Travis AFB FamCamp

Featured
 
4.2 (125)
107217 0 9 1 40

User reviews

54 reviews with 5 stars

125 reviews

 
(61)
 
(44)
 
(15)
 
(5)
1 star
 
(0)
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.5  (125)
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.1  (125)
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.2  (125)
Value 
 
4.5  (125)
Overall Experience 
 
4.0  (125)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
54 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2 3
Ordering
Feb 2019
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Arrived Sunday afternoon, office is closed on Sunday, and reviewed notice for folks with reservations. Went to assigned site and another rig in our site. Back to office and noted a number to call when office closed. My call was promptly answered and rep came to office to sort out issue. Notice had wrong site number on it, so we went to correctly assigned site. Site (think was the original section of RV park) was narrow with a hedge on hook up/slide-out side. Very little room to put out slide-out and still access storage bins. Newer section of RV park doesn’t have hedges and is more open. Once settled all went well for us. Over our week stay met up with the Sunday afternoon staff rep several times and very pleasant with great attitude. One of the larger BX and Commissary’s we have shopped. No wi-fi in RV park (would be a bonus if they installed, lowered amenities because of this), so used the wif-fi in the PAX terminal (open very early in morning until late at night). Two large base gas stations right across the street from each other, prices better than Sam’s or Costco, easy access for RVs.
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful to you? 8 1
July & August 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Stayed here for two full months and will be returning in a week or so for another extended stay, (getting Dental work done at David Grant). This RV Park is almost unnoticeable, (I'd been here numerous times over the years and didn't realize it's right inside the gate). Most of the spots in this park have seen better days as the grass has been let go, I believe due to the drought. The spots are gravel with a concrete pad with picnic table. There is cable, but for Wifi you must chose one of the options noted. Wifi at the Starbucks or exchange is extremely slow due to high usage. The exchange is large and the commissary is right across the street. There is a fuel station on base with a convenience store and Popeye's Chicken. Food court in the exchange and bowling alley also. You can't beat the price for full hook-ups and there is an RV wash station right next to the park. Hope this helps, safe travels.
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful to you? 5 0
6 July - 6 Aug, 2018
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Nice campground, convenient location for seeing the SF/Sacramento area. Camp host was awesome. She made multiple changes to our reservation to accommodate our stay without having to move sites. Dog friendly park. Bathrooms were clean and the park itself was in pretty good condition considered how dry the area has been.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Jul 24 - Aug 8 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Loved this campground. Central to all the Bay Area has to offer and the base facilities are great. We took the ferry out of Vallejo to SF and had a fantastic visit...and didn’t have to drive or park downtown! 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
November 6, 2017 - January 22, 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We arrived at Travis AFB Famcamp on November 6, 2017 and planned on staying through December 3. This our 3rd or 4th visit to Travis and we always look forward to our stay. There is so much to do in the area; the Napa and Sonoma, San Francisco, Suisun City. What’s not to like. Much has also been said about the base, the proximity to the Commissary and Exchange, the Library and Fitness Center, so I will not repeat them here. One facility that I don’t believe has been mentioned is the David Grant USAF Medical Center. Shortly before we were to depart, I experienced a medical emergency that made it necessary to visit the ER twice and be admitted for surgery. I cannot make enough positive comment about the professionalism and care that I experienced. They were compassionate and caring and the outcome was excellent. They also picked up on another issue that they have been following. The staff of the Famcamp is excellent. Stephanie, Matt and John, the camp host, went above and beyond to extend our stay until I was released to travel by the medical staff. The facility, however is beginning to show some signs of deterioration. The interior roads in the park are deplorable. Pots holes make navigating the center road nearly impossible. There is a mobile home in the park that the manager lives in and while I understand that it is a great benefit, it has begun to show its age. The restrooms are clean and well kept. I find it interesting that the “best” sites are reserved for those with no pets. They have some amenities, i.e. hedges separating the sites that are not available in the main park. Nevertheless, a great place to stay and visit. We will return. We will miss reveille, colors and taps. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
4 - 26 Sept 2017
