Vandenberg AFB FamCamp

Featured New
 
3.7 (57)
66576   0   18   0   24

User reviews

22 reviews with 4 stars

57 reviews

 
(19)
 
(21)
 
(8)
 
(7)
 
(2)
Overall rating 
 
3.7
 
3.8  (57)
 
3.4  (57)
 
3.8  (57)
 
3.7  (57)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
22 results - showing 1 - 20  
1 2  
Ordering 
 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Oct 25, 2014

The FamCamp is going through a major upgrade to the pull through area. Estimated time for completion is 3-6 weeks.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

June 29-30, 2014

Arrived here at VAFB yesterday and was greeted by Ken and Mary, who were very friendly and able to put me in a pull-through spot, which I must have for lots of reasons. The pull-throughs are unfortunately not level, covered by trees, only 50 amp, and the smaller part of this Famcamp with plenty of folks who look like they've been here far longer than 2 weeks. I took a look at the back-in spots and can only describe them as sad--even ghetto-ish!. Yuck! What on earth are they thinking here? It looks more like an RV storage lot than a Famcamp. I hope the MWR manager and VAFB cc pay attention. If they want the Famcamp revenue (which can be considerable!) and invest in improvements, plenty of retirees would make this a destination, but *not in this condition*. Two condemned buildings sit just next to the sites, and one of them is padlocked with all of the former break-room furniture still in place. I wonder how long it will sit there? If you have slide-outs, are unpracticed in backing in to a spot, or don't want to live on top of other people, don't come here. If you specifically reserve a pull-through spot in advance, you'll have a good experience, though (just remember you'll have to level your rig because of the tree roots that have broken up the concrete pads). As others have said, it's quiet as a mouse here...and there are plenty of rodents--squirrels abound. My dachshund and I watched a coyote watching us back at 0630 this morning. It's also generally colder by ~10 degrees than Camp San Luis Obispo, which is just an hour north. Like others who've written reviews, I also had my rig inspected at the Lompoc Gate (having read this website to learn about entry points), but I did not find it unfriendly or alienating. Personally, I wish there'd be tighter security on all of our bases. Perhaps if they secured and maintained them better, we wouldn't find this place such a mess. I know from unfortunate encounters that there are unsavory individuals (and their spouses) who bounce between military campgrounds and cause trouble...but are allowed back.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Feb 28 - Mar 1, 2014

Called ahead to reserve a spot. Both the office gent and the new host, Ken, were very cordial and professional. The cost of a pull thru site, $22, seems a bit high but the camp is well run and handy to base shopping. Disappointed that diesel is still not available on base, nearest is in Lompoc. Would certainly stay here again.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Octorber 15, 2013- May 2014

Vandenberg Famcamp has come along in the last six months. The previous camp host is not here. MWR has installed two new Famcamp host to help with your stay. I arrived Oct 15, 2013, and became one of the camp host. The old camp host is not longer here and moved to Texas. Some of the changes that have occurred have been that staff has been added to help keep the park clean and looking good. Reservations are highly recommended, but drive-ups are welcome. There is always space for drive-ups. The base is very quiet, and the beach and fishing are very close. There is Wi-Fi available and laundry is reasonable. A big change is the dining facilities has been remodeled and is open to retirees and DoD civilians. Do not come in the main gate in your RV, unless you are a small camper van, no trailers. Go through the Lompoc gate until 1900 hrs, and then the 13th street gate after that. If you go to the 13th street gate during duty hours, you will be re-directed to go through the Lompoc gate. The base is great for that super quiet time, with lots of walking and bike riding. There is some hunting for deer and pig, and the Rod and Gun Club is top notch. We also like the bowling alley for specials. The area is great for visiting missions, and the other cities are easy to visit such as: Santa Maria, Lompoc, Pismo Beach, San Luis Obispo, Santa Barbara, Solvang, and all the wine country. To us, this has turned out to be a very beautiful winter stay. We will definitely return, even if we're not hosting. We were able to get cheap tickets to all the attractions and even cheap airline tickets out of Santa Barbara for Christmas. There is a host position coming open for the summer of 2014, please contact the MWR director on Vandenberg for information. If you're active and like to stay someplace for a few months, give hosting here a thought. Thanks,
Jonathan and Sue Hawkins

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: July 05, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

July 3-6, 2013

Let me state that everyone staying here at the campground are friendly and very helpful. Be warned if the Lompoc gate is open you will be turned away at all other gates. There are pull thru sites but we have been told there is a waiting list for those sites. It is most likely because there are a lot of homesteaders in the campground. People have lawn sprinklers set out as if they are watering their own lawn. Most of the spaces were made from two parking lots that have been converted to backin spaces. They are very tight to get into. I have a 32 foot travel trailer with opposing slide outs. When I open them I am looking right into the neighbors camper windows. If they had slide outs I could not have used the space. I was not asked when I made the reservation if I had slideouts so when making reservations you need to let them know. It's a nice base off the beaten track, very quiet with a nice commissary and BX.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

