Oasis RV Park

Featured New
 
3.1 (22)
32022   1   5   0   9

User reviews

22 reviews

 
(1)
 
(6)
 
(10)
 
(5)
1 star
 
(0)
Overall rating 
 
3.1
 
3.7  (22)
 
2.4  (22)
 
2.6  (22)
 
3.2  (22)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
22 results - showing 1 - 20  
1 2  
Ordering 
 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

22-23 MAR 2017

Great place for an overnight stop while traveling. Easy on and off Interstate 40. No pull-thru sites, but plenty of room to back our 40 ft. motorhome in and still have room to park our Toad. Nice level concrete pads on north side and full hookups. South side is for long-term residents. Very clean and quiet. We're self-contained, so lack of amenities such as showers and bathrooms was no problem. They do have a laundry facility, but we didn't check it out. Office staff were great to work with and told us that they recently started taking reservations. But there were plenty of open sites while we were there. This RV Park had everything we needed and we won't hesitate to stop there again, even though it does seem a little high priced. 

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
2.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
1.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0

15 Sept 2016

This park is way overpriced for what is offered and being a military base. It works for an overnight stop, but that's about it. They have all the hookups, but that's it. Thankfully, we didn't need showers or bathrooms. There aren't any. The concrete pads on the north side are level, but could tell from looking, south side sites are quite unlevel.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.4
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

June 20, 2016

This park was on our way from Flagstaff, AZ to Port Hueneme, CA. (As previously mentioned, not worth the price, but better than driving too long of a day.) We stayed only one night in a 40' 5th wheel. We love when we have a pull-thru, but only back-ins here. No biggy though. The open area here makes backing anything easy. However, depending on which row you end up in you're gonna be backing down or uphill. We were in a site right in front of the office and had to put the truck into 4-wheel drive to push all the weight up the slope onto the pad. Thank goodness the electric was good since we arrived at 118 degrees and it only got down to 98 that night. Friendly staff. When we arrived, there wasn't anyone in the office, but called the number left a message and they returned our call within 5 mins. Told us which sites were available and to just come in and pay before leaving in the morning. Piece of cake. Won't plan any long stays here, but will know it's there when we need an overnight spot.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
2.9
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

May 18, 2016

As stated before, this park is a traveling park, not a stay park. Has fairly flat site with needed hookups. Personnel are friendly and helpful. Not much else to say about the park. We just stopped for the night on our way to Las Vegas. The only real negative is the price compared to other military parks. Yes they are $29 per night with the surrounding parks running at $45-50. But we stayed at Pensacola NAS for $20 per night and the parks around it are running $60 and over. So yes, they are overcharging. I guess they feel that you do not really have a choice so they got you. Not a good way to treat your troops.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
2.7
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
1.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

May 2016

We just finished a five week cross country trip from FL to CA and back in May. We stayed at 9 military RV parks. All are very different. This was my least favorite park on the entire trip. There are level, spacious, concrete spaces. The lady that checked us in was nice and friendly. However, there is NO bathhouse, NO bathroom, NO clubhouse. Nothing really but the spaces. You have to go over to the gym if you need to use the bathroom or take a shower outside of your camper. AND it was by far THE most expensive park we stayed at ($29 per night while the others were $18-$20 per night). I cannot say we would stay here again unless we had to.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

6 Dce 2015

New Commissary since the last time we were here. Usually stay at Edwards when traveling through this region however they were full in November and full this January 6th. If you like Edwards, a call ahead to check availability might be a good idea. Desert Rat is a good camp. Be advised they raised the daily rate to $29.00 on January 1st.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Sept 4, 2014

Not a destination park, but just right if you find yourself looking for a place to stay on I-40 near Barstow. Easy access from the Interstate, friendly staff, level pads, good hookups. The commissary and BX (shopette) close early, but they are close enough to walk to from the park. Overall this is a good stopping point.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

29 May 2013

Stayed here overnight on the way to Utah. Many concrete pads open. Easy to get in to sites. This is a bare bones campground but for a stopping place on the way while traveling it is great. Easy in and out from I15 or I40. Last time we stayed there was a large overflow on gravel. Now there are many more concrete pads with full utilities.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: February 28, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
3.6
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Feb 27and 28, 2013

Desert Rat has added 11 more full hook up spaces, great job, we often travel between Yuma and Northern California, and Barstow was a so-so place to stop, we never knew if Desert Rat had any spaces open, because of the long termers and contractors, but with the addition of 11 more spaces should make a big difference, the rate $ 23.00 is pricey compared to other parks with more ammenities, the transformation is a welcome step.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: February 23, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Feb. 21-23, 2013

I have no complaints about this facility. This was our first time as retired military to make use of the Military RV parks, and we found everyone we came in contact with at this base to be friendly and helpful. The night before we came to the facility we stayed at a local rv park for $33.70 for about the same amenities as this facility. We found out that the wife's ID card had expired and we were able to get it replaced in about 30 minutes and that is with waiting for the person in front of us to finish up. So if you are looking for a place to stay short term and not looking to be entertained you might want to try this place.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: October 08, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
2.9
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

