Point Mugu Recreation Facilities

Featured New
 
4.0 (71)
114861   1   17   1   45

User reviews

25 reviews with 5 stars

71 reviews

 
(27)
 
(29)
 
(10)
 
(3)
 
(2)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
 
4.4  (71)
 
3.5  (71)
 
4.0  (71)
 
4.0  (71)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
25 results - showing 1 - 20  
1 2  
Ordering 
 
(Updated: October 23, 2017)
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

July 7, 2017

**UPDATE** 10/23/17 The beach motel is no longer the check-in desk for the RV park. Instead, turn left on 16th Street. The Outdoor Recreation building on the left is the new check-in spot for the park. If you arrive after closing, I'm sure you can check in with the camp host. Happy camping! Bumping this down to a 4 in the overall experience, which is not something I do often. Most of our trips here have been 5x5's by the way. During this time of year the mosquitoes are BAD! Bring whatever bug repellant you prefer and prepare to douse yourself in it repeatedly. After that, you'll only get eaten half as bad as you normally would. When I asked a former camp host why there is no mosquitoes abatement program I was told that it was because the birds wouldn't have anything to eat!? I had a good laugh at this. Anyways, everything else was great! The beach was awesome and I even went swimming for a little bit. What made it even more enjoyable was the fact that my buddy and his family were allowed to dry camp after figuring out that his reservation was lost due to some glitch in the reservation system. Which reminds me, if you use the ill-configured web site, make sure you call the front desk to confirm it went through to avoid any weekend wrecking reservation snafus. Enjoy!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

July 10, 2017

I'm currently staying at Port Hueneme because the last time I stayed at Pt. Mugu there was an engine test stand directly across the street from my site and they started running engine/propeller tests at 7 AM. Good news....they've moved the test stand....even the building is gone! Also, check in/reservations has been moved to the large building south of the Beach Motel. Sorry I didn't get the building number. I had questions so I spoke with the staff and learned they had just got their voicemail system working so that explained why I couldn't leave a message! Anyway, like others have said, awesome place and great staff. I'm planning on Pt. Mugu next time I come south.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

June 26 - July 10 2017

The office personnel at Pt Mugu Hotel/Rv park are fantastic. We had several mixups with our reservations but with all my questions, issues, etc. they were patient, polite and seemingly appreciative that we were staying with them. Bob and Ruth the camp host, I can't say enough about. They have arranged a July 4th picnic to honor the vets and their guests. Bob is always on the go, cleaning up the sites, pulling weeds, talking with the other campers. I can't say enough of the camp hosts. They welcome you, help with any problem that may arise. When we were here during Memorial Day weekend and the seal swam up on shore, they did babysitting duty until he went back to the sea.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Sept 24 2016

Check in was easy to find and the staff was very helpful. This was our first time to Pt Magu and we will be coming back. The restrooms were clean as was the campground itself. My only complaint, and one the staff cannot do anything about, is the layout of the sites, they should be angled instead of being at a right angle to the interior road. Watch the video and you will see what I am talking about.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

April 2016

This place is awesome!! Really enjoyed our time here. The campground is right on the ocean. You can spot seals, dolphins and whales and just about any time of day. Camp is very clean and pretty well taken care of. The laundry facilities are free!! Staff is amazingly helpful. 
Only two downfalls: first DO NOT drink the tap water. It is over loaded with chlorine. You can smell it and most definitely taste it. It's so strong that some folks have reported becoming ill. Second is there are a few people who like to leave their poor dogs locked up in cages outside and they leave them there all day. Not only do these dogs spend the day barking (which is very annoying to non pet owners) they have no food, water or shelter. The rules are very clear that you're not to do this but some people still do.  The office takes the complaints very seriously. There were absolutely no mosquitoes.  Bring some ear plugs and bottled water and this place is almost paradise. We will definitely be back!!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

April 10 - 13, 2016

Originally planed on a 2 night stay on our way back from Morro Bay State Park. Nothing to complain about this place.  The camp host Crystal was very helpful, bathrooms were very clean and plenty of hot water. Spotty WiFi but not a issue. Maurice at the reception was able to extend our stay for a extra night. Close to LA and all beach location like Malibu, Zuma Beach. Great price.  Will definitely come back again.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