17 March 2013

T.P. left this review using the Directory software: - We had reservations for space 11 starting on the 19th but because of the issues with Camp Roberts (see my post for details) we decided to try and come in early. Called the camp on Sunday morning (the camp host answered on the 2nd ring) and asked if we could come in early. He said when we said today he said which site we told him he said wait on while I check it then he said its open I put a cone in front of it. When we got their he meet us and led us to our site offering an assistance that we might need. The base is a long way from anywhere but has some very interesting things to see if you are into missiles and the like. Good Exchange & Commissary but the post office is a bit flackey. All in all we enjoyed our stay and would return.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: December 06, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

25 Nov-1 Dec 2012

This was our first visit and found it to be very nice and friendly. The host, Steve, met us directing us to our site and answering all our questions. We inquired about washing the RV and were told we could use the RV dump site which we did before setting up in site #38. This would be nice if all camps would offer this service. Found the laundry room very clean and efficient. The on across from the office has gas dryers. Did not check out the one in the office building. Commissary and Exchange very convenient off California Ave toward the Main gate. Exchange and gas on Community and Commissary on Utah. Not a problem coming in Lompoc gate. Guards friendly. We will definitely return. Amy and John Stanton

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: November 22, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

30 Oct - 17Nov 2012

If you're looking for a place to do the touristy thing this isn't it. Other than the beach there isn't much to do here. Getting on base with a motorhome is a pain but bearable, they do go through all the outside bays while you wait in a room with no windows. The commissary and BX are good. The campground is clean and the sites are large enough that I could leave the trailer hooked up. If passing through this part of the country again I would stay here for the peace and quiet.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: July 25, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

July 23-25, 2012

Clean and friendly. Full hookups... * 50 amp only! Although it's the most extensive check I've experienced, the security check at Lompoc gate was no big deal. Took less than five minutes and the guards were friendly. It's not an "Agave Gulch" (Arizona)... but it is pleasant. Lot's of wild life roaming around the camp... we saw deer, coyotes, and an ominous shadow lurking in the dark. With family in Lompoc, we will return.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: July 23, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

July 11, 12, & 13, 2012

"Next time do not pull forward in the inspection area until told to do so by a guard." were the first words out of the second guard's mouth. I informed him that the young lady in the guard shack told me to do just what I had done and he should take it up with her if he had a problem. Without checking insurance or registration, I surrendered my ID and we were ordered out of the vehicle, to open all compartments, and to go over to the holding cell and wait to be called out. The holding cell is to prevent you from observing the inspection, but you can observe if you are in line waiting to proceed to the inspection area. I had to open my tow vehicle's hood, but the next day when I arrived at the same gate, without my trailer in the same tow vehicle, I was waved through after showing my ID. I like security, but this was absurd. The pull thrus are nice, the rest is like a mall parking lot, although with hookups. We ate at the base Dining Hall which was very nice. For Breakfast and Lunch, you can only go in the last hour of serving time so the troops can get fed first, but Supper and weekends are open all hours for us. Saw lots of Deer and a Coyote. Steve was helpful and nice and I don't think he is from Texas. Forget emailing for reservations - they don't get to Shelly. Phone calls are not answered regularly and there is no answering machine. Per Shelly, "Just show up and we'll find you a place."

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: May 15, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

May, 2012

Loved staying here. Close to beaches, small town charm of Lompoc, with LA and San Luis Obispo within a easy drive. The office staff, specifically Shelly, is polite, helpful and a pleasure to interact with. Steve, the cigar chewing camp host, on the other hand is another story. He seems to be the leader of a "good old boys" network that exerts some influence on camp policies that favor his clique. His demeanor is tyrannical, rude, crass and obnoxious. But then he is a stereotypical Texan. The facility itself needs some upgrading. The laundry washing machines, the bathrooms and the WiFi system all need upgrading. But the main road into the camp is getting resurfaced after many years of dodging potholes. The reservation system is inconsistent, with some DoD civilian personnel living here full time. Thoroughly enjoyed being surrounded by viewable wildlife.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: December 25, 2010)
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

August 2010

We have been using the Vandenberg FamCamp for at least the last ten years during hunting season. We have found the park to be quiet, clean and dog friendly. Using Breakers mess hall is certainly a $$ plus and there is lots to do in the area (Solvang, Santa Maria, Buellton). However, with all the open space, we don't understand why there aren't more spaces with hookups. The pull-thrus are great (if you can get one), but the "parking lot" spaces are tight and your view is the RV next to you. You can't open your awning and slide-outs are iffy.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

May 5, May 20, 2010

I spent 15 days there in May 2010. The weather was cool and overcast most of the time. The staff are very friendly and helpful. My Verizon Broadband works but at less than optimum. Was not full this time of the year. The RV/Truck gate is under construction but still must be used to get in. Can leave through the main gate unless your rig is too big. I have a 30 ft fifth wheel and had no problems negotiating the barriers.
Check with the staff for best way out.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Feb 17, 2010

