Twilight Dunes

 
2.7 (24)
44702 0 5 1 3

User reviews

8 reviews with 3 stars

24 reviews

5 stars
 
(0)
 
(6)
 
(8)
 
(7)
 
(3)
Overall rating 
 
2.7
Location 
 
3.3  (24)
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.6  (24)
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.2  (24)
Value 
 
2.8  (24)
Overall Experience 
 
2.6  (24)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
8 results - showing 1 - 8
Ordering
Mar 8 - May 6, 2016
Overall rating 
 
3.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
We have hesitated and delayed writing another review of the Twilight Dunes RV Park after ending our two month stay.  The main reason for the hesitation is the RV Park has a new manager and we wanted to give her a chance to be successful.  The new manager is also the manager of the Sleepy Tortoise lodging which oversees the RV Park.  Anyway, a few days before we left the Park I had an interesting discussion with her while she was conducting her first inspection of the RV Park.  I shared by insights about the RV life style, as well as, the good and bad things about the Park.  She displayed a lot of enthusiasm with her new responsibilities and I wished her success.  Shortly after her inspection she sent a memorandum to every site restating a list of specific RV Park policies and regulations.  In her memo she stated that many of the occupants in the RV Park were in violation of the policies and regulations.  The memo also stated that the violators had seven days to correct the violation.  We left the Park before the seven day deadline so we don’t know how that mandate worked out.  We will be returning to the Park in September and hopefully we will notice some improvements.  The Park is a mess and needs a lot of TLC to get it looking like a decent RV Park again.  We still believe that it is shameful that the occupants have to resort to using wooden pallets as patio’s in order to enjoy their outdoor activities.  Using the pallets to keep out of the mud is very reminiscent of Vietnam War era combat outposts.  I give credit to the occupants for taking the initiative by using the pallets, however, I discredit the management at all levels for not providing concrete patio slabs.  Yes, I know it will cost big bucks to construct concrete slabs but I am also pretty sure that the NAF’s can be found somewhere to improve the Park.  Maybe the MWR folks should start “thinking outside of the box” to solve the problem and not so much about merit pay increases (Excuse me, just venting).  In my previous review I mentioned a concern about the amount of automobile traffic and how it was kind of “spooky” to walk in the Park at night because you really can’t judge the speed of oncoming headlights.  Well thankfully, I wasn’t walking my dog on the night of April 9th.  One of the good perks when staying at Twilight Dunes is you can get a key to a mailbox and receive mail at the Park.  On April 9th, someone attending an outdoor cookout at one of the RV sites had one-to-many hotdogs and decided to take a shortcut through the mailboxes as he left the outing.  There were five mailbox pedestals in the Park - now there are two healthy pedestals and one not-so healthy pedestal.  I will attempt to upload the pictures of the mailboxes.  As you will see, three of the pedestals were completely destroyed and have been hauled away.  By the looks of the tire tracks it looks as though the pedestals didn’t stop a vehicle determined to continue its journey well beyond the boxes.  Can you imagine that instead of mailboxes,  it could have been a human being? 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
March 20-27, 2016
Overall rating 
 
3.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
Pretty much agree with most of what "harrylouise" said, although this was our first visit here. We came primarily because of its proximity to Joshua Tree NP, where we spent most of our days hiking. We were generally disappointed with the campground. The high points were the reasonable weekly rate, the size of the sites (very spacious), the sheds where we could store our bikes, ladder, etc., and the covered carports. The negatives were the sand under and all around the RV (luckily it didn't rain or get terribly windy during our stay), all the long-term residents (seemed to be very few retirees like us), the unkempt condition of the sites used by some of the long-term residents, and the blatant disregard for picking up dog poop -- not only on other peoples' sites, but also in the dog parks in the RV park and residential areas. It was disgusting and unhealthy so we didn't take our two dogs to these areas. I seriously doubt we'll stay here again. We've been to at least three dozen other military CGs around the country and this was one of our least pleasant experiences.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 1
November 2008 to April 2011
(Updated: April 16, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
1.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
They're a little over priced honestly. Like others have said you are just parked on the sand, when it rains you don't sink enough to get stuck but it can make the trailer settle unevenly and there is no protection from the wind. The main access is a dirt road with a new sign pointing to where the park is but you still have to check in at the sleepy tortoise lodge before going to the park. The park is plain and ugly and they're getting anal about keep things like chairs in the shed, it's annoying. The park recently came under new management so they are still ironing out all the kinks that come with that transition.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 1
March 2009
Overall rating 
 
