Camp San Luis Obispo RV Park

Featured New
 
4.0 (69)
82796   1   23   1   44

User reviews

16 reviews with 3 stars

69 reviews

 
(26)
 
(26)
 
(16)
 
(1)
1 star
 
(0)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
 
4.5  (69)
 
3.0  (69)
 
4.0  (69)
 
4.2  (69)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
16 results - showing 1 - 16  
 
Ordering 
 
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

August 15, 2016

yes this park has became hard to get into in the summer. with only 12 spots it fills up fast. you say "long termers" I don't understand that, the park has a 30 day limit per stay, no one to my knowledge has ever stayed 31. in fact there was a long time customer there this summer that was actually camped in the overflow area "boon docking" and at 29 days he was advised again that 30 days was the limit ant the next day had to leave, so I would need to know what you mean by long termers. you are correct, CSLO is not a senior center and national guard members have preference (as it should be)it is a small park with very little in amenities, but we love it anyway and the girls in the office rock !

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: July 19, 2016)
Overall rating 
 
2.7
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
1.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

July 15, 2016

well, I guess we should have seen this coming. we said so many nice things that the camp is now packed to the rafters. dogs, cats, kids on bikes loud radios, well, so much for quiet and peaceful. SLO is still a great place, hopefully it will spike and then go back to what it once was. the overflow looks like, well, never mind. the ladies in billeting are great to deal with and it looks like the storage has taken off well. all in all CSLO is my favorite, just think I will not try for summer time any more, winters are very quiet and peaceful.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
2.7
Location 
 
2.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
1.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

August 8, 2015

quick few days while out on my Sturgis run. things are good at CSLO, the place is packed. if there was one thing I had the power to change it would be the dog rules. there have been so many problems over the years at "all" rv parks over dogs. why can someone haul a dog all over the country and then leave it alone in their rv all day. I am camped across from a large motorhome, nice enough folks, but the leave during the day and leave their dog alone. it barks from the second they drive away till the second they return. then all the little ankle biters (rv owners all own a tiny little rv size dog) in the park join in the fun and games. dogs are very annoying when their owners leave them alone. I intend to campaign for a rule against dogs in the park all together. I think its silly that people have to take their dog everywhere they go. and the worse are the ones with multiple dogs. people ! not everyone likes your little sweetie dog !

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.1
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

July 1-21, 2014

There are some important things to know about this otherwise beautiful place on the CA coast: While there are no "homesteaders" at CSLO, there are people here who, for years, have hosted entire caravans of their non-military friends and family, so the odds are that you, the military member or retiree, are competing for space against groups who have a long-standing relationship with the post. In the span of one week, I witnessed this twice, with both military sponsors using 3 or more spaces for their group. As the reviewer below states, these civilian guests often do not know about the expectations on a military installation. This lack of understanding appeared in the (obvious) civilian guest who ran his extremely loud generator non-stop throughout July 4th weekend. The relief in the park when he left was palpable. And if you read below (August 2013) he was here last year too!! But who was going to tell him? His host didn't bother. Likewise with the folks who left their 3 dogs to bark all day long while they went gallivanting. There is no camp host here. There needs to be. The other thing that is going on in this otherwise beautiful place is that there is apparently no rule that says RV sites must be full before overflow is used. Overflow, which is situated to the left and right of the RV rows, was used, in one case, by a guy who appears to live in his truck, showers in the facilities here and who hangs his laundry on the trees. A CSLO staff member went through, stopped to chat, and apparently approves, but this feels very UN-family friendly to most. Again, without a camp host or camp rules that are consistent with other military Famcamps, not good. The Billeting Manager appears to turn a blind eye in certain cases. The Post Commander has very likely been told by other visitors that the serpentine entry to the Post main gate, which is admittedly important to have in place, is poorly designed. The barriers are placed dangerously close together and at weird angles such that large pickups or longer vehicles are in danger of damage. It's nothing short of harrowing. RVs, however, do not use that entry and are ushered through a nice wide gate to the right of the serpentine entry. Here's my last complaint, and then I'll tell you about what's great about CSLO. The laundry room has 7 washing machines. Four (more than half) of them did not work when I arrived. I also spent 10 minutes picking up the trash blowing around both outside that bldg. and within. The floors were filthy. I had to conclude that there had been a party there the night before, perhaps enjoyed by the young CA Cadet Corps trainees. There's no way to know. But the good news is that Sarah, who works in the Billeting office, met me at the laundry room, returned my quarters, apologized profusely and said that she'd call the company responsible for cleaning the facilities. She was also very nice and well-informed about the post itself. We ended up laughing and talking, and I enjoyed meeting someone who clearly cares about the experience of CSLO campers. Here's what's great about CSLO: The shower and laundry facilities are new bldgs. The RV sites are level and include a nice concrete pad, FHU and a large fire pit. There are animals everywhere: deer, wild turkey, rabbits as big as a dog, squirrels, coyotes, and (what I did not see) a mountain lion are all present. Without a stray insensitive camper, it's blissfully quiet. It's just a few miles north of SLO on Hwy 1, where there's a Costco, Target, and every other store you could name (except Walmart). Camp SLO also hosts young CA Cadet Corps leadership academy trainees, who march to cadence throughout the base in fatigues that are too big for them and colorful baseball caps. They're just plain cute. And I love the sound of cadence. The staff in the Billeting Office were also very kind and friendly, and I'm sure they will do all they can to improve things identified here and below as much as they are able to do so.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: September 16, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
3.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
1.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

