Petaluma Lake Area Campsites

Featured
 
4.4 (31)
48860   0   21   0   33

User reviews

19 reviews with 5 stars

31 reviews

 
(19)
 
(8)
 
(4)
2 stars
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Overall rating 
 
4.4
 
4.4  (31)
 
3.9  (31)
 
4.5  (31)
 
4.5  (31)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
19 results - showing 1 - 19  
 
Ordering 
 
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Apr 30-May 2, 2017

Beautiful little park with lots of geese roaming around! Sites are large concrete pads that are not level. We scored the one 50A site in the campground, which is the first on the left as you enter. I'm guessing the others avoided it because it's closest to the playground, but that was heaven for our boys! The rate has increased to $25/night for authorized users and $50 for guests. On base gas was more than 40 cents cheaper than Petaluma. Just under 1 hour from our RV to the Golden Gate bridge; 1:10 to Chinatown. When heading to 101 south, the GPS will route you another way that will bypass the town. Don't miss the Petaluma Creamery if you want locally-made cheese and ice cream. A small clarification to the directions: the road by the propane tank is now called Wisconsin Ave, and though the directions stop there, you follow Wisconsin until it hits Pennsylvania again and then turn left. The campground will be on the left just after the playground. We would absolutely stay here again if in the area!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Oct. 4, 2016

Gorgeous rural setting!!! Minutes from 101 yet zero noise! 45ish mins from San Fran. Pretty lake, wild turkeys lounging in the shade, deer wandering around. Water, electric, & cable. WiFi is a little slow but I am getting it at my spot. $20/night is a pittance for the beauty here! Easy to navigate, small base with clear signs, flat concrete spots that are actually unlevel (can't see it by looking) w/ firepit & nice picnic tables & shade at our site), park next to us, best part is a kids afterschool center behind us. My fulltime rving kids were thrilled! On post is a movie theater, a small exchange, bowling alley, pizza place, & bar. Showers are at the gym. Will DEFINITELY return here again! 

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Nov 20, 2015

We just returned from two nights at Petaluma Coast Guard Station.  Once on the base, this website here provided some vague direction that I would like to see clarified a bit. "Proceed down the hill on Colorado Avenue until you get to Missouri Ave where the large propane tank is, on the right where the sign says Lake Recreation Area. Turn right on Missouri Ave." Was fun. Very quiet. Only six spaces and five were occupied.  Rarely saw anyone out and about The pads are well spaced out on the circle of the campground. I had a tough time leveling, despite what looked like a pretty level concrete pad. No sewer hook ups.  Thirty amp hook ups. The pond is cute, catch n release for the fisherman. Canadian geese have made a mess of the place, watch you step. A little bit of landscape work was going when we were there. Slight smell of cattle, but not that strong. Flies, so be sure you close the door behind you.  We used the dining galley on the first evening, $7.70 each.  It was good Italian meal.  The Coast Guard runs their Food Service Specialist school here, so you are eating the rewards of the students "coasties" good work. They all look so young. There is some sort of agreement with the civilians managing the galley. MWR told us the lunches are the best meals of the day. Missed them. The MWR is located in the "HUB" which was hard to find. Building NEXT to the gym. The hub has a lot going on, ITT office, library, activities, and there is a coffee shop/snack bar on the end. We went to Bodega Bay for the day, 11 miles away. When leaving the base back towards Petaluma, traffic to Southbound Hwy 101 is routed a different way.  Pay attention to the signs about 2 miles East of the base. Will go back.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

June 21, 2014

We are new to RVing so I do not have a lot of experiences to compare this trip to. We enjoyed the park very much. It is quiet and the spaces are very spacious. There are only 6 spots, but they could have made double that amount. If you have younger children with you there is a really nice playground with and a horse shoe pit. Bring your own horse shoes. The lake is small and some might call it more of a pond. The Canadian Geese have taken it over so there is a lot of goose poop around it. Walk carefully. I also might add for those of you who do not know the area that This is pretty common in this part of the state. Those geese are everywhere. Each site has a nice fire pit and a table. Make sure to bring your own wood as there was none available on the base. The exchange is small and there is no commissary. The gym is nice and there is a nice coffee/sandwich shop with good hours. Religious services are available on Sunday. The base theater has new movies but you do have to pay. $4.00 per adult. (still a bargain in today's world). There are lots of trails on the base. This would be a good place to run, walk or ride a bike. We were able to use the dump station. Everything was in working order. Make sure to check the hours of the MWR desk. They close at 1:00 on Saturday and do not open again until 1:00 on Sunday. You need to check in or out with them, so make sure to make arrangements if you will not be there during that time frame. We will be returning. A really great experience.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Sept 30 - Oct 1, 2013

Six large sites (our pad was about 30 by 70) with lots of grass (mostly brown when we were there, but it was autumn) and trees nearby. Water and electric at sites. Bathroom (one-seater each for men and women) was very shabby but everything worked. No showers. Picnic tables, playground equipment and a pretty lake nearby. Lovely pastoral setting; saw horses, cows, deer and wild turkeys. Everyone we dealt with was helpful and professional, especially Jason. We had just paid $33 for a spot with no hook ups at a nearby CA state park, so $20 here was a bargain. Overall, very nice!

