Little Rock AFB FamCamp

Featured
 
4.1 (61)
56870   0   16   0   20

User reviews

26 reviews with 4 stars

61 reviews

 
(22)
 
(27)
 
(10)
 
(2)
1 star
 
(0)
Overall rating 
 
4.1
 
4.3  (61)
 
3.6  (61)
 
4.4  (61)
 
4.1  (61)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
26 results - showing 1 - 20  
1 2  
Ordering 
 
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Aug 9-14, 2018

This is a great place. Nice to have concrete pads and plenty of water pressure. The only real downside is that there are no washer and dryers on the grounds or on the base. Apparently there used to be here and there is a room for them but something happened in Dec of last year and they were removed. Larry, the camp host, has been unsuccessful in getting the bureaucracy to resolve.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

27-29 April 2018

Easy to find, amenities are plentiful on base. New sites in process of being added. Our host ( Larry) was very helpful. Would like to see more MWR facilities provide reservations in advance of just showing up and hoping to find an open site.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

March 30-April 2 2018

We had no problem finding this campground, even despite the Sentry's error in directions at the gate (told us to turn left, when it should have been right; plenty of signage, though, so we caught it). Out site was clean, our hosts were friendly and hospitable and the amenities were plentiful and convenient. Just to expound on each individual rated trait: Location: it's a bit out of the way from the interstates, but not terribly so. Signage to the base was adequate. Cleanliness/Hospitality: Camp hosts, Larry and Patty, were outstanding and very friendly. Bathrooms could use a little attention, though. Also, newcomers be forewarned, the bathroom doors ARE coded! So, if you have to go, do it before you arrive (especially after hours!) Amenities/Facilities: Sites were clean and well-kept. We did not see any homesteaders, or even signs of homesteaders during our stay. The nature trail was nice and the gas station/convenience stores, BX and Commissaries were all close by and quite useful. Value: Considering a lot of civilian campgrounds want $40-60/night, nowadays; and even state parks want $20-25/night, I think it's a top-rate value! Overall Experience: Very pleased! Will camp here, again... 

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

9 Feb 2018

It had been several years since we were at the Little Rock AFB Fam Camp and was in the area to watch our grandson play college basketball. Just did a drive-thru and saw a lot of construction taking place; more RV spaces and a new comfort station. The better pull thru sites and back-in sites were taken by "homesteaders". It looked like some of them had been there for years.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

March 16-19 2017

The ramp at exit 11 is a mess. There's a stop sign at the bottom where you must merge with traffic on the frontage road. That traffic has stop lights. When things are busy traffic backs up way onto the freeway. You have to wait for some kind soul to let you merge in. It may be better to get off at the Main St. exit and take Marshall Rd in. You will still be outside the gate. Once through security it's easy to find the famcamp. We were told there were at least 7 open spots but 2 of them are not very user friendly. They're sort of a "Y" shape with a shared driveway. If one site is full they'd have to move their vehicle to let you in. The first sites, including these, are relatively small and close together. The main area has good pull throughs up the center,most of which are taken by permanent guests. You can tell by the elaborate patios. The wooded back-ins around the edges are decent. We had plenty of room and the trees/brush were well trimmed. There's no diesel on base but we were lucky to find a firestone store and got much needed new tires put on the next day. If you need to go to outdoor rec, it's located in the rear of the auto shop building. The large sign on the awning says Arts and Crafts but look for the lettering on the door that says outdoor rec.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

OCT 2015

This is a very nice FamCamp. It's clean and well maintained. There's an on-site camp host (when we stayed, it was a young active duty AF enlisted man). They don't take reservations and it's first come, first served. Payment is by check or cash for the camp host (outdoor rec may be able to take plastic, though). My RV GPS took me to one of the back gates where I was turned around and sent to the main gate. This is because there's a metal obstruction that's too narrow for RVs and the SP said that they've had several damaged, so just don't let them through any more. Be sure and head for the main gate! My wife and I both wished we had scheduled more than an overnight here - would have loved to do the nature trail and see the aircraft on display.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

