Seal Beach RV Park

Featured
 
4.5 (115)
163039 5 30 2 81

User reviews

46 reviews with 4 stars

115 reviews

 
(68)
 
(43)
 
(4)
2 stars
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Location 
 
4.8  (115)
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.8  (115)
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.2  (115)
Value 
 
4.3  (115)
Overall Experience 
 
4.5  (115)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
46 results - showing 21 - 40
1 2 3
Ordering
August 23, 2011
(Updated: August 26, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
The daily fee has increased 40% since 2008 and though the park is very nice don't expect that sites will be cleaned up between visits. Our picnic table was greasy from the prior occupants cooking grill and the concrete slab had what appeared to be an oil stain running from the road to midway up the slab. Nevertheless, you won't find anything as reasonably priced in the area. There were four office workers in the office when we checked in - three playing solitaire on the computer and one checking us in. At lunch time all go at the same time so no business gets done while their gone. Must be the government's economic stimulus to enure people are employed - put four people to do the job one could do alone. I will concede, that the guy taking care of the lawn is doing an excellent job - he's the only one I saw actually doing working. WiFi is great - such a good change to the overpirced Tengo they had in 2008.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
August 4, 2011
(Updated: August 04, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
3.6
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
I've stayed here twice at two different sites. It's very expensive ($900/month), but a great place for me as I have relatives in the area. Friendly staff; it's clean; great weather; and the spaces are roomy. But,.................it's about the ants, mice, and other crawly types that are constantly marching into the coach! Be prepared to fight these critters especially during the late Spring and Summer months (ants). In an effort to stop incursions by mice and lizards, I keep all connections up off the ground. Plug all through holes and have ant traps everywhere. Even though I've done what I'm able to do about these things it's a constant battle. While I have a little semblance of control in my galley the ants are always exploring EVERYWHERE throughout the coach! I'm used to living in the field but c'mon! Evidently there is a policy of not dealing much with pest control at the resort. I'd think twice about coming here in the summer.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
February 2011
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
J.B. left this review using the Directory software: - Very nice RV park with friendly staff and on-site host. Wide concrete sites that are not too close to your neighbors. Clean and fairly new laundry and bath facilities. Too bad the restaurant is closed! No commissary but at least they have a mini-mart. Great location and close to some of the BEST beaches. WiFi should be free! Expensive compared to out-of-state military RV parks but we would return.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
1-14 April 2010
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Very strict firearms policy. If you're going to bring any weapons onto this base, including BB guns and bows and arrows, either keep your mouth shut and take your chances or be prepared to be denied access to the base. Even though the MWR folks at the campground tell you to inform the security police if you have any weapons and they will be kept in the vault until you leave, they are WRONG! Trying to comply with their policy I reported my weapons to the security police. I was informed that I would have to immediately leave the facility with my weapons. Absolutely no exceptions to the "No Weapons" policy were allowed. I was escorted off the base with the weapons in my toad. Fortunately my wife had a friend in the vicinity that agreed to keep our weapons until we left. I guess honesty is not always the best policy. I doubt if there are many full time military RVers who travel without a weapon of some sort on board. Other than that incident, this is a fantastic park if you want to see Los Angeles and surrounding area.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
2-18 March 2010
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Second time here. Good location for me, about 9 miles from my son in Long Beach. Check-in was fine, very pleasant young man at the desk. During my stay did not see any person who could be the manager. Obviously several "long-term" residents. A few sites had piles of personal belongings sitting outside the RV's. Some I would consider to be trashy looking. One site near me the travel trailer left, and an old camper shell sat there on the grass for several days before someone hauled it away. Excellent fitness center on base. Nearest commissary is at LAAFB, near LAX. Los Alamitos has a mini-mart, not much bigger than the one at Seal Beach. Wifi rates are outrageous. Wish military parks would provide free wifi, as many of the civilian parks do.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
8-10 January 2010
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Wife, I, and our 2 kids stayed here for a quick weekend escape. Beautiful place with large concrete pads all separate from one another by at least 12 feet. Every site full hookups so as long as you can get a reservation, you have a great spot. Trails run around the park and a great walk for family, pets, fitness, etc. Mini mart is walkable although it is a very "mini" mart. Had lunch at Ruby on Seal Beach Pier,($3 to park). Park is quiet at night. Only dislike was the fact that there isn't a stay limit here so you can tell the one's that are "living" full time. Looks like an outdoor storage space next to a few of some folks rigs. yuck..... takes away from the beauty......hopefully the staff can take a turn on that to preserve the park as it is only a few years old and the map in the front office had visions of expansion with future sites. Overall, great place and we would come back!!!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
7-9 and 21-23 August 2009
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Stayed here over 2 weekends and will return. Location: If looking for a base of travel in the LA area, this is a nice point. Without a toad, the surrounding areas are a bit of a hike. Although, with a bicycle, the city, shops and beach are quite easy to get to. Clean/Hosp: RV pad areas were well maintained, the bathrooms/laundry as well. The staff at check-in was also friendly and helpful. Amen/Fac: Park has a RV wash area (any other washing of RV/vehicle prohibited), although it was closed on our 2nd stay. Numerous walking trails around the base and into the wildlife preserve area. The beach is about 1 1/2 to 2 miles away on base, several more off base. There is a small base NEX with basic items and a gym and credit union within a 1/3rd of a mile. Value: A very nice park, although a bit expensive for a military RV park. But given that it is nice and quiet and new AND in the LA area, not a bad value.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
June 2009
(Updated: September 15, 2009)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Although I agree with many that this "new" campground is of great quality, and the fact that Sea Breeze is the only Military Campground in the greater LA area it does a good service by simply being there for us, following the closing of the LA AFB FamCamp several years ago. My biggest issue with Sea Breeze however, is really the bigger issue with the Navy's MWR (if it can still be called MWR) program. Given that almost every other services campgrounds are at least a third less expensive than the Navy CG's I wish that the Navy management would keep in mind that these places should be for the enjoyment and "economical" use of the Active Duty and Retired members, (other DOD and Fed Civilians too). My point is that the rates the Navy in general charges does pull in a lot of money for their coffers, but.... should that be what the program is for?, or should it be as I suggested above "for the economical use of the users"? If the inflated rates can't, or won't be lowered by the Navy management to be more inline with say, the Air Force's CG's, then at the very least tear the rates based on rank, that way the lower rank (less income) members can better afford to stay at these CG's. On a side note, once when I inquired as to why the Navy doesn't do teared pricing I was told by one of the Navy CG's managers that "we have determined that in fact the lower ranks tend to have more disposable income than the more senior ranks do", I was flabbergasted at that "official" response! Is it just me or am I missing something here, the "lower ranks" have more disposable income? How could that be determined? Is it that the lower ranks don't have 2 homes to pay for??
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
August 13 - 16, 2009
Overall rating 
 
