Beale AFB FamCamp

Featured
 
4.2 (63)
60239   0   12   1   17

User reviews

Filters 30 reviews with 4 stars

63 reviews

 
(25)
 
(31)
 
(5)
 
(1)
 
(1)
Overall rating 
 
4.2
 
3.9  (63)
 
4.0  (63)
 
4.4  (63)
 
4.2  (63)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
30 results - showing 1 - 20  
1 2  
Ordering 
 
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

April 2017

We came up from Sacramento using the directions on this page rather than following our GPS and have sent the administrator updated directions. Checking in was easy and after driving around the building on the gravel road, we made it into our site with no problems. We were assigned Site F2, a long and sufficiently wide asphalt parking pad. The slope to the loop was significant but we were able to level using some shoring under the tires (don’t like having the front tires off the ground) and then got the jacks down. The camp’s WiFi is usable (from our site) some of the time depending on the time you connect. Best early in the morning and late at night. We did have a good Verizon 4g LTE signal. We also were able to get a strong Directv satellite signal. Diesel fuel is not available at the gas station nearest the park, only at the one near the Vasser Lake gate. The laundry facility only has two washers/dryers but one of those was not working during our stay. The park manager is great and very helpful. We will return.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

December 2016

If you want some peace and quiet this is the campground to visit. Located about 15-20 minutes from town, the base encompasses 25,000 acres of which only a small part are used. Lots of rolling hills and even a few cows are around. Plenty of room to walk the dogs or ride your bike. Campground is set up in 6 circles with 8 back-in sites in each circle. Our site was level asphalt and plenty long for our 42' 5th wheel and truck. Small patio and picnic table at each site. Laundry room and fishing lake are also on site. Commissary and exchange on base along with a bowling alley and movie theater. Free wi-fi which can be spotty and our satellite had no problem here. Friendly office staff, but office is open only 9-12 weekdays. Lots of fulltimers that have been here a long time. I believe it is their permanent residence. Not sure how long you are "suppose" to stay or if there are any rules. Office staff said they have to turn a lot of reservation request down......maybe if they had rules about length of stay it would help!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

April 13-16 2015

I stayed here for a few nights before I headed north. Campground is well laid out and quiet. Used the laundry and showers, no problems. $1.50 wash/ $1.00 dry per load. The Main Gate is tricky if you have a big rig. Luckily I made it through with my 27' with toad. GPS tried to take me into the Doolittle Gate. Wasn't sure of restrictions, so I turned around and found the main gate. Dog loved the grass and the fact that there is lots of room between sites. There's a lake with a dock that can be used, and there were a few AF active duty that used the picnic area but no problems. I like this cg and will use it again if I'm out this way again.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

June 26, 27, 28 2014

Since our visit last year (same dates), considerable improvement has been made in cleaning the men's bathroom. Check-in with Bonnie was fast and easy. We had a site that provided some welcome shade. We saw a couple of U-2's and an MC-12 flying but otherwise there was no air traffic during the day. We stop here to visit some friends and then we head further north. For our purposes, it is a great stop. The Commissary had some great sales and the fresh vegetables we bought were the best we have ever gotten from any commissary. It was really a nice, quiet and enjoyable stop.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

May 2014

A really well laid out and maintained campground. Spacious sites of green grass. Level asphalt parking pads and concrete patios with table. Really quite, very little noise from the U2's. Not much to see or do in the area. A long drive into town. Several nice fishing lakes right at the rv park. Lots of areas to ride bikes or walk. Great place rest, relax and read a book. Used the laundry and it good.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

September 15-30, 2013

The campground boasts big, grassy sites that are not clustered together unlike many military campgrounds. The base facilities are great and in convenient walking distance. In fact, one could walk or run for miles on the abandoned roads that surround the campground. To keep the grass green they water in the late evening, so watch your stuff. The base is convenient to scenic California Highway 49 and the Gold Rush towns, but not much else. Apparently, the option exists to select a site when making a reservation, because we were told that some vacant sites were unavailable because people were coming in at later dates.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