About as described by others. We got the last available pull-through spot. The back-spots are very narrow, but should allow for slide extension. The Lompoc Gate was under construction at the time of our arrival. The contract security folks were very helpful in helping us through. We recorded several GPS coordinates that may prove helpful. They are: 1. Main Gate. N34? 44.971' W 120? 31.353' 2. Lompoc Gate. N34? 42.400' W120? 30.148' 3. Solvang Gate. N34? 40.352' W120? 33.522' 4. Base Exchange. N34? 44.173' W120? 32.253' 5. Commissary. N34? 44.983' W120? 32.294' 6. Wall Beach. N34? 42.377' W120? 36.012' I am using the latest Garmin mapping software for my Street Pilot, but the GPS did have some problems with base roads, particularly enroute to Wall Beach. It worked fine routing us to other base facilities.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Feb 2008

The back-in are not as horrid as some have suggested. Yes, they are a little narrow, especially if you have slides on both sides, but there is a LOT of maneuvering room. The back-ins are all on asphalt, which is a nice change from having gravel. Even the overflow lot is paved. The pull-thrus are all easy to get into and have a lot of room between campers. The wifi was up and running when we visited, but they made some mistakes on design. I believe all back-ins will have a good wifi signal (untested, tho), but the signal pretty much disappears about 3/4 of the way up the pull-thru line, that is, sites 1-10 should be good, 11-14 pretty weak, beyond that you can most likely forget it (all this is just a guess, tho). If you have a permanently mounted sat ant, you might want to consider a back-in since the orientation of the pull-thrus and the location of pine trees will likely interfer with the signal. Check you site before setting up. Otherwise, we liked it here. Very nice place and the base is neat, tidy, clean, and with a lot of nice people. If visiting around 26Feb08, you may have trouble finding a spot, since they are having an Atlas 5 launch on/around that date. The launch is supposed to be late at night, but the exact date/time will not be released until later.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Nov. 20 - 26, 2007

Services' personel were very friendly and helpfull. We utilized a back in site and the adjacent facilities. The facilities were kept very clean. Be carefull when walking off the paved surfaces. The small ground dwelling animals there leave holes that you can trip in if not watchfull. The fog in the evening raised havic with our satilite TV reception. Wonderful base golf course. Looking forward to our next visit.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.6
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

July 07

We love this famcamp. The new camp hostess, Pat,is really trying to get things organized. She has obtained permission to use a house on the famcamp grounds and is scheduling Tuesday coffee mornings, cook-outs, potlucks, etc. She has ambitious plans but it will take a while for people to be aware and participate. Be sure to ask for the information packet when you register so you can see what she has scheduled. The laundry/restrooms behind the office are much nicer than those in the lounge across the road. This is very friendly famcamp. Be sure to take a day trip to Solvang, then go down to Chumash Casino on Tuesdays for their all-you-can-eat lobster buffet. The fitness center up the road is well equipped and the library has quite a few computers for checking email. The wifi at the famcamp only works at night - sometimes. No one seems interested in fixing the problem. We plan to come back here as often as possible.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

March 15 - 22, 2007

Not a fancy RV Resort, but a nice, quiet setting. We got a pull-thru site and wouldn't have been as happy in the back-in sites. They do seem close together. We saw plenty of wildlife from our RV. Deer next the rig, young Coyotes strolling by across the grass, Heron, Hawks, and the nearby fields are invested with a TON of ground Squirrels. We enjoyed visiting the nearby tourist attractions and towns. I was surprised that none of the RV sites have 30amp connections. We user 50amp, but others will need an adapter (which they also sell here). The new lounge is clean and modern.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Dec 23, 2006

A very quiet comfortable stay at this well managed campsite. The base offers a lot to those who enjoy the outdoors. Very close to the ocean and accessible from the campsite. Get a good base map, it is a huge base and I burned a lot of gas getting lost and finding my way back to the populated areas. Two lounges with dial up access were very comfortable. Wifi and cable would go far to make these remote sites more comfortable to those looking to stay awhile.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

DRB left using Directory Software. Visited 1/25/07

Do NOT try to drive your RV through the main gate. They will turn you back. Manager is courteous and very helpful. Pull throughs are shaded and back ins are just parking lot spaces but all have full hook ups with good 50A electricity. I would have given a FANTASTIC rating except that the base is very large and a fairly long drive to get to all local attractions and there are only 2 washers and 2 dryers at the campground. (Ed note: there are 2 wash/2dry in the old community center and another 2wash/2dry in the new community center). No railroad or airplane noises. Some wildlife. Didn't get to see a space launch but am told they are almost as exciting as the space shuttle launch. Will definitely stay here again when we return to the area. (DISCLAIMER: Our idea of a GREAT campground is one with full hook-ups 50A, clear of trees for good satellite reception, close to shopping and good restaurants. If you are into boon docking in remote quiet locations and cooking on the Barbie, you probably won't like the same campgrounds we do.)

Was this review helpful to you? 
22 results - showing 1 - 20  
1 2