Admiral Baker RV Park

 
3.7 (75)
150936   0   7   2   47

User reviews

14 reviews with 5 stars

75 reviews

 
(18)
 
(32)
 
(19)
 
(5)
 
(1)
Overall rating 
 
3.7
 
4.5  (75)
 
3.6  (75)
 
3.5  (75)
 
3.6  (75)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
14 results - showing 1 - 14  
 
Ordering 
 
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

18-27 Feb 18

Very nice park! Good sized sites. Good base camp for SD attractions.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

September - October 2016

The location near the center of San Diego County and near Admiral Baker Golf Course was key!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

June 2016

We love Admiral Baker.  The staff is so friendly and willing to do all they can to make your stay enjoyable.  They are very friendly.  The grounds are well maintained.  Also the Camp Host are very friendly.  The location is just perfect for us.  All the shopping we need is near by.  Access to the golf course makes this an excellent location for the golfers.  We have been coming here for five years and think it is the most enjoyable place to stay.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

January 2016

Great place to stay for a while. It has FHU and a functioning wifi. The latter is a bit painful and requires a login every 24 hours or a credit card that's not used. It's close to San Diego fun. The spaces are a little bit close together, though not like a commercial counterpart, and the concrete sites are sufficient for your big rig. It's an open base with no gate and the golf course is right there beside you. Qualcomm stadium is within a mile, but I wouldn't walk it as the traffic is heavy and fast. The reservation IT system in Navygetaways is a pain in the back side; call on the phone and the person is very helpful. 

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

22-31 January 2011

Located near Qualcomm Stadium, this RV park is centrally located to attractions, freeways, etc. But it is not too noisy. For the San Diego area, we felt the price was good. We found this park to be exceptionally clean. It has a nice, big laundry facility. The staff was pleasant and very helpful. RV sites back up to a nice park/playground for kids. There is lots of green space and a pool with water slide. This RV park is adjacent to their 2 – 18 hole golf courses. We loved staying here and will be back. We camped in a 35ft Motor Home.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

May 6, 2010

I would have given a value of 5, but I have stayed in military campgrounds that do not charge this much, but have as good or better everything for less money. All in all, it is a very nice place to stop. The sites were level and accommodated my 40 foot DP. There was room to park the TOAD in the front. All of the sites are back-in on cement slabs. The surrounding area is small rocks. The back of all RV's face a large grassy, and shady area that dogs can be walked. As for directions, here is a little clarity. When you turn on Admiral Baker Road, you will go down a steep hill of about 1/4 mile. At the bottom will be a stop sign. You need to turn right at this stop sign. On your right will be the Army Reserves. There will be a little wooden shack on the left at the entrance to a parking lot. You need to turn left into that parking lot observing the arrows for direction that are painted on the ground. You can also determine the entrance from the direction of the parking spaces. After turning into this parking lot, go to the far end, straight ahead. Stop when you get near the end, but before you have to turn to get out of the parking lot. If you look to the left, you will see, just past the picnic tables a small building. This is the RV check-in. It is about 100 yards and an easy walk. After checking in and getting assigned your site it is easier to unhook the TOAD in the parking lot. When you turn right out of the parking lot you will be looking straight at the entrance to the RV park. If you arrive after hours, stop in the parking lot just as you enter it past that little wooden shack. Walk to the first RV in site #1 and see the park host. At this time it is Leo. He and all of the park staff were very pleasant to work with.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Jan. 23 - 29, 2010

Had a nice 6 days there. Probably a tad crowded for big rigs but my 17 foot Hi-Lo was perfectly placed at the end of a row. Nice and quiet considering I-5 is just over the hill. The three stars on amenities is because the golf course has a bunch of holes with hardly any grass in the fairways...especially the north course. I plan to stay again next year as you can get anywhere in the San Diego area fast once you learn the freeway system. GPS helps a lot!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Dec 28, 2009 - Jan 1, 2010

J.C. left this review using the Directory software: Sites are a little close together. I have stayed here several times, and taking into account where the camp is this is a good place. Golf club is open daily for breakfast and lunch. Lunch extends until closing sometime around dark. good food and really good prices. reservations should be made as far in advance as possible (60 days for retired). This is in San Diego which is a major tourist area, so one or two weeks in advance is probably not going to get you a space!! Wi-fi is free, and works well.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Nov 22 29, 2009

As many have said the location is unbeatable for the San Diego Area. The golf course was not in very good shape compared to my last visit about 18 months ago. The fairways were only so so. Greens were better, but not much. I played both the north & south course & would do so again, even with the conditions as they were. Except for a little highway noise the CG is a quiet & relaxing facility. The spaces are fairly small & tight. They've added free wifi since our last visit & it worked well for us, in space #5. We decided to leave a day early & go to San Onofre as the weather was spectacular & because I notified the office by 72 hrs in advance I was given credit for the one day I would not be using. I thought that they were very reasonable. We'll likely be back again sometime in 2010!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Sept. 2008

J.B. left this review using the Directory software: This is a great military campground. The location is great for visiting San Diego. The office staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Other park staff could use lessons on customer service from them

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Apr 13 - 18, 2009

Clean and organized although spaces a little small. I find it amazing that military campers can be so inconsiderate as to walk between the picnic table and my rig to get to the playground especially when two sites down there is a path. Price seems high for famcamp, but low for the area. Hosts were friendly and helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

May 4-7, 2008

I'm very impressed with the location and peace and quiet of the park. Its our first time visiting San Diego and this park can't be beat. About 5 miles to any of the major tourist attractions and we get to come home to this island in the city. A little high in price for a FAMCAMP, but considering the area, I think its very reasonable. The staff did not appear to show any favoritism and was out-of-their way helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Mar 24-31, 2008

The location, as has been reported before, for the city is excellent. The sites are short & tight. I'm a golfer, so I loved being next to the golf course! Our personsal preference is to go to one of the "beach" locations next time, though. If you like a big city location, this IS your cup of tea! For kids I'd think this is a great location. There is lots of park/playground area for them, not to mention all the "fun" places to go near by!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

---

If your a first time visitor to San Diego and you can get into this park by all means do it. It is easy to get to everything from this park. There are tennis courts, full size swimming pool and two 18 hole - really well maintained - golf courses here with a $7M club house that has everything. Be carefull when entering and departing. We have a 38' 5th wheel and had no problems at all. Do not expect to get an extention. The over flow is almost always full. Lots of shade in the parking area which is kind of a large horse shoe with no one behind you. We were able to get our Dish to work but if you have one attached to your rig you may have a problem.

Was this review helpful to you? 
14 results - showing 1 - 14