Camp San Luis Obispo RV Park

Featured New
 
4.0 (69)
82797   1   23   1   44

User reviews

24 reviews with 5 stars

69 reviews

 
(26)
 
(26)
 
(16)
 
(1)
1 star
 
(0)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
 
4.5  (69)
 
3.0  (69)
 
4.0  (69)
 
4.2  (69)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
24 results - showing 1 - 20  
1 2  
Ordering 
 
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

October 15th 2016

o.k. so yet another great stay at CSLO. its small, it hasn't got much to do, nothing for kids, but darned it, I love the place. I wanted to add something for everyones benefit and information. we stayed 2 weeks in the R.V. park and on the last day we decided to take our time getting the trailer ready for storage, and rent one of their "rooms" holy crap ! "rooms" yeah I guess, if any of you have ever stayed at the hotel at travis AFB, you know what a 5 star hotel looks like. CSLO's "rooms" make travis look like a motel 6. we rented blg 702. 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, a living room with dish network, and kitchen, a nice front porch to sit on of an evening. absolutely stunning "room" when staying here, think about winding your stay up with a "room" at the camp. you will not be disappointed. a reminder to all, CSLO now has a very nice storage lot. storage is far less cost than Lemoore was charging me and a really superb area. staff sgt. Wilson (head of mwr) is a great guy to deal with, and as always the billeting girls are super duper to deal with. be back in a few months. :-) 

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

17 July 2016

This is a great little park. The only downside there are not many sites so getting in can be a bit of a challenge. We were welcome to eat in the mess and the evening we ate there was very good. There were a few long termers which makes it even tougher to get in. I understand the active duty but there are others who "summer over" from the hotter inland spots. Lady who checked us in was very pleasant and helpful. They have a number of dry camp spaces which I would gladly use them. There was a family gathering while we were there with quite a few youngsters but this is not a retirement village. Everyone was very friendly and respectful of each others privacy.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

February 2016

Great location for visiting the central coast of California. Small campground with only 12 spaces, but very accessible, clean, and quiet. We have a 45 ft Diesel pusher and even towing a full size pickup had no problems accessing the base or the campsite. The site was long enough to fit the coach, and with the pickup unhooked there was room to park beside the the coach. The billeting office gal was very helpful both on the phone and when we arrived. We stayed 4 nights and the easy access to Morro Bay, San Simeon, and points north on highway one was great. At $23 per night this was a bargain, and really worth the cost compared with some of the other Military campgrounds we have stayed at. Roomy site, full hook ups, close to both US 101 and US 1. Definitely will use the park again if we can get a reservation.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: October 08, 2015)
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Jan 4 - Oct 13, 2015

camp san luis Obispo sits half way between morro bay and san luis Obispo, on the ocean side of the coast hwy,7 1/2 miles (as the crow flies) east of the pacific ocean. it is a small national guard base with only 12 R.V. spots. there isn't much here except the quiet, the pure relaxation of it all is worth every dollar you spend here. what could be better ? well, heck ! who wouldn't want all this plus a place to store your rig? well, want no more, I got a call from major Johnson telling me that they had just set aside a storage yard for our rigs. even If you never stay at SLO, who wouldn't want to store their rig this close to the ocean. the rates are way more than fair, you get a 15 foot wide spot in a hardpack lot with a 6' chain link fence topped with barbed wire. while its not for me to say what they charge, I can tell you that it is $18.00 a month less than Lemoore was charging me. consider this when you decide it's better to store your rig than tow it every time LA gets the best of you. the folks here are really good to deal with. yes the camp is small and has very little in the way of amenities, but when all you need is a quiet place where the deer wander through your R.V. spot, well this would be it.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

