Williams FamCamp

Williams FamCamp

New
 
3.5 (57)
66506   1   14   3   20

User reviews

17 reviews with 4 stars

57 reviews

 
(12)
 
(17)
 
(16)
 
(9)
 
(3)
Overall rating 
 
3.5
 
4.2  (57)
 
3.3  (57)
 
3.5  (57)
 
3.3  (57)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
17 results - showing 1 - 17  
 
Ordering 
 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

May 2017

I too didn't count on the water situation nor was I informed when making my initial reservations. Fortunately, we had enough water in the tank to get through our short stay. Subsequently, every time I had contact making and changing other reservations I was asked if I was aware of the issue. Speaking of reservations the system seems to be very much in flux - when I first reserved I was told I could take any open back-in. Then on arrival I was told that was old news - the reservation system no longer distinguished between back-in and pull-thru, now any open site was available to me. Then when checking in for my most recent stay I saw a sign indicating because of the hiring freeze reservations would no longer be taken. Gotta be flexible for sure. But it is a good, clean, quiet, well kept park and at $12 you can't beat the price for the location. There is water available at a water point (hydrant) on the first row - tank up when going in. 

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

August 1-23, 2016

This is overall a good facility; very much improved management since the previous year before when the reservation system was a disaster and many permanent squatters staying long as they wanted with no room for those with reservations. Communication between the camp host(s) and outdoor recreation seems much improved. 45 day is the maximum stay limit for the entire summer season (before Oct 1) which is better for all concerned. The best part is the convenience to Denver and to the Rocky Mountains. A few more shade trees for the hot summer heat would make this a first class facility. Restrooms and showers are cleaned daily and laundry is free. 

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

September 9, ,2016

The parking lot for outdoor rec is small. We drove to the famcamp and spoke with the host. He explained about the water problem but showed us where we could fill our rv tank, up the hill. After picking a site we drove to outdoor recreation and checked in. The price was $10/night because the issue, so we truly felt compensated. We are experienced travelers on the go and passing through many places. If you're looking for a resort for entertainment or can't work with (stuff happens) go somewhere else and pay those prices (at least $35/night).As a matter of fact the last couple of nights we were on the other side of town, Standley Park for $19/night with NO electric, water or dump! Thankful Buckley had a place for us to stay. 

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

May 18 - Jun 1, 2016

We just spent 3 weeks at Buckley Famcamp, and enjoyed our stay.  The Famcamp is located away from the city and majority of the base with quick access to the commissary and BX.  It is quiet except for the "sounds of freedom", F-16s, taking off and buzzing the runway which is located right across the street.  Don't get me wrong, we loved hearing and seeing them and took many great pics!  Free laundry, 2 washers and 2 dryers.  Bath/restroom facilities appeared clean, we did not use them.  When you check in you can borrow an unlimited WiFi, $50 deposit, that is returned when you return the WiFi.  It worked great!  Sites are level.  Although there were some families with children in the Famcamp they were quite and not bothersome, no bouncy houses.  Over all we really liked this campground and will use it again if we return to the Denver area.  Now the not so positive:  the campground is run by MWR and has NO emphasis placed on it from the base/MWR commanders consequently MWR pays no attention.  There were 5 sites with broken water pipes that have not been repaired and no one shows any signs of wanting to repair them.  The streets within the Famcamp are narrow, not enough maneuver space when you must turn corners, as evidenced by the mud on the roads and ruts in the grass areas.  At least one site is all but impossible to get into even with a trailer due to the sites positioning and the narrow roads.  The Famcamp sits on a hill and many of the sites are low, when it rains they retain water.   Mowing happens only before holidays so the grass was high, due to all of the rain.  They mowed just before Memorial day weekend and brought a street sweeper in and cleaned off the interior roads.  What a difference!  Do not trust your GPS, even with the coordinates listed, ours took us to the 6th Street gate.  Call ahead and get the physical address of the Mississippi gate, much easier to maneuver!  The gate guard was super about allowing us to go through and told us that 18 wheelers came through all the time.  The off set barriers ~ once you get through the gate can be maneuvered but not easily.  With a little emphasis from the base/MWR commanders this could be a 5+ Famcamp!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

May 2016

Camp host is active duty and his sight is his home. The bounce house he rented with teenage girls screaming and yelling for all to hear shows this. They over booked again we were lucky someone left early. Two sights wear OOC due to water problems that no one is fixing to fast. Great location, great value, nice sights. Someone needs to get better hold on reservations and just common sense management. Reading many reviews show no one's in a rush.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: September 12, 2015)
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

