Seabreeze at Seal Beach

Featured Hot
 
4.5 (104)
107904   3   27   2   66

User reviews

43 reviews with 4 stars

104 reviews

 
(60)
 
(40)
 
(4)
2 stars
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Overall rating 
 
4.5
 
4.8  (104)
 
4.8  (104)
 
4.2  (104)
 
4.3  (104)
 
4.5  (104)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
43 results - showing 1 - 20  
1 2 3  
Ordering 
 
(Updated: May 01, 2017)
Overall rating 
 
4.4
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Apr 4-28, 2017

Like everything else in the area, the sites are expensive, especially considering the limited base facilities. However, the park is in good shape, and free laundry is a great benefit! We used the RV wash on the way in. $2 got us 4 minutes of time. Just like self-serve car washes, be careful to listen for the beeps announcing the last minute. If you get there in time you can extend 2 minutes for another dollar. The sites are all clean and well-maintained. The kids enjoyed playing at the playground almost every day and the beach a few times. We took advantage of the ITT office to obtain discounted admission for Medieval Times, Legoland, and the Pirate Dinner. The small shoppette was nice, but we really miss having a gas station on base. Package delivery worked great when UPS or FedEx were involved; they came right to our door. However, Amazon likes to use Ontrac in this area. The Ontrac people weren't familiar with the base and didn't have access. After failed attempts to get them to call us and meet outside one of the gates, we had to drive 30+ minutes to Compton to retrieve our package. There are several Amazon Locker locations close to the base. You might want to consider using one of those if you want to be sure to get your package in a reasonable time. Concerning gate times: at check-in we were given the gate schedule mentioned below: Westminster M-F 0530-1730, Main all other times. However, during our 3-week stay there have been numerous times when they didn't follow the schedule. The first time we turned right towards the main gate on a weekend, we found they had decided to use the weekday schedule for whatever reason. Westminster was the only open gate prior to 1730 that Saturday, and after 1730 the main gate was open. Bottom line, don't be surprised if the gate schedule varies with or without a ship in port. Before turning right out of the park with your big rig, make sure you don't see the bollards in front of the main gate. Overall this was a good place to stay and visit the LA area. We'd come back again if passing through.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

April 9-17, 2017

Back again as part of our annual visit to relatives in the area. We really love this RV Park. It's kept up very well with great landscaping. The rates are "acceptable", considering the prime location it's at. No commissary, exchange, fuel, etc. on base, but there is a small shoppette and barber. There is a small gym. Close to all of the other stores you'll need. They've done a good job of keeping the RV Park looking good with the long-term campers. No more sheds, fences, planters, etc. This place is getting more popular, so reservations are almost always a must - even in their "off" season. Free laundry and the free WiFi was real good for us. We did need to learn the gate schedule. The back (commercial) gate is open during the weekdays with the main gate closed. After 1730hrs and on weekends, the main gate is open and the back gate closed. We'll be back.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: April 22, 2016)
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Mar 1 - 31, 2016

Another great visit at Seabreeze. WiFi worked sometimes, and other times it was very slow. We have family in the area and the location and price is perfect for us. Not much else on base for visitors, just a small NEX, gym, and barber shop. They've been funded and it's in design to add 21 new FHU sites to the RV Park. They expect them to be ready in year 2018.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

1-10 March, 2016

Nice facility with wide level sites.  Good wifi and free laundry.  No commissary but several nice supermarkets close by.  Feels like base housing as do several other CA famcamps.  Close to many attractions if that's what you're interested in.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Feb 28 - Mar 28, 2015

We usually stop here for 2-4 weeks each year at this time. We have family in the area and this is a perfect (and safe) locations to stay at. We did have some problems making reservations, as they were full. This is unusual, so word is getting out about this nice location. VERY clean RV Park and well maintained. Location is very convenient to Disneyland, Knotts Berry Farm, and beaches. The base doesn't have much on it, just a small Exchange with barber. MWR does have a nice Gym with free first-run movies. The free laundry is also a big bonus. They did enforce the 30-day stay limit for some people, but many others were here before us and were still there when we left. So they stayed longer than 30 days. Over the past couple of years they've started enforcing more rules to prevent the park from looking trashy. While I suspect there are some people who have been here for months (years?), their sites didn't show it. With this park getting busy, reservations are now a must. We'll be back next year!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.6
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