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: April 02, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Feb, 2013

What a great little place! If you are so fussy about hookups being on the wrong side of the sites and having to dump at a site on the wrong side of the road stay away and leave this beautiful site for those of us who enjoy the quiet rural scene. My grandchildren love it here and I feel safe letting them bike and hike around the base. At $20 I feel it is priced right, especially considering what some "famcamps" charge to park in what I consider to be parking lots jammed in with your neighbors. The Coasties have done a wonderful job creating this really neat campground.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: November 22, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

14 Oct 2012

While not exactly close to San Francisco it was perfect for what we needed. There are six spots in a horseshoe that were plenty big enough for my motorhome and trailer with space left over to park the car and motorcycle. The staff at the MWR were very friendly and competent. I will stay here again if in the area.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: June 17, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

June 8 - 11, 2011

This was our second stop with our new trailer and our second time here. The woman who checked us in this time was a bit rude at first. But after a bit of joking with her she opened up. I still prefer this family camp to the others we have been at. This is a RURAL base set amongst many dairies. If you can’t handle the “smell” of live stock in the area then go to Travis. This is a perfect spot for families with children. There’s the playground area which was perfect for our now 28 mo old granddaughter. The free movies on Friday night are also a plus. The library has a wonderful area for young children to sit and read or be read to. You can take a book to read (bring back of course). You can swim in the pool, fish in the pond, play volleyball in the sand or horseshoes. Once the gym is finished you can shower there and you will be able to rent bikes and some other equipment. The kids from base housing are very polite and helpful. Since school is out they are there every day for a couple of hours. There are kids of all ages to play with. If kids bother you Travis might be a better fit. It’s sterile and does have everything you would need. It's about 50 miles to San Francisco, 20 miles to Bodega Bay or 55 miles to Travis. If you need diesel the cheapest is at Valero 910 Baywood Dr., Petaluma - they do charge more for credit but is still the cheapest. From North bound 101 take the 116 Sonoma/Napa exit stay in left lane to turn for fuel or right lane to take you to Washington St. Turn left at 1st intersection, station is on right. Base does not have diesel.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: May 23, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

May 20-22, 2011

Absolutely beautiful little spot!!!

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: May 21, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

April 26, - May 3, 2011

This was our 2nd visit here - we love the peace and quiet yet it's still w/in easy traveling distance to San Francisco. Be sure to enjoy one of the meals in the dining hall - a bargain at $2.30/pp for breakfast and $4.25/pp for lunch or dinner. The meals we had there were fabulous - you can't fix that feast yourself for that cost. One word of advice about getting your mail delivered there. The folks where we checked in weren't sure where it would be delivered but sent us to the base post office which has limited hours. When we caught up w/someone there, they told us mail for the famcamp guests goes to the mail room, which is right next door but is only open one hour a day during the week and not at all during the weekend - hard to catch if you want to be out and about sightseeing. Having laundry facilities nearby would be a major plus. Dump station on the wrong side of the road but you can turn around either in the gravel lot next to it or go down that road a bit and turn around in the large parking lot. Next time we are in the area, we'll definitely return.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: November 05, 2010)
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

November 1 - 5, 2010

The Coast Guard is in the process of landscaping on the base, and this includes at the Lake Area campsites. The fire rings now have a defined circle around them mulched with wood chips. There are new trees planted in the area. When complete, and in years to come, these efforts should make the campsites more appealing. Registration is now accomplished at the MWR Library, and the clerk told us he was open until 10:00 p.m. We managed to visit the "Two Rock Pizza" Thursday evening for dinner on the patio. In addition to pizza, they have a selection of burgers and other sandwiches. We watched two deer grazing on the lawn while we ate. We have visited this base several times, and have yet to find a grump on the base! Everyone we deal with is very friendly and courteous. I held out one star on "Amenities/Facilities" because of the lack of a sewer hookup on the sites. We enjoy the peace and quiet and watching the deer, wild turkeys, geese, and other wild life. We'll be back.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: November 02, 2010)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Oct.17-20, 2010

We borrowed a friends’ trailer (1984 - 24’) to find out if we like trailering. Was our first time to try a trailer & 1st time to stay at a FamCamp. We stayed here for 3 days with our 19 mo old granddaughter and had a great time. We arrived on Sunday, they had only 1 spot left. Monday 3 left, Tuesday 2 left with no new arrivals. We left on Wednesday for the Monterey FamCamp. The playground equipment was great for keeping our granddaughter entertained. We were very impressed with the facility and will definitely be back.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