26 July-3 August 2015

Arrived on a Sunday so the office wasn't open. Went directly to the famcamp. Being that my Coach and trailer are just about 70' I would have liked to have a pull through but there was only one back in, disconnected the trailer and made due. I checked with the "host" and their daughter answered the door (parents at commissary), she was extremely polite and helpful, could only wish some of the camp hosts at other famcamps were as professional as her. I was abe to move to a pull through the next day. The laundry is "free"..nice bonus. The only problem that I see is that there is some "long term" residents. They do follow the rules and extend with space available. I would suggest to call in advance for site availability. Over-all we had a very plesent stay. Nice level concrete pads and many plenty long enough to fit any long rig. I agree with what was posted in the last review. I would and have recommended this CG to others already.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

July 2015

I have to disagree with the last reviewer, who was also here this month. Comparing this stay with one 2 years ago shows great improvement in the management of this camp. That is not to say that it couldn't be better, but progress is being made. 2 years ago the grass and weeds were knee high and higher ... such a shame in a facility with otherwise great potential. The ground cover is still rough, but it is trimmed to a 5" level (appropriate for drought conditions) and if it gets too high before the next trim, there is a lawnmower that you can borrow and keep your site to your own preference. (This offer is made by the Camp Host with tongue in cheek, but I think he will give you the loan of his machine!) If you report that you have seen a snake, they will mow immediately ... there have been rattlesnakes seen in the past, though rarely. The Outdoor Rec office was fine to work with when I called for availability. You go to the FamCamp, choose a site, and then go to outdoor rec to check in. Bear in mind that this camp fills up quickly in the summer and if you park in a site without a reservation, you may get bad news that all the sites have been spoken for and you will need to get back on the road. There is no overflow, but there is a place to park in the campground while you are securing your spot at Outdoor Rec, if you have not reserved. We were greeted promptly and nicely when we arrived, and the Camp Host made sure we were on the list of arrivals. They carefully explained the grass situation (after I commented on how much better the place looked) and the mention of snakes (it IS Colorado, after all!). The 2 young ladies mentioned in a prior review are the Camp Host's daughters and they are lovely and helpful kids. The laundry equipment is new (and free!) and the showers/bathrooms were very clean. The dumpsters are handy and at one end of the facility ... the farther the better, in my book, if you are worried about rodents and what is wanting to EAT the rodents! It is a small camp ... more trash receptacles would be silly. There ARE several places to get a bag or dispose of doggy waste. That is a plus in my book! The Main Gate closes at 6pm, which is a pain, because it is a long way around to the Mississippi Gate (RV and Commercial). Remember that RVs and large vehicles MUST use Mississippi. With the GPS coordinates, it is easily found. Medium sized BX and Commissary, but every other store under the sun within 5 miles. Great proximity to Denver airport, loads to see and do. Great Verizon signal for my personal wifi. All sites have full hookups, concrete pad and table. No trees, but that means a great shot at the sky for your satellite. LOVE being near the airstrip ... super exciting things to watch!. Very few long term campers ... no homesteaders who have been here for years, that I can see. Clean, tidy and fine camp.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

July 21, 2014

While it is apparent that there is very little management associated with this CG, I'm not one to look for dirt in a pile of gold. There are a lot more positives than negatives. All sites are level concrete pads which any sized rig can fit onto. The interior road is asphalt. The bath house is modern with a couple showers/toilets each. The laundry room has two new wash/dry machines and they are free to use. Voltage is on the marginal side if you're a two AC RV and want to pop on the microwave or water heater. But then the CG was full and it was 90+ degrees at the time of this review. There are no trees. They do something with respect to WiFi that I have never seen done before. You can check out a Verizon MiFi for a $50 refundable deposit and take it to the RV. It was fast and you're on your own network. This isn't a "kid friendly" park since there isn't a play ground, but there are plenty of kids here now and they seem to make do. Check-in at the rec center, albeit can't be done on the weekend, is easy with friendly and helpful staff. This is not your typical AF base in that there isn't a lot of amenities, but the commissary is well stocked. Contrary to the previous review instructions, I used the 6th street gate. I suspect negotiating the barriers would be more challenging in a 5er, but I had no issues with a 38 ft MH without a tow.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

12-16 July 2014

This could be an outstanding FamCamp if they just took better care of the park. If you come in after 1400 Sat and depart before 0900 on Monday, there is no place for you to pay or any directions for a place to leave your money. My recommendation would be to take a look at Mountain-Home AFB and see the type of self registration they have and the huge safe where you put your money. Or even maybe a Camp Host who can take care of business. The staff (after 0900 M-Sat till 1400) are very helpful and want to do the right thing. Currently their reservation system is down so, first-come, first-serve. Not sure how that plays if someone had a reservation prior to the system going down. I would recommend the park and would stay here again when in the area. Excellent walking trail and very nice Comm/BX. I mean anyplace with free washer and dryers can't be all bad.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

