Seabreeze at Seal Beach

Featured
 
4.5 (107)
118719   3   27   2   70

User reviews

107 reviews

 
(62)
 
(41)
 
(4)
2 stars
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Overall rating 
 
4.5
 
4.8  (107)
 
4.8  (107)
 
4.2  (107)
 
4.3  (107)
 
4.5  (107)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
107 results - showing 1 - 20  
1 2 3 4 5 6  
Ordering 
 
(Updated: April 14, 2018)
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Mar 24 - Apr 14, 2018

Visiting Sea Breeze is part of our annual "migration". Again the RV park is great, the people nice, and it's kept in really good shape. No complaints about the RV Park. The minor problems we had are with the Navy Exchange. The car/RV wash at the entrance to the RV Park didn't dispense soap. We spent over $15 in quarters to wash our RV, but soap never came out of the brushes or sprayer. The other minor issue was the vending machine near the laundry. It was jammed where you insert your money and it couldn't be used. Even though we brought his ti the NEX attention, it wasn't repaired the entire 3 weeks we stayed. I know, it's minor - but I wanted my cookies at night! :) Oh yea, we could always get onto the WiFi, but it would constantly drop us. We'd have to go sign in again. Sometimes, this happened 6 - 8 times a day. But glad they had free WiFi (when it worked).

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

January 15 - February 5, 2018

We thoroughly enjoy coming to this park every winter. The RV sites and free laundry room are great and so is the location. The free Wi-Fi only works some of the time. Often we cannot log on at all and other times we get dropped off forcing us to use our cell phone as a hot spot. The cable TV is poor; the picture quality for most channels is terrible and there are only 23 of which 4 are broadcast over the air. Because of the nearness to LA, there are many channels broadcast in HD over the air. We don't even bother with the cable. The base has few amenities, but the proximity to theme parks, beaches and other activities is great. We love Main Street Seal Beach for its small town atmosphere and the pier.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

December 7 - 16, 2017

We have been coming here for over 10 years and thoroughly enjoy this park. It is well cared for, grass is cut, sites are immaculate, staff is friendly, there is a beach nearby and lots of things to do in the area. The laundry is free and the laundry room is neat and shows proper maintenance. There is a SMALL NEX which has a few items, but plan to shop outside the base. I agree with all the other reviewers who have given this park top marks.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

26 Aug - 25 Sep 2017

Great location near LA. Clean and very friendly but a very subdued park and safe. Compared to other parks, people tend to stay to themselves which is nothing wrong with that. They sure love to mow the grass once a week which is better than once at month at Patrick AFB! This is my third visit to Seabreeze since I have family here. Definitely would return here again. By the way, a shout out to Andy (park office manager)... very friendly and helpful. Yes, since they changed their policy on long-stays there are always vacancies. I wish they would allow extensions if no one is waiting. A lot of wasted vacant sites which could be utilized. Wi-Fi is spotty depending on the number of people logged on. Oh! I will be heading to Camp Pendleton since I can't extend here. Grrr. 

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

June 19-23, 2017

Can't express what a great place this is. Lots of large sites with full hook-ups. The facilities are well maintained, bathrooms clean, free laundry and free ice for campers. Was very quiet the whole week we were there and the staff were visible and courteous. Didn't have any problems with our reservation and check-in took less than 10 minutes. The main gate was open every time we wanted to enter/leave and the gate staff was friendly and professional. Used this as a base to explore LA and it's environs. Got our Universal Studios tickets at the recreation office with no issues. Considering what you would pay for a commercial campground in the area, I didn't think that $35 per night was all that expensive. Even the little exchange was adequate. On top off all that, the weather was absolutely wonderful the entire time we were there. Cool nights and sea breezes and highs in the low 80's. I would definitely recommend this RV park to anyone and I would definitely come back again!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

May 31, 2017

Just some updated information about base access. There has been some confusion about which gate to enter the base through. There are 2 gates. The Westminster gate is the truck gate (OK for cars too). This gate is open 5:30 AM until 5:30 PM, Monday thru Friday. It is also open one weekend per week during drill weekends (usually the 3rd weekend). My suggestion is to always go to the Main gate on Seal Beach Blvd. if it is after 1730 or a weekend. At least you will be able to turn a large rig around there if you must then go to the truck gate. The RV park is much easier to get into since May of 2016 when long term stays were changed. If your stay has a holiday in it, make sure you reserve 2 months ahead. If there is no holiday you can usually reserve space a few days ahead. Space numbers are not pre-assigned. There are 85 large paved spaces with 25 being pull-thru. You may not get a pull-thru though have requested one. All have full hook-ups. 