2.6
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
1.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0
I’m really confused about the status of the Twilight Dunes “RV Park”. It looks to be base housing for a retired Marine that runs his Taxi business out of his motor home. Several more seem to it use the park as base housing for civilian jobs. At least two rigs would make” trailer trash” mobile home parks look like an exclusive neighborhood. I can understand that Marines will stay there if awaiting housing assignments, but is it base housing or MWR sites? If it is base housing, is there not have a housing code that prevents storing junk all over the place? I have stayed in 90% of the military parks nationwide, and the only military park I have seen worse than this, was a spot in Florida panhandle that a guy erected a GP medium tent beside his rig. If this is a RV park, why are there permanent “residences” here? If used for both, why not separate the two and have the back rows for permanent sites and the front for recreational use, thereby having all the trash together and the cleaner short term stays together. Above all, SOMEONE needs to step up to the plate and clean this place up.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 4 0
1 Apr - 4 Apr 08
Overall rating 
 
2.9
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
The only reason to stop here is to visit Joshua National Park. Great National Park. There is really nothing to say about this CG. There are no facilities, it is a mobile home park converted to an RV park.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Feb 4-11, 2007
Overall rating 
 
2.7
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
I do not think the Housing Office (Temp Lodging) has ever visited the campground. They just take your money and show you the door. I spent one week on full hookups after trying 3 spaces before I found 50 amps. I thought $10 bucks for dry camping was a bit steep, but you pull into a space that has water and sewer, just no elec. You can rinse your tanks, use as much water as you like, fill your tanks before you leave. Not bad!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 4 0
Jan 2007
(Updated: February 12, 2007)
Overall rating 
 
2.7
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
Directions to the base have changed. It appears the old gate was on Condor Road. That gate still exists, but now has limited hours. Main gate is now on Adobe Road, however, current mapping software shows Adobe Road as ending. What changed is the extension of Adobe Road north across what used to be two runways. The runways have been removed and Adobe now connects with Del Valle Drive. The new main gate is directly west of the FamCamp and you can easily see the FamCamp on your right as you are driving north through the gate. There are no barricades through the main gate, but there are some reasonably nasty speed bumps, so go slow. DO NOT drive to the Bldg 690 parking lot as there is no exit and no turn around. We parked in the commissary parking lot and walked to 690. Many roads on 29 palms are narrow and rough, so don't stray when towing your rig. Even the entrance to the commissary is narrow. Amenities -- No bathhouse at the FamCamp. Laundry facility (not free) is available at Rourke and 4th, a distance of 2.5 miles. The laundry facility can be crowded, but is a short distance from the bx, so you have a place to kill time. Wifi is non-existent anywhere on base, but is available in town at McDonald's. You can sign up for computer time at the library, but only for a short period (1/2 hr when I tried, so not worth it). The library computers often have a line-up of AD Marines, so I was happy to let them have it.Things to do -- Not much. Joshua Tree NP is 5 miles away. We spent 2 days sightseeing and hiking around the park. George Patton Museum is on the southern-central end of the park at I-10 exit 170. The base does have a golf course. There is more to do at Palm Springs, but it is about an hour and twenty minute drive.The FamCamp, as well as the base, is adequate, but not impressive.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 4 0
Oct 2006
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
I encountered friendly and helpful staff. The CG is part of base housing and there are few amenities. No CATV, BBQ grills or fire rings. I was meeting my son just back from Iraq so I did not really care.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 1
8 results - showing 1 - 8