4 Dec. 2013

J.H. left this review using the Directory software: - The registration bldg. is on the NW side of the campground proper. We saw no sign to indicate this. We enjoyed our stay and would return. Lots of driving to get to the FamCamp. If you like to watch U-2s, you won't want to miss this base.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

January 21 - 24, 2014

This is our fourth visit to this Famcamp. This time the weather was exceptional which made for an enjoyable stay. We had made reservations and Bonnie had our space blocked out when we arrived. Bonnie does a good job as always. I would recommend that you use the Wheatland gate as it is also the truck entrance and has the easiest access. Our site was relatively level so we had no problems. The scenery is great and its very quiet and peaceful. We enjoyed walking around the lake, watching the otters play, and bike riding in the area. The only negative during our visit was the hot water in the men's shower was not working and there was a sign that indicated it hasn't been in quite awhile.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: July 05, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

June 26, 27, 28, 2013

The location of this base is not convenient unless you are visiting people you know in the area. On base, it is quite a drive from the main gate. However, it is well signed and you pass the base gas station on the way to the campground which is good. Bonnie, the camp host is very pleasant and helpful. The site we setup in was not level but my jacks automatically leveled without any cribbing. There is only one sink, one stool and one shower in the men's bathroom. The first morning, there was no toilet paper anywhere to be found. Whoever has been cleaning the bathroom has been taking it pretty easy. There was dirt along the walls and mold and dead bugs in the shower every night. I really enjoyed the nearby pond that was stocked with some fair sized fish. There were about 20 Canadian geese that seemed to be resident there. I was surprised to learn that during WWII, Camp Beale had a POW Camp with 1,000 German soldiers on the base. All that remains is a cell block but it was interesting looking at the pictures and words remaining.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: March 01, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

May 2012

Make sure that your are entering the base via the main gate. Do not rely on your GPS to guide you to the Beale gate. On our first visit, my GPS directed me to a side gate down a very narrow road that is only open during limited hours. The security check point is VERY narrow and caused $11,000 damage to side of our coach. Turning around required disconnecting tow and doing a lot of maneuvering in a very limited space to get turned around and back out. While at the campground, I found a notice on the bulletin board warning campers not to attempt to use that gate because it was to narrow for large vehicles. (To Late) Other than that, wonderful stay. The base has a very nice golf course with friendly staff.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: November 15, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

13 - 15 November 2012

We visited here for the first time today. We are staying three days. This FamCamp is OK, especially for the price of $15.00. All spaces are pretty much the same. All back-in, no pull-thru. This used to be base housing some time ago and was situated as six cul-de-sacs for single wide mobile homes. There is a rest room / shower but there is only one shower each of the two bathrooms for the whole site. There is a launderette in the same building with two washers and two dryers. The only real drawback I found was that most of the trailer sites are not level from end to end so you need plenty of blocking to get the jacks to work. The back of my trailer was almost on the ground and the front was three feet high to make it level. Some spaces are the other way around. The sewer connection in the ground was higher than the outlet from my trailer. Doesn’t work well that way. There were a lot more vacant base housing spaces just like this right next door so the camp could be expanded but the base has not chosen to do so. I don’t know if this ever fills up or not. We arrived without a reservation and had no problem but I think I might call ahead if there is ever a next time.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: October 11, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

October 2012

At present, the campsites are being worked on one-half at a time. It is our understanding from Bonnie, the camp host, that they are installing an underground sprinkler system. They're down 20 spaces as the north half of campground is presently closed. We are waiting for the work to be completed so we can come in. The work is projected to be complete on or about October 15. The date is flexible. As of today, Bonnie expects the work to be completed within the next week or two.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: July 11, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

July 5, 2012

The FamCamp is several miles from any of the gates and the gates are several miles from anything. It is an oasis is a sea of dry fields in July. However, it is shaded and watered and the host (bonnie) is very attentive. It's an hour to Sacramento and 30 minutes to Yuba City (which has all the retail you could possibly need). The Verizon cell and data worked well. At $15/night it's a good value. If you are coming from the south up CA 65, the South Beale Rd. intersection has no street sigh, just a sign "To Beale AFB".

