Travis AFB FamCamp

Featured
 
4.2 (125)
107829 0 9 1 40

User reviews

18 reviews with 3 stars

125 reviews

 
(61)
 
(44)
 
(15)
 
(5)
1 star
 
(0)
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.5  (125)
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.1  (125)
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.2  (125)
Value 
 
4.5  (125)
Overall Experience 
 
4.0  (125)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
18 results - showing 1 - 18
Ordering
Sept 2019
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
2.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
We arrived on a Wednesday to find the office closed. Our assigned site was listed on the board, so proceeded to our site. Our site, #6, is next to a permanent mobile home with a fence around it. A small car was parked on the street on the utility side of our site - the direction from which we would have to back in (the was no one at the mobile home to move the car). the street in front of the sites is one lane with trees and concrete barriers on the opposite side. We are full-time in a 36' fifth wheel with a long bed crew cab DRW truck... I have backed this rig many times. It took two spotters and 15 - 20 minutes to get into the site. On top of that, our bedroom was only about 75' from the main gate with the barriers clacking and kids with modified exhaust systems coming and going all day and night. Lots of homesteaders with things stored under and around their rigs. Other than that, the office attendant was nice when I checked in the next morning and the utilities all worked.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
Mar 29-Mar 31, 2018
Overall rating 
 
3.1
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0
Stayed this time for 3 days and I’m pretty sure this will be our last. The sites are very tight and hard to get into in some cases. We were again assigned to #62 even tough I have told the staff that this one isn’t very good for big rigs. Took a lot of jinking to back in our 40’ coach. When the slides are out on the street side you are butted right up against the hedge. Driving on the base has turned into a mess. The main gate is closed, the truck gate is only open as needed and the north gate is also closed. Everyone has to come through the Hospital Gate and maneuver around the very tight Jersey barriers the security forces have in place. A lot of folks don’t clean up after their pets and walk them trough the no pet area. The park no longer has Tengo internet and our Verizon signal was not very strong. There are a lot of homesteaders here. Some of the rigs in the park look like they haven’t been moved in a very long time. The price is right compared to the local area but I think we will go to the Dixon May Fair Campground from now on.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 6 0
February 2017
Overall rating 
 
3.5
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
People do not clean after their pets. Pets left outside and bark a lot. People do not follow laundry room. Washing pet items in laundry facility.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
9-12 & 16-19 Sep 2016
Overall rating 
 
3.5
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
1st stay: Arrived at 1:45 PM on a Thursday. Brochure, phone message and sign on the door all say the office is open from 0830-1200 then from 1300-1530. My wife went to the office where an Open sign displayed in the window, knocked on the door but the guy in the office would not answer. She then called the office number and he finally acknowledged her. When we made reservations a few months back I asked for a parking site where we could get satellite reception. Amy assigned us to site #3 for that purpose. During check-in we were told we had been moved to site #61 which we knew has a tree blocking to view to the south. At that time we were told there was no other sites available so we proceeded to our site, backed in and with some maneuvering, got the TV working. When my wife walked back over to the office she was told we could move to another site if we wanted. What? So, if you are assigned to a site or make a request for a specific site when you make a reservation, you may or may not get that one when you arrive. My recommendation would not even assign a site when you make a reservation, just wait until your arrival. During check-in you are required to not only sign the “rules” sheet but you must now initial all 21 rules individually and then sign. I don’t think we got the memo that Tony has returned to Travis. There in no longer any internet available in the park and if you want cable TV you are required to go into Fairfield to get a cable box. They are no longer watering most of the “dogs” parking sites and it looks terrible in that area. 2nd Stay: Arrived on at 11:25AM on a Friday. Same problem with being moved to another site. Don’t get me wrong, I don’t mind being moved but at least take my preferences into account. The Verizon cell signal is weak at Travis but with a booster we are able to get 2 bars of 4g service.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
Sep 9-12, 2014
Overall rating 
 
2.6
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0
V.O. left this review using the Directory software: - WOW - What a disappointment. Manager, Corina, accommodated our visit (without reservation) and gave us 50amp Site 12 (pet friendly). The site is under a huge eucalypstis (sp) tree that causes big mess. Our site was not prep'd for our arrival (patio/table dirty and unkempt). The park overall is horrible - except for the area set aside for "non-pets". That area still has grass and shade trees. So, what's up with the apparent punishment for folks with pets? Laundry at park still being repaired.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 5 3
July 2014
Overall rating 
 