April 10, 2015

Well, another week at CSLO, what can I say but as always it was very nice. The problem with giving (well deserved) good ratings to a small park is that sooner or later its going to get hard to get a spot. That appears to be what is happening to CSLO. This place was packed this trip. While not a destination for people with a lot of kids, (not much for them to do on base) it's perfect for getting away from the crowd. Quiet, calm stay. The staff is excellent to deal with, the mess hall is good, other than that, not much on base to do, you can however find a lot to do in the area. With Morro Bay up the road and SLO down the road, entertainment is just what ever you can think up. We even had a world famous celebrity camped in front of us, real nice couple, we avoided asking for their autograph, but it was hard. Just like ordinary folks they came by and enjoyed the campfire, pretty darned good folks. Who was it? Can't tell, you're just gonna have to stop by sometime and see if they are there.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Nov. 7- Nov 11 2014

Awesome place, have come to CSLOP many times. The only problem I have experienced here the past 2 times are that when it is after hours and the Billeting office is closed. Have had other people in site that was already assigned to myself. I would recommend calling the office the day of arrival and make sure what site you are in. Also the office does leave you a envelope with your site and other stuff for your stay. Its located in a locked box located next to the front door of billeting. The combo is located on the front door of billeting. Would recommend that the billeting office before closing go down to the RV Park and place placards at each site indicating who the site is reserved for.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Nov. 03-12, 2014

Camp San Luis Obispo is clean, quiet and in a great location. I am not going to restate what has been covered in previous reviews other than say they are spot on. After reading one earlier review about the difficulty of access through the gate due to security barriers I considered changing my plans to stay at CSLO. I am glad that I didn't change my plans because I did not think the entry was anymore difficult than other bases. I am mot referring to the initial entry into the base with the fifth wheel because at that time you will be directed to use a barrier free opening. It is only when you leave the base and return that you have to drive through the barriers.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: October 22, 2014)
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Oct 15-23, 2014

CSLO is just getting better all the time. The major in charge of the r.v. park is a really nice man to deal with, unfortunately for us, fortunately for him, he will be retiring in 18 months. Here's hoping his replacement is as easy to deal with as he is. While here we discussed the possibility of CSLO renting storage space for R.V.'s hopefully the decision to do that will be forthcoming. If that interests you let the Majors office know. As always this was a really good stay, the park is clean and well kept, the staff is very good to deal with. Camp San Luis Obispo is located on Hwy 1, half way between Morro bay and San Luis Obispo. it is only 35 miles south of the Hearst castle. Morro bay offers fishing trips galore, whale watching, tours, etc. I went out with Virg's fishing, we went out a couple miles and I caught 10 cod and one 20 pound link cod. Really had a good time, and Virg's gives a 50% discount to military and veterans. I had lunch with the major at the base mess hall while I was there, very good food, very reasonable. Also for you that have no R.V, or just want a trip without it, the base has rooms to rent that are unbelievably nice. I mean "really" nice and about 1/2 the price of a room in either town, Debbie, Sarah, or Linda in billeting can arrange it for you. try it, you will really like it. As always, remember that you need DOD identification to access the base. Also, the r.v. park doesn't have wi fi, but that is the price we pay for such a nice place at what is a very reasonable price.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Sept 5, 2014 through Sept 25, 2014

Located three miles from all that San Luis Obispo has to offer (great restaurants, festivals, wine, hiking, biking, shopping, farmers markets, etc.) Then just 10 miles from Morro Bay. Surf, bike, restaurants on the water, seals, sea lions, sea otters, scenery to die for and the weather..all superb! This place only gets a 4? I checked on a place to stay in San Luis Obispo and a place in Morro Bay..$50 and up a night folks..this is a real bargain. This place is quiet. I mean quiet like a church. There are only 12 sites and a couple of over flow sites. Each has a fire ring and picnic table and green grass between each site..plenty of room for slides and such. The exchange is a convenience store..and not open every day. There is no commissary..but the dining hall welcomes everyone and the food is very good. SLO has all of the stores and such that you could ask for. The staff is first rate..all of them. Friendly, helpful and very knowledgeable about the local area and attractions. I had the opportunity to visit with the billeting officer and he is interested in this park and the guests. If you have an issue...call him and get it resolved. He is very interested in making this park the top of the list! We are leaving tomorrow and I am sorry to be going. This has been one of our best experiences in a military camp. We will be back!!

