Del Mar Beach Cottages and Campsites

NewHot
 
3.7 (57)
203253 0 17 0 82

User reviews

14 reviews with 4 stars

57 reviews

 
(22)
 
(16)
 
(7)
 
(12)
1 star
 
(0)
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
4.6  (57)
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.6  (57)
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.4  (57)
Value 
 
3.5  (57)
Overall Experience 
 
3.7  (57)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
14 results - showing 1 - 14
Ordering
November 2015
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
One of a few military campgrounds on the beach in southern California.  Located on Camp Del Mar, MCB Camp Pendleton, it is a popular and busy location on weekends.  The resort staff are courteous and efficient.  It is pricier than most famcamps, but MCCS tends to be a bit greedy and it is in a high cost of living area.  The sites are mostly level.  With 5 rows to choose from, row 1 is the best as it is closest to the beach. Next would be row 2.  Avoid rows 3 and 4 as there is a high volume of traffic passing thru.  It also cost $10 more per night.  The sites are fairly close together and people come here to have a good time, so if you are seeking solitude and quiet, then this campground is not for you.  Often, MCCS rents out the entire front row to large groups like YMCA jamborees, so ask if there are any events going on when you make your reservation.  On those weekends (frequent from Oct-Apr) it is crowded, noisy and not as enjoyable.  Otherwise, this is a military base and there are often amphibious tracked vehicles passing between rows 3 and 4.  The power is not great and is often between 106-110 volts.  The water is typical SoCal water, doesn't taste very good- so make sure you have a filter.  Amenities are few, the bathrooms are not always clean and not heated.  The laundry facilities are a bargain.  There is a camp store onsite with minimal supplies but a convenience store is located approx. one mile away.  The commissary and main exchange complex is over the I-5 bridge approx. 2.5-3 miles away.  The best time to stay is Mon-Thurs as it fills up with weekend warriors Fri-Sun.  The sunsets are the best and nice long walks on the beach are priceless.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 8 3
19 August - 20 August 2011
(Updated: August 28, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
3.6
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
1.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
Awesome place, especially the sites right on the beach. Ridiculous price with reservation restrictions and automatic charging of credit card 2 weeks prior. All but one night can be refunded. We normally just go down there for the day and return home.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 2
June 20-25, 2011
(Updated: June 26, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
We spent 5 nights. June 20-25 2011. Stay was nice, used space 48 close to bathrooms for kids. Showers in the bath house need a remodel and update, I have seen it cleaner. We stayed in sec 4 one nite, it now has fire rings. The rocks/gravel in spaces 92-105 are very very hard on the feet. They are working on making the area a "resort", so there is hope for the bath house and sec 4. The cottages are finished and very nice, maybe now they will work on the camping end. Overall had a great week.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 1
Memorial Weekend 2011
(Updated: June 01, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Holiday weekends book quickly. Active Marines get a two week head start, followed by the other services, on down to retirees. The RV sites range from very nice (beach front) to rather disappointing (section 4). Other reviews mentioned the bathrooms; I agree they're substandard- probably the only real downside to this otherwise enjoyable campground. The beach has recently added some nice cabanas with furniture and electrical hookups. They also sponsored a number of activities on Memorial Weekend.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
April 15, 2011
Overall rating 
 