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: May 01, 2017)
Overall rating 
 
4.4
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Apr 4-28, 2017

Like everything else in the area, the sites are expensive, especially considering the limited base facilities. However, the park is in good shape, and free laundry is a great benefit! We used the RV wash on the way in. $2 got us 4 minutes of time. Just like self-serve car washes, be careful to listen for the beeps announcing the last minute. If you get there in time you can extend 2 minutes for another dollar. The sites are all clean and well-maintained. The kids enjoyed playing at the playground almost every day and the beach a few times. We took advantage of the ITT office to obtain discounted admission for Medieval Times, Legoland, and the Pirate Dinner. The small shoppette was nice, but we really miss having a gas station on base. Package delivery worked great when UPS or FedEx were involved; they came right to our door. However, Amazon likes to use Ontrac in this area. The Ontrac people weren't familiar with the base and didn't have access. After failed attempts to get them to call us and meet outside one of the gates, we had to drive 30+ minutes to Compton to retrieve our package. There are several Amazon Locker locations close to the base. You might want to consider using one of those if you want to be sure to get your package in a reasonable time. Concerning gate times: at check-in we were given the gate schedule mentioned below: Westminster M-F 0530-1730, Main all other times. However, during our 3-week stay there have been numerous times when they didn't follow the schedule. The first time we turned right towards the main gate on a weekend, we found they had decided to use the weekday schedule for whatever reason. Westminster was the only open gate prior to 1730 that Saturday, and after 1730 the main gate was open. Bottom line, don't be surprised if the gate schedule varies with or without a ship in port. Before turning right out of the park with your big rig, make sure you don't see the bollards in front of the main gate. Overall this was a good place to stay and visit the LA area. We'd come back again if passing through.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

April 9-17, 2017

Back again as part of our annual visit to relatives in the area. We really love this RV Park. It's kept up very well with great landscaping. The rates are "acceptable", considering the prime location it's at. No commissary, exchange, fuel, etc. on base, but there is a small shoppette and barber. There is a small gym. Close to all of the other stores you'll need. They've done a good job of keeping the RV Park looking good with the long-term campers. No more sheds, fences, planters, etc. This place is getting more popular, so reservations are almost always a must - even in their "off" season. Free laundry and the free WiFi was real good for us. We did need to learn the gate schedule. The back (commercial) gate is open during the weekdays with the main gate closed. After 1730hrs and on weekends, the main gate is open and the back gate closed. We'll be back.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

January 16-22, 2017

Excellent campground with level concrete pads that were plenty long for our 42’ 5th wheel. There is also an adjacent concrete pad for your vehicle. Free cable, good wi-fi (also free), free laundry, lots of room to walk the dog or ride your bike. walking/jogging trail, great staff. Very clean and maintained. Nice playground area and a beach right on base. Close to all the LA tourist sites and area beaches. We arrived on a holiday so checked in with the awesome camp host. We’ve stayed at a lot of military campground and this is one of the nicest.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

12-20 Sept 2016

Stayed here early Sept 2016, space 39. Site are concrete but are not level, with that being said they aren't that bad. Plenty of grass for 4 legged kids, free laundry for those staying awhile. Showers were clean, but I hated the showers heads, didn't spray evenly. Great location for seeing the sites of the area. Wifi is free (daily login) and I didn't have an issue with it.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: April 22, 2016)
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Mar 1 - 31, 2016

Another great visit at Seabreeze. WiFi worked sometimes, and other times it was very slow. We have family in the area and the location and price is perfect for us. Not much else on base for visitors, just a small NEX, gym, and barber shop. They've been funded and it's in design to add 21 new FHU sites to the RV Park. They expect them to be ready in year 2018.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

1-10 March, 2016

Nice facility with wide level sites.  Good wifi and free laundry.  No commissary but several nice supermarkets close by.  Feels like base housing as do several other CA famcamps.  Close to many attractions if that's what you're interested in.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
2.8
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
1.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0

February 2016

We made a drive thru yesterday and ratings above based on that and info on this site.  Very nice looking RV park wide pads but certainly not level.  Wonder why they wouldn't have attempted to make them level when building.  Another example of no input from RV'ers when designing.  Lots of grass and certainly looks well kept.  Very popular park, only noted one site that looked empty, but maybe it wasn't.  We decided this is one we will NOT make an extra effort to stay at.  No support facilities (commissary or exchange).

