Williams FamCamp

Williams FamCamp

 
3.5 (62)
71736   1   14   3   21

User reviews

10 reviews with 2 stars

62 reviews

 
(13)
 
(18)
 
(18)
 
(10)
 
(3)
Overall rating 
 
3.5
 
4.2  (62)
 
3.3  (62)
 
3.5  (62)
 
3.3  (62)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
10 results - showing 1 - 10  
 
Ordering 
 
Overall rating 
 
2.3
Location 
 
2.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0

March 2018

All sites have water hook ups which I guess they didn't this past winter. There's no playground or place for kids to play so they just run around all over. The laundry facility was pretty small for this size camp and it was hardly ever available. It didn't seem like people picked up after their dogs much even the hosts didn't. Not that we saw them. The wind can be pretty bad and it blows trash everywhere that no one will go pick up. It didn't seem like many people were out and about even on nice days. Outdoor recreation really doesn't give much thought to this place. It was very odd. We tried the commissary, but found it lacking in many ways. Prices were high, shelves were bare, produce was awful. For the price it was okay, but I don't think I will come back. 

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
1.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
1.0

Jun 7-Jun 14 2016

Poor management. Arrived a noon.  Drove my car over to Bldg 1022.  Had a reservation for a week, made with the management in Bldg 1022.  Was informed I couldn't check in until after 1400.  It was implied that we should leave and come back later.  We watched this confusion with check-in go no throughout the week with other campers.  This could be a nice FamCamp if managed properly. The folks next door decided to go to another campground after their first few days. Best to avoid this FamCamp.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
1.8
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
1.0
Overall Experience 
 
1.0

2015

Although this Famcamp has been open for several years now, and even though it APPEARS to be a well-laid out facility with paved, mostly pull-through spots with grass, management leaves everything to be desired. When there IS a Camp Host, who is rarely available, massive abuse is rampant as far as reservation system cheating, rule breaking, and failure to apply regulations equally. On and off season, you have to register/pay half way across the base with NO parking available for large trailers/RV's, they are NOT open on Sunday and limited hours on Saturday, sites are NOT assigned so you don't know whether a tent camper is sitting in a 50' pull-through, when the only first-come-first-serve spot for YOUR 45' RV is a 20' back-in spot. Their 'management' almost never supervises activity in Famcamp, and are VERY discourteous at best. Customer Service is horrible with a "YOU bow down to us" attitude rather than the requisite "We're here to serve YOU" that one would expect. Be prepared for a TERRIBLE stay!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
2.2
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0

July 15 2015

Another BAD AFB campground experience. VERY POORLY MANAGED FamCamp. We were welcomed to the FamCamp by 2 young kids (maybe 12 years old). ADA sites are being used by anyone staying and are not just for the disabled (according to Outdoor Rec) as all the sites are a first come/first served. We were there for 3 days before anyone was at the office for us to pay for our stay. The grass was ridiculously high and when I asked about it, I was told there was a lawnmower at the FamCamp I could use free of charge. We had reservations to stay for 30 days but only stayed for 7. Got a phone call and text 2 days later from the camp host asking if we had left or was still there. No base map, local map(s), nor information was provided at any time during our stay. The plus side of this camp was the free laundry (2 washers/dryers) and the BX/Commissary were close and of average sized. The fitness path was nice and with the wild rabbits and prairie dogs provided some comical bike rides. This could really be a great place to stay if the Base Command would get involved and show some pride in their facilities and ensure some responsible adults are available for checking in patrons.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
2.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0