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: August 20, 2016)
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

April 13, 2014

camp SLO is one my favorite parks in the military circle. this week was flawed by two campers who used spaces 2 and 3 over the weekend. one was military his buddy in space 2 was a civilian who was sponsored on the base by his buddy in space 3. he obviously has never spent any time in a military campground and either didn't understand or didn't care much about how to conduct themselves in this kind of campground. they would go away all day and leave their blue heeler in the trailer and barked from the time they left till they came back, hours on end. they partied, drank beer and smoked till our trailer was permiated with cigarette smoke, till after midnight. when they finally left we had to go clean up all the piles of dog waste off the campsite that they didn't care enough to clean up. hopefully they won't be allowed to be sponsored on again, we have every intention of warning the billeting office about them. other than that, SLO is a really nice place to be if you are looking for peace and quiet. the staff is very good to deal with and the guards and MP's are a real good bunch. we do wish they would look into storing trailers, they have more than enough room.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Feb 8-15, 2014

We have been winter RV'ing for 6 years, putting over 70,000 miles on our little trailer while staying in many military campgrounds around the US and this is my first review.....and I almost didn't write it! Why, well like your favorite fishing hole you do not want this gem of a facility to leak out and become overrun by others, after all there are only 12 sites available. However our stay was so fantastic I decided to spill the (Navy) beans anyway. The park is nestled in the San Luis Mountains and centrally located between Morro Bay and San Louis Obispo. It is incredibly clean, well maintained and relatively inexpensive by California standards. True, there are no hosts, but a Major who represented the base commander stopped by to make sure we were satisfied.....first time that's happened, ever, anywhere! Another interesting note, unlike many military camping facilities, 100% of the site fees are allocated to taking care of and upgrading the campground. The location is prime for exploring the Central California coastline or for just relaxing in quiet solitude. Check it out, but please save a spot for me when I roll through next year.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

January 16, 2014

We arrived just three days ago and so far have been more than satisfied. The staff was very friendly and helpful when making our reservations. We spent the first two days driving the coast and seeing the sea elephants, seals, otters and multiple birds. Even in our campsite we have been visited by squirrels, deer and hawks. The sites are large (wide) we have a 35 ft. A class with three sides and there is more than enough room to park our tow car next to it. There is a nice patio with a table that we use for grilling and a great fire ring. Other than the chirping of the birds it is very quiet and the town of San Luis Obispo is a very friendly, eclectic kind of place with shops, restaurants, bars and within 6 minutes of the base. This is also a great location to visit coastal towns up and down the California coast. We are going to be here for two weeks and so far this has been a great experience. The base is a reserve base and no there is not a commissary and the PX is basically something for the barracks personnel to use but the campsite for this location is well worth the money. As I am writing this I have two deer staring at me about 70 feet in front of my RV. We live in Florida and if we decide to visit this part of the country again we would definitely stay here again.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Sept. 3, 2013

well, once again we need to correct something said by a past reviewer. CSLO is one of the nicest facilities in california, no it doesn't have a great big commisary or exchange, no it don't have swimming pools and car washes, gymnasiums, movie theaters, partriges or pear trees, it don't even have concrete to park on, BUT ! if you are looking for quiet, peaceful camping, and aren't afraid of wildlife, this is your place. CAMPFIRES AND PROPANE GRILLS !! o.k. guys heres the deal, all the r.v. full hookup sites have fire rings and you are welcome to burn 20 cords of wood up during your stay (don't forget to clean up your mess though) all the full hookup sites have picnic benches and you are welcome to put your litle gas grill up there and cook as many steaks as you want. what the last reviewer neglected to mention is that he was camping in the overflow area. that area is dry grass and would catch fire very easy (california has enough of that without our help)and no, you cannot burn anything including gas grills in the overflow area. i am forever amazed at the way folks review campgrounds, one little thing they don't like and they write a review that makes the park look as bad as possible. i am not an employee of SLO, i live in colo. am retired navy, i do stay at SLO every year (several times) so if not being able to start a grass fire, or not being able to use your V.A. i.d. card to gain entrance bothers you, there are a lot of real nice r.v. parks in the area that would love to have you.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Aug. 3rd, 4th 2013