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Gravel RV parking area left us with ants in the RV. The FamCamp was clean although the doggie poop receptacle stayed full for over a week. Not an issue as there was a dumpster very near just started to smell. The rainbow eucalyptus trees are very pretty but also very messy make sure you sweep your slides off. Camp site is near the main gate and it seems Air Force Blvd doubles as a drag strip for those leaving the base. Kind of loud at times. There was no issue with age of RV nor were we questioned about the age. We enjoyed our stay and will return.
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
May 2017
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We're currently at the Famcamp and are located in the non-pet area of the RV park. Very nice since we get a very large greenspace behind the RV for our 3 yo to play in. Overall this is a very nice and well run camp. I've seen some comments on this site complaining about the pet restrictions and the RV age. To clarify, the pet restrictions are the same restrictions as having any pet on base. I would assume that most people would know that bringing pets onto a military installation is going to be a bit of a pain. When I stayed in billeting with my cats prior to retirement, they had to have all their recent vaccinations and the microchip. Another annoyance is the requirement to take any firearms you own over to the armory. But I was aware of this requirement prior to coming to the base so it wasn't a surprise at all...just an additional task. Another issue that people have brought up is that they are banning RV's that are too old. I decided to take a look at the requirement and it DOES state that only RV's 1995 and newer are allowed in the park. That being said, their was also a note that stated that older RVs could stay at the RV park at the manager's discretion. I believe they're just trying to keep the hobo RVs out of the park. Nicely maintained older RVs should be fine. Pros to this park: Very nice green space; proximity to BX and Commissary; close to the main gate and easy to find; well maintained facilities (Laundry/Showers/Toilets); free ice bags; lots of green space; price Cons: 0700 Reveille (oh dear god why did we stay here)..it appears one of the speakers is rather close to the RV park; Noisy cars (I think this is a CA thing but at times I feel like there's a racetrack nearby); Have to have firearm secured in armory; it appears that there are quite a few homesteaders in here (not sure how that works as they can only stay 90 days out of a 180 day period). Overall this is a great RV park and would certainly stay here again if we happen to be in the area.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
16-23 May 2017
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
The site is gravel and level. I did not have reservations as they do not make reservations if you are going to arrive within 30 days; however, they do have several sites that are first come first serve. When I arrived the office was closed but there were clear instructions on which sites were available for my size rig, length of stay, and with or without pets. I don't think it could be any more clear. After I got settled in my site, the office opened and I finished the registration process. The gentlemen in the office was friendly and squared me away quickly even though he continued to receive a million other calls. Kudos to him for his multitasking abilities. The BX and Commissary are within walking distance and there is a big field in the back to walk your dog. Overall, I have no complaints especially for the price. Thank you Travis AFB Command and MWR for taking care of us. Now... if we can only get everyone (mostly a small percentage) to recognize theses awesome benefits and not take advantage and ensure we clean up after ourselves and our pets. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 4 0
July 1, 2016
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
This is a great location and affordable for the area. You can't beat staying here and driving into San Francisco. Free Jelly Belly tour not too far from the base.Laundry and grounds were clean. There is a large field near the famcamp to walk your dog.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
May 27-30,2016
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
A big plus to visit San Francisco ,Sacramento and Lake Tahoe. All with in a few hours drive. Level sites close the BX and Comissary. Can't beat $20/ nite. Definitely good for return trip.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
March 2 thru 12, 2014
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
This is my second time here. My first time was only one night. Does that count? I am very happy with the park. The spaces for the very large rigs are really not big enough. Parking is very tight. No pull thru's. I had to let my rear end over hand over the grass. That is against the rules. Hard to mow the lawn. They have a big rig wash within spitting distance from the park. BX, commissary and class six store in really within walking distance. They have long term parking for 3 months minimum. $45.00 per month. Short term by the air terminal for 30 days or less FREE. Both my wife and I had no problem getting an appointment with internal medicine at David Grant while we were here. Management lives on site with two other hosts. All very nice!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
January 10, 2014
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
A well maintained RV park in a great location, with free cable TV and paid WiFi. It is right in the City of Fairfield with everything close by. As most others have mentioned it does have a lot of rules written down on paper and morning only office hours, but the showers, restroom, and laundry facilities are clean, and they offer free ice during the summer months. I usually stay at the Travis Famcamp about 3 to 4 months every year, because it is so conveniently located to the bay area, and there are many others who stay at this Famcamp 4 to 6 months every year. Having come here so frequently over the years I can say that the current managers are much better than the previous managers.
