Travis AFB FamCamp

Featured
 
4.2 (125)
107829 0 9 1 40

User reviews

47 reviews with 4 stars

125 reviews

 
(61)
 
(44)
 
(15)
 
(5)
1 star
 
(0)
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.5  (125)
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.1  (125)
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.2  (125)
Value 
 
4.5  (125)
Overall Experience 
 
4.0  (125)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
47 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2 3
Ordering
June 16 - June 23 2019
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
We are a 45 foot motorhome towing a vehicle. We came in on a Sunday and the only entrance was through the main gate by the RV Park. Getting up to the entrance was pretty easy. There are three lanes. Typically though, two of the lanes are closed, so everybody narrows down to one lane. That was the easy part. Be advised that there are concrete barriers beyond the entrance and we could not make it through them without unhitching the tow car. Fortunately, there is enough space after the gate and before the barriers that we could pull over and unhitch. Same thing on leaving the park. We intend to go through unhitched and then pull over to the side of the road and hitch up. The information on this web site says that pets need to be chipped and you need a sign off from the veterinary office. Nobody asked us for any of that. Also, they no longer segregate folks between pet and non pet sites. All sites can be occupied by pet owners. As we arrived on a Sunday, the office was closed. We saw our site number on the board outside the office and when we drove down to it, it was already occupied. Fortunately the space next to it was unoccupied and we backed into it. Went to the office on Monday and got everything straightened out. There is a small laundry. There are bathrooms but did not check those out. No activity room and no wifi unless you wish to buy it, hence my "3" on amenities. On the other hand, you can't beat the price and the location, so value rated a "5" 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 4 0
November, 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
We've been here for a month (November) and have had relatively no complaints about the park. It is neat and clean and the sites are spaced well so you have plenty of room. All sites are back in and deep enough for any size RV and park your truck or car in front of the rig. The initial visual of the park is very nice with a section of the park that is landscaped and has some shade trees. This is the 'no pet' zone. As you come further back in to the 'pets allowed' area there is no landscaping or shade trees. The grass in the pet area, although watered regularly and maintained, looks dried up. There are some RV's in the pet section that are, well.....not the latest models and one even has a tarp over the top. But, that's okay. Not all people can have brand new Tiffins (we certainly don't). There is no wifi and, in this day and age, that is almost unacceptable. The park hosts are great people! Very helpful, very friendly and generally good folks. It's a small world in that we knew that we knew each other but couldn't place each other. We finally realized we had parked next to each other the previous summer in Rhode Island. Now we're all the way on the other side of the country and run in to them. The BX and commissary are very close by as is San Francisco, Sacramento and even Lake Tahoe is a nice day trip. We would come back.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 6 0
April 16 - May 7 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
We were on our way to Alaska and I had an appointment at David Grant Medical Center so this was an ideal place to spend 10 days waiting for my appointment. We arrived without a reservation although I placed several phone calls and left messages. We were able to get a site and chose site #1 since we could stay the 10 days we needed. My wife ended up in ICU at David Grant and was subsequently transferred to California Pacific Medical Center. Stephanie worked with us to get us extended but we had to move to site #6. Stephanie also volunteered to walk our little dog since I am spending my days at the hospital. GREAT hospitality. Now the bad. The trees lining the drive need to be observed closely. See photo. Site #6 is horrendous to attempt to back into. There is a metal grate protecting the gas pipes directly in front of the site (across the road) that you need to be aware of if you are backing a 5th wheel in. I don't agree with the pet/no pet segregation and it has been addressed in previous posts. And there is a disparity between the upkeep between the two areas.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
3 April 2018
Overall rating 
 