July 2-6, 2014

This was our first time to the park, it was suggested to us by a retired Navy person. We called for reservations 4 months ago and we were looking for 2 spots side by side, which we were told that we could have, well upon arriving we were told we would not have side by side spots, one was on one side of the park and the other on the other side, now the park was not that big, but it was the 4th of July and we would have liked to be our friends. We had to wait to get our spots which someone who was in one of them had to be told to leave and we did not check in until 1500. The office at the park does not control the reservations, this is done thru the 800 number, and they of course over booked. Also this is the only park that allows people to live continuous with out checking out extended stay! So we got to spot 79, next to us was a Class A that was extended stay and we were approached by the people across from us to say to ask for another spot, the people in spot 78 were permanent and they were trouble makers, yelling screaming, and the spot they were in was HORRIBLE, DIRTY Etc. To find out these campers have been moved within the park, and have been addressed by the Base COMANDER. I am okay with extended stay RV and Full Timers! one day I hope to be part of that elite group, however if they are going to allow permanent stay they should have 2 rows for them and allow others to have the other spots. This was the only bad part of the Sea Breeze RV Resort! Positive things... The sites are HUGE and nice car parking spot on site, the sites and part was clean, oh yes FREE Laundry and ICE. The showers and restrooms were spotless!. The staff was friendly and helpful, the Night Host they are great people and have their hands full with spot 79. The beach they have at the end of the pier is nice, however cant use it when a ship is in port. Con's - Permanent spots for extended stay over 90 Days, Messy Tenants spot 79# ONLY rest are very nice and clean. Coyotes! they are all over the place, need to make sure you watch your pets, and do not leave unattended. Would I stay here again, Yes I would with the minor stuff that happened, hey you can get this any place you stay.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: March 30, 2014)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Mar 16-30, 2014

We always enjoy coming here. Plenty to do in the area and we have family near by. But the LA traffic is very stressful. After a couple weeks, I'm ready to leave the "big city". RV Park is kept in great shape, with someone working on the yards everyday. Since the previous review on Jan 30, 2014, a recent policy change attempted to eliminate the tents and outside storage from the long-term residents, and it helped - some. There's still a few RV's with outside storage sheds, tarps covering piles of stuff, wine barrels with gardens in them, etc. But the RV Park management is going in the right direction in keeping the park's appearance clean, and not like a housing area. The free WiFi was actually pretty good and quick. Free laundry is wonderful and clean. We've noticed this park is getting busier each time we come. We now dread the day we won't be able to get a reservation. This is an annual stop for us to visit relatives. We'll be back next year!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Jan. 30 2014

This RV park has really gone down hill this last year. It has been allowed to become a shack town. So many sites are full of junk stacked outside along with structures from pop ups to tarps, and actual hard sided structures that look like mini garages! I am planning on posting pictures of some of them. The one with the biggest mess has 13 bikes, stacks of boxes, tracks of clothes outside. Unbelievable! This makes it extremely difficult for people like us to get reservations. We tried to make a reservation for August only to be told they only have ONE DAY available.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Dec 12-19, 2013

J.C. left this review using the Directory software: - Sea Breeze continues to shine. We have been coming here since opening and have never been disappointed. The park is well maintained and clean. If you have pets, be aware that since this is a wildlife refuge, there can be coyotes at night. Never a problem during the day. One negative is that the reservation line is seldom answered and staff do not always return calls. On the plus side, you can make reservations online.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

December 2013

P.C. left this review using the Directory software: - As previous reviewers have said this is a beautiful, impeccably maintained, perfectly located campground. We've stayed here a couple of times and always enjoy it very much. A couple of notes on our experience. The front gate entrance is VERY narrow. My Class A cleared by a few inches on each side. If possible use the back gate. Secondly, if you change your reservations DO NOT do it on the weekend (office is not staffed) and DO NOT leave a voicemail on the system - talk to a person; this may take several calls. We left a voicemail on the weekend changing our arrival by 1 day and lost our reservation as a "no show" - office staff did find me a space, but also told me they don't check the voicemail - too busy. Make sure you talk to a person about any changes. It helps that ITT is located in the CG office - really convenient for tickets to local attractions. Finally, make your reservation early. The 30 day length of stay rules are completely ignored and the CG is often full. People on both sides of us have obviously been here for months - fences, storage sheds, etc. Despite the stated rules they are allowed to make a new 30 day reservation every 30 days and are thus allowed to stay as long as they want. These are not active duty folks but retirees like myself. I asked staff about it and they just laughed and said "that's the way it is." All in all a great place to stay and we'll certainly be back.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Jan 8, 2014

Really like this campground. The laundry is free. The RV pads are the biggest anywhere and there is plenty of room to park the car. Most sites are level and it is right next to a National Wildlife Preserve. The walking trail on base is good. It is very close to excellent bike trails that take you to Long Beach or the other direction to Huntington Beach or even up the San Gabriel River. And you can go for as long and as many miles as you feel like. The staff is very pleasant and it is a very good park. The only detractor is that many 'long term' residents JUNK up their sites with temporary storage shelters, gazebos that serve as storage shelters, or just have junk strewn all over their site. Would it stop me from coming back? No. But unless the staff gets a handle on this it is going to get out of hand. Hate to see a nice place go downhill because people take advantage. We camped in a 40' motor home.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Nov 2012

