Del Mar Beach Cottages and Campsites

NewHot
 
3.7 (57)
203253 0 17 0 82

User reviews

9 reviews with 3 stars

57 reviews

 
(22)
 
(16)
 
(7)
 
(12)
1 star
 
(0)
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
4.6  (57)
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.6  (57)
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.4  (57)
Value 
 
3.5  (57)
Overall Experience 
 
3.7  (57)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
9 results - showing 1 - 9
Ordering
September 2015
Overall rating 
 
3.1
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0
I would like to say that we have stayed in Military Campgrounds all over the U.S.A. The key word being Military. When we use these facilities were are always grateful and deeply humble that service to our Nation, in our case Vietnam and 30 years of service have given us the benefits such as this Ocean front park. This Park either does not enforce rules or has none. A Limit on the number of guests, number of vehicles, number of tents etc cannot possible be within in any reasonable guidelines. As an example my "neighbors" have around 10 folks, two tents and three cars, some in their party are sleeping in cars and they decided it was ok to "party" until almost midnight before I asked them to please shut up and go to bed. Since they set up their camp two feet from our motorhome it was impossible to sleep, even with windows closed. I am wondering who the Veteran or Military Person is who sponsored these folks here? and if that person is actually here? I intend to ask. You might be thinking ah an old person just wanting to complain, but I will tell you we like to laugh, drink and swim as much as anyone, however we would never dream of making others miserable for our antics. I also noticed a "tent" on a car, have never seen anything like it very unique custom made sleeping tent with a ladder for access, much like a storage compartment but actually collapsible tent, I love that idea, but when you have one space with a motorhome, tents, folks sleeping in and on cars its too crowded. I would like to know that our Benefits such as this "Paradise" on the Pacific Ocean can be preserved for future "warriors" but without some rules and limits I am not hopeful for Del Mar RV Park.
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful to you? 15 0
April 1-6, 2014
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
We had requested to arrive 30 Mar, but was told there were no spaces available, so we moved our arrival to 1 April. IF they had a tent area, they would be able to accommodate more RVs. It is a shame to take up "full hookup" sites for tents, which we saw many. Also, did not see oversight of how many vehicles were parked on each site. Some had as many as six or seven, making it quite crowded. As to the review and complaint of Amtrax driving through, as said before, it is a MARINE Base. We are allowed to stay there as a courtesy. Those kids driving through are helping maintain our freedom and we enjoyed seeing them AND hearing them.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 10 3
24 Jan 2014 - 7 Feb 2014
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
If you love the whole beach/ocean experience, then this is a great place for you. My complaint is the fact that we are probably here during the busy Amtrax (big, loud tanks) training time. The school is right down the road from the RV park and the Amtrax literally drive right through the whole length of the RV park and then up the side to enter the beach area where they train. Their staging area is probably about 40 yards from our RV and they gather there on the way in and then again on the way out. Then the people spend time yelling and screaming over the loud motors with plenty of obscenities mixed in. I can actually hear them in my RV. This has been going on everyday at least 5 or more times a day (5:30 AM this last Sunday). This morning I got woken up at 6:30 by a large group of uniformed Marines doing a tug of war exercise in the staging area. REALLY - why can't you move away from the RV park and do that? We are in site 58 and wouldn't recommend this end of the park if you don't want to deal with this. Will not be coming back. My rating is influenced totally by this part of my experience. Don't want to interfere with training, but feel we should have been informed that this was going to happen.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 34
June 23 2012
(Updated: August 13, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
2.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0
The villas are really enjoyable, very easy on the budget, and very picturesque, so long as you understand a few things: 1. If you are active duty, they will tell you the villas are only available to book 12 weeks in advance. This is a lie. Say you need the villa on Friday, April 8. Call in 12 weeks prior to Friday, April 1, and reserve the cottage from April 1 through April 8. An hour later, call back to cancel the April 1-7 dates. Voila, beach villa reserved 13 weeks early. Everyone except us already knows this, apparently, and nothing was mentioned of this witchcraft when we went in to ask about reserving a beach cottage for our wedding. Imagine our surprise to find the cottages we wanted completely booked 12 weeks out! Magical! 2. If they claim to have reserved you adjoining units, MAKE THEM POINT OUT THE UNITS ON A MAP, IN FRONT OF YOU. We were twice told we had adjoining units, and we didn't find out we were being lied to until we actually went to the base and looked at the villa address numbers they gave us. Make them point that out on a map. Maybe more than once, if need be. No joke. 3. Don't expect any special treatment. There's no early check in or late check out. Our wedding location was conveniently next door to Del Mar's scenic laundry/shower facilities. I am appreciative of the fact that Del Mar resort has allowed us to have a beach wedding within our modest budget. However - it is not a "resort," it's a (very nice) campground, and if you think of it as such, it's infinitely less frustrating.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 5 1
8-13 July 2012
(Updated: July 21, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
3.5
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
Very nice beach. Great for boogie boarding and Surfing. The Life Guards are there doing their jobs making sure swimmer and and boarders stay on there side and surfers stay on there side. The Beach and Marina have activities for the young ones. My older daughter went to Surf Camp and younger one went to Sailing School for a week. Both classes impressed us and the girls had a great time. Now for the negative. The Restrooms are horrible. I feel sorry for those who have to use them. The rules are posted at each camp site. 1 RV and 1 tent or 2 tents if no RV. 8 person max per site. 2 Vehicle limit. These rules are not enforced. Sites were crowded with multiple tents and vehicle and over the 8 person max. So much that they even protruded in to the streets making it hard for two vehicle to pass. I had heard that nothing was enforced prior to coming and now I have seen it first hand. I don't plan on camping there again. But I will visit the beach for a day and use the nasty restrooms. Fortunately, I'm a man and don't have to get too personal with them. I just pray I don''t have to go #2. :)
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 9 0
Dec. 11, 2011
Overall rating 
 
