Fort Tuthill Recreation Area

Featured
 
3.7 (40)
136722 0 17 0 54

User reviews

11 reviews with 5 stars

40 reviews

 
(12)
 
(15)
 
(7)
 
(5)
 
(1)
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
4.3  (40)
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.9  (40)
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.2  (40)
Value 
 
3.7  (40)
Overall Experience 
 
3.7  (40)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
11 results - showing 1 - 11
Ordering
21-27 September 2019
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We tent-camped here for 6 nights. The cost per night was $15. Our site, T8, backed up to the forest and was reasonably level. It was as far from the bathhouse,laundry, and office as possible but these places were still easily accessible. Yes, it was pretty dusty before a rainstorm improved conditions. Staff was very courteous, friendly, and helpful. Fellow campers were great but there's always that few percent that drive too fast, walk through others' campsites, etc. Overall, we really enjoyed our time here.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
July 5-8, 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
This is my 3rd visit to this hidden little gem just south of Flagstaff, if you are looking for multiple levels of camping this is the place from Hotel (does not have AC) to A-frame cabins fit about 8 people, smaller Cabins, Yurts and campgrounds. it is not designed for the monster motor coaches, but has an array of sites to fit most needs. Campgrounds are not huge but nicely hidden in the pines. The staff is always courteous and kind. They are more then willing to let you know what is going on in the local area. If you want a relaxing place with the sounds of kids playing and a dog barking every once in awhile this place is heaven. It is one of my favorite places. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 5 1
April 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Thought we would add a review as there hasn't been any for a couple years. This Fam Camp was one of the nicest we have stayed at. The staff in the lodge were very friendly and check in took only a couple minutes. The Fam Camp also has a lodge, cabins and yurts. The bath house was clean and great water pressure. The sites are wooded and easy in/out.Their description says they are not Big Rig friendly. They are. We are in a 40' site , traveling in a 38'Class A. Plenty of room for the RV and car. Only negative is no sewer hook up. There is a dump station if needed. WiFi is non existence in the campground.Remember you are in the mountains here.Much colder than surrounding areas.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
May 2016
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We just finished a five week cross country trip from FL to CA and back in May. We stayed at 9 military RV parks. All are very different. We ended up staying here two different times on our trip because of the proximity to Sedona, the Grand Canyon, Flagstaff, and Mormon Lake. The sites are not paved and not really level. There is no sewer hook ups. There is a bathhouse and some port-o-potties. It is nice and quiet. We hung out at the lodge lobby for some free wifi. The receptionist started a fire in the fireplace so it was quite a nice evening. 
Wal-mart is just a few minutes away for provisions.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 2
26-29 May and 2-4 Oct 15
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We stayed here twice this summer; on the way east and then on the return. Both times we found this site to be a great value and a peaceful, friendly retreat. The bathroom/showers were very clean. We went into downtown Flagstaff several times; less than five miles. Sedona was a beautiful drive of around 30 minutes (if I remember correctly). This was a better value than staying directly in the Sendoa area. Traveling to the south rim of the Grand Canyon was less than an hour and a half. The staff was very friendly and helpful; registration was easy. The peace and quite can change however if the park across the chain link fence is host to a large event, with many campers; we had that one night. We will definitely go back again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 5 1
26 May 2015
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
My wife and i had a great experience at Ft Tuthill. We spent one day visiting the Flagstaff area and one day visiting Sedona. The park is in a great position to get to both of those. We've been to the Grand Canyon before so didn't do it that time but it's also well located to do a day trip. The day we left we were told several thousand AA members were going to be visiting the civilian part of the park; just a chain link fence away. That could have been pretty loud. We would stay there again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
October 27 - 31, 2014
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We arrived expecting a dump overrun by teenagers (by previous reviews). It IS an older CG without the concrete pads many of us prefer, but it's extremely quiet and peaceful (there were only five other RV/trailers and very few in the cabins). We had no trouble getting our 38' Montana into our site, nor parking our full size bed & crew cab pickup in front of it. There are nature trails that wander about the old post's grounds. The laundry facility isn't new, but everything worked well. Front desk staff was friendly & helpful. Dump station is conveniently located for when leaving. Our AT&T hotspot worked well and there's plenty of over the air television too.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 6 1
30-31 May 2013
(Updated: June 01, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Our only concern was it's a bit tight for big rigs. The folks here were very friendly, they cooked up burgers and dogs for everyone on Friday. Nice way to meet your fellow campers. The camp sites were neat and orderly. We here early in the season and they have porta-potties set up while they get the bathrooms in order. Might be an issue for non-self contained campers but we didn't hear anyone complaining. We enjoyed our stay very much.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
Aug 1st, 2012
(Updated: August 15, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We arrived without a reservation because we were traveling and not knowing when we would stop for the night. We went through a heavy rain between Page and Flagstaff, which caught up to us just after we finished our hookups. There was a full length Class A just across from us, so big rigs can be accommodated. If you own one I would definitely recommend that you call for reservations. We had 30 amp service. While walking through the campground I noticed a rv site with no hookups, if you are just passing through, and can dry camp, you might ask the desk about this. If you are passing through the area on I-40, or planning on seeing the Grand Canyon, this campground is easy to get to. I first used this campground in 1993 using the yurts, followed by tent camping. This was my first time in a RV. Luke AFB does put your money back into the campground. Trees have been thinned to widen the roads, but you still must proceed slowly and use a spotter to get situated on your site. The retail store was under construction while we were there. If you are tired of parking lot style RV parks come see this one.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 4 0
June 8 - 11, 2008
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
This was our fourth visit, starting from 1993. We can see the improvements over that period. The campground is set in a forest of pine trees, three miles from a shopping center and several restaurants. The placement of utilities are made difficult because of the trees and their root structure. Some sites are pull throughs, most are back ins. The key to keeping your RV undamaged is to honor the 5 MPH speed limit and to practice backing. This facility has free coffee at all times, WiFi in the comfortable lodge living room. There is a computer available in the conference room for those needing it. The showers are clean and comfortable. There are now many porta-potties spread out through the campground. No more walking all of the way to the showers just to use the bathroom. The facility has many organized activities to get you out of your rig. Every staff member that we dealt with were friendly and helpful.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 5 1
July 2006
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Cabins are fantastic. All are maintained well. Staff at this location is very helpful. I stayed once in the RV section of the park. This area needs lots of improvement. Not many hook ups, and its very difficult to maneauver large RV's around. Overall an excellent park.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 5 0
11 results - showing 1 - 11