Great location and a great layout. Very nice campground and a great staff. One negative , moved from one site to another to get away from aggressive ants. Minor issue. Hope to return one day. Rich and Joyce

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: June 26, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Jun 22 - 25, 2013

This was my first visit to Seal Beach. I had a great time, and loved the location, and it is as good as everyone says. I just have two negative points, traffic to get there is horrendous, and they offer WiFi, but it is useless if you can connect the speeds are slower than dial up from a decade ago. Bring a smartphone or MyFi to get internet access.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: June 20, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

June 15-20, 2013

This is our first visit in 18 months. Things have changed! Security is a big issue. We were told numerous new security "rules". Upon arrival with my quests, son's family, we were told they could not bring their vehicle on base and my vehicle had to have a sticker. The next day we were told that a one day pass could be issued for both vehicles. The third day we went to the ID office and were told they no longer issue stickers and my guests could not stay with us on base. After a 20 minute wait and calls to "somebody", they allowed my guests to stay, this time, but the vehicle was not allowed. They issued a pass for my vehicle. We have spent the last 5 days shuttling to and from the front gate parking lot. I believe some work needs to be done in establishing better guidelines for park users. I wanted to post this to make everyone aware. Even if you call ahead of time, things may change....be ready.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: July 13, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

June 27-July 13th 2012

Although the daily price of $30 day is more than we have paid at other military RV parks, the location, free laundry, on-site RV/car wash and large level sites make up for the price. We stayed here in a 40' 5th wheel and will be back again!

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: April 11, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

April 2 - 7, 2012

We had a good time. Have no pictures to share of our time here as they do not allow ANY pictures to be taken on base. Only down side was the mowing every day somewhere in the park while we were here. The mower is VERY loud.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.4
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

March 10 - 14, 2012

We stopped here again to visit family. We really like this RV Park and hope they never raise the prices as other Navy campgrounds have done in the San Diego area. The current rate of $30 a night is already at the high end for a MWR benefit. This time, we met with David, a camp host. He was very friendly and helpful. The grounds are always in excellent condition, except watch out for the ants, rabbits, and squirrels. If you're not careful, you can have some minor problems. There's no commissary or exchange (except for shoppette). However, I did get a $7.50 haircut and used the free laundry (very clean) at the RV Park. At least that's a few benefits that are still reasonable. We'll probably be back again next winter.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: August 26, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

August 23, 2011

The daily fee has increased 40% since 2008 and though the park is very nice don't expect that sites will be cleaned up between visits. Our picnic table was greasy from the prior occupants cooking grill and the concrete slab had what appeared to be an oil stain running from the road to midway up the slab. Nevertheless, you won't find anything as reasonably priced in the area. There were four office workers in the office when we checked in - three playing solitaire on the computer and one checking us in. At lunch time all go at the same time so no business gets done while their gone. Must be the government's economic stimulus to enure people are employed - put four people to do the job one could do alone. I will concede, that the guy taking care of the lawn is doing an excellent job - he's the only one I saw actually doing working. WiFi is great - such a good change to the overpirced Tengo they had in 2008.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: August 04, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
3.6
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

August 4, 2011

I've stayed here twice at two different sites. It's very expensive ($900/month), but a great place for me as I have relatives in the area. Friendly staff; it's clean; great weather; and the spaces are roomy. But,.................it's about the ants, mice, and other crawly types that are constantly marching into the coach! Be prepared to fight these critters especially during the late Spring and Summer months (ants). In an effort to stop incursions by mice and lizards, I keep all connections up off the ground. Plug all through holes and have ant traps everywhere. Even though I've done what I'm able to do about these things it's a constant battle. While I have a little semblance of control in my galley the ants are always exploring EVERYWHERE throughout the coach! I'm used to living in the field but c'mon! Evidently there is a policy of not dealing much with pest control at the resort. I'd think twice about coming here in the summer.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

February 2011

J.B. left this review using the Directory software: - Very nice RV park with friendly staff and on-site host. Wide concrete sites that are not too close to your neighbors. Clean and fairly new laundry and bath facilities. Too bad the restaurant is closed! No commissary but at least they have a mini-mart. Great location and close to some of the BEST beaches. WiFi should be free! Expensive compared to out-of-state military RV parks but we would return.

Was this review helpful to you? 
43 results - showing 1 - 20  
1 2 3