4.4
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Another outstanding stay at this premier RV MCG Resort. The grounds are immaculate, the staff friendly. Sad to hear rumor that rates will soon rise to an unequivocal $33 per night! We have asked that WiFi be complementary as it is in all Navy Lodges. The water faucet proximity sensor in the bathrooms are timed too short. A great place to stay in Southern California though!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Dec 19, 2008 - Jan 19, 2009
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
1.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
For a Military facility, it was very well built. As for having amenities, there were none. As for price/value, just try to find something else as good anyplace near the Los Angeles basin. Those of you who bragged about it being within walking distance to the beach must be active combat Marines. 2 miles is not what I consider close. 2006 Foretravel Phenix 4/42 Tominator
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
Feb. 25 - Mar. 9, 2009
(Updated: March 09, 2009)
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Although we've visited here before, this was the first time we spent more than a few hours. This is a very nice park, clean, well ran, well kept, and a fair value for the location. We used the park as a base for visiting Disneyland (20 minutes away), and friends and family in 4 directions. Knotts Berry Farm is also only 20 minutes away. Of course, the free laundry was greatly appreciated. There were plenty of available machines. The restrooms were always kept very clean. During our almost 2 week stay, there were empty RV sites available. But busier than I expected for slow season. Reservations are a must during the rest of the year. We had made reservations a day in advance for this visit without problems. The office staff was friendly. It's convenient that the RV Park office is also the ITT office. Before we arrived, we were called and informed to use the Westminster gate since a base exercise was going on. However, normally RV'ers are to still use the main gate with the above provided directions. Although I really dislike the heavy traffic and smog of Southern California, this locations is perfect for us to visit family. We'll be back.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
June 21-26, 2008
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
We enjoyed our stay. Centrally located for most activities for families. Clean, plenty of space for Rv and towing vehicle in space. Great breeze in summer. Looking forward to a return soon.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 1
June 2007 - January 2008
Overall rating 
 
