Del Mar Beach Cottages and Campsites

NewHot
 
3.7 (57)
203253 0 17 0 82

User reviews

12 reviews with 2 stars

57 reviews

 
(22)
 
(16)
 
(7)
 
(12)
1 star
 
(0)
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
4.6  (57)
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.6  (57)
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.4  (57)
Value 
 
3.5  (57)
Overall Experience 
 
3.7  (57)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
12 results - showing 1 - 12
Ordering
Feb 15 - 19, 2019
Overall rating 
 
2.4
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
1.0
We have been coming to Del Mar Beach Campground for more than 15 years, and probably stay 3-4 times a year depending on availability. In the past it was usually very easy to get a space there except on the busiest holidays and during school vacations. Even then it was usually something that we were able to work around. For the last two years it has been increasingly frustrating to obtain reservations to Camp Del Mar. I'm not usually given to complaining but when I sit on a phone on hold for more than an hour in order to be disconnected, not once, but three times in the last year, there is a problem with the new improved system. The reservations used to be able to made for a specific site, however now you don't know what site you are in until you arrive. I don't really understand the reason I can no longer request a particular site, or even a particular area, but it makes no sense to me that I can't do so. The office staff, while courteous, were less than helpful when I had to leave a day early for a medical reason. I explained the reason and asked for a credit, or a rain check on our next stay and was immediately told that unless I cancelled 31 days prior I had to pay the entire amount. Since when?? This campground has developed a very business oriented feel to it. We stay at many military family camps in our travels and truthfully, if not for the convenience of being so close to our home, we would not use Camp Del Mar anymore. It is the most expensive, and most frustrating of all the services we have dealt with. Nellis AFB and Davis Monathan AFB could serve as examples to the staff of Del Mar Beach as to how a campground could function if there is a personal buy in by the staff to make it better. I don't sense that here. All in all, its still awesome to park on the beach, listen to the surf, have great (generally) weather, and enjoy the Southern California beach. Change your reservation system to be more responsive, allow reservations more than 3 months out, and keep the costs in line with other Military family camps.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 9 1
August 2012
(Updated: July 26, 2014)
Overall rating 
 
2.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
1.0
Value 
 
1.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0
This review is for the Beach Trailers only. These are the 6 or so, three room trailers they have that are in the back area of the parking lot. DO NOT STAY IN THESE TRAILERS!!!! The trailers are in such disrepair that they should not be rented. The one we were in was old, outdated and worst of all FILTHY. Not just Marines having a good time type wear and tear. But dirt and yuck in numerous area's. Stuff on walls, air vent covered in filth, crud stuck to floor, filthy mess under furniture, I could go on but you get the picture. This trailer had not been cleaned properly for a long time. When I booked the trailer it was because it was all that was available. I did not see any reviews or any info on the trailers. So I could not make an informed evaluation. So I want to make a post for families who may be considering the trailers. DON'T DO IT. After I arrived I was told that these trailers would be removed soon. I think the sooner the better. By the way the staff on property was wonderful. The Manager and front desk clerk were especially helpful.
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful to you? 5 0
27-28 March 2012
(Updated: April 03, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
1.6
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
1.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
1.0
First room we checked into had such an overpowering cleaning odor, even after we left all the windows open for two hours, we had to request to be moved to another room. The second room was not clean to the standards one should expect for a $100 per night room. We were asked to sweep the floor, empty the garbage, and wash dishes upon departure. Due to the amount of sand and stains on the floor, it was clear it had not been swept or mopped before our arrival. The vent in the bathroom was so clogged with dust, the ventilation was not effective. We have stayed in other military lodges, at much less cost, and were totally satisfied. For $100 per night, you could find a much better choice elsewhere.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 5 0
Oct 2011
(Updated: November 17, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
1.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
1.0
Overall Experience 
 
1.0
I'm rating the RV location only. I have used this location many times over the years and the price is the highest of ALL military campgrounds. I wonder what they do with the $40 plus dollars a night. They sure can fix, upgrade the bathrooms which are old and rusted. They can at least replaced 30 amp and 50 amp plugs that are so loose your cable will fall out by gravity. They can at least control and manage large tent groups from not running all around others trailers. They can repair all the leaking water valves that look like they were there in the 1960's. I love the location. I love the base! But this is the biggest ripoff in the nation and they should be ashamed. Where is the money going? Take some time and invest in maintaining and upgrading and we may come back.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 6 0
June/July 2011
(Updated: November 05, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
2.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
1.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0
We stayed in the second row ($40/night) the end of June/early July and it was a disaster. We have been going to Del Mar for about 8 years and this was the worst experience we have ever had. The site next to us had four sleeping tents and a cook tent with at least 10 teenagers and another site had an RV and 3 tents with 12 people. The staff is not very helpful and they don't enforce the rules. The bathroom and shower facility were disgusting and did not appear to be cleaned very often. The dumpsters were overflowing and not emptied often enough. The so called "Resort" is not worth the $40/night and we don't plan to stay there again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 7 1
1 September - 5 September 2011
(Updated: September 06, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
2.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
1.0
Value 
 
