Seal Beach RV Park

Featured
 
4.5 (115)
159679 5 30 2 79

User reviews

65 reviews with 5 stars

115 reviews

 
(68)
 
(43)
 
(4)
2 stars
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Location 
 
4.8  (115)
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.8  (115)
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.2  (115)
Value 
 
4.3  (115)
Overall Experience 
 
4.5  (115)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
65 results - showing 41 - 60
1 2 3 4
Ordering
May 10-12, 2010
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
I wish that California Military RV Parks would charge as most other states do, less expensive. But, this is CA. This park is very nice. The sites are wide and have a place to park the TOAD or TV, and they are near level. I had a problem with contacting the reservations department and ended up calling the MWR Administration. I never received a call back from either department. Eventually, after many tries I had a human voice to talk to and made my reservations. My concern was that it was a Friday, the two departments are closed over the weekend, and I was trying to arrange a site for the following Monday. I did not know the availability. I did receive a call back from the reservations department on Tuesday, after having been on-site since the day before. The directions to the park are good except that it has not been mentioned that the main gate is very narrow. I mean that my mirrors had about 8 inches, or less, of clearance on each side of the gate. (Just enough) A suggestions is, if you are arriving during working hours, 0600-1630, use the gate on Westminster. It is the truck entrance. You will have to have a decal to use that gate. Once through the Westminster gate, follow the road straight ahead, and just after you pass the view of the RV Park, turn right on Forrestal Ln. It will be the first right after you pass the RV Park. Just past the restaurant "Bunker 33" (which is closed) turn right, not into the Bunker 33 parking lot. Follow that short road to the RV Park office.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
9-11 December 2009
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
My wife and I spent three nights at this FamCamp and found it to be one of the best military FamCamps. The only drawback was the price of the WIFI (which is indicated above). According to office personnel, the price of WIFI will be reduced once the current contract expires. There are several good eating establishments just outside the main gate. They can be accessed on either Pacific Coast Highway (to the left when exiting the main gate) or on Westminister Blvd (to the right when exiting the main gate.) Both are located to the north from the base. We really enjoyed the food at Rubys Diner which also has many historical photographs of early Long Beach, CA. The office personnel are very helpful and very friendly. We plan on returning in the future.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 1
7 July 2009-12 July 2009
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
This is the Best Famcamp I've had to pleasure of staying at. Great staff, very clean and modern. Military's best kept campground. Puts Travis to shame.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
1 Apr - 11 Apr 2009
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
This was one of our best stays yet. Close proximity to much to do in southern cal at a great price. If peace and quite is what you seek, this is the place.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
Jan, Feb, Mar 2009
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Wow, what a place. And rates that can't be beat. They have even built an enclosed RV/car wash which is available pretty much all the time. Restrooms, laundry are kept clean as can be. We left and came back a couple of times. Not once did I see a bit trash or litter any where. Many of the RVs had outdoor items such as barbeques, ice makers, bottled water dispensers, outdoor fireplaces, and who knows what else. But they were all kept in a neat and orderly fashion either just outside the door or under their campers. When possible folks that had covers for these items kept them covered. The pads are very level and offer extra large spaces for parking. The place was quiet as a church. The lawnmower was the only real noise but they were just trying to keep the grounds looking good. You are on a flight path to an airport but it didn't bother us that much. The Los Alamitos Army base is close by which has a larger selection of PX items. The post office is just down and around the corner of the Seal Beach Westminster Ave. intersection. Shop around for propane as the locals have the prices jacked up higher than usual. At the entrance is the location of the west coast Submarine Memorial which is looking a little on the rough side. The Queen Mary and a Russian Foxtrot (Scorpion) are not far away and have tours as well as other amenities. The on base beach access is great. Plenty of wild life viewing. As a note there is a Navy Federal Credit Union not too far at the Westminster Mall on the outer edge of the mall area. There is also a Camping World not too far away either and it is very well stocked. What can I say? Lots of pride shown here. Many other military famcamps administration should visit here to get ideas on what a top notch famcamp should be like.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
Feb. 20-28, 2009
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
For the first three winters of our travels, we have returned to Southern California to visit doctors, family, etc. Until we gave in and tried Seabreeze, it was always a hassle trying to find affordable, feel-good accommodations. Location was the attraction for us, but it turned out to be a very good over-all experience. Everything in Southern Cal is expensive -- this place is a good value. Incidentally, they told us they need to get up to 80% occupancy before they can expand the number of sites: as more people hear about the park, that's bound to happen soon. I can see it rivaling Nellis.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