28 June 2016

Nice pull-thrus, clean, manicured park.  Nature trail nearby.  Express store located with walking distance.  Bathhouse needs to be updated, but was reasonably clean. Since I did not check in at the office - used self check in at the campground - I did not get any information about facilities on base.  A map would have been nice. If passing through the area again, I will stay here.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

April 26, 2016

We stayed here one night while traveling east and enjoyed our stay.  There is a lot of construction on 67/167 so it can get backed up.  Getting to the camp was confusing with the construction on base on Vandenberg Rd with no detour signs.  If the construction is still ongoing and the left turn to Arnold Rd from Vandenberg is closed, take the next left at Thomas Ave, left on Cannon Dr, then right on Arnold. We were greeted right away by camp host Rick and told which spots were available, to pick one then come back with the site information and payment.  Despite what is listed, all sites are full hookup.  There are eight pull thru sites and the rest back in.  We had a pull thru concrete site which was plenty wide but the length of the concrete pad was a little short.  The rear tires of our 35 ft 5th wheel were at the edge as were the front tires of our truck, which might make for an issue with larger rigs.  There was a large lip between the pad and the road on the front and back, so take it slow.  All the utilities worked well, no wifi or cable, but Verizon coverage was good as was over the air TV reception.  There is a nice picnic area near the entrance of the park and walking trails nearby.  We did not hear a lot of jet noise, which was very nice. The value is great (how can you beat $15 for a full hookup pull thru), the location is quiet, it can be a great park, we just didn't spend enough time there to get a long term feel for it.  If passing through again we would definitely return.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

3-5 Sep 15

Directions are good; no problem finding the base and site. It's several miles off I-40, not a problem but unexpected. We didn't go into Little Rock but if that's someone's plan be prepared. The site is in a nice location on the base, convenient to the BX/ commissary and shopped. The sites area pretty basic and seem to be maintained in a haphazard manner. The bathrooms/showers are old and were dirty; seriously dirty. We met the host who had us put cash in a box at his trailer; pretty simple. The site is pretty sparse but satisfied our basic needs. We would stay again. Staying there is a value and not to far off the beaten path.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

July 21-24, 2014

Most of the sites are now full hook-ups, with 30 and 50 amps. There's still about 7 sites without sewer, but it's getting installed at them. We spot checked a number of them and they all were full hook-ups. The front 10 sites have shared hook-ups which means you need long electric plugs and water hoses. The back sites have normal hook-ups. When we arrived at the campground the grass was very high but later in the day they were mowing. Now there is freshly mowed grass just outside my front door. We stayed in a motorhome and would stay again. Still no wifi on site but we had good Verizon signals.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: December 08, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

5-6 December 2012

We spent two nights there, and it is a decent place and good price for what they have to offer. My wife was not excited about the 0700 revalee that they blast like an air raid siren all over the base every morning however. The shower house could have been cleaned better than it was, but it was still not awful. Until they finish modernizing one side of their campgrounds, they only had 8 usable sites when we were there. Two of the 10 sites are used by camp hosts, and all but 2 sites seem to be taken by long term users. We were told that they don't expect to have the other sites operational until March or April of 2013. All that said, if you can get a spot, it is still a great value for $12.00 per night with full hookups.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: May 13, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

3-5 May 2012

We spent three nights, we enjoyed our stay, facilities were nice. The camp host tries to keep the camp as nice as he can. Like all bases any profits made have to be shared with all MWR facilities so if all facilities aren't making money all suffer. The park is in a wooded area so the snakes were active. Would be nice if base could help clean up and cut undergrowth back. There are a lot of facilities in walking distance, a couple of miles. We used bowling alley and Hangar 1080 (Club). There were plenty of open spots while we were there. TV antenna picks up major stations and I have a card for my computer and it worked well.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: December 01, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

November 28, 2011

Perfect place to stop on our journey. Arrived in the dark but host was "johnny on the spot". Showed us an open spot and was very helpful with information we needed. Great value. We did find out that the phone number provided for "open slots" is only manned until 1300. Nice Base.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: November 07, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Oct 30, 2011

Just stayed one night, but the host was friendly and helpful. Fine laundry facility and great showers.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: September 26, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

