Bethany Beach Training Site

 
4.2 (45)
105833 0 16 2 44
Bethany Beach Training Site

Location

Installation
Delaware National Guard, Bethany Beach, DE
GPS Coordinates
38.54702, -75.06237
Location Information
Bethany Beach, DE

Directions

Directions
The Post is located 3 blocks from the Atlantic Ocean, approx 10 miles from Ocean City, MD, and 12 miles from Rehoboth Beach, DE. From Hwy 1 to Bethany Beach. Enter through the SOUTH GATE, which is located just a few hundred feet SOUTH on Rt. 1, just behind where the VFW.

Map

Google Map (Click on the map to enlarge)
Map of Bethany Beach Training Site

Contact Information

Phone Number
(302) 854-7902
Fax Number
(302) 854-7999
Mailing Address
Bethany Beach Training Site, Attn: Billeting, Bldg. 114, 163 Scannell Blvd., Bethany Beach, DE 19930-9770

Campground Information

Authorized Users
Active, National Guard, Reservists, Retired, 100% DAV, DoD Civilians, DNG.
Season
Year round.
Reservations
Required prior to arrival. Only allowed one reservation at a time. If reservation is within 14 days of arrival, full payment is required.
Internet Access
WIFI access is available. Ask for password at check-in.
Pet Information
STRICTLY NO PETS ALLOWED.
Campground Information
Seven day maximum stay, two day minimum on weekends. If arriving on a weekend, be sure to call and get the codes for entry.
Big Rig Friendly?
Yes
Facilities
Bethany Beach about 2-3 blocks away, across Hwy 1. BBTS has their own beach on a salt pond, with playground.
Amenities
  • Dump, Sewer
  • Electric
  • Playground
  • Beach

Site Information

Type of site
Spaces
Hook-ups
Daily
Weekly
Monthly
RV Site
22
W/15,30A/S
$22
N/A
N/A
Motel/Apt/Mobile Homes
30
Full
$18 - $54
N/A
N/A

Other Information

Weather Information

Very relaxing campground very close to the beach.

Photos

Bethany Beach Training Site
Bethany Beach Training Site
Bethany Beach Training Site
Bethany Beach Training Site
Bethany Beach Training Site

Attachments

  • File Description
    File Size
    File Type
    Downloads
  • Photos of the various site types.
    422 KB
    1116
  • 2014_Lottery
    Details and instructions for use of facilities by lottery for 2014.
    346 KB
    1576

Map

Swap Start/End

User reviews

45 reviews

 
(21)
 
(16)
 
(7)
 
(1)
1 star
 
(0)
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.6  (45)
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.1  (45)
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.7  (45)
Value 
 
4.4  (45)
Overall Experience 
 
4.2  (45)
To write a review please register or
View all reviews View most helpful
June 19-25, 2019
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
The Staff was very friendly, helpful, courteous. and overall wonderful! The base guards were on top of it. There wasn't that usual we don't recognize you non-sense I've run into other places. The site was well maintained. The salt water pond was well maintained, mother nature of course wanted to do her thing and have some algae in the pond but what do you expect? We can't control everything, (though it seems some would like to.) The beach was just a 3/4 mile walk very doable. This was an overall great place to stay. Thanks for having it and keep up the great work! 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
June 7-9 2019
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
All of what the previous reviewer from June 8 2019 said was true, but we were in the short sites closer to the facilities which this weekend meant closer to the drill training, (marching in formation, singing) and flight ops with two blackhawks on the infield of the track. All of which took me back in some ways to my time on active duty. The updates I would add from some of the previous reviews are: The gate is manned 24/7 now so no need for access codes and you can come and go as you please. This is a tobacco free installation. The pads are all concrete in both locations and sites 1 thru 12 are tight against the fence and the access road from which to back in. This was a good break from DSSP for the weekend up out of the sand at those sites. Thanks to the Guard for the hospitality
Bethany Beach Training Site
Bethany Beach Training Site
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
June 2019
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
Not bad for a weekend getaway. The Army Guard had a drill this weekend, and the troops who brought their own RVs were whooping it up late into the night. Loud slurred speech and yelling WOO HOO doesn't work after 10pm. I scoped this place out in early May and the water in the salt pond was clear, but algae has since taken over. Globs of it on the surface and you can't see to the bottom (even though it's only 1 foot near the dock). There ARE showers, bath house, and laundry facilities, but it's not near the waterfront sites. Site 1-12 are small, tight back-in sites and the facilities are near those sites. The larger pull through sites 13-22 are a 1/4 mile walk to the facilities. My computer IS picking up an unsecured wifi signal (SSID is MWR) but no idea if it works or not. No campfires allowed, so that was a bummer. $30/night is a bit high for a FamCamp, but I guess you're paying for the location, so close to the beach. No PX, Commissary, or gas station, so think ahead before you arrive. 
Bethany Beach Training Site
Bethany Beach Training Site
Bethany Beach Training Site
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
October 2018
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
We stayed at BBTS for 5 nights in early October while visiting with friends and family in the area and were pleasantly surprised to discover such a nice facility so near the beach. Full hook ups, a nearly level pull through site, secure location, free laundry (which we didn't use but saw the facility), and friendly staff all made for a great stay. It's pricey for a military RV park, and the fees are the same even for off-season. Drawbacks were the lack of wifi, no cable (only picked up 2 or 3 OTA channels), and man eating mosquitoes! Very relaxing. We'll definitely return here!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Aug 23, 2018
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
If you are coming from the south, your GPS may send you through Ocean City. ****DON'T DO IT*!!! ** GO UP TO ROUTE 26 and straight over to Bethany Beach. I concur with most of the previous comments. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
April 17-24, 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
This was our first visit and very pleased. The staff and gate guards very helpful and nice. Made them some cookies before we departed to let them know. Location is perfect and Bethany Beach a nice non congested small community. While there we visited Fort Miles SP and toured Battery 519 which is open on Fridays and Saturdays for tours. Also visited town of Lewes and New Castle. Also Kalmar Nyckel ship next to Fort Christina in Wilmington. Shopping near by. Laundry very clean,free and 10 washers and dryers. We were only ones in campground for 5 days. Had site 22 next to pond. Oval walking/running path steps away. Yes, would definitely return. Amy and John Stanton
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
July 2017
Overall rating 
 
