Monterey Pines RV Campground

 
3.6 (83)
150174 0 20 1 53

User reviews

27 reviews with 4 stars

83 reviews

 
(19)
 
(26)
 
(27)
 
(7)
 
(4)
Overall rating 
 
3.6
Location 
 
4.4  (83)
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.6  (83)
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0  (83)
Value 
 
3.4  (83)
Overall Experience 
 
3.5  (83)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
27 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2
Ordering
01-03 Jun 2019
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
We stayed here in early Jun 2019 for two days. Most of the sites are small, irregular in shape, not particularly level, with plenty of trees providing shade (and clearance issues for larger rigs). The Famcamp is surrounded by the Monterey Pines Golf Course and sits just off the NE end of the Monterey Regional Airport runway. There is some occasional aircraft noise--however, it's minimal compared to what you'd experience at a typical military base. Facilities are older/dated, but clean. As for the Famcamp wi-fi, well, it was one of the fastest we've ever encountered---69.9 Mbps down/ 13.8 up. For $36 (military active/retired) this Famcamp is quite reasonably priced considering the location.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
May 2019
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
While the sites are cramped and the campground sort of worn, it has a real rustic charm, like an old time campground. Its very pretty and mostly quiet, though there is occasional noise from aircraft taking off or landing next door. The sites are somewhat oddly laid out to fit into the terrain, so you might get a nice front porch area or you might not. Also, I was in a 40 foot site with a 30 foot motorhome, and it would surprise me if someone could get a 40 foot rig into that spot - even if it fit, the back in was tricky enough for me. So I would recommend this place for smaller rigs only. If you like to golf, the course is short but beautifully maintained, reasonably priced and fun to play. You can walk to the clubhouse from the campground. Wifi worked pretty well and there was plenty of o/a tv. Customer service was great. The price is reasonable, given the great location.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
April 2019
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
You can't beat the location! Close to everything Monterey Peninsula. Bathrooms were immaculate, plenty of washers/dryers, and other than the early morning flights out of Monterey Regional, it was very quiet. The camp host was fantastic! My only complaint is the size of the lots. My 34 foot 5th wheel took a look of maneuvering to get into space #33 - we could have used a bigger spot and one was open close to us pretty much the entire time we were there. I thought the price was reasonable. But I go back to location and you can't beat if. I will stay here again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 1
24 Feb-1Mar 2019
Overall rating 
 
3.6
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
What this campground has going for it is location! It is right in the heart of Monterey giving outstanding access to local sights and activities. Otherwise the campground is rather average, and a bit over-priced. Most RV sites are short in length and our site required some creative leveling. Since it is surrounded by a golf course, I noticed some sites were within range of stray golf balls. Also the campground is situated next to the commercial airport and under the flight path of the main runway. Expect daytime aircraft noise, both landing and take-off. Seems no traffic at night however. The bathhouse was clean and heated, and had clean showers – nice to have a warm bathhouse for showering.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
September 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
The staff is great and very flexible to satisfy your needs. This RV Park is all about the Monterey area. So much to do it was easy to stay here for several weeks and remain busy every day. Unfortunately, it is near the runway of the Monterey Regional Airport, so there will be aircraft noise. In addition, the golf course lawn equipment start operations early in the morning, so that is noisy too. However, these two noise issues are easy to accept when you experience the convenience and beauty of this area. The Wifi was great and operation was consistent and reliable. We camped in a motorhome and will return. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
10-12 April 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Great location and campsite host go hand in hand in a famcamp. Good shade and utilities in all campsites with very clean restrooms. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
29 Jan - 2 Feb, 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Great LOCATION! Access to Monterey area and all it entails. Small quiet campground with great shower and laundry facilities. Nice trees/shade on a beautiful golf course. Once in awhile the errant golf ball finds it's way into the campground. Spaces are fairly tight but most can handle 40' RVs/5th wheels if you're good. Only 30AMP but not a problem since weather is rarely too hot.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
13 - 30 May 2017
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Information on the campground seems to indicates all the spaces have 50A service. I haven't found any 50A spaces yet, but haven't checked them all. Since my space doesn't have 50A plug I have to run the generator to dry clothes.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
April 2017
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Location is fantastic! Sites are small and dusty but this is Monterey. Airport is loud but not too busy and the area outside of the Golf Course is a little seedy at times, depending on what is going on at the Monterey Fairgrounds, located next to the golf course. Prices have been increasing but still less than other local parks though amenities are better at other parks.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
6 August 2016
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
We stopped here on short notice on a Saturday evening and went into the golf course club house. The gentleman was cleaning up and was very helpful. He called the camp host and she said she had a couple of open spaces. Lucky. This is nice little park and would be ideal for golfers. You walk to the Navy course and you are on the doorstep for all the Monterey Peninsula golf courses. This park is convenient to all things Monterey has to offer. Quiet for the most part. A few families but this is not a retirement village. We will be back!! 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 1
04 May 2016
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
One of the most unusual Famcamps We have stayed at. It is owned by the Navy but is on a golf course with public access, you check-in in a small unmarked office in the back of the Pro shop, the office is open 364 days a year. We had a nice site ($33/day) with a picnic table and grill on site, laundry $1.50 wash $1.00 dry. We didn't use the showers but they looked clean. There is a small grill open daily 7:30 to 4:00. The location is close to the wharf and the Aquarium, pricy but there is a veterans discount. The drive down the coast to the Hearst castle is well worth setting a day aside for, the castle is the closest thing to a real castle I have seen in the USA. Also, there is a large elephant seal colony (hundreds of seals) to stop and observe along the way. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
1-5 April 2016
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
This place is all about location, location, LOCATION.  It is super convenient to numerous and worthwhile sightseeing venues. This was our first visit to Monterey Pines.  After reading previous reviews, we were a bit apprehensive.  Luckily, our concerns were unfounded.  Reservation and check-in were smooth. We were advised to stop - check for golfers on the 2nd tee before proceeding to the camp ground.  Our back-in site was a bit tight, but worked okay for a 34' 5th wheel.  WiFi was excellent.  We did not use the restrooms, bathhouse or laundry, so I will not rate those facilities. Others have commented about golfers, and we have a story as well.  As I was unhooking/preparing for departure, I heard a loud overhead THUNK from a nearby tree.  Seconds later, a golf ball landed at my feet!  Mind you, we are behind a VERY high net.  I tossed the ball back on the fairway. The golfer later thanked me as we both went about our business. We would definitely stay here again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Dec 10th to 17th, 2012
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
J.M. left this review using the Directory software: - So during our stay this December, the weeds were all mowed back, the sites were clean and neat; I saw the camp host out raking leaves and helping a couple of RV-ers with water leaks from their rigs; several times a day staff member went through the site picking up the trash; the manager visits the campground every morning personally to check on everything, and she was overseeing a broken dryer in the laundry that was immediately being repaired. Life was good there - very good actually. Have to admit that the sites are not level, I used 4 inches of boards to get my rig level and I saw a 5th wheel struggling for 10 minutes to get into a site without hitting any posts, shrubs or the neighbors. But we got outstanding local information from the manager on attractions, local seafood outlets, restaurants, prime rib dinners on base, driving directions on getting into the Navy Postgraduate school nearby. etc. At $30/night it seems high for Famcamps but not in comparison to the other campgrounds in the area. Very nice place. We will be back.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
March 2012
(Updated: March 05, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
This camp is in a very special area and location wise could not be better. The staff is exceptional, Carlina really adds something special to the experience. We originally planned to stay two nights but she insured that if we wanted to stay additional time the site she placed us in would be available. She reminded us that there was much to see and do and she was right. I wish we could start a competition for the best staff. I hope this doesn't become one of those golden egg things...even in the off season it is relatively full and at the rates charged it should be a money maker. But maintenance of the grounds is an issue. I would recommend that if you have a choice that you not use site 21. If you do look up and you will see a large dead tree with large branches high above you hanging over the site. Truly widow makers.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
July 2011
(Updated: August 02, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Very nice, clean campground. The bathrooms were immaculate. The Park Manager, Carlina, found us a week long camping site even though the park was full due to motorcycle races at Laguna Seca. She also holds two free passes to the Monterey Acquarium which is awesome. A very caring staff. Only eyebrow raiser is the cost. There are other state owned campgrounds in the area such as Big Sur but they tend to fill up in summer. Airport noise was not a factor for us. WiFi was OK at the site but excellent in the golf club house. Wish cable tv was available. Overall a great experience and we'll be back. Oh yeah, if you like golf this is the place for you. Just step out your RV door!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
Oct. 20-23, 2010
(Updated: November 02, 2010)
Overall rating 
 