Sept 15, 2012

this is a really nice place, it has its problems like so many other military parks do. we have sat and watched squatters come and go all week. folks, don't do this ! its hard enough for the bases to maintain nice clean parks for us without losing the money they do when you sneak in, then scamper out early in the morning before getting caught. we watched it happen at lemoore last week. we have began taking licence plate numbers and turning them into the camp office as we leave. the cure of course is to have a camp host. it is beyond me why they don't. most retired guys like me would welcome the free camp spot just to take care of the park. i feel sorry for california. they made seriously bad choices over the past years and have gone "broke" everywhere we went, everywhere we shopped, the prices were twice what we pay back in colorado, we have decided to take the west coast off our vacation list. all that said, CSLO is a very nice place to stay. the new shower houses are first class, a load of gravel would top things off nicely, but its quiet and wildlife abounds. stay away from the base exchange, its the size of a small 7-11, and the prices are, to be fair, outrageous. we needed to leave a few days early. went to the billiting office and told them we were leaving early. they refunded three days withoout us even asaking. great customer service.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: July 23, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
3.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

July 14, 15, 16, & 17 2012

A gate guard (who was too busy playing with his cellular phone outside the gate area to help me) signaled us to go through the barriers and did not open the separate gate for RV's. After I drove my 37 foot long rig (tow vehicle and camper combination) successfully through, coming only within a half inch of a barrier, the other gate guard said "That was impressive!" I won't be doing that again any time soon, but I am proud to know that I haven't lost it yet. Flying on and off aircraft carriers might have been helpful. The new wash house is very nice but was trashed by some of the 20 or so Cabrillo College Graduate Students who were tent camping (19 tents) most of the time I was there. Although they were not noisy nor disruptive, they need to get some "class." I witnessed a couple fellows drying themselves with paper towels in the wash house because they did not have any bath towels. They also were not too careful in putting the used paper towels in the trash. They fouled the floor with their dirty boots worn on an archeological dig. Shower shoes must be an unknown for them. Otherwise, our stay was nice. The sites are very dusty. Saw some deer and a coyote.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: October 08, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

1-7 Oct 2011

Our second time here. The rate now is $23 a day, a little steep for a place with very, very few amenities. However, if you want peace, dark (very few lights, which we like), close to coastal attractions and the wine country then this is the place for you. Muddy when it rains and like rodeo2 said, then need to haul in some gravel. Parking in downtown SLO is a pain, especially for those of us that have large trucks. Chow hall, gate guards and billeting folks are fantastic. We'll be back.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: October 10, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
3.4
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
1.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

