Palm Oasis RV Park and Resort

Featured
 
4.1 (41)
50238   0   30   0   26

User reviews

17 reviews with 4 stars

41 reviews

 
(15)
 
(17)
 
(7)
 
(2)
1 star
 
(0)
Overall rating 
 
4.1
 
3.9  (41)
 
4.0  (41)
 
4.5  (41)
 
3.9  (41)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
17 results - showing 1 - 17  
 
Ordering 
 
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

Mar 10, 2017

Friday 3-10-2017. 1600Hrs, Check-in offices was closed for Blue Angels weekend. 1630Hrs Camp Host could not be found, (due to serious dental surgery that morning). Host dogs, auto, and golf cart were onsite, but we could not locate the Camp Host to check-in. Base operator did not have camp host phone number. Security did not have camp host phone number. After two hours we (RV1) and our guests (RV2) found available spaces and settled-in for the weekend. Dinged Hospitality and Overall Experience for these shortcomings.**NOTE!** Alert campers on Blue Angels Opening Show weekend that nearly ALL BASE FACILITIES will be closed on Saturday, including both pools, water play park, bowling alley & Kingpin, commissary, theater, and Staff/Officers Club/restaurant. NavExchange was open for the weekend, including the adjacent Subway sandwich shop. Found a great local Italian restaurant (Mozzarelli's) that would deliver food to the gate on Saturday evening, but it would be nice to have a list of authorized meal delivery vendors in the local area. I'm going back, due to the possibility of having access to all of the facilities mentioned above! It really is a Great Place to go!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

3 MAR - 7 MAR 2017

This is not a destination RV resort, but it's good for a few nights en route. We had reservations and checked in on a Saturday. The camp host said the sites were numbered incorrectly and guided us to the site she said was ours but Monday morning MWR said that several of us were in the wrong sites. Oh, well. We were treated very politely on all accounts. Contrary to other reviews, our pad was 4" out of level side-to-side but we were able to handle it. The BX and exchange are VERY small, but you can stock up on the basics and it's only fifteen minutes to Walmart, Aldi, Lowe's, etc., in town. The theater was closed for renovations. As mentioned, the Blue Angels are based out of El Centro NAF in the winter and it was fun seeing them fly. 

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

January 2017

Very nice military campground located conveniently off I-8. Staff is very friendly and even give you a folder of information when you check in. Level concrete sites that were just long enugh for our 42’ 5th wheel and truck. Nice space between sites and. No cable or wi-fi but our Direct TV and phone hot spot worked fine. Picnic table at each site and a nice dog park ( that has grass !). Walking trail around park and base is great place to ride your bike. This is a small base but has a commissary, exchange, bowling alley, pool, water slide, theater and playground. Park was very clean. Blue Angels practice here during the winter so was fun watching them from your RV site. We would definitely stay here again.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

June 22, 2014

Well I have to start to say I was here in June, HOT, HOT, HOT. sites are easy access, good room. The base is so small it surprised me. The only negative comment is when I used the showers there was no hot water, maybe since I was not in season it was turned off. Could not enjoy much since this time of the year the temp was about 108 daily. Time to move on to San Diego.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Nov 2013-Apr 2014

Due to several circumstances, we had to spend the entire winter here. Gilbert, the park host was outstanding and went out of his way to help make our stay enjoyable. He watched our rig when we were away and even closed our slides during high winds on one occasion. Thanks Gilbert! Also, Joann and the staff in MWR are great as well. Our site, #22, had recently had an electrical upgrade but some of the old wires are laying on the ground. Water pressure can be up and down depending on the time of the day. Electrical quality is the same. Our surge protector kicked us us off the grid a few times due to low voltage. Propane is available at the Auto Hobby Shop and is very reasonably priced. You like the "Sound Of Freedom"? Well, this is definitely the place for you. When the active runway to the southwest, the jets use a left downwind, flying right over the park. F-18's flying in the pattern with the gear down get very loud. The Blue Angels arrived in January and we got a great air show several times a week. Free movies at the base theater Friday, Saturday and Sunday. The dining hall is available to retiree's when the Oasis Club is not open. We will back.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Jan 2014

Nice FAMCAMP. Looks like many are there for the winter but there was always some open spots. We were there for a week and nice weather the entire time. The exchange is currently being redone so only a small part was open. Some plane noise but not bad and they did not fly late night. Great value if you are staying a month at $300.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: May 26, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Nov 2012- May 2013

Approximately 15 new sites being added to park. Management stated that estimated time of completion is September 2013. The club house and laundry facility need upgraded. Laundry (operated by NEX) in need of new machines and new plumbing. Older sites in park have mature shade trees and shrubs and have level concrete pads. Water pressure good. According to management, older sites are to have new, larger concrete pads poured after new sites completed. Holiday dinners at the galley good value. Weather here is excellent. Plenty of things to do in the valley, many festivals, (Honey, Carrot). Many local parades. The Imperial Valley Desert Museum has many free events such as talks on local geology and guided hikes. Easy drive to San Diego, Yuma and Borrego Springs (Anza Borrego State Park) and Glamis Dunes. Small pool at Mirage Club upgraded and now open. Commissary small, but well stocked.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: July 26, 2014)
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