July 2014

Absolutely loved our stay!! Very fortunate to have gotten site 118 which opens to the beach. Watched dolphins and seals from camper while eating breakfast and lunch. Sites are close but better than other beach locations we have visited. Active runway with random check flights going at different times of day and evening. Engine runup near campground during our visit. Free laundry..small NEX facility but well stocked for essentials. Free movies on weekend. Had an issue with extending our stay but was resolved to our satisfaction. Good location for visiting local area north or south.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

5 December-24 December 2013

This was our 2nd visit and we will certainly return. We prefer sites in the low 100's as they afford ocean view. We were in #104. The staff is most helpful and friendly and make you feel right at home. Paper, coffee and laundry free..a big plus and they passed out tin of Danish cookies with card to each guest for Christmas. Very thoughtful. Los Palmas gate always open. While we were there, this was only open gate. Small NEX on base is fine for last minute supplies. We do go over to base on Port Hueneme for groceries etc. Beach is very nice and clean as is the campground. They do recycle. John and Amy Stanton

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

March 25 to April 13, 2013

Loved Point Mugu! Our spot was facing the ocean and I loved it. I could hear the surf during the night - very relaxing. Quiet, private beach which was very clean. This area is a protected seal sanctuary and we got to see a very large number of Harbor Seals with their babies. There is also an abundance of other wildlife. You are not allowed on the part of the beaches where the seals live. WiFi is unreliable. Great café with really good food just down the road near the small BX. Free movie at the theater every Thursday night. Oxnard is also a very nice town with lots to do. Will be staying here again. They also take reservations!

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: June 02, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

June 2012

Great campground in a great location, you of course can't beat camping on the beach for 30 a night! It is easy to get to once you get thru the LA traffic. The post is very nice but small, if you need something specific head up the road to Point Hueneme which has everything. As for the beach, it is very nice and clean, water was very cold but the best part is it might as well have been Sea World, everyday we saw dolphins, birds, and seals within 30 feet of the shore. Activities near by are pretty good, the President Reagan Library is within 40 minutes in Simi Valley and is a must see (free to active duty military), Santa Monica NRA is right there and provides tons of hiking opportunities, and the golf course on Point Hueneme is very nice. On the campground the bath and laundry facilities were clean and nice, fire rings are provided, connections including cable all worked perfectly, the only down side is some of the spots especially the ones closest to the beach are a little short making it hard to back in a long camper but not impossible. We will certainly return as this is a very nice campground and well ran.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: March 24, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

June 2011

We take our grandchildren with us every year. We have gone on overniters with the kids. Each time is great. Our grand-kids are getting older, this may be the last year they attend with us. It is relaxing there; friendly; price is great;June/July weather is great; our experience there is great. One note: the first time we took our 6 grandchildren, they asked, "where are all the people?" prior to arriving there, we passed by Ventura Beach, they noticed the crowds. We answered, we are the crowd. Nice.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: December 28, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

December 1-30, 2011

One of our favorite places to stay in Southern California!! Staff is one of the friendliest around and very helpful. Bathrooms have been remodeled since our last visit and are really nice (although we didn't use them for showering). One new addition is the FREE laundry now. It's nice to see with the price increase that some of the bases are adding this convenience. We would definitely stay here again. Site 123 is one of our favorite sites. This year we have enjoyed watching HUGE pods of dolphins swim by.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: November 13, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

11-13 November 2011

Just an amazing spot to spend a relaxing weekend. The staff is excellent and they always make sure everyone is taken care of. Had a group of 8 other RV's with me and they couldn't believe how nice it was to camp less than 30 feet from the ocean. Sleeping at night listening to the surf hit the beach is the best ever.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

29 AUG-1 SEP 2010

GREAT EXPERIENCE AT PT. MUGU. I TOOK ABOUT 8 CIVILIAN FAMILY MEMBERS AND ALL I HAD TO DO WAS GO TO THE PORT HUENEME VISITORS CENTER AND PUT THEM ON A VISITORS LIST. TENT SITES WERE PERFECT, CLOSE TO FACILITIES AND THE BEACH. ONLY ONE PROBLEM, WHILE WE WERE THERE ONE OF THE TOILETS WASN'T WORKING AND DIDN'T GET FIXED EVEN AFTER THE PRIDE WORKERS SHOWED UP. STAFF WAS EXTREMELY FRIENDLY. NEX IS SMALL BUT DOES PROVIDE SUFFICIENT SUPPLIES. OVERALL GREAT EXPERIENCE CAN'T WAIT TO GO BACK!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