3.6
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
Good location for daytrips around the area. PROS: Base BX/Commissary/Gas station with diesel. The camp host was very helpful with requests. CONS: I have never camped in a campground that segregated the campers with and without pets. This is my first experience with segregated campsites at civilian or military campgrounds. It reminded me of the days of Officer vs Enlisted Country. Campers with pets are not allowed in the other area with their pets. It seemed the grass and general upkeep was better in their area also. Very disappointed in the Travis Command leadership for still having any segregated areas on base. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
April 2017
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
If you have pets or a pre 1999 RV BEWARE!!!! The rules now state: Pets now must be microchiped and registered with the base vet No RV's 1999 or older are permitted in the park. For those reasons I really dropped the hospitality score. 
Report this review Comments (2) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
April 22-26, 2016
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Arrived this time without a reservation and got a site in the "non pet section".  Used our Frequent Camper coupon for a free night.  Rule #20 has been added since our last visit, "1995 or newer campers only!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!".  Very weak Verzion cell reception but we were able to get a DTV satellite signal in Site 70.  Make sure you put pads under your leveling jacks as per rule #2.  Pet owners, this has been put in the brochure:  "All animals must have current vaccination, be chipped and registered with the base vet clinic to stay at FamCamp and on Base.  Must bring receipt from vet clinic to stay at FamCamp.  Vet Clinic Phone # (707) 424-3010."  Don't know if management is enforcing this rule or not.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
May 8 through June 5, 2015
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
We had a very positive experience during our stay at Travis FamCamp. The back-in sites (there are no pull-thru sites) are gravel and level. There are concrete patios with picnic tables. The hookups are good and the staff were helpful and friendly. You can walk to the nice commissary and Exchange. There is a very nice fitness facility and library less than a mile away. While there is no recycling at the FamCamp, there is full recycling available at the Express (where you can also fill up with diesel). This is a good location for accessing Sacramento (1 hour east), Napa Valley (45 minutes west), and San Francisco (1 hour west). The only negatives to this FamCamp are the mediocre pay WiFi (expensive and slow), the below average Verizon data connections, and the fact that the wind blows virtually non-stop. During our one-month stay, I only had our awning out for two brief periods of time. The average wind speed was at least 10-15 mph and gusts were often in the 25-35 mph range. That makes for some chilly nights when the delta breeze blows in from the Pacific.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
9-19 April 2015
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Had another nice stay at Travis Famcamp, this time in site 71 in the “new” section. Things don’t change much here and the rules, although still in place, aren’t rigidly enforced nearly as much as in the past. We had a reservation so check-in was a breeze. The hedges between the sites have grown up so the parking space seems a little narrower. Get ready for reveille at 0700. Really? The park is not watering the grass as much anymore due directly to the drought in California. On 12 June 2015 until 14 August 2016, Peabody Road (from Vacaville to Air Base Parkway) will be closed at Vanden Rd and Huntington Drive to facilitate building the new overpass and train station. This closer may be extended further down Peabody if necessary. If you are coming here on I-80 westbound, I would recommend staying on the interstate and get off on Air Base Parkway in Fairfield and then take that out to the base.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 1
September 20-October 17, 2014
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