Very nice facility! Had a nice stay with the exception of an RV owner camping in overflow next to us ran his generator all night. I guess the patrol overlooks such activity. The Showers are very nice with as hot a running water as you would like and kept extremely clean! Our stay was a trial stay for an up-coming weekend of Aug. 16th, 17 and 18th. Had three other couples going to make reservations also. Will have to cancel due being told that a portable propane camp grill was against the rules. No fire allowed. Quite confusing really because the RV hook-up sites even have fire rings!! Didn't see it in the rules and wasn't told about this rule for our first stay and wasn't told anything about using ours during our stay. Can hardly imagine "camping" at all without grilling hot dogs and hamburgers!! Really too bad because the wife and I are frequent stays in the San Luis and Morro Bay area. Oh well, will find another place.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: May 13, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

May 13, 2013

Just to put this situation to bed for good, today I found myself in California and decided to drive over to SLO and talk to the billeting folks in person. Apparently there are folks who believe their red white and blue V.A. i.d. cards will get them onto bases and give them access to base facilities. This is not the case, not on any military base. You must have a DOD i.d. card, you know which one that is, its the one you carried all the time you were on active duty. Anyone with proper DOD identification has access to the bases and can use the r.v. park.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: March 24, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Mar 19 - 29, 2012

We love this place! Talked to contractor yesterday and he said men's facility should be finished in next week or two. Gravel should be done on roads and sites this summer. Hope it doesn't lead to another rate hike. But it may because it will really become a popular place to stay then when the mud is gone.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: March 05, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

March 1st, 2012

This is a great park with lots of things to do and see in the area. The staff and gate guards are helpful and very friendly. Morro Bay and San Luis Obispo are only 5 miles from the base with many amenities and attractions. The men's bathroom is almost done and the woman's restroom is very clean and modern. It rained while we were there and it was not a problem, might have been if it had rained more. Nice park and we will use it again.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: May 26, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

May 20 thru 25, 2011

What a cool base. we had space 8, saw deer, one with 2 fawns. Park is nestled in the trees far away from any noise -- quiet to the 10th degree. Do not attempt if it is or has been raining - no gravel, all clay, add water = snot. Very nice security officers, tiny little bx (7-11 store size) whoever said the food was good in the chow hall is dreaming, really bad, worse than when we had to eat it, except now you gotta pay 8 bucks for it. No wi fi, but if you don't have a virgin mobile card by now - your "OLD".

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

March 6-17, 2011

R.H. left this review using the Directory software: - Women's bath house was just about finished when we left. (We didn't use either facilities while there.) They were pouring concrete around the outside. Building looked really nice from the outside. Everyone on the post is very nice, friendly and outgoing. The new Dining Hall still has great food. We love the area and many, many good restaurants.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: October 18, 2010)
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

October 2010

Stayed here for proximity to Paso Robles Wine country. Wonderful experience across the board in great location with very friendly people. Exceptionally clean, quiet, and large pull-through sites in a woodsy location. Gravel/Dirt parking with cement patio / picnic table and grassy spot for each site. Full hook-ups since recent renovation. 24-hour access through security guards who remembered us from the minute we showed up. We even had deer walk through the site as we were getting ready to leave. The base was quaint and peaceful. Don't expect the facilities or amenities of an active duty military installation. Although we did not try the dining facility or PX discussed in other posts, we did see them on the base. Only a few minutes from San Luis Obispo and Morro Bay. Overall, it was a great experience and we will absolutely return for our next Paso wine trip. Wait, scratch that, it was horrible and we don't want anyone else to know about this place or take our reservations for our next trip. :)

Was this review helpful to you? 
24 results - showing 1 - 20  
1 2