Fort Tuthill Recreation Area

Featured
 
3.7 (40)
136735 0 17 0 54

User reviews

15 reviews with 4 stars

40 reviews

 
(12)
 
(15)
 
(7)
 
(5)
 
(1)
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
4.3  (40)
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.9  (40)
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.2  (40)
Value 
 
3.7  (40)
Overall Experience 
 
3.7  (40)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
15 results - showing 1 - 15
Ordering
6 Sept - 16 Sept 2019
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Priced right. Pump truck comes to pump port-o-pots and gladly pumps RVs. Bargain at $20 since we've been here 8 of our 10-day visit and didn't have to move to dump station and back! 5 MPH speed isn't being enforced and dust issue requires using AC rather than open windows and fresh mountain air. However traffic is higher this weekend due to music festival at county facilities adjacent. Great place to relax and nearness of things to do is awesome. We come here annually in September and will continue enjoying Fort Tuthill in the future.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
May 21 - 25, 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Our second stay here. Just wish they'd cut some of the small trees that make getting around with big rigs very difficult. Other than that, this is a great CG and now they're part of the FamCamp family so I got my Passport stamped! (Didn't do that four years ago.) Super location in a really interesting town. Went to all the nearby National Monuments and Parks, including the Grand Canyon, as well as visited the Lowell Observatory. Got to look at the moon through a 121 year old telescope!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
Oct 2016
Overall rating 
 
3.6
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Tried several sites until settled on one that was sort of level. Not all sites have electric and water available, they are spaced around the campground. This campground is way over due an upgrade / modernization. Seems like an a bit of effort to level the sites would go a long way. It is convenient to Flagstaff and things to see in the area. We would stay again although cost is a bit high for the quality of the campground. The staff was helpful. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
14-18 Sept 2015
Overall rating 
 
