Vandenberg AFB FamCamp

Featured New
 
3.7 (57)
66575   0   18   0   24

User reviews

7 reviews with 2 stars

57 reviews

 
(19)
 
(21)
 
(8)
 
(7)
 
(2)
Overall rating 
 
3.7
 
3.8  (57)
 
3.4  (57)
 
3.8  (57)
 
3.7  (57)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
7 results - showing 1 - 7  
 
Ordering 
 
Overall rating 
 
1.6
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
1.0
Value 
 
1.0
Overall Experience 
 
1.0

January 2015

Disgraceful is the word I would use to describe this campground. First, it is not a campground it is a trailer park for full time active duty and contract workers. The back-in spaces are in a parking lot, and you are so close to each other you can hear everything (and I mean everything) going on in the RV next to you. No safety considerations given to anyone in a back in space. Pull through spaces are in great need of repair, very uneven and broken pavement, tree roots pushing through. There are 2 condemned building on the grounds. The washer and dryers are old, don't work well, and the bathrooms are filthy. The "new" bathrooms are falling apart and the "old" ones are in desparate need of renovating. Only 50 amp hookups, so make sure you have adaptors. The man in the office is no help at all, that is if he even comes into the office. Any complaints fall on deaf ears. Dogs running around off their leashes, barking all day, even have a resident bird (someones pet) that squawks all day long. Highly recommend skipping this one.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
1.9
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
1.0

1 October thru 1 March, 2015

As the outgoing host I am submitting this review. If you are staying here for a day or two you'll not know about anything wrong with this camp but if you are a week or more you will notice the following; This camp has two tv lounges which close at 2100 hours. each building here has mens and women's showers and laundry with pay machines. At present the mens showers in the "new" building has been under a work order for over a year now, and recently one lady's shower in the new building is now out of order. The old lounge and bath facilities are in an old Korean war era building, its cold in winter and hot in summer, some renovations have been completed but there are still major issues with the safety of the building. As for the staff, the office clerk never leaves his office except for lunch or to go home. He is unable or unwilling to handle issues that come up between the campers, as a host we've never felt he supported us, but leaves us to handle all issues. The main office does not include us in their meetings, discussions, and never invites us to their special gatherings, again no support from MWR. When we signed on to host here we were told we'd work one week on and one week off, but after the first month when the old hosts left we've been alone and have worked the last 4 months with no time off. There are many active duty personnel here and a few full-time civilian campers, mostly dod civilians in support of the bases NASA mission. If your planning on hosting here, I suggest to continue your search, if your camping here be ready for old, outdated systems, uneven rv spaces due to tree roots, and tight quarters between all spaces except pull thru. There is a tent area which the staff allows homeless to stay for extended times and there are only 50amp electrical connections so if your rig need 30, you should buy an adaptor before arriving. The bases security is tight but no tighter than any other active military base.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
1.6
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
1.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
1.0

Week of June 28, 2014

All I can say is HELP! This campground needs it desperately. The showers in the "new" men's bathroom are closed so this leaves only the showers in the old bathrooms open and one of those is not working very well, and these are locked at 10PM each night! There are dogs EVERYWERE! I have a dog, 1 dog, not 3 or 4. Dogs are barking all hours of the day and night. People come here to relax, and they can't. When the guy in office is told (he looks like he just woke up) he is no help. Says that if we have a problem to call the police. Surely it is his job to monitor what goes on and help with people with their concerns. The pull through spaces need attention, very uneven pavement, not mowed, watered or cleaned up. The back in spaces are nothing more than parking lots with rigs one on top of the other, in some cases almost touching....where is the safety consideration? Some people have so much "stuff" outside it looks more like a trailer park than a campground. I mean really, who goes camping with 30 plants! Even though this camp is in bad shape, the camp hosts, Mary and her husband, were very friendly and helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: August 21, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
2.0
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0

July 25 - 28 2012

Have been coming here over the years, but it seems to be slowly spiraling down hill. My main concern is the host's site, what a mess. The only thing missing is a car on cement blocks. And the junk is working its way out on to the street. There is also the problem of their SIX dogs. And seems to be a large percentage of campers being here for months, even years. Not that safe feeling we get usually when staying at Famcamps. Sad.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: April 18, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
1.9
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
1.0

April 17 2012

When we got to the gate we were told we needed the registration and insurance, open all compartments to include the hot water cover and the cover to the refrigerator and go into the building! As I was looking for the ins card another rent a cop came up and said we didn't need that since we had our ID cards. Not sure what they were looking for in the back of the hot water heater and refrigerator. But we opened them anyway. When we got to the famcamp we did not see the same things as in the pictures. First of all the nice sites they show are of a few pull throughs that are very unlevel and broken up concrete pads. The rest are back in sites that are in 2 parking lots. I ask the host where the water is that is in the photos and he said a few miles away, what parts of it is open! So don't come here to be by the beach, it's not here. The wifi was down and no one can reset it after hours. The host said the office tried to reset it but it was 4:00 which is time for them to go home. The website and the Military camp book said you can not make reservations but sites are marked as reserved and the host said they changed that about 6 months ago. But nothing has been updated. Most everyone looks like they live here. Some not so clean around the campers. And they have a lot of busybodies up in here. They want to know what you are doing and don't mind standing and looking to see what you're doing. This is not a place we will come back to.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
2.0
Location 
 
2.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0

11-1 to 11-10 2007

Great base for the facilities available to visitors. You must check out the dining facility. Retirees can eat there at any time and it was superb. Now regarding the campground. My biggest complaint is that the price went up $2 a night since last year with no improvement I could see. Wifi as advertised would have been a great improvement but it was down the entire ten days I was there. When asked I was told a workorder was in to Verizen. Why no sense of urgency if the Air Force is paying for the service? Services personnel staffed the office and maintained the area. Frankly I could not see one thing that the camphosts were responsible for. Finding the camphosts will be no problem. They are full time across from the office. They have a large enclosure around their entrance to their 5th wheel and have FIVE Dogs that can usually be found in that enclosure. Go Figure... Don't expect too much empathy if you happen to have a dog complaint in this park. Next year we will probably continue past this location.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
2.0
Location 
 
2.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0

Jul 2006

Many of the "sites" are in a parking lot. The slots there are only 14 feet wide. None of the parking lot sites are pull-thru. Getting backed in can be a real challenge.

Was this review helpful to you? 
7 results - showing 1 - 7