3.5
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
S.W. left this review using the Directory software: - Camp is almost empty on the date. the beach front sites are very nice.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
13 May 2011
(Updated: May 14, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
I have worked on delmar for several years and have seen changes good and bad. The good - great location, close to exchange, easy access from highway, safe. Bad - terrible customer service from mccs which is typical for them, then they wonder why they fail, just like the new exchange that is being built, great location and long overdue, but they will screw it up by putting items in there that your average marine can't afford. Good luck with that one. Enough bitching about mccs, I think you get the point they are worthless and marines in general do not support them. Getting back to the beach. They are trying to make the delmar beach the hale koa of the west coast, which will raise prices dramatically. The bathhouses are simply disgusting, always dirty and I'm not talking sand dirty. There is a lot of construction going on with the cottages, they look nice from the outside, but haven't seen inside of one yet. What they need is a smaller exchange on the beach, not a trailer, which can sell beer, soda, ice, etc, etc. The other thing they are missing out on is the center piece of the beach should be the middle center stage beach area. They need to turn that into an outdoor beach club where people can order food or beverages. Fire pits are nice. On the south end of the beach, they have fenced off a large area because of the endangered birds, what a joke, do they really think that will last. The food trailer is terrible, you might as well heat up mre's in the microwave and eat them. Bottom line, I've been going to this beach years not because of mccs, but because it is on base, it is big and safe. Don't waste your money by buying anything from mccs, take a cooler full of drinks, bags of chips, food and you can cook your own. If mccs wasn't involved with this beach, it would be top notch, but because they are involved, don't waste your time in supporting anything they do, bring your own stuff. If you have an rv, you might want to look elsewhere, they raised their prices and they aren't worth it.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 8 2
June 10-17 2010
Overall rating 
 
3.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
Almost like camping at the dog pound, dogs every where, and although they are not allowed on the beach they are all over the camp sites, even though they are on a lease, which adds insult when they are using your outside chairs for a relief station. Very pricey for a military fam-camp, but guess it is location, location, location. Great for families, especially if you have several large dogs, but us older, retired folks will do better else where.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 4
Sep 2006
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
Smoke from the fire rings can be horrible. Do not wait to go to the office to complain about violently loud or abusive neighbors. It take a day for them to react.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 2
9 results - showing 1 - 9