Beale AFB FamCamp

Featured
 
4.2 (63)
61250   0   12   1   18

User reviews

Filters 25 reviews with 5 stars

63 reviews

 
(25)
 
(31)
 
(5)
 
(1)
 
(1)
Overall rating 
 
4.2
 
3.9  (63)
 
4.0  (63)
 
4.4  (63)
 
4.2  (63)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
25 results - showing 1 - 20  
1 2  
Ordering 
 
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

May 17 - 27, 2016

We just completed a 10 day stay at Beale – nothing has changed since our last several visits.  As usual, there is quite a cadre of homesteaders and the Wi-Fi is pathetic.  Tangent time:  Every wonder why you can’t get a reservation at a military RV Park during prime vacation time?  Chances are the RV Park has an abundance of homesteaders occupying the best sites.  There is an interesting perspective about homesteaders in the forum section of this website.  Poor Wi-Fi service seems to be the norm at many of the military RV Parks.  RV Park management response is always the same: “We are aware of the problem and are working on it”.  Sadly, nothing ever seems to get fixed.  If you can’t provide a good service, don’t advertise or offer it.  Enough venting.  Let’s move on to some fun and positive things.  We like coming to Beale because we find many things appealing.  The paved and lighted walking trails are great. If you are a shutterbug, you can find many scenic views of the landscape and wildlife without having to travel off base.  For us, Beale offers a great basecamp for playing “day-trip” tourist in the surrounding area.  There are too many great attractions in the local area to mention all of them.  During this stay we took a trip to the quint little downtown of Placerville, CA., hometown of the late Thomas Kinkade.  Our mistake: we should have planned at least a two-day venture.  You can get to Placerville quickly by going to Roseville and travel east on Highway 50 to Placerville.  That approach will give you plenty of time to wander around the town, have lunch, and browse through the shops.  We took a different route to Placerville and regret that we didn’t do a good job with our homework.  We could have easily spent multiple days traveling and stopping along the 48 miles from Auburn, CA to Placerville on Highway 49.  The scenery along the route is very picturesque. There are several parks that offer easy and challenging hiking trails, as well as, access to the American River.  If you are the adventurist type, there are businesses offering river rafting trips on the American River.  River rafting looks like a lot of family fun, but at our age we think we’ll pass on that adventure.  Sutter’s Mill, where gold was discovered in California, is another highlight along Highway 49 and the American River.  If you are into quint little historic downtowns then you may enjoy visiting Nevada City, CA.  Easiest way to get there from Beale is to use the Grass Valley Gate, go east on Highway 20, then north about 7 or 8 miles on Highway 49.  For us, it was a day-trip to Nevada City that was fun and interesting.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Dec 17 - Dec 19th, 2015

This is our first time at this FamCamp and we had a good experience. Yes, there are active duty full-timers (altho for how long each one stays?), goodies stashed outside a lot of the RV's and the occasional dog visit, but no loud music or other disturbances. It is, after all, their FamCamp that we are allowed to share. No trash or debre lying around, facilities and grounds in good order and repair. Rodents? Ants and rattlesnakes? They are there for sure, but we didn't experience any negatives from that source. Staff was cheerful, helpful, polite and eager to please. Each site is well positioned, and LOTS of room between each one. The numerous shade trees should make the warmer weather easier to enjoy. Commissary and BX are not far away. It was a quiet, peaceful two day rest from traveling. After all, it is an AFB and sure to have the noise from normal operations, but that is the sound of freedom.  Our rating for "Location" is because this FamCamp is "remote" from the majority of the base, but then the base is also remote(about 6-7 miles) from "townies".

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Aug 23 - 28 2015

I don't know what to say about Beale. Its in the middle of nowhere, hot, and well cheep. Value for the dollar is at the top. Facilities that are available are nearly new and in good condition. But no tv, spotty internet. and poor cell service mean that you are really in the 60s. It was great had good time. Only had to move (relocate) one snake. I here that is a record.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: July 04, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

June 2012

Since our last visit in 2006/7 the 'new' camp hostess Bonnie is great-she is hard worker (always watering grounds and collects recycling to sell for famcamp improvements). It is quiet (didn't see any rattlesnakes this time) and the concrete pads for new heavy duty picnic tables are great! Diesel on base and ample facilities so you don't feel 'out there'-cuz not much unless you drive to Yuba City. One of best campgrounds for your campsite SPACE. Used chow hall on Sundays and it is supposed to open all time again for retirees in October. Enjoy lake view!

