Point Mugu Recreation Facilities

Featured
 
4.0 (73)
121467   1   17   1   46

User reviews

11 reviews with 3 stars

73 reviews

 
(28)
 
(30)
 
(10)
 
(3)
 
(2)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
 
4.4  (73)
 
3.5  (73)
 
4.0  (73)
 
4.0  (73)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
11 results - showing 1 - 11  
 
Ordering 
 
Overall rating 
 
2.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

Sep 14, 2016

Most of the other reviews have covered the issues but must add 2 specific items. Check-in didn't go so well. Where to register wasn't marked well. After 2 laps around the park, stopped and asked a current resident. It is in the hotel office. After getting to the desk, I selected a spot that looks to be right next to the hotel. NOT - about 1/2 a mile away. Please: update your map to reflect this is a real distance from check-in, not adjacent to the other spaces. Also, no switch/breaker on the 50 amp supply. NOT GOOD. Power plugs straight into the receptacle. I have a surge suppressor but it always is a red flag for us. Got to say, as always, our fellow RVers were great to talk with and get info from. LOCATION,LOCATION, LOCATION. Cannot say if I'd stay here again, this FamCamp needs some updating.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

8-9 August 2016

If you like the beach, this is the place for you. If mosquitoes like the taste of your blood STAY AWAY. We spent two nights here and the first was uneventful because the wind was pretty stout which I assume kept the mosquitoes at bay. The whole experience was tainted the next day. Virtually no wind and the mosquitoes were brutal. Very welcoming staff. Good level sites. 30 amp sites have the best access to the beach. We would return if the mosquito activity decreases in the winter months. We did not notice the aircraft noise.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.2
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

June 27, 2014

Gorgeous beach, saw people catching fish. Spots are tight and map on site is outdated. There is also a lagoon for tenters. Only problem was we had to go through main gate because we arrived after 6 pm and despite base sticker, civilian at gate was very rude and disrespectful when asked simple questions and responded, I kid you not, by saying things like "you are blocking traffic" (nobody was behind me) and "you got it?" Small exchange and beach motel check-in were quite friendly however. Excellent wi fi.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

8 June - 11 June 2010

Right on the Beach great view, but the park is basically a parking lot and the rates are now $30.00 a night. Could be a truly great place with some upgrade work.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
2.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

June 2nd and 3rd, 2009

What a beach!! Unfortunately it goes down hill from there. Difficult and small parking sites, the good ones occupied by long termers, a couple of them were actually growing veggies at their sites! Other amenities are virtually nonexistent. I think with some, well maybe alot, of TLC the USN could turn this into an outstanding facility. As is I would only return for the beach.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
2.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

July 8-11, 2008

We stayed here 3 nights. Wanted to stay at Port Hueneme, but couldn't. The sites are wide and had blacktop. Right on the beach. Didn't have a problem with noise at all. As far as being clean, I did not use the showers or restroom...hint. A lot of sand and not the cleanest. Of course, the sand is expected, but clean is a necessity. Not much on this base, so went to Port Hueneme. Good commissary with fresh fruit from the local fields. Good selection of produce, too. Nice, small exchange. We would have stayed longer at Mugu, but the spaces were reserved for the weekend. Suggest making reservations. If you have pets, expect sand and dirt in the RV, for there is no grass. The employees at the registration were nice. Don't understand the attitude about keeping up the campgrounds. I know this is a benefit that we don't necessarily need, but if the campground is there, you'd think that it would be kept up and clean. Probably would stay here again.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
2.6
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

April 14, 2008

While the beach front views are spectacular, that is about it. There are very few rules enforced and camp host does very little or nothing. Camp ground has fire rings that have not been clean in years and the sites/spaces have not been cleaned of sand or swept off. Fire rings are too close to neighboring sites and cause smoke problems. This place could be the gem of RV camps, but the money this place makes (well over 1 Million a year) goes for something else. MWR management should be replaced and the RV park should be run be some one the knows the RV life style. The shower rooms are forever dirty and full of sand. Internet, some sites don't work and up and down like a yoyo. There is a lot of full timeres, mostly military whom could be better served, by allowing them to stay longer then 30 days. Also if your in the click, with current RV management, then you dont have to move every 30 days.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

Feb 23 - Mar 1, 2007

Nice RV Park without many frills. We didn't check all of the shower houses, but the one next to us was VERY clean and new. We had a nice relaxing time, just wished it wasn't so windy. Reservations went very smooth, but wasn't needed since there were plenty of available sites. However, sites vary on size and there were only a few available large enough for us. I'm sure this is one popular location in the summer.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.5
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

---

Have stayed here previously and will likely return just for the location. Beautiful ocean view and lots of wildlife. New manager onboard now. Appears that a new camp host is in the offing as well. Campground still needs upgrades to utilities but the phonelines to the sites have been repaired after nearly 2 years of no service. WiFi is now available in the Beach Motel lobby at no charge. While the phone lines have been repaired be aware that the old phone connection boxes were not removed when the new ones were added. Took me a couple of hours to figure out I had my phone line plugged into the old box. I'm much smarter now. Still a great location for the view and a great jumping off place to visit Santa Barbara and other areas. The computerized reservation system is still down. All done on paper spreadsheets now and seems to be only as good as the clerk on duty.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

Sep 2006

The beach is beautiful that the camp is on, and the best thing is that the beach is never crowded. The campground, on the other hand, needs some work. It has so much potential to look beautiful with the beach in the background, but I think that laziness is the reason why nothing has been done. The showers are roomy, but hardly look like they are cleaned, with mildew stains on the lower portions of the walls. Nonetheless the camp hosts were friendly, and the beach contributed to the peaceful atmosphere.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

May/Jun 2006

Add to the sight and sound of the beach, the wonderful wildlife of Seals, Pelicans, Dolphins, and sea birds in the ocean and estuary near the camp. Wish the management put more heart into RV sites and organization. Newer section is paved and has 30/50 amps. Poorly arranged for fifth wheel views. Shame, such wonderful nearby ocean views are the highlight of this place. Trips to other nearby beaches, like Malibu, and to Santa Barbara make Mugu a delightful hang out. LA is only 45 minutes in standard killer traffic.

Was this review helpful to you? 
11 results - showing 1 - 11