April 2014

V.S. left this review using the Directory software: - We camped here in April in a motorhome. Still windy and cold at night. One must keep in mind that this is high desert climate and green grass is not common. The sites are well laid out, roads and sites paved/concrete. Their WIFI program is outstanding. The rec office will lend you your own Verizon MIFI unit with unlimited data for a deposit of $50. Which is refundable when you return the unit. This is a fantastic idea. I wish famcamps run by all branches would pick up on this idea. Granted they worked a deal with Verizon to get unlimited data. High praise and at-a-boys to the rec director that came up with this idea! I would definitely stay here again with in the area.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

October 5-9, 2013

I read the previous reviews and agree with most. I also want to thank those who commented on how to get to the campground especially the part about skipping check in until settled in the spot --- very valuable. I found the campground to be well laid out, high desert motif, good location, great paths for running/walking, good laundry/showers, and worth the price. I empathize with the previous reports on high grass but having lived on the high desert for some years I found it acceptable. I also noticed Buckley AFB does not have their outdoor services listed on ICE so cannot get command attention.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

June 2012

T.M. left this review using the Directory software: - While I agree with the other comments especially their lack of organization, it is a nice camp, large sites and free washers & dryers make up for extra cost of site. Try and fine a campground around Denver as nice as Buckley for the money.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: August 23, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
3.6
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

August 13 - Sept 13, 2012

This is our second stop here to visit family. I first thought this new famcamp was on its way to be a very good famcamp. I think the first reviews (including mine) were optimistic. All the grass is dead (experiencing a severe drought) except around the restrooms/laundry where it is sprinkled. The camp host situation as I was told by Jeff has changed...they are looking for a camp host but there are no benefits to host here except you can stay as long as you host. No commitment, no compensation and no defined duties. Hopefully there will be a commitment from the base to put some trees in to break the wind, to replace the grass, and to do something with the pond area over the winter and next spring. Signage is still a problem, as is the check in procedure. The only famcamp signage is when you have driven the entire length of the base. If you have anything bigger than a class b van you can not go to outdoor rec to sign in and get a site because their parking lot is small and already had many vehicles parked in the parking lot. So you need to go to the campground and find a site, go back to outdoor rec and only to find out that you must move to another site since they reserve a specific site when you call in for reservations. Even with the lower ratings I gave the famcamp, it is better than local campgrounds. If you are using this as a home base to see Denver you would do well to stay here, if you are also traveling to Colorado Springs. The Academy is cheaper and has more to offer.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: July 03, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

June 24-July 3, 2012

This is our second stay since the first part of June 2012. I concur with all the previous reviews. I am dismayed at the laxness of emptying the dumpster..it has been over a week and it is running over. Fourth of July is 2 days away and you know it won't get picked up then. I actually bought a cheap lawn watering ring and have tried to water the "grass" around our rig. The wind is bad and newbies learn quickly you can't leave your awning down for very long. Prevailing winds seem to be from the SE and are very strong, especially in the afternoon when thunderstorms build up. We are Colorado residents and yes, the state parks are VERY pricey...over $40 for a small camp up north of Denver, so $22 doesn't seem too bad. When you consider we have had 100 degree days for over a week, being plugged in to 50amp vs. running the generator 24/7, $22 seems to be a bargain. Being close to the VA hospital and clinics is a big plus for us.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: May 24, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

April 15- May 15, 2012

Agree with all of the comments so far. We enjoyed our stay BUT the newly planted grass was allowed to grow and go to seed which the field mice loved. We are now in a totally mouse free area and have removed four mice from inside our rig and still counting! We've been full time for 14 years and have never had a mouse. No reservations would be a good change or make reservations but don't assign site until arrival. That would make it so you would not have to change sites in mid-stay. After the fact we discovered that it would have been better to make a reservation for the longest time you might stay and then get a refund if you left early. Strangely, that would not have been a problem for management. Who knew??