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: July 01, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Jun 27 &28, 2012

The camp host, Bonnie, was very accommodating in giving us a nice spot. We had talked to Rex earlier in the day and made a reservation. We enjoyed our stay and the golf course was in great shape. We were able to get diesel for our RV near the Wheatland gate. The BX & commissary had everything we needed. Will stay again if we're in the area.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: November 20, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

25 Oct 2011

We had a great stay here. The camp is a little on the way out of the way side, but once you are there it is very pleasant. Very quite except for the occasional sound of freedom, which we enjoy. The host went out of her way to get us in with out a reservation. Great camp, we will stay again if we are in the area.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: April 12, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

March 2011

Stayed at Beale several years ago and I was amazed the improvements they have made. Adding pads for the tables. The WIFI works much better as compared before. Management and camp host go out their way to provide any assistance. I would recommend making Beale a stopping point on your trip.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

November 2010

J.H. left this review using the Directory software: Stayed here for the entire month of November 2010, waiting to close on our new house nearby. Absolutely zero problems. Had one of the best potluck dinners ever! Best Price/Value I have found anywhere. Base facilities are more than adequate.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: March 13, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

March 2011

Campground host Bonnie does a great job. The place is very clean and the area is beautiful. We are relatively new to the military camping experience but if this is the gold standard there won't be many better.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: February 26, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Feb 2011

Way to go.... Beale AFB has always been my favorite Famcamp .My review in the past have been a bit on the negative side only because I knew the potential existed for Beale to be the best. Now my hopes are realized, new management with Rex and host Bonnie, come a great new positive attitude as seen by the recent upgrades and improvements. What a change, what a pleasure to see what can happen with a new commitment. Better than ever.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: December 30, 2010)
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Dec 23, 2010 to Jan 3, 2011

Excellent FAMCAMP. Very friendly host. Peaceful and quiet with all facilities, commissary, BX, gas station, etc., within a very short distance of campground. I enjoyed my stay very much.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Nov-Dec 2010

J.H. left this review using the Directory software: Spent a little over a month here with wife and dog while waiting for a new home to close. Enjoyed the campground immensely! Best Famcamp I have stayed in.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: October 05, 2010)
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Sept/Oct 2010

They really know how to run a famcamp here. The new manager and the camp host go out of their way to ensure that everyone has a pleasant stay. However, be prepared to do battle with the ants. Didn't have any problems with mice but was told they still have snakes around. The fitness center is worth a visit. New resistance machines which are great. This is one of our favorite famcamps.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

July 20 - August 4, 2010

This is the best Military RV Park that I have been to in a long time. And this the least advertised stayed 2 weeks last part of July 2010 and will return again soon

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Part of June and all of July, 2010

Beale is the place to be is you are looking for peace and quiet. The layout is somewhat unique, although I have seen it before, and provides lots of room between the sites, plenty of green grass an shade. My wife and I have been here several times, and use it as a base when visiting our kids in Marysville. The Commissary and Exchange are pretty much like everywhere else, not really offering very much savings, but Wal-Mart is right down the road. I have spent some time with Rex - the camp manager - and believe me when I tell you that he is excited about the good things that are happening and planned for this facility, e.g. new cement pads for the picnic tables, new 50amp service in the one circle that currently doesn't have it, monthly get-togethers, etc. The mice have been a little bit of a problem this time because there were goats introduced next to the camp for fire control, and they seemed to have driven all the mice into the camp. However, base personnel have been tending to the problem, and my two yorkies have killed about three dozen over the past month. Bottom line... Beale FamCamp is a great place that is frequented by great people.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

13 OCT 09

The wife and I really appreciate this famcamp for all it provides. We have stayed here about 5 times in the last two years, it is, Quite, Friendly, Clean, (Cheap for Cali), Beautiful and Relaxing, what else is there to say?

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

1-3 April 2008

We arrived about 4 pm on Tuesday and found the office closed. We had made a reservation, and our name was on the board with an assigned site. Because the circles are arranged as wagon wheels, it was easy to back into our site. The host is a volunteer and has a full time day job. However, he was quite helpful when we asked for assistance in setting up our satellite TV. The park manager's hours have been cut to twenty, but we observed him mowing the lawn on his day off, "because it needed to be mowed." Since it was early spring, we were told the base would begin regular mowing within a couple of weeks. The commissary and BX are within walking distance. The biking trails are easily accessible from the campground. The planes are close enough to be observed, but not too noisy. This is a quiet campground and a place to stay a few days and relax.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: November 26, 2007)
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

November 2007

We are full-timers. Stopped at about 60 campgrounds in the past year -- private, state, county, local, military, Wal-Marts and casinos. This has been the best for quiet, beautiful surroundings, friendly people, and the weather has been great. The campground manager John and host D.J. were both very willing and able to help. We think the rating should be above a 4.0.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

June 15, 2007

The new camphost is still trying to get his routine down. The office operating hours need to be better. If you come in when the office is closed it's self park and hopefully you won't have to move because some one has the spot. No cable TV service except at a few spots. WIFI is up and working but very low, the TV room has hi speed broadband now. The only people watering the grass were the RVer's that were in the spots. Better to it yourself then have you RV watered down along with your equipment outside. If the base MWR would improve the old mobile home park they could have unlimited spaces with 50 amp service and cable TV. Trees need to be trimmed to get them out of the parking spaces, this would prevent scratches to you RV. Not all spaces have trees. Long term is OK, good fishing, RC airplane flying & golf. Have been here numerous times and will be coming back. Good elect power and H2O pressure.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Nov 2006

A great place to stay. The staff are very helpful plus totally knowlege of local activites as well as base functions. Very clean and well kept. I rate this facility as Number 1 Plus.

Was this review helpful to you? 
25 results - showing 1 - 20  
1 2