L
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
September 11, 2013
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
The campground is separated into Pet Friendly and No Pets. The No Pets area has beautiful green grass, whereas the Pet Friendly area needs more water and grass. Best shower experience I've had in 5 years. Shower stall was huge, lots of hooks to hang clothes and towels, and plenty of hot water. Our dogs loved the large area to walk them. Recycling bins is a plus, as most places don't have any.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 1
August 2013
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
** Directions to the FamCamp indicate you need to disconnect if you have a 40' or over rig. I disagree. At least during this time of year when the park is 1/2 full. We unhooked and it was an unnecessary stress finding a place along the roads that are not that wide from the freeway into the gate. If the problem is parking in from of the FamCamp office, recommend you pull through along the first row of RV's, then disconnect. For $20 it is hard to beat. Plus they have both a pets and 'no pets'. What a great idea. We don't have to listen to barking/yapping dogs. This place is nice. The newer area has lots of grass, hedge to divide us from the neighbor and is one of the better military parks we have stayed at. 4 years ago we heard of the micromanagement style of the previous camp hosts. Glad to say no such thing now. Very pleasant experience. We camped in a 40' motorhome and would stay here again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 1
June 2013
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Corina Standley and her staff are thorough, generous and kind, as others have said. The restrooms and laundry are kept nice and clean. I camped there in a tent last year and in a 28' Winnie this year, and each time I've not wanted to leave! I must say, though, whoever deemed the Delta Breeze a "breeze" doesn't know a whisper from a class 5 gale. While I was there in June (2013) everyone in camp was forced to batten down the hatches for about 3 days while a fierce "breeze" blew. Once it passed, we got our clear skies and sunshine again, though. No one has mentioned this but there's actually an RV car wash just behind the famcamp. You climb up stairs and the hose follows you around your rig; it's awesome. This area of CA is loads of fun too. SF and Berkeley are a mere 45 miles west. At the height of the season there's also a fantastic fruit and vegetable market just to the west of base about 15 minutes. Thanks Corina! You are a breath of fresh air!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
20 May 2013-25 May 2013
(Updated: June 06, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Camp host, Karina, is very professional but personable. Office hours are a little short but adequate. Facility is very, very good but a little small. No pull-thru sites but then, it's not a KOA. Charges are reasonable. Check-in area a little small to remove toad but you have to as there's no room to do so anywhere else. BX and commissary are largest I've seen in many years. Watch your speed on this base. Fairly nice golf course (given the dry weather) located off the base just a few miles. Some rumblings on base regarding moving the FamCamp to another location but seems there's no money to make it happen.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Feb 27 - Mar 15, 2013
(Updated: April 11, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
T.P. left this review using the Directory software:- Came expecting to stay for a week stayed for 2 and a half. Staff was excellent although the office hours are short. Great base lots of things to do in the area the base is about halfway between Sacramento and San Francisco. The NEX gas station on right side of the road if you are coming from the camp ground is big rig friendly. The one on the left not so much.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
16 November-25 November 2012
(Updated: November 27, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
This was our first stay and certainly will not be our last. The location was perfect for things we wanted to do in area such as visiting SF and missions. Campground, laundry, facilities very clean and staff most helpful and accommodating. We had to alter our reservation twice and no problem. Good dog walking area. Just wish owners were more diligent about cleaning up after their dogs. Rabbits are cute and fun to watch. Commissary etc very convenient. Thanks again to all who made this a nice stay. Amy and John Stanton
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Aug 2012
(Updated: September 24, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
This is the third time here. A great place to stay. New camp host very nice. Very short walk to shop at the bx & comm. Has a rv & car wash next door to the rv park.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
25 July 2012
(Updated: July 26, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Impressive! All amenities included ($20), except WiFi. But we carry our own Hotspot. Food, shopping, etc within walking distance. Everything spit and polish clean. Will return.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
54 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2 3