I would stay here again because who can argue with $20/night in Cali?!? We stayed in 40' 5th-wheel. We were here to visit San Fran Bay Area and Napa. Yes, the wind was an issue half the time we were there. Would've been nice to open door more often since the temperatures were great, but it sounded like the door would come off the hinges. (This wasn't the first place we stayed with heavy winds, so not a show stopper. We didn't have a choice of site so we took what we got.) The location is right inside the base gate and a block away from the exchange, gas, and commissary. There's an RV wash right next door too. Free wi-fi for 24 hrs after you log-in. The downside? Rules, rules, rules; do's and don'ts posted every where. Just seems someone needs to relax a little. There's 3 washers and driers, but only two washers were working when we got there and only one washer was working the last week we were there. Apparently the plumbing cannot support 3 washers so they can't have 3 working at the same time anyway. Washer $1.75/Drier $.75 Office is only open til 1300, Mon-Sat. If you have a pet, you'll notice the pet section lacks the green grass that the non-pet section has. There's a large area to walk a dog and there's also a dog park on base just down the street. And finally, LOL, not sure where the PA speaker is, but you won't miss reveille or taps. :)
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
July 15, 2014
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Used this location to visit SF area including Napa Valley. Good experience, only recommend that you ask for a site that your RV entrance faces the office. Reason for this, this area is located in what is called the Delta Breeze. ALWAYS windy, I don't think we ever saw it below 11 mph, it becomes nerve racking after a while. While there a young couple that had just transferred there had there RV moved because of the wind constantly blowing in the entrance side of the RV. Everything else is great.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 1
8-13 April 2014
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Had another good stay here at Travis. This time we were parked on the first row in site #4, a very noisy site due to being very close to the main gate. There is a lot of vehicle noise all day and night. Why in the world does this base play Reveille at 7AM? Yes, there are a lot of rules but we have been coming here for so long now we’re used to them. Don’t park your rig hanging over the the grass! Forget the WiFi! It’s a waste of money after the first day of free service. We just used our Verizon service. Outstanding management. Restrooms and showers were spotless. Used our AF Frequent Camper certificate and got one night free so our 5 day stay was $16 a night.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
23 FEB – 1 MAR 2014
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
This is a fairly small campground. Some of the sites are tight for a big rig. It is a great area with lots to do. A very nice base. As with a lot of FamCamps, no discount for extended stays. Wi-Fi is not free here but it does work well. The manager loves to micro-manage. After being corrected about how I parked, (I was 3 feet to far back) I moved up and was unable to park my toad where they allow you to. Because of that, I don’t consider this a big rig friendly park. She did say they had plans to revamp the park.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 1
December 30, 2013
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
What is it about the Travis FamCamp that drives managers to micro-manage everybody and everything? The current manager started out as an amendable person, but the office is so full of signs and rules and warnings that one can hardly find a place to rest their eyes. The same goes for the mass of maps and instructions posted outside for those who arrive outside the limited office hours. And with so many rules and directions, it is a given that all are not enforced on across the board. Yes, there is a row for rigs with pets, but oh by the way it is okay to park in other sites too. One speeder gets chastised and the next six are not noticed. The park needs more management-by-walking around and less management by decree. The location is great and the park is well-maintained but it is not user-friendly!!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 4
November 2013
Overall rating 
 
