Edwards AFB FamCamp

Featured
 
3.4 (85)
62642   2   15   0   16

User reviews

20 reviews with 3 stars

85 reviews

 
(16)
 
(31)
 
(21)
 
(8)
 
(9)
Overall rating 
 
3.4
 
3.4  (85)
 
3.2  (85)
 
3.7  (85)
 
3.4  (85)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
20 results - showing 1 - 20  
 
Ordering 
 
Overall rating 
 
3.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

Nov-Dec 2016

A lot of homesteaders, and contractors. Hard to get a space. No reservations. Andy does his best but no support from Services. Now, sites 21-25 are closed for upgrade and addition of 10 new spaces. Phase 2, (whenever that happens), will add 15 new sites in the field behind the famcamp.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

Jan 6, 2016

This was our first time visiting this park. We called & were told all spaces were full but the camp host told us to call when we arrived which we did. We were told to pull behind his space & plug into the 30 amp on his hookups & as we were just looking for overnight this worked great for us! The camp appears to be full of long-term campers so the reality of a space being available is probably pretty slim. We did not use any facilities but shopped at the commissary,  which was very nice. This would be a good spot to just overnight but it is not close to anything of interest. We did enjoy driving around looking at the base.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
2.8
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
1.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0

October 10, 2015

Been visiting this camp ground for the past 20 years and never had to use the overflow area. This was the first time. The new stay for 90 days has closed the park to the traveling people. The park looked good. Green grass under the trees. Camp host came out and told me camp was full and that I would have to use the overflow. Oh well, if these reviews do anything to improve the facility it's worth writing a review.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
2.9
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

October 2013

P.L. left this review using the Directory software: - Getting a bit pricey for very mostly very tight sites for big rigs and needs some gravel between the sites. When it rains its mud coming out of your rig.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: January 25, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

Jan 24 2011

Not a bad little camp ground. On honor system as the camp host has day job mentioned in earlier post. $15.00 for 'lectrics, water, and sewer. Not much to see and do but okay for an over the night stop. One issue I did not like is that there happens to be an area for kids for after school activities. The kids come from school and walk through the camp ground to reach the activity center. As a whole I find military dependent kids to be better behaved that most of their civilian counter parts but if I leave my camper for a trip to the head I am sure to lock up tight. Just trying to keep honest kids honest. Other than that not a bad little campground for a nights stay.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: November 06, 2010)
Overall rating 
 
2.6
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0

May 24, 2010

The RV campsites are not being maintained. Weeds all around the sites. Stayed there overnight in May 2010 and no host available the whole afternoon and evening. Site slips had not been removed from the board when sites were vacated leaving us wondering which sites were available. Leaking water bibs at sites. Tall dead vegetation around the laundry and restrooms.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: October 13, 2010)
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

9-10 Oct 2010

Not much has changed since our last visit to Edwards. The hosts are only in the park at night and weekends since they have jobs in Lancaster. Good BX and Commissary. They have diesel fuel at the gas station. The old trailer park behind the RV Park will soon be turned into a new BX Care Care Center, Shoppette and gas station. Also, a new dining facility will be built in the same area.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.2
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

Jan 5 - 11, 2010

What can be said about this campground. It is layed out in a strange pattern. The side by side sites are so close that if you had slides out, there would only be a foot or two between neighbors. I don't have slides and my neighbor was about 4 feet from me. I was lucky to have a site at the end with only the neighbor on one side. At $15 a night, it is not a bargain. The rock has been added to the area around the lounge/bath house and Dave is doing a great job cleaning up other areas. School kids still cut through the campground and campsites. As one person stated, between picnic table and rig. I think the camp host and his wife have full time jobs somewhere because I did not see them at all during the week. I finally saw them on Sunday. My greeting from the hosts was a wave as I went by. It looked like they were doing some minor cleaning in the area. I did not use bath house, laundry, etc. so cannot comment on them, but the last time I stayed here they were very clean. I feel this is a campground that could use more improvements to be up to Air Force standards. It is a good place to come for maybe a week but not longer.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
2.9
Location 
 
2.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

18 May 2009

I really don't think this famcamp will be open much longer. The place is going to the devil since Carol is no longer here. Bathrooms were dirty, grass/trees dying from lack of water and no mowing or weed whacking has been done lately. The temporary host is trying to get things done but he gets no support from Outdoor Recreation. Last week he had to threaten to contact the base health department to get something done about the bathrooms. Finally Outdoor Rec sent someone out to clean them but as I write this the bathrooms and showers have not been cleaned in 5 days. The temp host told me that three people have turned the host job down and I can understand why. Personal opinion...the Base Services Commander is just looking for an excuse to close the famcamp. Sad!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.2
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

20 February 09

This is our 3rd visit to this park over last 7 years and nothing has changed except the newer bathhouse/laundry which are very nice and quite clean. It still has the same parking lot feel but everything seems to work. Very good place to stop for short time and do BX/Commissary stuff. They have diesel fuel. This is a place that is easy to get in and out of. Have never seen a host any time we have been there.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.2
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