March 2012

Second time staying here. Campground host Gil is friendly and helpful. Always enjoy the free movies, and Sunday breakfast at the chow hall. Sign at the main gate directs RV's to an inspection lane. I entered the lane, and the guard asked me why I came in this way. I told him that the sign pointed me to this lane. He grumbled, and said to use the main entry point. Great place for sunshine and jet noise. Will come back again.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
2.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Mar 23 - Apr 1, 2010

This is a Navy Air Facility. It is in the middle of no where. Flat and dusty. It is a nice laid back base. Has mostly everything you would want on base. Staff is friendly and helpful. It is a snow bird base, which many are in this part of the US. Everyone was friendly. Close to Mexico . If you want to save some money, this is the place, but have been told very hot in the summer. Nice stop over, but we did stay several days. Would stop again.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

April 16-17, 2010

Considering the prices for RV parks in the area, this is a good deal. The park is beginning to clear out--the winter visitors are starting to head back north to various homes. Never met the host. Checked in on Friday afternoon and left on Sunday morning. Base theater offers fairly recent movies free of charge on Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays. NEX is small as is the commissary. This is a pretty nice stopping off place on the way to San Diego.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

8-14 February 2010

We stay at many military, private and Elks Lodges as full-time RV'ers and this rates in the top 10 of our visits primarily due to the professionalism of the staff, value for your money and amenities on base...not to mention the Blue Angels and other military aircraft that fly constantly. Yes, there are some homesteaders and a bit of a clique but we find that most campgrounds have a "personality" and this one is fun! Beginning with the staff, they were friendly and extremely helpful, even when we called to get a spot on the day we were to arrive. Upon arrival and check-in, I had a 10 minute chat with the manager who was extremely amiable and welcoming. She obviously enjoys her job and takes pride in it. All of the RV'ers we came in contact with were also friendly; inviting us to join them in the morning for a "dog hour" where the owners visit and watch their dogs play together in the park adjoining the park. When I walked to the laundry house I had two offers of a ride...and the list goes on. We have stayed numerous times in one of the top 5 military RV parks in the West, according to this year's survey, and I have to say that although that unnamed park is beautifully designed and has free laundry I would pick this one over that any day! It rained when we were here and yes, there is a lot of mud but who cares, we get to RV full-time and have one of the ultimate benefits, being retired military.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Dec 22, 2009 - Jan 4, 2010

Things here have not changed much since being here last year and the year before. I was in space 75, which is beside a path that leads to other campers. Being here, and having a big window beside me as I sat at my table, I had people walking by my trailer all the time. I could have closed my mini blinds, but why should I have to. Facilities are very good here. Laundry is $1 wash and $1 dry. 2 of the washers started eating money with nothing happening on 1/2 and were not fixed by the end of the day on 1/4. Also one of the dryers started doing the same thing. Apparently whoever takes care of it did not make any arrangements for someone to service/clean the area. That would be my only complaint. MWR is not responsible for this area. It is a leased area to a private company. Over all, stay was good. As stated by many, there is not a lot to do in the area, but the base does offer a lot. It is a good location to spend the winter, but, only having 30 days in advance to make reservations, you have to be quick to get in. I think they must hold back some sites for short term. I did notice that a lot of the people (also staff) here are the same ones that were here last year and the year before.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

January 7 and 8, 2009

Not much has changed since last year. Seems like the same people are here and in the same spots. There are some sites that look like the occupants haven't moved since day one. They have been doing upgrades to the "Sunrise" park. It is now Palm Oasis RV Park and Resort Annex. They have added full hookups to all the sites here and bringing it to 21 sites. Not all is done yet. Electric was extended to site 13,14 and 15. Still only 30 amp. Water and sewer to the rest. I heard they are waiting for a new transformer before they can extend the electric also. There is also a change in the rates. $15 per day and $90 per week. Still $250 a month. There has been an empty space next to me since I got here on the 7th, but still putting new arrivals in sites without electric hookups. I looks like someone is "saving " the empty site. There is a picnic table sitting in the middle of it. Units are fairly close together, but not that bad. Things to do on base make up for the location (away from town) and closeness of the units in this part. Young man at check in was very friendly and helpful. Campground host never came to the annex while I was there and there have been about 5 new arrivals. Guess he only cares about Palm Oasis. Overall, good place to spend a week, a month or a season if you can put up with the noise. As always, planes flying all day and the Blues are in for their training.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: October 13, 2009)
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

19-20 May 2008

Location- not much around area. Good stop-over park. Cleanliness/Hospitality - Given the choice to pay at check-in pm or check-out in am. Amenities/facilities - Glacier water machine not working with no sign stating. Change machine was out of money in laundry facility, but lots of machine. Had to walk to shoppette to obtain change. NEX had control of vending machines/change machine. Shade was at a premium, it was hot. Value - excellent stop over park.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Oct. 2007 to Feb. 2008

I totally agree with the review written by "excursion". Overall, staying there was a good experience and a great deal. Would stay there again.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.6
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

Oct 2007 -Mar 2008

Very nice RV Park. Base has great facilities, Gym, pool, theater etc. Lots of great activities. Only problem seems that the rules are made up as they go along and depending on who you know or how vocal you are makes a difference on how the rules are applied.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
2.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

January 6, 2007

We stopped by just to visit. Only overflow sites were available anyway. Dale, the camp host was very friendly and a big help. There's a TON of activities at this park, although not much to outside of the base. This park seems like it would be a great place to spend the winter at, and a GREAT value. It also appears the base is giving the park support and positive attention.

Was this review helpful to you? 
17 results - showing 1 - 17