfect. They even have WiFi! If you plan on using the WiFi, just ask for a lot located near the office. If none is available, you can always take your laptop to the office building and use their common work space. How nice! They take reservations and permit long stays. This place is hard to beat.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
May - June 2008
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
P.R. left this review using the Directory software: This is a definite 5 star park! And we have the greatest hostess ever! We have more than some parks and ours is spotless, with trees, sidewalks, on and on. There are no rough roads to the park, all smooth blacktop, road well marked, and no narrow roads. Our roads are the same as roads on any post or in any town. Our cats are here due to our assistant host, Vera. She trained them and they are "mousers." They do a geat job as we now never see mice! Also have a recreation room being renovated and it will be very nice when finished. There is a Club on post, TMAC, Thunder Mountain Activity Center. I mention this as someone said we have no club. Lunch is served daily, buffet style and this is where parties, etc. are held. We also have several eating places on post besides the PX and TMAC.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
Feb 23-29, 2008
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Arrived on a Saturday, unable get into the RV park so stayed a week in overflow which is first come first serve and wasn't bad at all, next to a Skeet range and paintball course, Kind of rustic with water and 30 amp electric, and the price was right. A great place to become a tourist. Local attractions abound in this part of AZ. The fort has a rich and varied history. Museums on the Fort are outstanding and exploring is an adventure. Overflow is a good bargin.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 1
June 2007
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
This is an outstanding campground. Sharon, the host, is a very friendly person. We throughly enjoyed our stay at this FAMCAMP. All of the sites are equipped with nice level cement slabs, cable TV, electric and sewer. Also their is a Burger King close by. It also has a nice BX, Commissary, Extra Large Bowling Alley, and Movie Theater. Another nice thing is you are welcome to eat in the mess hall. Wow! I surely recommend this one.
AA
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 7 0
Jun 1, 2007
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
This is the very best Famcamp I have visted. All of the sites are slabs and the price includes cable tv. It is very close to the BX, Commissary, Burger King, Library, Theater, Bowling Alley, banks and you can eat in the mess hall. I can't understand why this one is not an all 5, because it should be. Also the staff are very friendly people. The rate is only $300 per month and you do not have to rotate.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 5 0
May 2007 - September 2007
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
This is an excellent campground. While it does stay busy most of the time with active duty students and steady flow of visitors, it's a fairly sized campground. It is located in the back side of Fort Huachuca, and does take a minute to get to from the 3 gates for post. All of the sites are pull through, and while it's tucked in the back of post, I'm a beginner RV'er with a 39' RV and had no problems whatsoever getting to it. 50A/30A available at most every site I believe. It is very quiet and has a nice view of the Huachuca Mountains from your back window. Being along Apache Flats means you have quick access to Buffalo Corral (Horse Back Riding), several of the trails into Huachuca Canyon, and about 10 minutes from Garden Canyon. Sharon, the hostess, is the nicest you'll encounter. She'll help with any problem you encounter that she can assist with. The showers and restrooms are very clean, and all of the campsites are well kept and policed to keep from looking too transient. You have a picnic bench and a little area for it to sit on your level concrete pad. The park is well lit at night, which can be annoying if you have windows into your bedroom depending on where you're parked. The dump station is pull through as well. A reservation is a must unless you want to fall into the overflow area. The local cats are cute, and the pink flamingo is a humorous touch. Wi-Fi is available for sites near the central office, cable is available; however, if you tune in HD channels with a tuner, be aware southern Arizona doesn't broadcast HD OTA - that's only near Tucson and Phoenix. There are a lot of activities in Cochise County, you simply have to be willing to get out and ask around and drive around 30-45 minutes to visit the differing sites.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 10 0
7 Sept 07
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
This is very nice campground. We are staying for one month and the monthly rate is now 300. The daily rate is $14. Coming in the main gate the directions to the camp are very well marked and it is a good thing since you drive all the way through post to get there. The base has a good PX /Commisary. If you like to walk as we do there are plenty of places to do that. WIFI is available in the office area as well as hard hookup. The one complaint I have is no washing of RV. Don't know how they expect you to keep them clean. Do not come in here without a reservation since park is full most of the time. A lot of the reason this time of year is active duty in school. The weather here not bad most of the time.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 6 0
May 2007