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

February 28 thru April 24, 2015

As far as actual facilities go, you can't get much better than this RV park. The concrete pads are large and level, hookups are excellent, the WiFi is free and very good, the laundromat is FREE and fantastic, full recycling is available on site, a picnic table is provided for each site, there is a nice fitness facility within walking distance, and the Naval Weapons Station has its own private beach just 1.5 miles from the RV park (short bicycle ride). The beach is closed when ships are docked at the Naval Weapons Station dock. There are quite a few "permanent" residents at the RV park, which is interesting because it is difficult to extend your stay over one month. If you book your reservations using the DOD lodging (Navy Getaways), be sure to call the RV park to confirm these reservations because there is a disconnect between the reservations system and the RV park. You may get to the RV park and find that your "confirmed" Navy Getaways reservation is not actually confirmed. There is no commissary on site, but the Los Angeles Air Force Base Commissary is a 40 minute drive if you catch low traffic on the 405 (only between 10am and 1pm). The Los Angeles Air Force Base commissary and PX are medium-sized and well-stocked. Overall, Seabreeze is an excellent RV park and we would definitely stay here again.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Feb 28 - Mar 28, 2015

We usually stop here for 2-4 weeks each year at this time. We have family in the area and this is a perfect (and safe) locations to stay at. We did have some problems making reservations, as they were full. This is unusual, so word is getting out about this nice location. VERY clean RV Park and well maintained. Location is very convenient to Disneyland, Knotts Berry Farm, and beaches. The base doesn't have much on it, just a small Exchange with barber. MWR does have a nice Gym with free first-run movies. The free laundry is also a big bonus. They did enforce the 30-day stay limit for some people, but many others were here before us and were still there when we left. So they stayed longer than 30 days. Over the past couple of years they've started enforcing more rules to prevent the park from looking trashy. While I suspect there are some people who have been here for months (years?), their sites didn't show it. With this park getting busy, reservations are now a must. We'll be back next year!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

January 2015

Very nice park. Would recommend this to everyone traveling through. There do appear to be some long term people here, but very clean and well run.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Oct 23-Nov 1, 2014

Loved this place. Easy access on and off base and around park. The Westminster gate was closed on the Saturday that we left. Although the main gate is a lil tight, it's a straight shot, unlike so many of the bases that put the barricades up in a curve. The park looks new and clean. All those staying there were friendly and a joy to hang out with! We had a dog, so every time we went out we made sure to keep an eye out for coyotes. Yes, they were there just like the signs warn you. Hubby says this was his favorite military park so far. The pad is huge. We travel with a 40' fifth-wheel and a jeep pulling an 8' trailer with a motorcycle. We had room for all our toys; no problem. And, we loved having grass around the pad and paved roads. No gravel inside the trailer. At this time of year, we had reservations, but decided to stay a few more days and didn't have any problem extending.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

23 Dec, 2014 - 3 Jan 2015

J.C. left this review using the Directory software: - The secret of this park is out - they are full. We could not get our original reservations and even making a two week change, could bearly get in. I suggest trying for reservations 6 months in advance. They are also enforcing their early check in policy. Arrive before 11:30 in the morning and you either need to wait, or pay for an extra night. Staff are always nice and the place is well maintained. This is probably our 7th or 8th time here. Convenient to many things in the LA area and the price is much better than at commercial RV parks.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

September 5, 2014

Wonderful place to relax. Extremely quiet during our stay (Friday & Saturday). Other quests very hospitable around camp. Facilities very clean (i.e bathrooms, showers, and laundry). Only given a 4 on Amenities because no pool which would have been nice. All in it was a great stay.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

August 2014

Park is making improvements but still too many long term residents. There should be a separate area for permanent residents. It appears that the old baseball field has been surrendered to the weeds. We have had a big problem with ants getting into the motorhome even though I have used comet on the cords and water hose. Not sure how to prevent the ant problem.

Was this review helpful to you? 
107 results - showing 1 - 20  
1 2 3 4 5 6