Admiral Baker RV Park

 
3.7 (75)
142114   0   7   2   44

User reviews

35 reviews with 4 stars

75 reviews

 
(18)
 
(32)
 
(19)
 
(5)
 
(1)
Overall rating 
 
3.7
 
4.5  (75)
 
3.6  (75)
 
3.5  (75)
 
3.6  (75)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
35 results - showing 1 - 20  
1 2  
Ordering 
 
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Nov 2017

While the sites here are very close together, and the pads kind of short, they make up for it with really great common picnic areas. Not a bargain compared to other military facilities, but compared to anything else in the area, it is great. You can't beat the location. It's close to the freeway, but in a little cul de sac so the traffic noise isn't bad at all. The office staff was very friendly and helpful. One odd thing - there is a golf course and driving range right next to the RV park, but you cannot get there without getting into your car and driving along a side road to the clubhouse. While it is probably less than half a mile to the clubhouse, you cannot walk or bike over there - there are threatening signs saying only cars can go on that road. I mention this because I have no car and purposely stay at RV parks right next to golf courses for just that reason, but I was not able to golf here. There is a practice hole that you can access right from the RV park, but you have to get to the clubhouse to pay for it. The whole thing is pretty silly, but just be forewarned. One last thing - I almost decided not to come based on the review below regarding a "pest problem." I'm glad I ignored it - it looks to be a piece of creative writing by somebody disgruntled about something. I saw zero evidence of mice in the area.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

October 13-15, 2017

Great place to stay while visiting the San Diego area. And in comparison to other RV parks and resorts, Admiral Baker is quite the bargain. A word of caution though...if you are in a travel trailer DO NOT stay in spot #46. This spot is a "drive-in" spot meant for a Class A. The hookups were directly outside my front door, including the sewer connection :(. Needless to say, I had to hookup and empty my tanks on my checkout day as my sewer hose was not long enough (I don't carry a 50ft sewer hose). Oh and the dumpster is nearby so if you're a light sleeper light myself, you'll hear the occasional drop of the lid thanks to inconsiderate knuckleheads throwing away their trash at 5am ;(. I didn't have an issue with mice but I did get bitten by a couple of mosquitoes. DEET spray took care of those buggers though. The gals in the office were super nice and the camp host was very helpful when we checked in Friday around 7PM (got caught in traffic on I-15). I mentioned the issue with spot #46 and they offered for us to move but I declined because I didn't want to bother with setting up again in spot #19. Well, enjoy!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

July 2017

If you are coming in on a weekend, the parking lot is likely full so you may have a difficult time finding a place to stop if you have a towed.There is no dedicated RV stop and check-in as the RV office is a decent walk away from the RV Park. This park is best for its location as you are right next to the stadium and many other attractions. The sites are pretty close together but the pads are fairly level. There is a small concrete pad then gravel around it. It appears that the majority of the people staying here are active duty homesteading and with rent as expensive as it is in the area, can you blame them? That being said, this park doesn't have the same sense of community feel as other parks probably because of the amount of AD folks. Also, I was right next door to a dog that would howl all day until his owner came home from work then his owner would walk him and go out again in the evening leaving him home to howl yet again. People, if you can't spend time with your pets, please don't own pets. Bottom line, if you have something planned in the area this park will work; however, I would still considered other options if available.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Jan 2017

Nice campground in a terrific location for exploring San Diego. Agree with comments in two reviews below; rotten person in 3rd review below is gone. Check-in office is not at same location as RVs. A sign at north end of large parking lot points you to a walking path to the office. Call if arriving after 4pm and they will direct you to the duty camp host for check-in. Rate for military has gone up to $35/day. High, but it is Southern California.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

January 3 - 28, 2015

This is a nice RV park in the great climate of San Diego. The sites had level concrete pads (wide enough for your RV) and good hookups with good water quality and pressure. The sites were quite close, however. When our awning was out, it nearly touched our neighbor's RV. Admiral Baker Park (adjoining the RV park) is very nice with several playgrounds for children. WiFi (Go Wifi) wasn't stellar, but it was adequate. Recycling in the park covered only aluminum cans, brown glass, and plastic bottles (no paper, clear bottles, or metal cans), so if you are conscious about recycling, it will be difficult at this RV park. Receiving mail is not easy. The designated general delivery post office (for USPS mail) is a good 15 minute drive and is understaffed and overworked. Picking up your USPS mail is a time consuming and frustrating activity. FedEx and UPS will deliver to the RV park, but even they seem a bit confused about how and where to deliver packages. Overall, we still enjoyed our stay at Admiral Baker and we would definitely stay here again.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