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: April 13, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

18 Mar - 1 Apr 2011

I had a very pleasant time here...was raining and windy with a touch of cold which is how I like it...the base has all you need..the laundry and lounge was a plus...will be back.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

October 2010

W.C. left this review using the Directory software: Really nice campground. VERY LARGE installation, lots to see. Guy next door was bringing his daily catch from to lake to share with all But... watch out for the aliens.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

June 1, 2009

D.N. left this review using the Directory software: Spent one night while visiting a friend in Penn Valley, CA. This is a very nice facility. Friendly staff and well maintained sites. The campground is pretty isolated from most tourists things. It would be a good spot for sightseeing in the Grass Valley area or just a quite spot to spend a few days.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

March 13-20, 2009

Spent a week here and greatly enjoyed it. Although we didn't have a reservation and half of the campground was closed for electric upgrades, John and Debbie (host) found a FHU site for us. The campground is in a very quiet portion of the base, besides the periodic coyote howling. The campground has a nice country feel to it. Bathrooms, clubhouse, and laundry rooms were all very clean. The free wifi was very fast and reliable. The price is perfect for a military campground, making this MWR benefit a hidden jewel in the military campground system. This is another campground we know we'll be returning to.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Feb to Mar 2009

Beale Famcamp has the potential to be one of the best famcamps in the Air Force. The location is off the beaten path and full of military history, quiet, peaceful, plenty of room and layed back. As a frequent visitor I have seen the worst and best of Beale. The problem I see (my opinion) is the real lack of serious commitment by the Services Managers to put some effort in running a good famcamp. The price is equal to famcamps with more and better amenities. Beale trying to compete with Travis, Nellis or Davis-Monthan, is not possible due the location and lack of commitment to improve on the Facility. The camp has had electrical problems for years, and are just now being addressed. It is far easier and less expensive to maintain a system then to start all over again.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Feb 4-11, 2009

This camp is located in an isolated part of the base which makes for a very quiet setting. Upon arrival, the host was right there to check me in then help me back into my space. The spaces are in circles and not a whole lot of room to back in. The facilities, bathroom and laundry were clean and looked like they were well care for. One of the washers was broken, so I didn't do any laundry there. Commissary and exchange were very nice and well stocked. Shopping was close in Marysville. It was very quiet my entire stay, some to do with the weather and some to do with the fact that a lot of the campers in my circle were gone during the day. They are still doing electrical work, but didn't see any while I was there. This is a campground I would stay at again. Right now with the special going, it was a real bargain. Just a side note: I cannot believe the lack of people flying the colors in military campgrounds. I think I was the only one out of about 15 campsites occupied here. I have noticed that a lot at most military campgrounds I stay at.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

May 02, 2008

We arrived at about 3:00 pm on a Friday. The office was supposed to be open but no one was there. We did find our name up on a board with our site number but because we saw no one (not even the camp host) we were not able to get the combinations for any of the facilities (ex: rec room, laundry room.) The location is about as peaceful and quiet as you can get as you are literally located across the road from a cow pasture. We were stationed here 22 years ago when this was a busy base. Now it appears to be dying. A large portion of the base housing has been demolished. Therefore the base is about as quiet and peaceful as you can get. At that time of day on a Friday afternoon the BX and commissary were almost empty. If you are looking for solitude this base is for you. The electrical problem in one of the circles of camping sites was still an ongoing problem when we were there.

Was this review helpful to you? 
30 results - showing 1 - 20  
1 2