3.8
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
We stayed two nights at Travis AFB for $20 a pop. A decent place, but they have so many ridiculous rules I felt like I was back in bootcamp. They have RV spaces designated as "Pet spaces" and "non-pet spaces." If you have a pet you can only stay in a pet space. If you don't have a pet and the non-pet spaces are full but there are pet spaces available, a non-pet RVer can stay in a pet space, but NOT vice versa. So, pet owners are second class citizens at Travis. Also, the pet areas are STRICTLY ENFORCED (per the many, many signs) and if your dog steps on the grass then maybe the "pet police" will swoop down and issue you a citation. Okay, I'm joking, but only a little bit. Your RV CANNOT overhang the grass. You CANNOT have any items under or around your RV. Starting to get the idea? If you pay by personal check they want your full social security number on the registration form, the envelope that the form goes in, and the check itself. Are they insane? Why don't they just post it on the internet and make it even easier for identify thieves? They advertise free cable TV but to get it you must have a cable descrambler box which is not available on the weekends or after hours, so for us checking in on a Saturday we had no cable TV. They also advertise free wifi for the first 24 hours only. To get the wifi was complicated and when we got it it was extremely poor quality and tripped offline frequently. The bathrooms were superb. Lastly, at Travis you can camp for 180 days straight so there were a very large number of homesteaders living there. It gives the park a different feel, which we don't care for. Unlike virtually every other famcamp we found the residents to be standoffish and unfriendly to us, as if we were interlopers on their turf. Despite all that, we would stay there again for a night or two if we were traveling through.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 5 2
Sept. 23-25, 2013
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Corina really runs a smart ship at Travis FamCamp. The tent spaces are on dirt mounds, so have a ground cloth ready. Otherwise, it was beautiful camping, except for the winds on one night. They weren't howling, but almost! The campground is clean and the bathhouse/showers are some of the best I've seen. The showers are spacious and especially nice! One word of caution: if you use the laundry, make sure you attend to your clothes 100%. I made a bathroom break and when I returned, some guy had removed my clothes from a washer so he could wash his! I know who did it, and he didn't seem to be too nice of a person in the first place. But, tend to your laundry, just the same, or get a family member, or somebody to watch it for you, if you need to take a bathroom break. Otherwise, our overall experience was a good one!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
Mar 1, 2012 - Sep 10, 2012
(Updated: February 18, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
I rated this camp high as the price was fair at $17.00 per night. I have been visiting Travis FamCamp for years, yes Toni was VERY obnoxious and it took some time to finally put him in his place. Eventually he left us alone, That said, the new management is doing a good job,I feel pretty bad not remembering the new Mrs.? who is running the office, however, she is very courteous, friendly & seems to have settled into the job well. That said, My only gripe is that I need to return and now on this site, I notice the price has gone up to $20.00 per night, adds up when you need to stay involuntarily for medical reasons and the like. After all, as a 100% disabled Veteran, the government wasn't very generous and my income is limited (Fixed), but it is what it is and I don't imagine I'm alone in feeling this way. So, for anyone planning to visit for the first time, enjoy, the location is as good as it gets, close to everything you will need both on & off base.
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
July 2012-Oct 2012
(Updated: December 17, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
We stayed for about 4 months July through October 2012. It is definitely the end of the "Tony and Mary" era...as seen in other reviews they were the worst ever in any MWR camp.. anywhere!! For example, Tony said you could not use the post office unless you stayed 3 weeks; he also demanded you pay just for one week at a time even if you stayed for months...all this and more has been changed now with Karina and Jim (Jim is active, Karina runs the office) and both do a marvelous, gentle and fair camp management style... See the other reviews for facilities on base such as commissary, etc. However no one mentioned the fine library and gym within a short 15 minute walk down the road (.7 mile)...great machines and showers and then you can walk over to the library to peruse the news of the DoD and so on... The camp was well kept, clean and tidy...what was most welcome was the separate areas for travelers with dogs and those without...the separate areas allowed peace and quiet from those little yappers that seem to continually bark for no sane reason on earth.. Electric was out for a day 2-3 times but that was not any different than my brick and mortar home... We traveled in a 32 foot TT from North Trails and fit in most any sites in the tree/lawn area... N.B.-- the weather is Sac area can be a consistent 95 plus F...the a/c sometimes did not shut off for weeks in the day...but the delta breeze at night gave nice relief a lot of evenings... Rich and Lili
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 1
5 Nov 2012 to 5 Dec 2012
(Updated: December 09, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
This is a very nice camp. We stayed one month and enjoyed it the whole time. The Commissary / BX complex is right across the street with post office, Starbucks and the usual vendors, shoppette and library a couple blocks down. There is a nice free museum on base. The grounds are very well kept, hosts are friendly and helpful. Very nice showers/restrooms and laundry room all kept sparkling clean. The dog walk area is grassy and quite large, but some pet owners need to be more responsible about cleaning up after their dogs! A few lazy ones are going to ruin it for the rest of us who do pick up after our pets. There are jack rabbits everywhere, and prairie dogs by the dog walk - be prepared to get your arm yanked out of joint if your dog is a chaser. We had no problem getting 4G on a T-mobile wifi hotspot. Cable TV is available, but you must go to Comcast off base a few miles and get a free converter box. Then take it back upon leaving. Bit of a pain but for staying a month or more worth it - except when the Raiders game was blacked out. All in all one of the nicest places we've stayed and with family in the bay area a definite lay-over when snow-birding south.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
4 - 14 Oct 12
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
D.B. left this review using the Directory software: - Camp host was courteous and accommodating. Access to BX, commissary, Class 6 store, fast food, barber and salon, post office, hospital, all within walking distance.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
September 2012
(Updated: September 24, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Most sites only have 30 amp service. Impossible to find host after 1:00 pm. Power failure hot weather host was nowhere to be found. A guest had to eventually call emergency work orders. Loud exercises for two days and all night. Nice dining hall, retires are welcome. A full time host would relieve a lot of problems.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
47 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2 3