February 2014

We spent two enjoyable weeks in February 2014. Checkin was smooth, all our questions were answered and the camp host was helpful. Our site met our needs with full hookups including sewer and cable TV. (An improvement was made while we were there. The old push-down faucets in the mens room were replaced with standard faucets and you can get hot water again.) The location is great - adjacent to Admiral Baker Golf Course and access to the metro system. Green fees are reasonable and the course is pretty well maintained. (There are two 18-hole courses.) San Diego has an extensive trolley system and a stop is nearby in Grantville. A one-way ride for seniors is $1.25 so the two of us could ride downtown to visit the Maritime Museum, the USS Midway and other attractions for $5.00; a real bargain. I was disappointed with WiFi. Signal strength seemed satisfactory when accessible but it would connect for a time and then disconnect. It was very frustrating and I mostly relied on Starbucks (about a 20 minute walk) and cell phone data. It did seem a little better near the laundry room. The Sunday brunch at the golf course clubhouse was good and reasonably priced, opening at 10:00 AM. Another disappointment was a sign at the entrance to the golf course road which says no biking, jogging or walking. It is understandable because the road is narrow with no shoulders but it would have been nice to be able to walk to brunch and back. More on transportation: For longer stays, consider the convenience of a Compass Card for Metro Trolleys and Buses. If you are a walker, the station is about an hour away. There is free public parking adjacent to the stop and there were always available spaces when we came and went. If you do walk, look for a shortcut between Mission Gorge Place (street) and the trolley stop. The best way to find it is from the trolley station. Walk north down the road beside the east edge of the trolley free parking area, turn right at the auction and proceed along a row of small businesses. At the next street go left to Mission Gorge Place.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

November 2013

We always stay here when in San Diego. At $30 a night it is pricey for a famcamp but the civilian alternatives are all far more expensive. I would say the only negative are the old showers and bathrooms. They really need to be remodeled.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

November 2013

The RV park is OK but not a great one. The location is very good. The prices are typical since the Navy started charging $30/night. $25/night would be better. The laundry facility is good and the prices there are fine. The camp sites are OK for the most part but a few are too close to each other. The one next to us is a good example. Site #13 is one you want to avoid. The staff was very friendly. We would probably come back again.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: March 13, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

March 11-14, 2013

Haved stayed here several times. Busiest I have seen it. All sites full, several rigs dry camping. Glad I made a reservation. Great location. Spaces tight.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: September 26, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
3.6
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

September 2012

Great campground for location. We visited the SD Zoo, PetCo Park, Balboa Park and the Naval base. Our only complaint was the wireless was not stable. We had it ....and then we didn't have it. Off and on (pun intended) during our stay. The office said they needed to wait for a manager to reset the router. We would stay here again if we visit San Diego. Great directions by the military campgrounds site...easy to find.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: June 26, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

May-June 2012

Our experience was some of the issues in past reviews. The office staff were friendly and helpful. There is a need to better fill the sites. We understand you may have a full park booked and some of us had who had a need to extend would moved into overflow sites. During our stay the staff worked with us to extend our stay. The sites was fine, lots of room for pets. If we get back this way, we will make attempt to stay here.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: May 29, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
3.6
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

MAY 2012

You cannot beat the location if you plan on exploring San Diego, very close to the football stadium, 15 minutes from Sea World, the Zoo, Lego Land, etc... Getting into the campground is not bad at all, right off the interstate and the hill is not too bad as long as you are not pulling a trailer too big for your truck. Hospitality and check in could use some work, office closes at 5 and they hardly answer the phone when they are open. The night host who is supposed to take over at 5 was not there so we had to wait for a while in order to check in. The spots are close together but not bad; just be friendly. We have children so being backed up against a nice playground was great, also in the park is a very nice pool which is heated and has a water slide, it is $2 for adults if you are active duty dependent, active duty and children 10 and under are free. The golf course is great with two 18 hole courses, GPS enabled carts, and a nice clubhouse. Our price was $40 for 18 holes with cart and a bucket of balls on the range. All in all, if you want a full hookup campground in the middle of everything in San Diego you can't beat this campground location especially if you are a golfer. If the campground would put some more effort into hospitality then they would be top notch.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: February 06, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

16 Jan 2012

Excellent campground vis-a-vis location, hospitality, amenities and overall value at $900 a month minus $100 special this month (Jan-Feb). We are staying 30 days plus 14 extension. We have to say the "hill" is not bad at all..it is not that steep and access into spaces was very easy backin...no rats or ants as some said..however we did spray ground and cables and supports every week with the plant-based eco-bug spray. Showers are very good-- and staff was VERY responsive to barking dog problem and cured right away (moved offender and told to secure the dog. Glenda and Panama were very friendly, helpful and both were sure to return calls ASAP.. This is our third, and longest, stay here at Baker and would not hesitate to come back again.. As others said it is close to everything you want in San Diego including 20 minutes down I-15 to probably one of the largest NEX/Commissary complexes in the world, certainly in the area. (32nd Street NBSD). There is a NEX gas station 5 minutes away on Aero drive, a largish VA clinic 5 minutes away, grocery and drug stores are 3 minutes down Friars/Mission Gorge..and since we are BIG movie fans, two giant AMC's are 15 minutes away in the Mission and Fashion Valley malls. And finally, do not worry about the spaces being close together.. they are not that bad...get to know your neighbors and things are great. The small valley shields a lot of the wind by the way...but this winter has been superb...75 def at Xmas and 70's all this month..low 40s at night..but get an electric heater and you save tons on propane. Hooyah... Rich and Stefanie PS- the only reason AB does not get 5 stars is that the noise level here can be high at times during morning rush hour...a 5 star place has to have it all...