3.4
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0
Even though we haven't stayed at this FamCamp (I've been through the camp on more than one occasion while at Travis on business), I'm giving high marks for Location, Facilities and Value but I'm giving low marks for Hospitality and Overall Experience. I feel that I'm being generous with the 2's as I was lied to by the MWR manager about their pet policies. Yes they do allow pets, but ONLY if you have 1 or 2. That can be any combination, 2 dogs, 1 cat/1 dog, etc as long as they total 2. When I questioned the policy (as we've stayed in numerous military campgrounds around the country with 4 small dogs with no issues), I was told the policy had been set by the base command, and it included family housing, and that they couldn't deviate from that policy, I was content to accept it; however, I still have contact with several individuals that work on base and asked if they knew anything about this policy. Well, lo and behold, I've found out that the base command does not restrict the number of pets that are brought to the FamCamp or to family housing, that policy has been set by the MWR manager; to top it off, she selectively chooses which rules she enforces and when. It's common courtesy to clean up after your pets, but that isn't always enforced, even when the staff sees your dog poop and you walk away from it. As a result, I will not be staying at this camp any time soon!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 4 0
November 2011
(Updated: November 11, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
3.1
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
1.0
Unbelievable. This is the first time I have ever felt compelled to write a review. My parents have been motorhoming for years now. They bring the motorhome this way to visit my family (we live on base) at least twice a year for 6 years now. They did not have a good experience the first few times they visited. We just chalked it up to, "wow, Tony and Mary are two extremely anal people." Tony once told my father not to walk on the grass, because it BENDS THE BLADES! I thought he was joking, until I had the pleasure of dealing with him myself. He is an absolute nightmare; I am in utter shock that these two people are still running this camp! How does this happen? My parents have told me that campground managers are notoriously friendly and helpful and that this is truly the worst place they've ever stayed (over a span of 30 years). Instead of bringing the motorhome and spending a week with my family, they now come for 1 or 2 days and stay at our house, so that they don't have to deal with Tony or Mary. This could really be a nice little campground if 1 of 2 things happened...they get rid of Tony and Mary, or at least reprimand their ridiculous behaviors.
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful to you? 5 0
Sept 28, 2011
(Updated: October 06, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
We stayed one night and were put into the "doggie section" since we do have a small dog. That was no problem but they don't even make an attempt to keep the grass watered and green in this section. All the other "non-doggie" sites have nice, green grass. Construction blocked off the dog walk but we were forbidden to walk our dog in the field next to the ball park area or in any area of green grass. We were very leery about visiting this park after reading the reviews on this site of unfriendly camp hosts but the man who checked us in was very friendly and helpful. He offered maps and base information, more than we needed. He even rode his bike down to our site and helped my husband back up the rig when he couldn't contact whoever usually does this. The price was great, $17. Even if we couldn't make a reservation less than 30 days ahead, we were advised a week ahead that they would be able to accommodate us. The BX is very close and has a good food court. The Class Six store had great prices. When we left headed south, we took Hwy. 12 east to I-5 but wouldn't do it again. It is a very busy two lane road and not in all that good of shape. All our clothes hopped off the closet rod from the sudden ups and downs. Next time we'll go through Sacramento and skip staying here.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
May 19, 2011
(Updated: May 31, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
2.8
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
1.0
We have been out for some time and were headed to Travis till we read the reviews here, we are headed over to Fallon. My goodness, throwing out the 2 best and two worse reviews still leaves this as a scary place with this rude couple that they have running it. We have been suggesting to the military they get rid of the civilians and put work campers in the parks. Huge savings for the military, and they can get the help just by giving a retired couple free parking and utilities. Everyone needs to let their feelings be known about all this, have you seen how terribly the commissaries and BX's are ripping off our kids in the services? Its pretty sad.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
April 23, 2011
(Updated: April 23, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
2.5
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
1.0
Hi, over the past years I've read a number of letters dealing with the couple who run Travis AFB. I've stayed there a number of times, but never had any issues until just a few days ago. The treatment that I received from Mary was unbelievably rude, authoritarian and downright nasty. I want to contact people on this site who have has similar unpleasant experiences and take those comments to the MWR staff and lodge a formal complaint. All comments would be appreciated. Roman
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
Feb 19- Mar 4, 2011
(Updated: April 08, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
2.5
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
1.0
This was our second stay at Travis FamCamp, we will not be back again. I had avoided the park for 6 years because it was not worth the pain dealing with Tony (even though we have been in the area a dozen times to visit family and friends). My hope was that Tony had moved on, unfortunately he was still in complete control and unchanged. All of the comments about Tony’s abusive and controlling personality are true. It is remarkable that virtually every review at this web site revolves around problems with “Tony”. There is something intuitively wrong with this pattern. If Tony has in fact been at this Park for 18 years, it is 17 years and 11 months too long. Do the math—how many travelers in 18 years has Tony encountered and ruined their day, week or vacation? What makes Tony so special or invaluable that he is allowed to continue his abusive and controlling behavior? He is rude controlling, inept, and completely unsuited for contact or interaction with people. Tony needs to be fired!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 4 1
23 May to 6 June 2010
Overall rating 
 