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
This is one of the finest Famcamps we've visited in our years of full timing; check-in with the friendly and helpful hostess began an outstanding two-week stay. The concrete sites were level and had large patios with picnic tables. Hookups were convenient and included free cable. We travel with an internet satellite so wireless wasn't an issue but we noticed that there are stations set up in the office for modem use. The office is spotless and has large washers, unusual for a Famcamp and handy for the bedspreads. The landscaping throughout the park is wonderful; we had two large mesquite trees and most sites have some shade. A mini-gym has treadmills and stair-climbers (and they actually work). There are chairs and tables under the trees with lots of bird feeders for entertainment. There are nature trails and plenty of room to let the dogs roam. It's easy to see why this park is in such high demand. An interesting twist was the family of friendly cats that roamed the park. All are neutered/spayed and up to date on shots. They keep the rodents away, which keeps the snakes away - great idea! Kudos to the Army on this one!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 13 0
April 16, 2007
(Updated: April 17, 2007)
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Arrived today with no reservations, and there were several FHU sites available. All facilities appear to be clean & well-maintained. PX is on the smallish side, but has the basics. Commissary is large, very nice, and well stocked. No clubs, separate or combined, on this base. The community center seems to serve that purpose. In fact, MWR has a very strong presence on this base. Sharon, the campground manager, is very helpful and knowledgeable on everything in this area. If you want to know where to go and how to get there, just ask. Regarding internet access, there is WIFI, if you're close to the office. We use the Sprint wireless broadband card, so local access isn't an issue. However, for other such users, be advised that, while the Sprint signal is strong, there is no EVDO here. You still get internet on the card, but at a reduced broadband speed. A pleasant surprise is that the military dining hall here allows retirees to use the facility. This is a perk that has been rapidly disappearing at most CONUS bases, thus the pleasant surprise. All in all, it seems like a great springtime destination.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 8 0
Feb 2007
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
2.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
Very nice, well-laid-out campground with friendly and helpful staff. A number of attractions within easy driving distance to include Bisbee, Tombstone, Chiricahua National Monument, Kratchner Cavern, and, of course, the Ft. Hauchuca Museum. I would have rated this camp as a 4 if it had not been for three items. First, the camp is about 5 miles from the main gate and they aren't easy miles -- the road is narrow and rough for quite a distance, you have to pass through 3 heavily traveled school crossings where you slow to 15 mph, you have to traverse a traffic circle, and, finally, you could easily get confused on some of the last turns and twists if you aren't paying enough attention and watching closely for signs. It takes about 15 minutes to get from the gate to the rv camp. Second, no wifi. As far as I know, there is none anywhere on post. The closest wifi I found was at McDonald's on Fry Blvd (poor signal) or the public library which had an excellent signal. Unfortunately, McD's is about a mile from the main gate and the library is about 2 miles, so it's not a trivial trip once you consider the 5 mile gauntlet just to get to the main gate from the rv camp. Finally, they do have an "overflow" area here and it does have W/E, but it is not what I would consider as normal overflow, i.e., a place to stay while waiting for a site to free up. Overflow at Hauchuca is "not listed" for waiting to get into the famcamp. The only way to get into the famcamp is with a reservation or to just happen upon a vacant spot. As nice as this camp is, I seriously doubt we will return.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 6 2
Nov - Dec 2006
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
This campground is well managed and the hostess is very efficient, friendly and helpful. Many activities are held in the rec room and they are well attended. Showers and laundry are super clean at ALL times. Close to commissary, PX, and other facilities. Nearby Sierra Vista is military friendly and people helpful. Beautiful Huachuca Mountains just south of campground, hiking is great. This is one of the old forts and the museum is very informative.
PG
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 5 0
---
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
I have stayed here before, but still find it a bit odd that some can stay here for extended periods of time. One was there 5 months, I find it hard to believe that the same people seem to "homestead" here during the winter months. I found this Fam Camp a very tight net group who seems to always stay together for the winter. I have never seen a Military Fam Camp that allows 90 days, let alone seems to allow friends stay past the 90 days. I believe the MWR should look into the lengths of stays as it prevents those that travel a place to stay a few days. It might be interesting to see who stays when and how often during Snowbird time. A note, that I was not treated bad, in fact I found he Host to be very nice and pleasing.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 7 2
84 results - showing 61 - 80
1 2 3 4 5