October 6th, 2011

gosh ! seems like no one else wants to rate this park except old cmawest, but he is correct. we are staying here as i write this, it has rained and is like living in a mud hole. why on earth have they not hauled in a simple load of gravel yet ? this park belongs to the state of calif. i know they are in dire straits financially, but darned ! we pay to stay here, and they have piles of gravel beside every road in the state. oh well ! other than that, this is a pretty good place to stay. they warned us coming in that there was a mountain lion prowling the area and to be very careful. there is nothing really here, no exchange, no place to eat but the chow hall, $8.00 for dinner, better deals in morro bay or san luis . gate guards are great. we were warned about a mountain lion spotting in the r.v. park. we saw it the other night, it is not a mountain lion, but a rather large bobcat - totally harmless. silly city slickers !!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
2.9
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

Dec 29, 2010

J.A. left this review using the Directory software: Watching 2 roadrunners was good entertainment, price is right for what you get. Good way point between L.A. and Frisco. No trees to interfere with satellite signal. Garden rake worked good to mound up ground on low side of trailer. Two uncles and wife's dad passed through here WW2. Uncles returned home, wife's dad didn't!

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: January 05, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

December 2010

Stayed in the December 2010 rain storm. Called ahead and was told that if I came in while billeting was closed for lunch, to head for the RV park and select a site then check in after lunch. Very friendly and helpful staff. The park is dirt road and sites with cement picnic slab. All sites have poor drainage and most cement slabs were under water. Had to walk through water and mud between truck and trailer. OK this was a really bad rain storm. No internet and poor AT&T cell coverage at the park. During nice weather, nice place to stay. Stay away if rain is expected. This place could really use a thick gravel base on the roads and sites.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.2
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

3-7 July 2008

Used this as a point to view the Morro Bay/Cambria/Hearst Castle area. Location: Like most of the comments, this park is a bit out of the way, but quiet. Clean/Hosp: Gate sentry very nice and friendly, due to holiday, check in/out closed until our check out. Park very dusty during frequent windy conditions. Restrooms very old and rundown, but working. Amen/Fac: Most base facilities were closed or on very limited hours of operation, even during non-holiday times. There is a small PX and a very nice golf course (off base, across street) as well as El Chorro park across street. If not wanting a resort style stay, for the price, this is a good value.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

Sept 2008

We telephoned ahead to this park. The tents are put in the overflow area which have no tables or firerings so we continued on south to Vandenburg AFB famcamp. We appreciate the lady telling us what our conditions would be like.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
2.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

6 Sep - 9 Sep 07

First: Awesome location! Second: Facilities are not up to military standards. As active duty, I can say the MWR's need to realize this is a GREAT business for them to get into. As with all campgrounds there are PRO's/CON's, and this campground definitely has their share of both. My family and I took our MH and stayed in Site 9. The sites are very large and we loved that. The base was quiet...we loved that as well. Did I say awesome location?! Some CON's: ridiculous hours for the Post Exchange, Barbershop...and gym is OFF BASE! With all this we will DEFINITELY being going back. IMO the PRO's way outweigh the CON's. And I agree with OLDWEB.... SHHHHHHH... this is a well kept secret.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
2.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
1.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

March 22 - 25, 2007

Nice quiet campground, although it only has 20amp electric. Luckily, it didn't rain on us, as we can see how the sites and roads would be a big muddy mess. The office staff was very friendly. Bathrooms/showers are from WWII and are terrible! (look at the photo). There really aren't any facilities or amenities. Price is WAY TO HIGH for this campground, especially for only 20amp electric.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

Sep 2006

SHHHhhhh. This is a well-kept secret if quiet, casual, freindly, small, uncrowded, inexpensive (and seasfood) is your fancy. Clean, neat, large sites with nice grass pads and fire rings (even fire wood) surrounding each. Tree barrier rings the small campground for added quiet, and no airplanes or manuevers. 15 minutes from El Morro Bay with its impressive "rock" and bay. Large embarcadero with seaward activities and seafood restaurants and tourist shops. Beaches in the area and the wonderful coastal CA 1 drive north. SLO is excellent town with all amenities nearby. Weather is part of the secret, clear and not-cold during the winter and early spring when SoCal beaches are clobbered. True the hookups are underpowered (for AC) but adequate for most uses. Rumor: this winter upgrades to 50amps and sewer. This could spoil the "secret".

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

Jun 2006

Nice concrete fire rings, level sites, minimal facilities.

Was this review helpful to you? 
16 results - showing 1 - 16