Palm Oasis RV Park and Resort

Featured
 
4.1 (41)
45913   0   30   0   21

User reviews

8 reviews with 3 stars

41 reviews

 
(15)
 
(17)
 
(7)
 
(2)
1 star
 
(0)
Overall rating 
 
4.1
 
3.9  (41)
 
4.0  (41)
 
4.5  (41)
 
3.9  (41)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
8 results - showing 1 - 8  
 
Ordering 
 
Overall rating 
 
3.1
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0

December 1, 2016 to April 1, 2017

The desert location we found okay. The base has no assigned aircraft but many come here for the good winter weather to practice: including the Blue Angles Jan-Mar. It can be noisy at times but we are guest and if we don't like it then we don't have to stay there. The commissary is like the old corner grocery store: has almost everything, no problem parking and the staff is very friendly. Not sure what was going on with two groups that that come here every winter. Both groups seem to not like each other and seem to think they run the park. They complain about the management, camp host, and even the military command at the base. These two groups cause lots of friction for those staying near them. The security police was called a couple of times because one of the groups didn't like what was going on with the other group. These two groups acted very immature: like they were in grade school again. The facility commander and XO finally got involved and requested some from one of the groups to leave the base but didn't take any action on a couple other from the other group that were just a bad causing trouble. Management at the park need to get more involved with the rules and enforce them. There is no enforcement on where owners are allowed to walk their dogs. There are two dog walks available but most owners don't use them. Some sites are allowed to store lots of stuff/junk and management did not make them clean it up while I was there. Park roads need to be better marked to prevent wrong way driving on those that are suppose to be one-way. We found that the people working on the base were very friendly and were happy that we were there and using the facilities. The monthly cost to stay here is one of the best you will find with full hook ups.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.5
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

1 Jan - 3 Apr 2917

Wife and I had a pretty enjoyable snowbird stay for the most part. There is a strain on maintenance around the part but not bad overall. Joan and Doug are the best managers you could find. Too bad they don't have a camp host. There was a lot of contention going on between some of the long termers. It came to the point where the Base X,O. Had to call a meeting to discuss the problems. A few of us were very embarrassed about some of questions/comments brought up. Example... "Can the flight path be changed for the Blue Angels so they won't fly over my M.H.?" Unfortunately, most of the old timers won't be back next year. 

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

Febuary 2016

This is another park that where you end up being parked will affect the quality of your stay.  There are three areas; a new addition of eleven sites with full-length double-wide cement pads, the main section with pads and a patio, and the "tarmack" area, a parking lot with hookups about two blocks away.  We had mixed feelings about this park.  The host is a great guy, but there isn's a lot of communication between the Navy Lodging reservation site and the local personnel.  Making a reservation online won't work, you'll have to call, and even then you won't know where you'll end up on arrival.  The commissary is very small but has all the necessary items, but the NEX is very sparse, more like a shoppette with a uniform section.  Shopping is eight miles away with a nice mall area about 12 miles.  Entering the base, stop short of the gate so that the guards can open the truck gate to the right of the gate.  On the negative side, the aircraft noise, even if you enjoy the "sound of freedom" is excessive.  Most weekdays, the jets take off at 0700 and fly until 2200.  Since they're generally practicing carrier landings, they're low and slow, and the pattern is right over the park.  It's bad enough that there are nights when you can't hear the TV or have a conversation.  Surprisingly, the Blue Angels practice isn't a problem.  That was OK for a month's stay at $300/month, overpriced at the current rate of $350/month, and a joke at the future rate of $400 month.  Not worth a return trip for us.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: January 10, 2015)
Overall rating 
 
3.2
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

Jan. 2015

KBUG (Know Before You Go). When entering the base via the far right lane in an RV you will currently fall into a ridiculously deep dip right in the middle of your turn. If you value your jacks or your tow, go slow. In the past it has been SOP to exit the base via the lane that you came in (out through the in-door). Currently there is a sign indicating that this is what is expected. However, recently a gate guard declared that from now on RVs can depart using the far right hand lane and thus avoid the pit when leaving. Big rigs trying to gas up on base – the height of the awning is not posted. If you know you rig and want to chance it anyhow add a half a foot plus some bounce when your tires go over the one of a kind spill barrier surrounding the pumps or say goodbye to vent covers.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

Nov 20, 2013

P.A. left this review using the Directory software: - Very quiet base. You almost wonder if anyone is assigned there. They have cement pads and everything around it is bare ground. It rained over night there was at least 4 inches of water around the pad and power pole. Some gravel would be nice. One nice thing is they have a wash facility big enough for your RV right across the street from the campground and it is FREE.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

August 14, 2009

We arrived at 2 pm and 111 degrees. We never got power to our motor home trying 2 sites and it was too hot to keep trying so we checked into the guest house. The base reminded me of being in Saudi. They have free movies at the theater on Fri - Sun and we can use the mess hall for breakfast. We will stop again.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.2
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

Feb 29 - Mar 5, 2009

We used this base as a stop off and to leave our rv there while we took a few days to visit family in CA. This is quiet and out of the way, small and homey. The BX is very small, so is the commissary. There is a good car wash free to use. You have to get a decal for your windshield & the entry guards tell you where to go. Then you can come and go as you wish. This area is ag land, so to the East of the campsites is a view out to the fields. We got to see the Blue Angels flying and it is quite a sight.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
2.8
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0

Dec. 23, 2008

L. R. submitted this review using the Directory software: Was just going to stop for one night. There were several empty spaces, but was told by MWR, I would have to use the overflow lot. When I asked about the empty spaces, was told those were taken by people who had already paid for six months and not arrived yet. The next morning the spaces were still empty!

Was this review helpful to you? 
8 results - showing 1 - 8