September 2011

Nice location. Easy in and out. Exchange Shopette with gas station is right next door. There are approximately 12 sites for big rigs with full hookups. Many more with 30 AMP service on gravel with no sewer hookup. Local 14 TV stations available with an antenna. No reservations are can be made, first come first serve only. There is a 14 day stay limit but it seems to be elastic. The biggest negative is the lack of WIFI on the base. There is no Internet access in the Fam Camp or at the BX/Commissary. The only place to get a WIFI signal is at the base library. Laundry and restrooms are clean but not exceptional. A refusal by the base mowing contractor to mow because of cable and sewer pipes on the ground has caused the Camp Host to acquire a riding mower and weed trimmer to keep the place looking good. He and Assistance Camp Host mow the area.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: November 07, 2010)
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

November 6-7, 2010

Compared with other Famcamps and military campgrounds, we found this location to be just average in facilities and value. Fairly easy to find, all of the back-in full-hookup sites were filled, but there were plenty of pull-thru 30A/W sites in the back. The sites are elevated concrete pads, good sized but a bit short, with pea gravel patio area and table. The host was friendly and accommodating. It appears that there are a number of long-term residents; at least five of the 10 full-hookup sites, of which two are hosts, had an accumulation of items, and our site looked into a ramshackle trailer complete with piles of clutter and large fenced kennel with barking dogs. Nice base facilities, and it was quiet over the weekend. An OK stop, but one we wouldn't go out of our way to stay at again.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.6
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

May 27,2010

I am wanting to know why is there Civilians living at the campground like I found out that space #8 is a assistant camp host and I didn't like her altitude at all trying to be all boss she is very rude person and a Civilian worker using our Military benefits we all served the Military so we all deserve our benefits at our Military campgrounds. So really unless her or her husband is a DOD civilian why are they allowed to live there and use our campground? And about the prices why are we all paying the same amount for full-hookups if we don't have them we should pay a cheaper price for just electric and water. The campsites were nice but the restrooms could be kept cleaner their were dead bugs on the floor and it look like someone tried to clean up the restroom but they got the toilet paper wet it looked like someone sprayed it down with a water hose because there were also water dripping off the walls where is the real camp host and what does he do I never seen him there and what exactly is his job. I would consider coming back again when space #8 leaves. And also I noticed that their were some more sites needed cleaning up around their campers especially the lower levels come on guys you have full-hookups keep it clean one camper even has a porch build on to his camper.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Nov. 23 - 27, 2009

Stayed for a few days for Thanksgiving week. We also stayed in the "back 40", with no sewer. But that was alright with us. We did use the dump station when leaving. There were available sites all week. However, the FHU sites were full when we arrived, but a couple opened up after one night. We still stayed in the back lot. It does seem like a few long-term residents are taking the FHU sites. Camp host was gone on vacation, but other campers were helpful. We registered at MWR, which were friendly and helpful. They had a base map for us there. Campground is a little run down and old, but not terrible. We enjoyed our visit here and would return. Price is PERFECT for the facility and a military benefit.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

21 Sep 09

FAMCAMP was clean and camp host was friendly and helpful. He met us at our site - we just drove in and picked one. Registered and paid on-site. We stayed in back portion where only 30 amp electricity and water were available. Had no problems though. We had a pretty muggy night because of recent rains - nothing camp host can do. However, the road near the showers/laundry was muddy - needs quite a lot more gravel in this area. In fact, roads throughout could use a little maintenance. Would be nice if WIFI were offered. Also, I would recommend a FAMCAMP sign be posted at the first intersection. This is a three-way intersection and easy to miss as I was looking for a four-way intersection. Easy to get to correct road by going around the quadrangle where the static displays of aircraft are. I liked having the gas pumps nearby. YOU CANNOT BEAT THE PRICE!!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Oct 22, 2008

Only stayed one night, called ahead to see if there was room, they said come on in plenty of room, when we arrived there was only two pads left. Went to office to pay, this web page has it listed as building 640 when in fact it is building 460, Rec Office. The Rec Office showed 6 pads open, only two were open, not the best system for keeping track of the pads, was a very nice place, the front area has full hook ups and was full, the back area is nice with water and electric. No problems.

Was this review helpful to you? 
26 results - showing 1 - 20  
1 2