July 7, 2013

Our stay here is in 2 parts, with a 10 day gap in between as we travel to Yellowstone. Outdoor Rec took my reservation dates about 6 weeks prior to arriving with no problem, but when I called closer to arrival to add or change a date I was told, "We haven't been able to take reservations for about 3 weeks because of a computer problem, but you should be able to find a spot." Really???? We are now in the second part of our stay and really happy we have a good generator! The entire base is just odd. It is a combination of brand new facilities and what appears to be outright neglect. The Camp has a brand new bath house with 2 FREE washers and dryers, but is not given a very thorough cleaning. The maintenance is performed by civilian contractors who come in from off base. The mowing issue is ridiculous. The story I was told (By a Nat'l Guard member who operates on base and has been here for the last 2 months) is that the grounds keeping contract was terminated at the last expiration and that the "sequestration issue" has prevented them from issuing another contract. Enlisted personnel have to do the mowing, but they have no equipment! So ... they have to borrow mowers from the National Guard side of the base to cut the grass! Nat'l guard have mowers because they maintain the airfield, while the base personnel have the radar & satellites. I dunno ... sounds like a huge "cluster" to me. We are also experiencing a base wide power outage due to bad storms that went through the area last night. It has now been 24 hours with low, intermittent and finally, no power at all. Excel Power is alleged to be the culprit ... but the main gate is shut down because the huge barriers can apparently come up from the earth with no warning, and there is said to be NO manual override. Huh. Two other gates are open, but things are chaotic. I spoke to the wife of one man who was putting their rig into the secure storage lot while she waited at the Exchange. While he was in the lot the power went out again, and he was trapped inside because the keypad to open the gate for exit could not be operated! No one at the Base Switchboard knew who to contact to try and get the guy out. I hope the base Commander gets to read this comment. This park would be a lovely, lovely place to come and could really do this base proud ... but just now it is a mess. BRAND NEW pads and utilities, NEW laundry & showers ... NO HOST and NO MAINTENANCE. What a crying shame!!!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
1.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
1.0

July 2013

Do not attempt to come to this park unless you bring your own lawn mower or weed eater. The "natural" landscaping is about 3 feet high!! This park is a disgrace to Buckley AFB and an embarrassment to the Air Force.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: July 05, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
2.1
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
1.0

Jul 2-3, 2013

This could be a great FAMCAMP. However it is not kept up. The reservation system is reported to be down for over three weeks. Grass is 2 feet tall and presents safety issues especially when leaving the grounds because there is a running track before a stop sign. Please be careful as the path is busy. With minimum care could be outstanding. Excellent Exchange and Commissary. Using the commercial gate is not an issue.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: June 25, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
2.3
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0

June 25, 2013

As one reviewer said there is no office on site. You have to go to outdoor rec to get your post sign but the guy in the office said to stop by on the way in.....YOU DON'T WANT TO PULL IN THAT PARKING LOT WITH A BIG RIG! I'm not really sure how they can take reservations without assigning you a spot but I asked if they needed to know what spot I picked and he said no. Doesn't really sound like they care. Sites are large and they have several BIG pull throughs. It appears the grounds are not kept up at all. It's a real shame because this park could be very nice.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: June 15, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
1.6
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
1.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
1.0

14 JUNE 2013

I agree with the previous reviewer, skip this place and head to one of the other military campgrounds nearby. Grounds are a mess, tall sporadic grass, when it rains mud flows everywhere so much so my spot had inch thick dried mud on it that I cleaned up. Reservations are very disorganized, you call and pay in advance but spots are not assigned and if you arrive after hours without a reservation you can just pick a spot. So we had a reservation and had already paid but arrived later in the day and the only spots left were three broken spots. I took apart a broken water connection from one and got enough parts to fix a different spot. Of course if there is a host he is not marked and no where to be found. When these issues were brought up to the outdoor rec personnel they were not willing to help or accept any responsibility. It's a shame because the campground could be very nice, has a nice layout and is close to Denver and all of its attractions but until they get some management just skip it.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: May 21, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
1.7
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
1.0
Value 
 
1.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0

May 21 2013

First of all, the directions to get to the FAMCAMP are very good. What you don't know is that either you stop at the outdoor rec building 1022 on the way into the base or you have to go back after you select your site at the FAMCAMP. There is no set procedure. Just know that there is no office on site. The phone number listed is not a good one. Try 720-847-6853. I used the 720-847-6100 and got Beth who told me they were so busy I should call back tomorrow but she assured me that a space would be available. What I was not told was how to contact the office upon arrival but there was a couple in the laundry and they told me what to do. The grounds are a mess. Had they issued a mower I would have been happy to clean up our site. When I say the grass was over a foot high, I may still be a little short. The weather was cool so that was a plus. We stayed a week to cover the Memorial Day holiday. The fee is $22.00 a night and the free laundry does not make up for the rest. It seems as if no one is responsible for running this park well. Would advise skipping this for the Academy Famcamp!!

Was this review helpful to you? 
10 results - showing 1 - 10