Admiral Baker RV Park

 
3.7 (75)
142114   0   7   2   44

User reviews

16 reviews with 3 stars

75 reviews

 
(18)
 
(32)
 
(19)
 
(5)
 
(1)
Overall rating 
 
3.7
 
4.5  (75)
 
3.6  (75)
 
3.5  (75)
 
3.6  (75)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
16 results - showing 1 - 16  
 
Ordering 
 
(Updated: February 17, 2016)
Overall rating 
 
2.8
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0

Dec. 27, 2015 - Jan 23, 2016

The Camp Hosts in Space 31 think they own the park, VERY RUDE...very user unfriendly...definitely needs some human interface skills...has zero! The Camp Host in Space 1, however is genuine and has people skills, very nice. If the (so called) host in 31 takes over I will never come back here!!!!! Just a warning! He's a " Gastapo"

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
2.8
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0

19 March 2015

We have been coming here for 8-9 years. While the location is great there has never been much emphasis placed on clean up of the park. There is no maintenance done to the sites between occupants. They are dirty, leaves have been accumulating for years and it appears the weeds are almost never cut. We watched 2 maintenance people "spray the weeds". They made a half-hearted attempt for a few minutes and then simply walked off never to be seen again. When I inquired why, I was told that was how the navy service was for the park. If you are looking for a long term stay, try Santee Lakes. That's where we will be next year and it's only 10 miles away.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

Jan 2014

Many long term residents and spaces are some what tight. People staying in overflow when spaces are open and running generators for hours on end. Looks like the grass has not been watered in a long time around the RV park, but across the street in the recreation area it is nice and green and watered daily. Behind our space the grass is dead and now just dirt. Park needs to put a stay limit in place and then follow it. Could be a real nice place, but needs maintenance.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

February 2013

Camp was not the easiest to get into as you have to go down a huge hill on a small road with a very tight curve at the top of the hill. No pull through spaces and office is not handicap accessible. Spaces are close together. Except for a golf course, there is nothing to do within walking distance. No biking paths near by and was unable to ride to a path since there was the huge hill (the only way in and out of the park). No dog park and there is a park next to the RV park, but dogs are prohibited. Very nice playground for children and a pool in the community park. Very overpriced in comparison to other military parks. Watched a couple that decided to stay two additional days have to move three spaces down the same row because the staff was unable to tell the computer that the people that were checking in later that day were going to be in the other spot. Will never stay at this park again.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
2.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0

Feb 4, 2013

W.C. left this review using the Directory software: - Have had a hip replaced 4 months ago, I can tell you this is no "handicap friendly" park. You must park in the parking lot and walk a goodly distance to the office. The young lady in attendance of the office is friendly, but no help at at all about parking. Big rig friendly not.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: December 13, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
3.5
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

Dec 2012

No pull throughs, all back in so if you have a big rig it's going to be tight. Spaces are also very close together. You can't beat the location....Qualcomm Stadium is 5 minutes. What I don't like about it is there is no monthly rate. MWR doesn't care to support a monthly rate even if the spaces are half full. Amazing to me.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: November 13, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
2.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

April 2012

We really enjoy staying there. Close to our grandchildren etc. the problem we have is they don't have a dog park and they don't enforce rules about dogs. The beautiful grassy area especially in the far corner of the park near the playground tends to be a toilet for dogs. I watched out our window when whew we're there and everyone with dogs let them pee or poop there. Some don't even pick up after them. I won't walk there or let my grand children walk on that area because of this unsanitary place.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
2.5
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
1.0

25 Jan 2008

A.H. left this review using the Directory software: - More on the ant problem. I stayed at Admiral Baker in Jan 2008 and had the same problem others are reporting currently. Never had an ant problem before or since. Had to fumigate the entire trailer to get rid of them. Four years and the problem continues? Somebody isn't trying very hard.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

April 18 to May 2, 2010

Campground is very close to all San Diego tourist attractions. The zoo, Wild Animal Park, downtown, Point Loma are 10 to 15 minutes away. I rated this park down on amenities because there are no military facilities except the golf course and golf club (meals available only for breafast, brunch and late lunches). The office does not have any mail service -- not even out-going mail. I had to run a mile to town to find a mailbox. The men's head has two toilets and 4 showers and is kept clean. The laundry has 4 washers and 4 dryers - $1.00 to wash and $1.00 to dry (about 45 minutes.) Some of the spaces are pretty close together and some are pretty short. If you have a big rig, it is best to specify when making reservations. WiFi is fairly good and there is good cable TV. A bit expensive, but probably cheaper than similar civilian RV parks.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: September 14, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
3.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