February 9 and 10, 2009
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
E. V. left this review using the Directory software: We were slowed by Freeway traffic, at approximately 1800 the camp host Eric Johnson contacted me by phone and asked my position. I told him I was still a couple of hours out. He said he'd wait for us at the office which normally closed at 1800. We arrived at approximately 1930 and there he was. We checked in then he walked us to our site. The base is very clean, sites were concrete and level. Bathrooms were very clean and well ventilated. I was impressed. I would recommend this RV park to everyone. Had a very enjoyable stay.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
6 FEB - 10 FEB 2009
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
This is a REALLY nice campground. Very level cement slabs including a cement slab to park your vehicle. Nice new picnic tables at each site. Very cordial check-in process and I appreciated all the info in the packet that is given to each camper. Free laundry is always a plus and it's quite roomy and new and clean. Only supposed to use two washers/dryers at a time. Hours of operation are from 7am-10pm with a combination lock. A bookcase in the laundry has a magazine and book exchange. The RV wash bay is only $2 (no washing of rigs in the RV park, but we saw two people doing it anyway). I was able to get through just fine when making a reservation and had no problems with the reserved site but I WILL admit that I had called a few days earlier and left a message and no one ever got back to me. Very well maintained place--lots of well manicured grass-just a really pleasant place to stay. Our Verizon air card worked very well here.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
Dec 15 - 29, 2008
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
An excellent RV park military or civilian! You get 15 pages of military regulations that contain all sorts of threats. My observation is that they don't enforce regulations to keeping one's site free of superfoulous junk. Three campers had campsites that looked like they were there for a much longer time then the limited 30 days. Keep your dog on a leash! The whole base awaits dog owners who allow their dog to run.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 1
Aug. 31- Sept. 7, 2008
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
This is one of the nicer campgrounds. The sites are huge, laundry is free. Lots of trails to ride bikes on. Convenient to the beaches, shopping etc. If in the area again, would definitely stay here.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 5 0
Aug 20 - Sep 4, 2008
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
This has become my favorite place in SO.CAL. to stay as well. I also had trouble getting through earlier in the summer to reserve a place. I asked for a spot close to the showers and laundry but got moved to where it was a trek with my laundry. Not a serious problem, but when I reserved, I was told I would be close. There is not a lot on this base in the way of playgrounds for kids, commissary, or decent BX. But I haven't felt this secure since 1968. There is a young man now working in the office who really wants to do a good job. Hopefully he'll stay. But this is very close to the beaches, sunny late in the morning, and nice an cool at night. A huge plus having just come from Nellis AFB, NV !!! The golf course was very nice also. I have always said, "If the greens are good, I don't care if the place is a goat ranch." Beautiful redone clubhouse with a nice breakfast and a lunch buffet. Delicious!!!! And I'm off to Admiral Baker in San Diego.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 6 1
July 13, 2008
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
This was our second visit to this campground and we plan on returning again in the near future. One thing we noticed this time was entrance was only allowed through the main gate, that's no problem but the entrance is pretty tight, so watch closely as you enter. We entered the campground after hours, arriving at 5:15 p.m. and found the office closed with a note directing visitors to contact the camp host. The camp host was not available during the evening, so we just took a site and paid in the morning when the office personnel were on duty. This is a very nice campground, the entire facility is very nice and the people are very friendly. For PET OWNERS: Be careful letting your pet get too close to the gopher holes, I was told that poison has been placed in the holes recently.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 1
June 9 to 13, 2008
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
J.M. left this review using the Directory software: This was a great place to stay. The RV park and whole base were very clean and well kept. It is near the town of Sealbeach which is a nice little place. The temps were in the 60's and 70's no air conditioning required. Looking forward to returning . No loud noises and all the facilities were very clean and modern. RV spaces are really huge. I had space enough to park my 22' trailer, truck, plus space for a boat and maybe another vehicle, and your area is surrounded by grass.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
23-26 May 2008
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Beautiful, well-maintained campground with a great location!! Our family spent Memorial Day weekend here and enjoyed every minute. Facilities were sparkling clean and people were friendly and hospitable. We will definitely return soon!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
24 Jan 08