3.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
Office is not open at convenient hours to rent or return equipment. Daily rate is $30, WIFI rarely works and they don't seem to care. Salt pond and playground are nice but pond is not for swimming and spaces are pretty close to each other with no shade. 1SG Bill
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
Sept. 5, 2017
Overall rating 
 
2.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0
Surely they can't mean ADA dogs, that fly's in the face of the American Disabilities Act.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 1
Oct 6-9, 2017
Overall rating 
 
1.9
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
1.0
I loved this place until I got a dog. Unfortunately for whatever unknown reason this installation does not allow dogs. The facility should give serious consideration to changing this policy. Especially in the case of visitors with their own RV. Until that happens we for one will not be able to stay here. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 6 0
1 - 6 Sept 2017
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
This is a very nice campground, located just a few blocks from Bethany Beach and just a short drive North to Rehoboth Beach, DE & a just 10 miles South to Ocean City, MD beaches. As said earlier, there really aren't ANY "amenities", just a very nice FREE laundry. The biggest disappointment we found is that there really ISN'T CABLE TV SERVICE available: the woman in the Billeting office explained that they'd changed their cable provider to one that requires use of a "digital box" & they've not had the funding provided to purchase these boxes. Also, be advised that the MAIN GATE is permanently CLOSED & you need to enter through the SOUTH GATE, which is located just a few hundred feet SOUTH on Rt. 1, just behind where the VFW conducts their weekly chicken BBQs.
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
June 9 - 11, August 11-13, 2017
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
SO do not let the 3 fool you, there are really no Amenities at this site other than a small but very nice gym, clean showers, and free laundry, the playground by the salt pond is really in bad shape the little dock area is great for crabbing and the site itself was beautiful, we stayed at site 18 and had a GREAT time. The training center itself is quiet, and small which is really great for us, and we had a GREAT stay, we are actually headed back down next week for 3 days but I can assure you next time we are going down for 7 days. There is beach access directly across the road from the training site that you can literally walk to if you don't have a whole lot of things to drag along, The chicken BBQ which is hosted by the VFW every Saturday morning was pretty good for the price I think it was 5 bucks or something. There are armed guards at the gate 24/7 and they are super nice and professional.......Overall its an amazing value that's clean in a great location I will make this a yearly stop for us. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 4 0
2 - 9 June 2017
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Fifth Street is a little difficult to recognize while driving down SR 1. I drove past the entrance and had to make a few turns on narrow streets to return. Going South on SR 1 you will pass the closed main entrance to the post. (There is a Huey on a stick at the main entrance.) The next street on the right is the entrance street to the post. It is approximately 100 yards from the main gate with the “VFW BBQ Chicken House” just before the turn. It is a narrow road entrance and a narrow gate. Wide enough for RVs, but only oneway traffic. If a vehicle is coming out you have to let it pass before you enter. The gate is 24/7 with friendly, professional civilian guards on duty at all times. A great place to relax and enjoy close to the beach. Our pad was assigned to us on my email account so we went to the RV site, set up and then went by the billeting office. Sites 16 through 20 are pull through with a paved and gravel road to enter the pads. The pads are all concrete, level, full hook-ups, picnic tables and BBQ grills. The laundry is in building 162 with numerous free washers and dryers. We were there during a drill weekend so a few UH-60s flew in and out and some troops were here. Very low key activity. No facilities (PX, Commissary, Hospital), but the surrounding area offers everything. We will definitely return to this site for a week vacation in the future.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
12 June 2017
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
I have reservations for the week of 12 June and thought I would share that they do have open sites. The price is now $30 a day and you have to pay 15 days prior to the dates you request, if you change the reservation it can not be refunded. This is a wonderful site right near the beach and very peaceful. We have stayed there about three times now; it's the best beach site.
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
Spring/Summer 2017
Overall rating 
 