3.6
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
Read all the other posts also. Our complaint and why we will not return here are the following: The park is at the end of a runway. Right next door is a jet propulsion testing building. There is no area for children to play. We were even warned against walking on the road next to the golf course and venturing off into the trees next to the rv area. There was a constant incoming and outgoing of jets at the airport. On countless occasions they were trying to start an engine at the test facility. Trying to get our 19 mo old granddaughter to sleep or nap through all the noise was terrible. We never were able to hook up to the internet. The pluses: 2 free passes to the Monterey Bay Aquarium. Our TV worked with the antenna raised. The manager and most other rver’s were extremely friendly and helpful.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
2 July 2009
(Updated: October 31, 2010)
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
My Dad and I stayed here for one night while touring California. It is a really great place and convenient to town. Great dinning and shopping in Monterey. Not as expensive as many civilian c/g in the San Fran area.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
May 10 - 24, 2010
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
The previous comments about Monterey Pines are true. It is a great area. Lots to see and do. The golf course is really nice with a great club house. The park itself could use some updating. Some sites are tight and not level. Not many sites for big rigs, but you can make it work. Great place to collect golf balls. Picked up 25 in the park during our stay. Park backs up to the course. It is a nice park to stay in for seeing all the local sites. It is a beautiful area. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Would stay again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
28-31 May 2010
Overall rating 
 
3.6
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
Monterey is a great location to have a campground like this. There's a ton of stuff to do in the local area and the weather is almost always beautiful. Even when it isn't it's still not that bad. The noise from the airport was barely noticeable after the first few hours. The spots are pretty tight for larger rigs and there aren't many sites that would accommodate a very long trailer (30'+). Overall, it was a nice stay, but I probably won't be going back any time soon. Staying in an area as confined as that is not really our style.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
May 18 - 23, 2010
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
The park is conveniently located to many local attractions including Fisherman's Wharf, Cannery Row, various beaches for sea life viewing and the Monterey Bay Aquarium. Carlina (the RV park Mgr) has two free passes to the Aquarium. That saved a bunch of money. Be sure to ask her about local tourism. The PX is located a few miles up the road at the old Fort Ord military complex. When you come into the park, be aware that you must go through the gate into the gold course. Also, the gate is closed after 7 pm or so or when the golf course closes so you will not be able to get in after hours without a gate code. Wifi is good. No cable TV, but several local channels are available with antenna. Shower and laundry facilities are clean. The airport noise is not really a problem; especially after staying at some places with military jets doing touch and go's. Some spaces are close, others are okay. My spot, site 18, was plenty long; but the sewer connection is uphill making it quite a chore to empty tanks. Other than that one drawback, this is a great place to stay for a week or so. If I am in the area again, I will come back.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
27 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2