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: October 29, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

25 October - 29 October , 2011

Admiral baker campground is the nicest campground we have stayed in but we are fairly new to rv'ing. We visited Sea World (ten minutes away), San Diego Zoo (ten minutes away) and Lego land (25 minutes away). The staff was helpful....even called to check on us when didn't arrive during business hours. Gave us the bathroom codes over the phone and told us which spot was ours. The bathrooms were always clean. Campground has a great play area for the kids. We didn't experience any issues with ants or rodents. We stayed here in a travel trailer.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: October 06, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

1-6 october 2011

We have been frequenting this facility for over 10 years; the staff has improved tremendously (in the past no one would answer or return call and they were combative but now they are friendly and accommodating) and the grounds/facilities have steadily improved over the year. However, we feel it is important to point out that there are a few issues in the park with bugs and things that crawl in the night. Along with all the other fellow campers we have had to battle ant infestations on every visit however, during this current stay we experienced approximately $100 damage on our first night of a 5 day stay. The culprit was a large, out of control rat that we witnessed running from our patio upon returning from dinner and taking refuge in the engine compartment of the RV next to us. The next morning we discovered the damage which consisted of a destroyed retractable dog leash, a badly chewed up canvas doggie bag holder and hole chewed through a canvas foot stool. A photograph of this damage was given out to the staff and they said they would pass it onto their manager. We requested that they take some sort of proactive eradication program for both rats and ever persistent ants. We understand that in camping you will encounter inconveniences and critters, but when visiting this campground make sure you bring your ant spray, any other remedies for ants and mouse/rat poison...it is well worth the investment. The purpose of this posting is two-fold; one to warn future visitors about this issue of ants/critters and secondly, that this will encourage staff and management to take a more active/proactive stance in dealing with these issues. We will definitely return here as it is not only a convenient facility for the San Diego area. the staff is wonderful and for the area, the price is reasonable. We were in a 35 foot RV and we found the sites to be more than large enough for us and our tow vehicle.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: July 17, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

May 2011

A well kept secret in a great location if you want to be a tourist in San Diego. Within 15 to 30 minutes of most attractions. Sites a a little tight, but we've been in a lot tighter. No problem backing my motorhome in. Had room to park our toad in front after we were set up. The bathroom/shower facilities were very clean and well-kept. Excellent laundry facility as well. The office for check-in is quite the walk from the parking lot (a good stretch after driving all day). If you're a golfer, this is a great place. The north and south courses are both great courses. The north is longer and more difficult. There is a driving range as well. Nice grassy area to walk the dogs. We would stay here again.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: April 04, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

February 25-March 1, 2011

Great location, close to local attractions, shopping and restaurants. Called one day ahead for reservations and it was good we did as there were people in the overflow for the weekend. Staff and our neighbors were friendly. Good places to walk the dog. Spots were level and all hookups worked well. Plenty of room to maneuver.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

July 15-18, 2010

We were here for a golf tournament. They have reduced the price of the sites to $30.00 for retired. That is a really good price for camping in San Diego. The sites are a bit tight. The wifi works well. The north course is certainly better than the south. The clubhouse has breakfast and lunch. Quite pretty sitting on the patio. The campground is well located for almost anything in the San Diego area.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Apr 1 - 4, 2010

A nice RV park. The last reviewer is correct. You have to pay attention when you turn into the parking lot. A lot of people mistake the laundry/restroom building for the office, but it is across the parking lot in the picnic area. Has a nice area for kids, pool, grassy area, playground, etc. No exchange or commissary. All are at the area bases. The golf course is great. Great club house and a great place for lunch. The other info about the part given by other reviewers are true. The location is great, but the cost value is not there, except for the location.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

April 4 to April 11, 2010

This is a nice park that is close to many San Diego attractions and activities. The sites on the inside of loop all back to a central grass field with a playground in the middle. We never used laundry or restrooms. When you come down the hill and turn right (as the directions say), you'll see a building with a sign saying office and an arrow; that it not the office. The office is beyond the parking lot and picnic pavilion. Park the rig in a good spot on the large parking lot, unhook the dinghy, and go back toward the golf course. The office is a small building on the right just beyond all of the picnic tables - not as far as the golf course. La Jolla is 20 minutes north and the views here are amazing. We'll be back!

Was this review helpful to you? 
35 results - showing 1 - 20  
1 2