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
New manager now on board. Facilities are clean and in working order. The woman at the desk is the same one that was there last year so the reservation problems can still exist. I made the reservations on the 22nd to arrive on the 24th. An hour after making the reservations, she called to find out why we hadn't checked in yet. We've stayed here before and were glad that any problems had been corrected as it a beautiful facility with LARGE sites and close to lots of restaurants, tourist places, etc. It's also a great place to just get away. It's hard to believe that there is such a quiet place in the LA basin.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
June 07 and December 07
(Updated: December 23, 2007)
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
We are one of the those families who can't say enough about the Sea Breeze experience. We categorize the places we park the rig as either a "campground" (cozy trees, scenery, running streams) or "parking lot" (concrete pads, paved roads, scant vegetation). Sea Breeze is obviously a "parking lot" but, it is the BEST parking lot we have ever stayed at. The sites are all VERY wide (we are able to park our 5er and truck side by side with room to spare), free of obstacles, clean, paved, and level. The amenities are tops with a RV wash station, free washers / dryers, ice machines, and a bathhouse that looks like it belongs in a quality hotel. They even make an effort to landscape around the hookup sites. Topping it off for families it has a playground and ball field right next to the park. That aside, we use the park as a launching point for DisneyLand vacations. The only other "comparable" park costs 3-4 times the rate the NAVY charges. They even have a small medical clinic at the base that will see limited small ailments (active duty), no questions about tricare, or interservice junk, from walk in to walk out--with drugs--was less than 15 minutes. The only downside is they seem to have a administrative / bureaucratic problem with their office staff and making reservations. On both occasions I made reservations and took the effort to confirm reservations at a later date. Later (as our usual procedures are), as we are heading out the door to the campground--I get weird phone conversations like "who are you?" and "we don't have any space" or "there are no more pull-throughs available". My trick is always to have their names and dates I made the calls available to "remind them" of the previous reservations. This time when I pulled in, after being assured there were no more pull-throughs open, the front desk told me if something was open--just take it--and they will work it out in the morning. Sure enough, there were 5 or 6 open pull-through sites available, and after confirming with the camphost it was okay, we pulled in and set up. This did cause some frustration with another camper who was clearly waiting for a similar site and wanted to know how we "jumped the line"--I referred him to the camphost. The campground is absolutely the only place we will ever stay at in the area--highly recommend it--just make sure you have reservations (and the names / dates) before you come.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 7 0
April 2007
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We loved this park. VERY WELL MAINTAINED and beautifully landscaped. Very level sites. Location is great...close to all the major attractions and beaches. If you go you must visit the town of Seal Beach. Very cute with neat stores. We really enjoyed our stay here.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
March 2007
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Excellent Park and we will return in the future. We stayed here 12 nights the first part of March 2007 at $23/night. The Park was about 50% full the entire time we were here. This park has a lot going for it. It's brand new, which is good and bad. All buildings are new and fresh and facilities are not worn out. Landscaping is pleasing but, since the Park is new, there are no mature shade trees. This park has a super location and is very near DisneyLand, Beach cities, and anything in LA and south. Campground Pro's: Wide, well manicured sites; Great location; Basically clean bathrooms and showers; Free laundry; Limited TV channels at each site (you'll probably still want to use your sat dish); Secure area; Access to on-base fitness center (closed weekends) and MWR facilities; Paved site and patio, Picnic tables, Kid friendly with playground equipment; Nice welcome packet. Campground Con's: WiFi cost is a rip-off; Value - per night fees are high, no weekly or monthly rates during off-season; Cannot wash rig on site although you can wash it in the RV wash next to the office - so wash it when you arrive or when you leave - quite a nuisance. With no on-site clubhouse or pool/spa, this is not 'world class' nor is it a resort for that matter, but it is an exceptionally nice RV Park. Finally, the written material directs you to enter through the gate off Westminster Blvd., but, the gate guards want you to go through the main gate off Seal Beach. I hope this review helps.
DF
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 4 0
March 4, 2007
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
B.T. left with the Directory software: This park is very clean and well kept. The park staff is very helpful and friendly.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 1
Sep 2006
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
OUTSTANDING RV Park. Very large concrete pads for RV and extra cars. Paved streets. Free laundry. The RV wash will handle anything legal. Very well maintained with green grass everywhere and watered often. If you want the nicest most modern RV site in the military, this is it.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 1
65 results - showing 41 - 60
1 2 3 4