January 12-20, 2009

The layout of this campground is a little strange. There are some sites around the outside that have plenty of room, but most are side by side. Walking around the campground, some of the larger trailers/motorhomes with slides out, had about 1 foot between the slides. Some of the side by side hook ups were very well placed, but the opposite one required long water,sewer hoses and long electrical cord. Host apparently worked elsewhere and his wife took care of the campground. The campground was very neat and the bathrooms and laundry room were very clean. At times there were some dog droppings in the area. At $15 a night, I don't think this a very good deal. Edwards is miles from anywhere. The commissary and exchange had just about everything you need. There are two museums on base. The AF one was very interesting, but small. The one at the NASA area was mostly a gift shop. Overall, it would be a good overnight or maybe a couple days stop, but not a destination. The weather was excellent, with temps well above normal. Not until the last day did we get any clouds.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

October 20, 2008

I gave a higher than average rating for "location" as this is the best choice for a FHU RV site in the area. Of course, you probably have another reason for being in this area, but at least Edwards FamCamp is a good place to stay at. We were on our way to Arizona this time and only spent the night. Another good stop-over. Electric power was excellent! The current rate of $15/night for a FHU site is just right.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

7-9 June 2008

We stayed here last summer and really liked the location of the camp with respect to the pool, BX, commissary, etc... It is a good place to restock and rest. The camp itself isn't great but functional. They have new showers, laundry and family room. They don't have wireless or a data point but the BX has free internet with a great signal. The host was friendlier last year than this one. While I was gassing up on the way in the wife went to scout out a spot. She was accosted by the host, telling her she couldn't stay unless she had an RV or a tent. I guess she thought my wife was going to camp in the SUV. Anyhow, she told her she had to pay immediately which I think was unnecessary. People around the camp took her lead I guess and weren't very friendly either. I've never had so many waves go unreturned. I finally asked the host if her arm was hurt (I really did) and then she warmed up after that. We would still camp here again because it is the best in the middle of no where.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
2.6
Location 
 
2.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

24 Apr 2008

Middle of nowhere, but a good place to stop traveling through So. Cal. The park is basic, with many side-by-side sites. The good single sites with shade all appear to be occupied by long term residents. The sour point to this visit was the rude behavior of the camp host on our arrival. We were looking for a vacant spot, and removed a 2-day old registration card from the registration board. From her reaction, you'd have thought we just kidnapped her only child. The unwritten rules are you don't take the cards from the board, even if they're out of date. Just put your card over the top and let the host figure it out. We will stay again only because it's a good stopping point, but we'll do our best to avoid the camp host.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.2
Location 
 
2.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

27 Mar-14 Apr 2008

Nice park to rest and recharge. A long way to anything!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.4
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Nov. 18-19, 2007

This was our second visit here. Carol, the camp host is doing a wonderful job for NO PAY! While the campground is okay, Services and Outdoor Rec don't seem to pay much attention to it. If it wasn't for Carol, this campground would quickly deterioate. The new laundry still isn't open, since Services won't buy any washers and dryers. The bathrooms/showers and small rec room were in great shape and are also new. Although prices recently went up a bit, the campground is still a good deal. I would hope that Services and Outdoor Recreation would put some of the income generated here back into the campground. Plenty of open spaces for the 2 days we were here. We had GREAT power and ran 2 air conditioners, microwave, and electric water heater at the sme time with no problems.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: October 30, 2007)
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

22-28 Oct 2007

Several spaces available when we arrived on a Monday but soon filled up by Friday. Host was great and really helpful. No laundry facilities in the park but the restrooms were outstanding. Parking is a little tight in some spots to say the least but what the heck, the price is right. Golf course is super and resonablly priced...$15 including cart Mon-Wed. Course is a challenge. Museum is OK...worth the visit. Had no trouble with power while we were here. We'll be back in the spring.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
2.9
Location 
 
2.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

August 29 thru Sept 12, 2007

Most of the people here are regulars that work on the base. So they are here for 26 to 28 days and out for two to three days. The electric post have 30 amp and 50 amp plugs, but the power is not even 20. I know that it is hot and I mean hot (over 100 degrees everyday) During our stay we put the frige on propane so that we could use air conditioner. The electric has gone out everyday since we arrived. Sometimes for only a few seconds or upto an hour. Also the price has increase to $15 per night for military and nowhere is that advertised except at the collect box. Local paper/magazine tells about the base but the information is not always true. Like one pool by the campground was suppose to be open 7 days a week but the last week of the season they put a sign on the door that it would be closed except for the weekend. Lacking communication thru out the base.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: January 09, 2007)
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
2.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

Dec 2006

Middle of nowhere - but that's Edwards AFB for you. Campground is level, open area with some trees. You have to look on the BACK of the Famcamp sign to see what sites are open. Most of the sites are close together with side-by-side hook-ups. Commissary and BX across main drag (4 lanes + turn lane), gym about a mile away (1/2 mile if you walk). There is a sidewalk to the BX/Commissary through a traffic light. A new bathhouse/laundry is being built and should be ready Spring 2007. Most facilities are closed after 8PM except mini-mart and any off-base facilities are about 20 miles away, so plan accordingly. Decent place to stay for passing through.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

Nov 2006

The sites at this FamCamp are very close together, so, if you have slide-outs, be careful. The sites are level and have full hook-ups. This FamCamp is pet friendly, they provide bags and cans for pet waste at several points throughout the campground. The Commissary and BX are within walking distance of the campground. Another good point is, the campground can be accessed from either east or west bound from Hwy 58 since the base has two "main gates". Bad point is, not much TV reception in the area of the campground. My wife and I plan on visiting there again in the near future. Camp Host is very helpful too!

Was this review helpful to you? 
20 results - showing 1 - 20