1.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0
Location is the only positive about this RV Park. Bathrooms are disgusting, showers only have cool water and very little privacy. Staff are not easy to deal with, very short. There are no so called amenities at this "resort" other than water, sewer, electricity. $50 a night for front row, $40 for all other rows. We camped over the holiday weekend and the place was a zoo. Rules were not adhered to and no one was checking on the sites. Many sites had RV plus 3 or 4 tents. Rules state only 8 people per site. Site across from us had at least 16 people each night. If they are going to call themselves a Resort, they have a long way to go.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 7 2
July 27-28, 2011
(Updated: July 31, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
1.9
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
1.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0
I have gone to these cottages for a few years now and have consistently watch the price go up, the cottages get changed every few years to make you think your getting something for your money, but it is a joke. This time when we went we could only get one cottage on the beach side the other was in the back 616B, cost $85.00 a night. What a dump! The back area was filled with trash all over the place, sand had not been ranked in who knows how long, my grandson went to open the back door and the door handle came off, tried to wash the dishes but had no soap, only one TV in the sitting area none in the bedroom, back table was filthy with sticky syrup all over it. Your neighbors are right out for everyone to see what everyone else it doing. The view, well you get to look at a lot of old fencing materials that have just been left there and the electrical equipment that they are trying to grow a plant around. And they have the nerve to charge $85.00! Next night we got to move into the $129.00 room. Whoopeee! The room was fine, but no coffee, and as you walked out the door you could smell the sewer, very nice. The prices for both rooms was ridiculous. First off the young military men and women cannot afford this and they need a place that they can get away with their families. Whose ever idea this was it stinks. Everyone is out to make a buck. And on top of that when did we start letting civilians use military services another joke, yes especially when their families and the ones who work in the offices save spaces for them that hard working military members deserve! I have no intentions of going back until the prices go down. A resort? Really......head to Oceanside or Carlsbad I bet you could get a "Real" resort for that kind of money!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 10 2
Feb 10 2011
(Updated: February 11, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
1.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
1.0
Overall Experience 
 
1.0
Two words, BED BUGS! My children had bites all over them and woke up with in an hour complaining of itching, we lifted their shirts and they were covered. TOTALLY GROSS! We left and dropped our key off at 11 pm. I will be calling in the morning to make sure I do not get charged. I will not be returning ever. Very upsetting:(
Report this review Comments (5) | Was this review helpful to you? 11 4
Jan 15 2011
(Updated: January 22, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
1.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
1.0
Value 
 
1.0
Overall Experience 
 
1.0
Im a SSG retired and I do not know who to contact about Del mar RV park and san onofre RV park and soon Coronado RV park CA First I am by no means rich and not Bill Gates, but you must be to use those RV parks $50.00 dollars a night and $350.00 a week is way out of line for retired and active duty military it is for military personnel to use not civilians that are rich. This was a benefit but not no more. The rv parks do not have a hot tub, swimming pool on site no cable, and no hot showers that are inside with a roof. So why compare it to the high dollar ones We drove there the 2ND week of Jan and left, it is way out of sight on pricing. That is probably why it was empty. What happened to support our troops, it is now screw our troops. PLEASE BOYCOTT THESE RV PARKS! THANK YOU SSG Richard Kinney
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 10 6
2006
Overall rating 
 
2.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0
Can't beat the location. Now, to get that location is a challenge, to say it nicely. The staff are probably the most unprofessional I've ever dealt with. Impolite. Curt. Obviously failed Customer Service 101. The CG operation is a joke. Rules governing reservations is archaic: categories for active duty, retirees, DOD, dog, cat...there is a pecking order and the lower you are in that order, the more vital it becomes to be related to someone in the staff to get served. Too bad. It is always the human factor that ruins the day.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 1
Oct, 26 - Nov 25, 2007
Overall rating 
 
2.0
Location 
 
2.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0
F.J. left this review using the Directory software: I have very mixed feelings about this place. I booked for a month and was assigned a site at the very back of the camp where I can barely see the ocean. To get to the ocean I have to walk through other campsites as there are no access paths. Most of the week the camp is 90 % empty but is fuller on weekends. The sites nearest to the ocean are configured so that larger vehicles have to back into them, frequently into deep sand. Camp site maintenance is minimal with small trash left on the sites for weeks. The office staff is not very friendly or helpful, and occasionally abrupt. The listed facilities - store, dining, etc - are not within walking distance. The restrooms for tent campers are odorous, run down and feature group showers. I don't mind the daily reveille at 0530 or the frequent parade of armoured personnel carriers through the camp - the sounds of freedom. On he positive side all sites are 50 Aamp full hook-up. The fixed price, $30/day for everyone, tent to Class A, is high for the degree of service. I give this place 2 stars our of five based on lack of concern by the staff and the lack of maintenance. They do have cabins for $70/day which may be better.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 1
Jun 2006
Overall rating 
 
2.0
Location 
 
2.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0
Wonderful beach, full on surf for ideal sight and sound. Simple spaces, no landscaping, sand abounds, hefty fire pits on most. Management is the worst of all we've sampled in two full time years. Arrogant, uninformed, poorly managed and deliberately deceptive. Discussion with command deputy may change this, but entrenched civil "servants" in a sinecure may be too hard to dislodge. Well not stay there again. Try Onofre Beach. Extremely difficult to make phone reservations due to antiquated phone system and badly managed voice mail. Marine assault vehicles and troops train nearly daily next to camp ground. Interesting, inspiring, a bit noisy.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
12 results - showing 1 - 12