3.6
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Since the MGR, Maryanne or something like that, left over a month ago, this RV park has gone steeply downhill. Maintenance and cleaning has been greatly declined! Restrooms and facilities are often very dirty and out of supplies. Washing machines and dryers broken and unplugged. Sinks and toilets unserviceable etc...etc... This is heartbreaking as this is a beautiful camp. I can only deduce that this is a leadership problem.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 1
17 July 2007
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
We store our rig on base but have not stayed at the campground. Yesterday picked up their latest FAQ flyer updated May 2007 which promulgates revised reservation rules. Active duty military 16 weeks in advance; 12 weeks in advance for retired military, reservists, and disabled vets; 8 weeks in advance for DOD active/retired. A unique benefit is that eligible patrons may sponsor one guest RV otherwise ineligible. As sponsor you must register before your guest and must remain as long as your guest RV is registered; you become financially responsible. You cannot sponsor an RV guest without registering your own rig.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 5 0
May 24, 2007
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We stayed for 2 weeks this year, last year we stayed for 6 weeks. We had troubles connecting to the office to make reservations both times. Last year we had to move since an Elk's group came in for the week-end even thought our stay for another 2 weeks was paid. Best place to stay to do Disneyland, Knotts, Presidents libraries, and other local attractions. Pricey but for the area it's OK, could give free WIFI. Some of the staff uses the laundry for their personnel use on a daily basis. Since they are working the laundry stays in washers or dryers till the get a break. Very windy so watch your awnings, watch the auto sprinkler systems and the water spots on your RV and wetting your lawn chairs, tables, grills, etc. The RV wash I didn't use but can get busy at times. Bad thing is that it was broke down alot, RV's pulled in to find it long enough to do large RV's have to wash it in sections. New camp host hadn't showed up as of the 9th of June. Picnic area very nice along with the BBQ grill connect to gas all the time. Maintenance staff were very helpful with every thing. Lawn mower & lawn edging operates early mornings.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
May 2007
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Second time I have stayed here. I always have trouble contacting the office for a reservation. I called and left messages for 2 days. Finally, I emailed with this forums link. Finally, got a call back. Park is nice. We love to go there for the mild weather. WIFI is too high! Cable is limited. Free laundry is great. No gas on base, limited mini-mart. Found Diesel about a mile away. City of Seal Beach is quaint. The beach off base is a little unkept but acceptable. The only drawback to this park is having to drive through Los Angeles.....BAD.
JT
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
March 2007 and April 2006
Overall rating 
 
4.4
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Best kept secret on the west coast!! Great staff and lots of room! Free Laundry! You can get just about anywhere from here, Disney, Beaches ect. Do not wash your rig on your site and pick up after your pets. Never saw so many rabbits and ground squirrels before in my life!!! Base Commander walks through the park every night, busted me for not wearing a helmet on my bike. BX small and seldom open. Great gym. WI-FI expensive, not worth the trouble. No matter what the web site says enter from Seal Beach Blvd. In and out Burger is about 3 miles South down Seal Beach Blv. make that stop.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
22 February - 7 April 2007
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
I enjoyed my stay at this facility. I paid $23.00 per night plus an additional $1.50 charge for 50 amp service. The amenities are excellent and cleanliness is evident throughout the park. Seabreeze is about two years old and may not be very well known so there seems to be excellent availability. Thought needs to be given to having the front office staff on site longer each day and one of the weekend days. Although there is an indication of a camp host, I never saw this person. This is a great location for anything in SoCal (if you can deal with the freeway traffic!!). There is limited access to cable channels and Wi-Fi is available for a cost that I feel is high. Fortunately, no problem with hooking my satellite and my broadband connection to the Internet. I will be back to visit here as my family lives nearby. I was also told by the office staff to enter the facility through the Big Rig gate instead of the Main Gate and when I arrived, the security staff could not understand why I did not come through the Main Gate.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
Feb 20, 2007
Overall rating 
 
4.4
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Stopped by for the afternoon, since we were already staying someplace else. VERY NICE RV Park! They were only half occupied and we wished we had stayed here instead. Everything is new and clean. There's plenty of space between sites and is big rig friendly. $24.50/night is a good rate for 50amp FHU service in this area, but I would expect to be charged less for a military benefit. This is THE PLACE to stay when visiting the area.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
1 Feb 07
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Beautiful new campground with very large concrete pads. Plenty of room between RVs, lots of grass. Trees small as they are young but overall excellent set up. As for amenities, bathrooms very clean & spacious, laundry is free. There is a nice pavilion for picnics and a central gas BBQ. Would be nice to have a clubhouse type facility. CG has an RV wash station which is great. With all the new stuff, sure would have liked to see a dog wash, too. Saw one at a CG in OK last year. Really nice if you have pets as most CGs won't let you wash your dog outside. Pet friendly but would like to see an enclosed dog play area. There is plenty of room, just need a fence. Price is on high side but it is LA area. WI-FI very expensive but at least it is available. Overall great place to stay if you have to be in LA area. Patodonn is right on with the traffic suggestions. Do not try to travel in the LA basin during commute times. Many LA drivers are not courteous. We saw several campers leave very early in the morning or late at night just to keep out of the traffic. Directions on this website are right on.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
46 results - showing 21 - 40
1 2 3