May 21-28, 2010

We are still at this great place. If they could add another 30 sites, it would be a great boon to the military RV community. A great jumping off point for touring the area, from San Francisco, to Bodega Bay and points North on CA-1. There is no way I would want to do CA-1 in a motor home or large RV trailer. There are signs posted that tandem axle over 30 ft in length should avoid portions of the highway. The gym is the place to check in with. A little clarity on the directions once on-base. There are two entrances to the old helo pad just past the gym on the left side, and recreation parking lot mentioned. One is on Pennsylvania Ave, and the other is on to turn right on Colorado Avenue and enter there. The one off of Pennsylvania Avenue is a sharp turn and a down hill drive onto the parking lot. We exited there as you will need to travel down Colorado Avenue and turn right on Wisconsin Avenue. The helo parking lot is large enough to U-turn if there are no vehicle parked in there. Either exit is doable. Travel to the end of Wisconsin Avenue to the stop sign. This will be Pennsylvania Avenue again. Turn left, and just past the picnic area is the horseshoe driveway for the RV park. As to the galley food, we have found it excellent so far, and I doubt if we will be disappointed. All of the personnel and staff have been very friendly and helpful when information was needed. I gave the amenities a 4 rating because of the lack of sewer connection. Everything else has been great. We stayed here in a motor home and would return again.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

June 6th - 10th, 2009

Small, quiet and beautiful campground and the only improvements would be the addition of sewer at the sites and a laundry somewhere on base. All staff were wonderful and the galley was great.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

May 5, 2009

G.W. left this review using the Directory software: Ditto to all the great comments on this site. This is a wonderful quite site with lots of walking trails. Makes me proud I'm a retired Coastie.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

March 2009

Don't miss this campground! Although only 6 RV pads, the campsite is beautiful; the on-base facilities are excellent -- very guest-friendly. Jason, in charge of the library, has a huge collection of DVD movies, well organized. The lower rating on hospitality was from a brusk reception for me and others awaiting help when we went to resolve a routine Tricare matter. The rest of the experience was a "5". Petaluma is an excellent base from which to visit the dramatic, beautiful seashore and hundreds of California's best wineries. We were sorry that our plans only allowed us to stay a five days.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

September 2008

S.R. left this review using the Directory software: What a fantastic deal. Super large sites, so big that you could put a couple rigs in each designated site if necessary. Beautiful views of the lake and the surrounding hills. More small bases need to model after this one.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

September 2008

This is the way to run a FamCamp. Boy were we surprised how nice this gem of a campground was. We had traveled for almost 3 weeks when we got here for our last week of leave, and what a way to end our trip. One word, RELAXING! A charming little base with good amenities for such a small place. I don't know what the Coast Guard is doing, but the Navy and Air Force could learn a LOT from these young men and women. We were routinely greeted and welcomed everywhere we went. From the great gym, to the nice movie house, to the awesome galley. Breakfast for 2.40, dinner from 3.85, and the food was EXCELLENT. They are family friendly and all are welcome to eat there. Contrary to the other comments, the seafood buffet was delectable, equal to a 5 star restaurant in Chicago. I must admit, we were able to get in right away, so the food wasn't gone. Our retired "friends" weren't let in until almost the end. By then, I had consumed 6 LARGE crab legs that were dynamite, a pound of large pacific shrimp, and an awesome fillet of sea bass. We hated to leave, and at 16 a night, this is value. The only drawback was no sewer at the site. They have wild blackberries all over the place. We picked enough to make an awesome pie, and plenty for our ice cream too. The lake is nice, the trees smell great, and deer walk all over the place. They have a free RV/car wash site on the old helo pad too! Overall, it was THE BEST military campground we have ever stayed at. We will be back as soon as we can. Pt. MuGu and Fairways at NBVC could learn a lot with a stay here. A hearty ooh-rah to this base and it's fine staff and CO. Thanks!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

May 2006

Every year we camp at this country base and for us it is a true vacation. Wonderful location for peace and quiet and what a great viewing spot for watching a variety of many kinds of birds. The food at the dining facility is still great, although now the rates went up five cents! All you can eat for lunch or dinner for $3.55. The salad bar is larger at the lunch meal and if you are a seafood lover, be sure to go on a Friday lunch, they serve all kinds of fish and a special seafood cold bar. Last summer we had our ten yr old granddaughter with us and she too fell in love with this small base. She went swimming at the pool everyday, went to the library every morning and attended the movies twice a week and discovered how nice and friendly everyone was on base. She was ready to move there permemently after two weeks!

Was this review helpful to you? 
19 results - showing 1 - 19