3.5
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
1.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
R.D. left this review using the Directory software: - I have been going to Del Mar Beach for many years and have seen the changes they've made including the fee increases. I spoke to the gentleman in charge about the drastic increase in price for a campsite. He said that they're building a resort type setting in the area and adding other amenities such as wifi. I still feel that the pricing is quite high for both retired and active military and we definitely won't be able to go as often as we used to . We love this park as the beach is the cleanest we've been to. They say prices have risen because another department has taken over the RV parks at Pendleton.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
April 3, 2011
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
We stayed in one of the one bedroom cottages on the beach. I have to say it's the best deal going!! I think the $50 campsites are a bit pricey. But $85.00 for a cottage right on one of the nicest beaches in Southern California is the best deal around! I was expecting a studio type apartment, but these have a separate living room/kitchen and bedroom with closing door. The couch in the living room folds out into a small double bed. So you could easily put an adult or two children on that (there are extra linens provided). Plus there is enough room for an air mattress in that room too. The family next to us had 3 adults and 2 children and they said they were comfortable. I just mention all this because they say it only sleeps two, so I was expecting something smaller with no fold out couch. And then the best part...the beach!! Our cottage was right on "Kids Cove", which is protected by a jetty so there aren't really any waves. It was perfect for us and our toddler! There are fire rings (almost enough for each cottage to use one), and grills and picnic tables. It seems that there was only one picnic table for every two cottages, which seemed strange. But there was one right out in back of ours and nobody else wanted to use it. My one complaint was how stocked the kitchen was...they say that it has everything you need for cooking. But apparently not for the way I cook! There were: 2 pots, 1 pan, 1 spatula, 1 mixing spoon, 4 plates, 4 bowls, 4 forks...you get the idea, the BARE minimum. The things I needed but didn't have were: can opener, measuring cup, mixing bowls, cutting knife, dish towels. There weren't even any paper towels. Luckily I brought a roll and I used a bath towel to dry dishes. So if you're going to do any of your own cooking, bring everything you might need except the pots, pans and dishes. Also, the floors are all tiled, there's not a rug in the place. It makes sense being right on the beach like that, rugs would just get ruined. But it means that you're walking around on hard tile that's always a bit sandy. Doesn't feel too good on the feet. Next time I'll bring a couple of our camping rugs for by the door and the kitchen. And maybe a pair of slippers. But that might just be my pet peeve, like I said, I wouldn't want carpet in there. It would be impossible to keep clean with all the sand, etc. Oh, and they are currently remodeling the cottages, so it seems they will only get better with time! The newer remodels seem to have wind break walls around the patios, and maybe they'll each have a picnic table in there?? We can't wait to go back and see!!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 12 0
29 Jan - 2 Feb 2010
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Forget using the bath houses. Use your shower in your rig. No security with them like other camps with coded doors or locks. Beach is great especially sharing a fire and a glass of wine with your neighbor. It was enjoyable watching the Marines do their PT in the morning on the beach and occasional night activities. Commissary at Camp Pendleton are just across the freeway but there is an Exchange annex, gas station, laundry, post office and even a Starbucks shack on the Camp Del Mar side a few blocks up the road from the park. As to directions, after getting off at exit 54B to the South Gate, turn left on Wire Mountain and go over the freeway. Keep on Wire Mt. going North until 12th Street. Turn left (the only way you can turn) and it takes you down to registration building on your right just before the RV park. Try and get a front row slot...it's worth it. First row fires in pits DO drift into your trailer depending on the wind. Make sure your windows are closed before someone lights up.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 4 0
15 June 2009
Overall rating 
 
3.6
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
Del Mar is one big sandy beach. It is known for it's cottages more than it's RV campsite. The cottages are new and are right on the beach, that means sand every where. The RV campsite is also on the beach. It is one big flat sandy RV parking lot, The first 3 rolls have full hook-up and a fire ring, the 4th roll has no fire rings. I think because it right behind the reservation office. The beach itself is outstanding. Fine sand and no rocks, definitely a kids zone. During the summer months when school is out the beach is packed even on the weekdays (too crowed for me) and all the front roll RV sites are taken. These are the only ones with a view of the ocean. I've read some bad things about the people at the reservations desk, but my experience was pleasant and the gentleman who help me was nice.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
30-31 MARCH 09
Overall rating 
 
4.1
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
'RIGHT ON THE BEACH" WAS WHERE WE STAYED TWO NIGHTS ELEC. AND WATER, NO SEWER. A NICE LEVEL SITE, #45.... LOTS OF OTHER SITES, MOSTLY PAVED, UPPER AND LOWER?? W/FULL HOOK UPS ETC. SHOWER AND RESTROOM FACILITIES USABLE---THIS IS THE NORTH CAMPGROUND. SAN ONOFRE, EASY IN AND OUT, EXCHANGE, COMMISSARY, AND FUEL, GAS AND DIESEL, FIVE MINUTES FROM THE PARK. WE WENT SIGHT SEEING WHICH WAS GREAT. OVERALL A PLEASANT SHORT STAY!!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
21 May - 4 June 2008
Overall rating 
 