24-31 Mar 09

Very convenient to major attractions and military bases, but one of the most poorly run military camps in which we've stayed. The office staff is uninformed and had no maps of the local area to pass out. Not only is wi-fi not available for free, it's about $9/day, which is robbery. I called ahead and asked for the General Delivery address and was told "I don't know." Then I found it printed in their brochure. The sites are very small and the park is overall ratty looking. The "host" spot is the worst of the bunch. We won't come back, which is a shame because San Diego is a beautiful city.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
2.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0

December 30, 2008

This was a great park until it was "discovered" and now you can't get a space even with a three week advance call. The people administering the park are horrible! I reserved an overflow parking space and when I asked if I could be put on a waiting list for a full service site I was told NO I would just have to call everyday. When I arrived and found that no site had become available I stayed in the overflow which is nothing to write home about. I used to be able to stay on the asphalt parking lot adjacent to the park but no more. Although I told her I would only stay one day the following day we received a phone call stating that a full service site was available and I would have to pay for it in spite of the fact we were in Arizona. They just can't administer a campground reservation and be pleasant about it.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

20 December 2008

This campground was a mild disappointment to us. We camped here over the Christmas holidays intending to have campfires, set up a play tent, and decorate our rig with lights. The office management can't seem to understand why you would want to set up a tent at a "FAMily CAMPground", nor are they willing to bend on allowing a small campfire in a completely contained fireplace...with that...we didn't even bother to decorate the rig because it was clear we wouldn't be able to spend a lot of time outside the rig at night. Overall, the location is very convenient to the San Diego Zoo, Seaworld, and other attractions. Additionally, it has probably the most impressive playground for children we have ever seen. The bathrooms are clean, if somewhat spartan and antiquated--but functional. I just think that with some policy changes this campground could be a lot better.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
2.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

Full timer every 30 days after 14 days out

Alva the woman in the office is absolutely the nicest person in the world and is very helpful. The manager Panama is neither helpful or nice for being a proclaimed christian, he doesn't show any kind of compassion towards his fellow service men ( I am 100% service disabled. They have 2 Disabled spots but he will put larger RV's in the spots when they are not disabled). That is the only reason the hospitality rating is so low. It has a nice coin laundry in the center with modern machines, but the bathroom facilities have push button locks on the door making it extremely difficult to get into the restroom while in a wheelchair. Also, I don't know about the ladies room but it seems like the manager is doing nothing to repair the restroom. Lock on handicapped stall has been broken for over a year, all urinal stall walls have been taken down, so not only is there no privacy, but if there was a full house, you are certain to feel your neighbors splatter. Also, the first sink handle is broken and not fixed. Golf balls will occasionally fly over the fence and hit your RV *OUCH*. Love the park, hate the manager! Hate to deal with him, and this alone is enough for you to not want to come back. Unfortunately I have no choice because my RV is my home.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
2.6
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0

March 2008

We had reservations but they were so messed up when we arrived that we almost left. One of the staff asked if we would stay an hour to see if "something" could be worked out. A site was found. We were supposed to be in full hook-ups 3 days--on the afternoon of the third day, someone from the office called to ask if we were moving to dry camp!! We asked if mistakes were often made and were told "no". I wonder.... Would stay again because we like San Diego but would hope for a better experience.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
2.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
1.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

Feb 12, 2008

Did not have a reservtion, but stayed in overflow with no hook ups of any kind. The office staff said that they would let me know if anyone cancelled a reservation. I guess no one cancelled as I was left in the overflow the complete stay, but there were numerous rigs that moved from overflow to a site that arrived after I did. I am guessing that they must have been Officer caliber and I happen to be enlisted. It seemed that the office staff can tell you anything and put who they want in the sites. I have found that the Air Force Family Camps are the best camps to stay in as there does not seem to be any rank has its privelidge in the Air Force Camps.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

Oct 2006

{No comments recevied}

Was this review helpful to you? 
16 results - showing 1 - 16