Oct 5, 2012

Stayed one night while heading through. Retirees now pay $23 per night for FHU 50/30 amp, water and sewer, and a concrete pad. Price is too high for what they have to offer compared to other bases. (Pay at the lodging office behind the upper tier of the campground). Small commissary in walking distance, with small BX co located with gas station behind the commissary. For $23 might as well just stay in a local campground.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: June 30, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

29 Jun 2012

Drove a little further this day to stay at Barstow. Left TN and headed up the coast through CA, OR and WA. This park is very easy to access from I-40. Civilian gate guard was very cordial. Called earlier in the day and was told there were 3 spots left and should be available. All the pads are concrete and look relatively new. In fact, there are 11 or 12 new sites that are not yet complete. Site had 30/50 amp service, water, and sewer. Commissary within eye sight; small but well stocked. PX was so so. Did not explore the town of Barstow. In short, this is a great place to pull off for the night. I would have considered staying a second night, but ready to head north. Rate I paid was $23.00. I thought it was interesting that this park had not been rated since Nov 2010.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

Nov 28 - 29, 2010

J.A. left this review using the Directory software: Base has not changed much since 1957 when I as Marine racked the grass! Ha-Ha. Good level concrete pads that you have to back up hill to get on. Good out of the way location for visiting surrounding desert sites. Will use again when traveling through Barstow. Recommend have correct change when paying.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: September 26, 2010)
Overall rating 
 
3.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

August 31, 2010

Campground is convenient to I-40 travelers. No frills. There is no shower/restroom at the campground. The camp gymnasium is about 1/2 mile so I drove over for my shower. Camp site was large enough, all are back-ins. I was able to get TV with antenna, and wifi was on-again, off again. As always, call to see if there are sites available. I will stop again if I am in the area!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

June 15, 2010

The location was great since we were just passing through. The base and campsite was easy to find and I could easily maneuver my 35ft trailer in the base and to the site. We called ahead as suggested and there were 3FH sites available and they were still available when we arrived. Large cement sites will accommodate any size rig. I wouldn't want to stay here more than a night since the town and the area really has nothing to offer in sightseeing. Had Wifi service but couldn't get any TV channels with our antenna and digital box. The staff was very friendly. Still no diesel at the base gas station. Very small commissary but has what you may need. Will stay here again if passing through.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: March 02, 2009)
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

1 MAR to 2 MAR 2009

Really liked the fact that it was so close to the I-40 as we were just passing through (to stay one night). Called the office about 1/2 hr before we arrived and we were told one campsite was available. It still was available when we arrived. Nice even concrete pad. Easy to get to from gate. Was quiet and peaceful and RV office is real close. No cable TV but a few stations came in with our antenna. The commissary is closed on Sun and Mon so we didn't get to go there but we went to the small exchange which is at the gas station. (No diesel at the station). Went to the thrift shop which is within walking distance of the RV park and it was quite spacious with reasonably priced items. My husband got a $7 haircut at the barber shop on base.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
1.9
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
1.0
Value 
 
1.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0

Nov. 11 and Nov. 15, 2007

As with all other reviewers, it is VERY convenient/close to highway exits. Hard to rate cleanliness as there is only a barren campground, no showers or 'rec' room, etc. AS AN ADDED NOTE OR TWO: the gas station does fit the big rigs (mine is 35 ft and towing) and gas was easily 5-8 cents a gallon cheaper than any nearby - AND, I stopped at the dining hall, which allows retirees, grandkids, non-uniformed, etc and it's decent and inexpensive. A pretty good quick stop (as long as there are sites...)

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
2.0
Location 
 
2.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0

Jan 31 - Feb 3, 2007

JLB left this review using the Directory software: I strongly recommend that users phone the office for availability of a site before nearing the base. Fortunately, I phoned ahead and was told there was one full-hookup site available on a first come basis. Campground staff did not volunteer information about the overflow area, which was empty when we arrived (see camp information above). The overflow area is roughly graded soil with rocks. This is a very accessible campground near the freeway and an unusually handy place for an overnight stop. I offer two stars rating because of limited campground sites available and limited facilities for travelers. Cleanliness, staff courtesy and helpfulness, and close proximity to freeway are the campground's strengths.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
2.6
Location 
 
2.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

February 10 - 12, 2007

An "okay" place to stop for the night. The workers were real friendly and the office is open long hours. We were lucky to get a FHU site, considering they only leave 2 sites open for short term visitors. Prices are high for this park, as there's no amenities. $10/night to park in a dirt field is outrageous! Especially since there's no restroom or shower. Unfortunately, I get the impression this RV Park is mainly interested in making money and is treated as base housing. Over 90% of the sites are occupied by long-term residents.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
2.0
Location 
 
2.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0

Oct 2006

No sites with hookups available. Parked in dry camp area. Roads in the area are under construction and it looks like more sites are in the offing. Dry camp kind of dirty and rocky, but was still $10.

Was this review helpful to you? 
22 results - showing 1 - 20  
1 2