3.5
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
Tony is not so bad - he just has no people skills at all. Zip-point-zilch, nada, zero! I arrived on a Sunday to a closed office. I did not see any signs posted on where to park. In addition, the street into the park was blocked due to underground pipe construction. I managed to start up a street when Mr. Tony came running out and screaming like a banshee asking me if I read the sign at the office. I told him I did not see a sign. He basically called me a liar when I told him that there was not a sign, or intimated that I was illiterate. After getting me parked in a spot, I went to the office to pay up. Tony was there. I asked him to point out the sign. He mumbled that someone must have taken down the sign. However, that being said, the park is very nice, restrooms and laundry areas are nearly spotless. Tony works hard to keep the park looking great. He trims trees, edges the grass and picks up trash. This is the best park for the money spent.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 1
Sept 09
Overall rating 
 
3.1
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0
This IS a Great location. I was stationed at Travis for 4 years and still love the area. I have stayed at this camp twice now and will NOT return as long as they allow Tony to run it. The first time I thought maybe he was having a bad day. Now I realize that he causes others to have bad days. He pounced on me the minute I arrived, waving his arms and yelling like a lunatic. If you love being micro-managed as if you were living in base housing, you will love it here. Also, if you are traveling with dogs, good luck here. You are expected to transport your animal to the "approved dog area" (a weed infested patch of dirt) without touching Tony's prized golf course quality grass. After staying there you will know why the park isn't full when it's in a prime location. Please keep us posted on when he leaves, I'll be the first to make reservations.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
21-24 Nov, '09
Overall rating 
 
3.1
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0
Everything was excellent here except for one thing, Tony! I read the reviews prior to going and just couldn't believe anyone could be as bad as others described Tony to be, I found out quickly, they were being kind. Who wants to start a trip by having to deal with someone as egotistical as this guy? He harped on the grass so much I started wondering if we were even allowed to walk on it. He goes with you to "assist" you in parking, he treats you like you're some idiot that has never backed a trailer into a camping spot. He doesn't have a clue as to how to give directions to someone backing a trailer, his "guidance" is always late. He is overly concerned about running a tire over the grass but observation revealed the grass overgrew the road by 8-12" throughout the campground. My wife is a fourth grade teacher and has at least twice the amount of patience as myself but Tony had her to the boiling point as well. We greatly enjoyed the area and the campground as well, but I will not be back as long as Tony is there, he has "ZERO" people skills.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
May 22 - 29, 2009
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
D.N.left this review using the Directory sofware: This FamCamp would be a solid 5 if Tony would learn some people skills. It seems that he has a lot of rules for the campground which is good in my opinion. However, he does not follow his own rules. The hours listed on the door don't seem to mean anything. I was there on three separate occasions and had to wait up to thirty minutes for somebody to show up. And that is after they take a four hour lunch break. I think we would all love that job. The old car sitting in front of the office?? I bet that if a guest did that Tony would invent a rule. Also Tony's idea of telling you how to drive your vehicle to park it is more then irritating, just let me know where you want the rig and I will put it there. Other then Tony this is a beautiful park and the maintenance crew does an outstanding job. I would return and smile thru the lectures.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
24 May-1 June 2009
Overall rating 
 
3.5
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
This is our third visit to Travis and it hasn’t changed much since our last stay. Since we arrived on a Sunday the office wasn’t open but there was a sign in the window telling us our site number. After parking a few minutes “on the centerline” we proceeded to our parking spot which was in the “new” section. We backed the 5-er into the spot and in doing so I rolled the trailer over a very small portion of grass. While I was unhooking Tony came over and came unglued that I would break the law in such a blatant fashion. Then he started lecturing me (with a lot of animation) on how to park my trailer. He also said he was going to come back the next day and “access the damage”, which he never did because the next day there was no marks on his grass. He also made sure that I knew that at Travis you may not park yourself and that I should have went to his home and asked for assistance. At this point I finally told him that if he had wanted to help park us that he should have the office open 24/7 or make the sign on the office window reflect his desires. Of course, I apologized for breaking the law and swore that I would never do it again. There are a lot of rules here, both official written ones (we never got a copy of them) and then there are “Tony’s laws” which are not written down anywhere that I could find. I learned about his unwritten rules during the course of our stay as each day Tony came by our trailer and told me a new one. Folks, I don’t mind some rules as they help keep the park in good shape and orderly. But I also believe that there has to be some flexibility in those rules. Tony hasn’t learned to bend a little and be a little more personable in his dealings with people. If I acted like he did when dealing with guests while hosting in Oregon State Parks I would have been asked to leave and would not be asked back. Sprinklers in our area came on mid morning everyday so if you don’t want hard water on your vehicles, plan accordingly. Very clean restrooms and laundry facilities. Amenities on the base are outstanding. Go back…????
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 6 0
January 2007
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
D.L. left this comment from the Directory software: This facility is designed fairly well. We have stayed here three times in the past two years now. The manager is an ego-maniac. He makes people park their vehicles halfway into the street, for some unknown reason! It makes the street congested with vehicles, and not easy to park your rv. Which, he wants to do anyway!!! He acts like it is HIS LAND, and HIS PARK. We have asked for certain spots, and he NEVER has let us had the spot we asked for....HE"S THE BOSS!!! AND DON"T YOU FORGET IT!.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 5 1
Apr 2006
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
(No comments left)
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
18 results - showing 1 - 18