3.6
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
This is a great location to relax for a bit. Yes, you see the Marines doing P.T. and their vehicles come thru the park a lot of mornings to launch off the beach next to the park...that doesn't bother us at all! To us, that is one of the great things about staying in military parks--you get to see our military train for what they do best. For some reason, if you reserve for two weeks, they put you in the very back...farthest from the ocean so you get no view. Not sure why, and no one could tell me! There were many spots empty during the time we were there, but that didn't seem to matter. After Memorial Day, they did let us move up one row, which was a bit better but still two rows of RVs in front of us (when they were there). We did not use the bath house at all--it is definitely for the campers! But, that is why we bought the RV, so we could be comfortable/self-contained when we needed to be. I would not recommend using the laundry at the Park. Very dirty and the dryers did not work...I ended up packing up my clothes and taking them to the laundry next to the small exchange and starting over. I do think the cost is a bit steep for what they offer, but it is beautiful when you get up in the mornings and walk the beach. I would stay here again just for that!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
April 10, 2007
Overall rating 
 
3.6
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
OK, I just have to say it, tho contrary to other voices and to my civility...waited two months and was going to drop my whining complaint, a repeat of last year. BUT I just called in for another round of abuse by the extraordinarily poorly managed operation. Got it. Long tenured non-military civilians seem to have little awareness of military rank, protocal or comraderie...and this is if you don't cross them, push them, press for answers to their chaotic system. They will not (tho can, I am convinced) answer why it is so extremely difficult to get through the phone to make a reservation, and why, after all that labor under crossed fingers you get a spot way back against the fence only to find nine, yes NINE, beach places remained unoccupied all weekend long. Summary: Potential as one of the greatest of all locations and experiences is trumped by poorest of all management teams kept in place by a command understandably focused on wartime priorities (I did talk with the Commandant, who assigned a LCOL to follow up but entrenchment and self-serving "misstatements" by the staff saved their hide).
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 7 6
16-17 Jun 2007
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
This was our first trip to Camp Pendleton and we were very impressed. Camp Pendleton is a large and scenic post with lots of attractions. Del Mar was a large campground with lots of people taking advantage of the beach access. So, If you like to be near the beach and don't mind being very close to your neighbors this campground is for you. We stayed on Row 3 stall 77, which was about dead center and within view of the beach but not of the water. While we were on a hard surface camp site, it backed up to the sand (not the beach) dividing areas where the fire pits were. Needless to say between us and our dog we unintentionally brought a lot of sand into our rig. While their was a diversity of campers, I felt this campground was more for the spring break crowd. The restrooms were very basic and not unlike a free public beach restroom would typically be. Of course this wasn't free, so I expected a little more. Fire pits were very accessible for each site and were used by most campers. If your rig is outfitted with a toilet/shower I would recommend to use them. While the campground allowed pets, and there were many, it was very limited to where they could go, which led to a lot of bored and barking animals. All campers who are pet owners should petition for a dog friendly portion of the beach, after all it's their vacation too. We originally chose this campground over Lake Oneal for our first visit to Camp Pendleton, due to it's higher rating on this site. We only stayed one night and that was enough for us. After we left Del Mar we drove past Lake Oneal to check it out and wished we had stayed there instead. Without question it will be our next destination. Either way, you can't go wrong visiting Camp Pendleton.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 1
Jan 11 - Feb 16, 2007
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
This is a great FAMCAMP. The manager and staff are friendly and very helpful. There are a couple of things they could go to improve the experience, 1)don't assign a spot until you arrive, take request for a specific spot only and 2) designate half of the first row on the beach for Motorhomes and the other half for all over RV's. The reasons for these suggestions are 1) when you make your reservation, you make it for a specific amount of time. If you want to extend your time, then 99.9% of the time you will have to move to another spot because they have a reservation for the spot you are in and 2) most Motorhomes will want to have the front of their Motorhome facing the ocean for the view while other RV's have their big window in the rear and back in. They have signs posted that dogs are not allowed on the beach, however, it seems that several adults cannot read as there were several dogs on the beach!
WR
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 5 4
Nov 2004
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Campground is on or against the beach. Busy place and a little noisy. We had armored personal carriers driving down the road early in the morning 10' from our rig.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
14 results - showing 1 - 14