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: May 10, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

23-24 April 2012

New campground - that says it all. The sites are all concrete with blacktop access. Large, easy access pull throughs and some back ins. Because campground is new, the grass was not cut yet - also because early in the spring and they haven't had a chance. They are looking for a camp host and this will only improve the park. My only neg is there is no signs to identity the location of the famcamp. You come in off of Mississippi Ave and continue past outdoor rec to almost the other side of base. Turn right at the stop sign to the famcamp. The only sign there is to the RV/POV storage lot. I talked with Jeff at outdoor rec and they are waiting for the signs to be made and installed so when that happens, will be easier to find. Great famcamp, great location and this is one we will stay at again.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

May 2012

First, let's lok at each category. Location: Some might think Buckley's location in greater Colorado is rather industrial and very close to the flightline, but on the other hand consider it is just minutes from I-70, a major E-W Interstate, and just a few more from I-25, major N-S road. And then there's BIG Denver, just minutes west on I-70, or through some reasonably nice suburbs, via old US-40 (THE E-W road before I-75 was built, via mainly residential Alameda Avenue, or south on I-225 to booming Douglas County and every imaginable shopping experience including IKEA, Nordstrom's, Macy's, etc etc etc, All things considered, this one rates a clear 4 of 5, only thing lacking is a rural, quiet, pastoral, dreamy, "perfect" setting, but hey, that's almost perfection! Cleanliness/Hospitality: The park is almost brand new, and lots of growing pains and kinks are being worked out. First, cleanliness. 100% paved roads and nice concrete pads throughout. Pads tilt very slightly to allow water runoff, so you may wish to use a chock under either side of your RV, or you can just live with what we found as a 'no big deal' very slight tilt. There is no camp host yet, so clean up duties are being shared by Outdoor Rec staff. The place is reasonably clean, and there's every indication it is headed for a "5" in a month or two, once a host is hired and in place. Hospitality: Top drawer. Ask to see "Sue" when you check in. None finer or more cooperative! Same for Jeff, the Manager at Outdoor Rec. Both repeatedly told me they WANT to get on-the-spot feedback from campers as they want their RV Park to be pleasing for all their clients! Again, as the place grows and matures, there will be more sineage in place at the park, a knowledgeable host, etc. If you come soon after this report was rendered, you might find the grass looks like it sure needs mowing, and the reason for its length is that it was recently seeded, and it needs to settle in before the first mow. It is planned to be kept mowed and trimmed. For now a "4", headed to a "5" for sure! Amenities and Facilities. About as god as it gets! A mile and a half west on Steamboat Road where the park is located is huge, new, well stocked Commissary, BX, gas station, and Fitness Center, which has hot showers. great workout facilities, a nice lounge, and great, helpful people. Handball, racquetball, a gym, and excellent outdoor running trail, paved, runs right thru the campground. The RV park is also adjacent to a nice lake, picnic tables, and is open for use in warm weather months. And off base there is literally almost everything. If you can't find it, you don't need it. There's even a NY City Deli in Denver complete with fresh tongue sandwiches! Great ethnic restaurants, and of course the Rockies within an hour's drive. Clearly a "5" Value: For $22 you get full hookup on every site, 50 Amp, nice bathhouse with hot water, free washers and dryers, fully paved park, tons to do and see in Denver, and nice, new shipping facilities on base. ONE THING: Buckley, because of the adjacency of so much shopping, has CLOSED their chow hall! The old 'Dining Facility' now is a small club, serving all ranks breakfast and lunch M-F, and is also open Thursday - Saturday afternoons for snacks, beer, soft drinks, etc. Value? A 5+. Overall: All things considered for the typical camper? A 4. Once cleaned up, mowed, and with a host on site, this park should be a 5. YOU SHOULD KNOW: Buckley is unusual for a military RV park in a non-resort area in that it takes RESERVATIONS. As of this writing, here's how it works: You may make reservations per the instructions on this website for Buckley, and you're encouraged to. You'll be asked to pay in advance for your entire planned stay, but you'll definitely receive a REFUND if you leave early. YOU MAY REQUEST A SPECIFIC SITE. If available it will be assigned to you when you reserve. Otherwise, you WILL be assigned a site number when you reserve. You may also merely arrive and take your chances. If you arrive without reservations, you'll be assigned a site when you check in at Outdoor Rec, or if after hours, you can take a site that is NOT MARKED RESERVED. Because this park assigns sites when people reserve, you MAY be asked to move IF you've plopped down on a site that is being held for someone who reserved. Most of the time those sites that are reserved should be so marked. But if you stay for, say a week, and want to stay longer after you've checked in, you MAY have to move. Campers should be AWARE of this policy before arriving! The staff will do all they can to accommodate your wishes within this policy, including assisting you in every way possible to give you a site without having to move in the event you stay longer. But, remember this policy and know you MAY have to move under certain circumstances outlined above.

Was this review helpful to you? 
17 results - showing 1 - 17