April 28 to May 4, 2010

What a beautiful setting. We were very impressed with the "on the Beach" location. Last year we paid $75 a night for a spot on the bluffs over Malibu Beach. We thought that was nice, but Pt Mugu is even better! The power outlet at our lot was burnt and my coach computer told me that there was an open ground. I just plugged into the adjacent lot and went to the office to report the problem. They young man working the desk could not have been less help. He suggested I move lots. I suggested he could try to think out of the box a little. The next morning I spoke to the manager. Wendy was great and very accommodating. While we were there I saw six people come look at the dead power outlet. No one brought a screwdriver or a test unit. One person asked me if I had flipped the circuit breaker on. Duh! Another "electrician" tried to convince me that it was a 220 volt outlet. (No it isn't-Duh again) I sure do sympathize with Wendy and what she has to deal with to get something fixed. Another problem we had is that no one seemed to think we would want to know that the gate we came through closes at 5:00pm and is closed on weekends. That is very alarming when you don't know what the options are. I let everyone I met know about the gate closure, and they had not been advised either. All in all it was a wonderful stay. Not too far away, in Simi Valley is the Ronald Reagan Library. They have one of the AF1 aircraft on permanent display. You can go through the airplane as part of the tour. This was very impressive. Retired Military get free admission! Wendy, thanks for all you do and best of luck to you. I know you are trying to have a nice facility there. Keep up the good work. We look forward to our next visit.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Jan 12-17, 2010

J.M. left this review using the Directory software: This was our 2nd time at Pt. Mugu. To be able to fall asleep at night listening to the ocean can't get any better. Personnel are very friendly. Will return.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Sep 11 - Sep 22 2009

We came here on a Friday, 9/11/09 and have been here almost 2 weeks now. The park is right next to the beach and almost no one comes to the beach, so there is lots of privacy. No grass in the park at all, just sand, lava rock and more sand. The winds cause some sand to accumulate on the paved parking spots and paved streets. Fair amount of local base traffic with folks going to and from the classified Test Pods and other labs just down the road. Some aircraft flyovers at times, but not a problem with me, I enjoy watching them fly by. Weather has been excellent. WiFi is available in the park, but comes and goes at times, however each site has DSL connections along with Cable TV. Several military folks been here for up to 3 years in some RV's. Overall, a very nice place and we plan on coming back next year for an extended stay. Bill Miller, USN Retired - 27 Years, E6 - Radioman

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Aug 23-30, 2009

My retired Navy wife and I stayed here for the first time from Aug 23-30, 2009. What a great ocean FamCamp. The host/hostess seemed preoccupied with the motel area rather than the RV park. Who ever is in charge of maintenance is lacking consistency in taking out weeds and other debris around the park. A puddle was in the middle of the cross-walk leading to the office, the entire week. This was due to sprinkler run-off. We met many very nice people there. A major peeve with me was the illiterate people who can't read the signs posted everywhere; "Dogs must be leashed." You can't believe how many people we observed who ignored this requirement completely letting their dog run up and down the beach and dropping their waste there without picking it up. Its disgusting. The few acted as if it was a big dog park. G. OKeefe, MCPO (SW) USN Ret. p.s. They should have a shuttle to the NEX from the RV Park.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Aug 17-20, 2009

Can't beat the view! Camp is nice, enjoyed the fire rings and ocean breezes. Only reason we left so soon was that the park was full for the surf contest weekend. We will definitely be back! Wifi was down during our stay.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

May 1-9, 2009

One of our favorite campgrounds. Hadn't been here in about a year and was reminded upon arrival of just how beautiful this area is. Nothing like walking along the estuary and seeing the seals, brown pelicans, plover's and other wildlife. Campground was very clean and I observed one of the camphosts, Tony, consistently working to keep the place clean on weekends. Very customer oriented young man. Great jumping off point for sightseeing the California coast from Santa Barbara to Santa Monica.

Was this review helpful to you? 
25 results - showing 1 - 20  
1 2