4.4
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
This is a nice, well-kept campground nestled in the ponderosa pines. Our site (#2) was satellite friendly, but we were unable to connect to the lodge's WiFi, even with our WiFiRanger booster. WiFi aside, the staff was courteous and friendly; restrooms and laundry clean and well maintained. Walmart and Bashas' just a short drive north on AZ 89. The recreation area is collocated with Ft Tuthill County Park where Pickin' in the Pines is a popular annual bluegrass event. Hiking trails abound, and the urban trail will take you on foot or bike to the aforementioned Walmart. I only rated amenities a three because sites are without septic hook up. If your stay takes you beyond the capacity of your tanks, breaking camp to dump can be a pain. Overall we thought this campground was a good value and will visit again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 6 1
15 November 2002
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
My plan was to stay in one of the Yurts they have available for camping on the premises. My visit was just after a snow storm and none were available until spring. So we had to stay in the Lodge, very nice facility with very nice amenities. I would stay there again anytime of the year.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
14-17 July 2014
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
J.H. left this review using the Directory software: - We spent four nights at the campground in July 2014 and had a very good experience. They are doing some construction at the entrance directly off I-17 so you need to go a few hundred yards to the North entrance, which was not really a problem. This is a busy family campground, so there are a lot of children and dogs, but we did not experience any issues with loose dogs or people not cleaning up after their dogs. We used the laundry facility and it has just been painted. Machines were older, but all were functional and the area was clean. Restrooms worked fine and were clean. We saw a lot of ongoing maintenance being performed on the grounds. The staff was friendly and helpful. We found this a great base to visit Sedona, the Grand Canyon South Rim, and Meteor Crater.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
May 6, 2014
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
N.D. left this review using the Directory software: - Nice quiet facility. Not the Hilton, but clean, well run, and friendly.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
October 1-5, 2013
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Okay, here's my Clint Eastwood review for Ft Tuthill: The Good: We tent camp and Ft Tuthill has many good tent camping sites. There are port-a-potties near each site, and there is a bathhouse within walking distance, as well. They have Yurts that have wood stoves, refrigerators, and microwaves in them. For those not in the know, a Yurt, is a big tent on steroids. It is a round structure that sleeps four in bunks and probably 4-6 more in sleeping bags on the floor. I think they are a best buy in the off-season ($25/night). They also have a first-rate lodge/hotel facility that has a huge warm lobby with a nice fireplace, an upstairs portion with TV and pool table, a camp store, and a computer room replete with wifi and a couple of computers with printing capabilities. There is also a recreational area in back of the lobby, and rest rooms just off to the side of the lobby. The staff here are great and seem to go out of their way to be helpful. The Bad: This is where I hate how they tie in the cleanliness and hospitality marks, because the hospitality is great, the cleanliness is hit and miss, at least in the bathhouse. The showers in the men's room have loads of hot water, but one of them is broken, and the toilets don't seem to flush right. Even when you hold down the handle, like it tells you to, a couple of the toilets still flooded and got stuck on me. Fortunately, there was a plunger nearby. Also, the Laundry facilities are antiquated, with one of the four washers broken and two of the four dryers broken. Even the washers and dryers that did work squealed, rocked, rolled, and shook like a California earthquake. The laundry facility was clean, though; I'll give them that. I would also consider getting rid of the 1980's video games upstairs above the lobby and put in a couple of video game/X-Box consoles like the USO does. It IS 2013, after all; not 1983. The Ugly: This is the part I hate, because it pits pet owners against non-pet owners and both are fiercely loyal to their beliefs. BUT, here it goes....there is a big problem with pet owners letting their animals (dogs, mostly) run free in the campground, bark incessantly, and not clean up after they do their doody. Pet owners REALLY need to pick up after their pets and respect those who are NOT pet lovers and don't appreciate stepping in dog poop; especially, in places where there shouldn't be any dog poop. Maybe they could adopt a policy like Travis AFB Fam Camp employs and segregate pet owner sites and non-pet owner sites, to keep them in separate areas of the park. The other alternative would be to ban pets altogether, which a LOT of parks are now starting to do! Overall: A good experience, with issues that need to be addressed. Tent camping is still a great value at $9/night, but the facilities need a good going over and the pet issues need to be resolved. The staff is absolutely wonderful, cheerful and happy, and the main lobby is outstanding.
Report this review Comments (2) | Was this review helpful to you? 4 1
May 31 - Jun 2, 2011
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
H.S. left this review using the Directory software: WE HAD A GREAT TIME MOST SITES ARE IN THE PINE TREES. SOME SITES MAY BE HARD FOR BIG RIGS CALL FIRST AND THEY WILL TRY TO GET YOU TO A LARGE SITE.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
July 2010
(Updated: September 17, 2010)
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
We stayed at Ft. Tuthill in July 2010. Last year they charged $5 to use the dump station. This year it was free.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
16 October 2009
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
This is the second time I have stayed at this facility... both times in the main lodge. I would echo and agree with all the the previous comments shown below. The staff was very courteous and helpful. My queen room was standard hotel stuff, but a value at $65. The lodge and cabins are very popular in the summer as a cool escape from the heat in Phoenix and in the winter for winter sports and skiing. They are full most weekends so reserve early. I was here this time to visit old RV friends staying in the RV campground in their Class C. The water was turned off and this was the last weekend the campground would be open until next spring. The RV spaces are tight and certainly not friendly for large rigs in the 40ft+ range. Most of the spaces would not be adequate for my 30ft. Airstream trailer and you'd better be well practiced in your backing/parking skills because there are numerous trees. As one previous person commented, this Rec area seems to favor the Lodge, cabins, and Yurts over the RV camp which would be very difficult and expensive to upgrade. With only 15 and 30 amp service and the outlets oddly placed, this RV campground is suited best for smaller rigs, pop-ups and Class Cs. It is great for tent camping and closely located to Flagstaff, well known in the RV community for being ANTI-RV friendly. (You cannot over night at the Wal-Mart or any other open parking lot - they will even run you out of the Fairgrounds next to Ft. Tuthill if you plan to stop overnight.)
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
September 24, 2009
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Nice shady park. Utilities are old and set up improperly with water on wrong side. Only standard 110V plugs for power. All sites are back in and tight squeeze for big rigs. Hosts run the lodging facilities for cabins and the park. Excellent shower facilities, clean and well maintained. Laundry room is small but clean. Semper Fi!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
July 2009
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
The hotel lobby is very comfortable and offers free coffee and free Wi-Fi. There is even a computer to use if you don't have your own. About half the sites have gotten upgraded electric service to 30 amp. They have added a $5.00 fee to use the dump station even if you are a registered camper, $10 if you are not staying at the park. They take reservations based on the size of your rig. (If a 40ft site is empty and you have a 30ft rig, they will not make a reservation for you for that site.)
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
04 Oct 2006
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
The park has lots of trees making sites very hard to fit into. Fort Tuthill Management turns away many RVs because their rigs will not fit in the small sites. When ask the management stated they do not record the many that are turned away. If the campground is never reported as full or turning away RVs then the campground will never be improved with larger sites.
RD
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 9 0
March 2005
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
A pleasant location, but RV sites are a bit rustic. Electric is minimal, with hookups located in various locations. Plenty of pine trees on slight hills, which can make parking difficult. The emphasis appears to be on the lodging and not the RV sites, which is very nice. Not big rig friendly. Although, we didn't have much problems with our 36' Class A.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
15 results - showing 1 - 15