Travis AFB FamCamp

Featured
 
4.2 (125)
107257 0 9 1 40

User reviews

6 reviews with 2 stars

125 reviews

 
(61)
 
(44)
 
(15)
 
(5)
1 star
 
(0)
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.5  (125)
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.1  (125)
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.2  (125)
Value 
 
4.5  (125)
Overall Experience 
 
4.0  (125)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
6 results - showing 1 - 6
Ordering
Oct. 20, 2018
Overall rating 
 
2.5
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0
So disappointed! If you are traveling with pets, understand that you will be put in the ugly side of the famcamp. No green grass, no trees, and sites close together. For us, we were in the center which was not angle parking, too close to neighbor and nothing resembling camping. Very hard to maneuver 25' trailer when so many cars are parked limiting maneuvering. Bathrooms clean and check in manager was very helpful. But If you think this will be a 'parklike' camping experience, move on. There are clearly full time residents and a single wide mobile home. Not what we expected. We will not return.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 4 0
Feb 28, 2017
Overall rating 
 
2.4
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
1.0
Didn't stay this time. Called today for a reservation and was told that they aren't accepting reservations until 1 April. When I told the lady on the phone that I thought they accepted reservations 30a days prior to arrival she told me that due to the amount of folks already there they couldn't honor my request. Don't have a clue what the folks that are already in the park have to do with not taking a reservation. I think they need some adult supervision out there.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
22-29 July 2014
Overall rating 
 
2.3
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0
I'm writing this review during my third summer of visiting TAFB Famcamp. The low rating I am giving it here has nothing to do with Corina, her husband Jim, or their assistant, Caitlin, all of whom work hard and clearly under-supported by the Force Support Squadron commander. It's VERY obvious the Famcamp has become a low priority to the FSS leadership. Where do I begin? Look left, look right, the golf course, the adjacent ball park, the duck pond park at the North Gate...all green grass and landscaping. The Famcamp? The grass is so brown it's a fire hazard and the trees are quite literally dying. And....the managers have repeatedly told the FSS commander about the problems they're having...to no avail. If you're reading this website, Lt. Col. John P. Cappella Zielinski and/or Brian Floyd, you should be ashamed of yourselves. Those of us in this community of military retiree RVers know full well that the revenue we bring to your base is substantial, and we come in record numbers because of the other base attractions. But it's abundantly obvious that you do not value our presence on your installation. I think it's fair to say that neither one of you has your eye on the ball. If you did, the launderette next to the BX coffee shop, also under your prevue, would not look so disgustingly dirty that you'd think you were in an urban bus station. Trash everywhere, trash bins spilling over, trash blowing around outside, bathroom nearly unusable, folding tables unclean and unusable. What are you thinking? Forget the 5 hours I wasted trying to use the supposed cable service at my site post only to find that the connection was not turned on at the post by Comcast. Forget that they literally did not tell anyone in camp until the day before that road crews were going to lock them into the campground for TWO days and also never proactively or accurately communicated this hazard to the Main Gate guards so that they could redirect traffic effectively. Here's the most shameful failing of this Famcamp: The entire state of California prides itself on being green...recycling, solar power, you name it. Does TAFB Famcamp bother to provide recycling bins, such a simple thing, to RV campers? NO! Unbelievably embarrassing to the TAFB FSS CC. If you think recycling costs you too much, try drawing NO retirees or campers to your Famcamp because they refuse to live in filth. I met friends here this year for the third summer in a row. Guess what? We're not coming back unless you fix this. Where is your appreciation for the veterans who visit your Famcamp? Where are your priorities?
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful to you? 15 0
30-31 july 2011
(Updated: July 31, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
2.0
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
1.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0
First time and last time at travis air force base famcamp. park manager was obnoxious, irritating and down right rude, in over 200,000 miles on my truck and trailer, and 2,500,00 miles commercially. I never had any place require me to back in on the blind side and stand in my mirror. Having pets i am use to cleaning up after them, and the regs on where to walk them, however never told in the manner in which i was told, even in military parks across the states. Their dog walk was not welled checked, as pet poo was everywhere, told how to get to the pet walk, as any other way was illegal, saw several others not using the right way to pet walk, but using the ball park for their pets. After 21 years in the Navy , Viet nam war, and a disabled vet, and a native born American, the abusive manner in which the park manager gave his instructions was appalling even to my army vet disabled wife. This is the first base, from coast to coast , north to south, that i was treated with such disrespect. Does the manager have a dislike for navy vets or pet owners or is this is his normal, that any rate its past time for a replacement. Only allowed to stay the weekend, due to too many pets, but that's ok, state parks like my retired navy pay ,,, sorry air force,,go navy.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 1
8 July 2011
(Updated: July 10, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
2.1
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
1.0
Tony has been a host at this famcamp too long. He talked down to my wife and had I not kept control of my temper would have had a physical encounter. He should be fired, we have camped at many military rv parks and he made the visit a terrible day we want to forget. His fampcamp discriminates against pet owners who are taken to the worse sites in the camp, where he tells you how to park your rv to the point of being laughable. You must walk your pet in the middle of the street. The pet walk area is behind a dumpster and he tells you the Air Police may arrest you if you walk your pet further than the rear of the dumpster area. I think Tony has made the famcamp into the command he never had when he was on active duty. We planned a four day stay and left the next day. It is really to bad that the commander at Travis has not removed him and brought the famcamp up to the standards set by the Air Force Academy, and Mountain Home Air Force Base as examples where professional Courteous host' make you feel at home and treat you like a member of the armed force family. We plan on writing a letter to the base commander spelling out how we where treated during our recent visit and hope others will do the same so this terrible situation can be ended.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 4 1
July 2008
Overall rating 
 
2.1
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
1.0
As many military RVers know, this is the home of the head Nazi Tony. He is mickey mouse about everything. A handicapped camper next to us pulled their car up in front of their RV to unload groceries. Tony's wife (second in charge Nazi) ran over there and without asking immediately got on this handicapped lady for "no second car parking...no second car parking" Despite the fact the lady told her she was unloading groceries and had the four way blinkers on. Then head Nazi Tony arrives on scene. He was more of a nasty nazi than his wife. The people went and complained to the MWR office. They soon realized, like all of us, that complaining to the main MWR office about Tony and his wife is useless. I am sure there are many other such stories from other military campers. Bottom line: Tony needs to let go and go somewhere else. It has gone to his head. He is not the base commander but acts like it in a very nasty rude way.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 5 1
6 results - showing 1 - 6