2.8
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
1.0
Faxed Lottery request form as previously required but no response. Called on April 12th and was told all sites were booked from April thru end of September. When asked if received Lottery request form was told no longer required at which I responded that website does not indicated that and did not receive any correspondence/email/phone call to inform otherwise. I was then informed that new priority listing was established and that a no response meant lottery(?) had been conducted and all request available dates had been filled. I was then told that reservations can be made six months in advance of requested dates.
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
Summer 2017
Overall rating 
 
3.6
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
Just tried to make reservations for the last two weeks of July and was told that EVERY site was booked for a 'youth camp'. Not happy. If I can find something else in the area, I'll stop by and verify this. I certainly hope that this wasn't BS.
Report this review Comments (4) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 1
Aug 20-27, 2016
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Spent a week in RV spot 13, What a hidden gem! Fantastic! Clean restrooms with nice showers, clean and free laundry room, across the street from the beach, kids play area and docks with canoe rentals $6 overnight! Friendly staff, made to feel right at home. Just minutes from Ocean City we will be back.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
June 17-19, 2016
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
pull through sites 13-22 full hook up including sewer,  $30 per night  outstanding value.  Bring your bikes,  short ride across US 1 to the beach,  trolley leaves right outside gate for 25 cents into Bethany Beach.  VFW chicken barbecue every Saturday right out in front of the gate.
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
April 29-30, 2016
(Updated: May 02, 2016)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
We stayed at Bethany Beach one night while moving up the East Coast. Sites 1 to 12 are more suited to smaller rigs. They have new pull through sites 13 to 22 with 50 amp service, water, electric, and cable ($30 per night).   They are next to the salt pond.  The ones closer to the pond may be tighter for swinging into (backing in would be okay) but the others are fine.  Running/walking track right next to the sites with viewing to trees and osprey nest.  Small fishing/crabbing dock.  Make the left turn from the south right before the sign - security guard at gate.  Easy walk/bike ride about 4 blocks to the beach.
  • File Description
    File Size
    File Type
    Downloads
  • Photos of the various site types.
    422 KB
    1117
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
August 2014
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
What a beautiful place and location is great. 12 miles from Rehobeth Beach, Delaware and 10 miles from Ocean City Maryland, not to mention it's right across the highway (walking distance) from Bethany Beach. Yes RV sites 1-12 a little tight for manuevering but all in all great. In back of the small training facility so, you can't expect a lot of amenities such as recreational, commissary/BX, gym, etc. But do have a weight room, laundry, shower/bath facilities and a host/check-in office that will provide information on local eateries and things to do. It has a salt pond for swimming, fishing, kayaking that leads to a canal and also a 1/2 mile track for walking, running, biking and large open field for playing almost any sports. This facility is great because it's quiet, and conveniently located from the crowded nearby public campgrounds that look more like little trailer towns or mobile home parks. Best of all NO HOMESTEADERS allowed. Will be visiting again during July 4th weekend 2015. BTW, the staff is great, very friendly and accommodating. Remember to go through new access gate just a few yards south of the main gate which your GPS and other directions will send you through.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 9 0
Jan 16-19, 2015
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
This visit was to stay in one of several mobile homes on post ($66/night). I've used these a few other times and are convenient for those times when we stay with either a number of family members or another couple. Our RV (truck camper) is best used for just the two of us. The trailers are very nicely fitted out with bed linen, very minimal kitchen supplies and three (?) bedrooms and two baths. Minimal kitchen supplies means plates, cups and adequate dinnerware but very little in the way of cooking utensils. As always, check-in was smooth and easy. When we visit the RV sites, we often bring bottled water for drinking, coffee, etc as we often find the water there undrinkable. On the contrary, the water in the mobile home seemed quite good. I'm not certain if there were changes made to the system or it the mobile homes were on another water supply. Please note my forum post about access to the post. The 'main' gate is no longer open. The 'older' gate is now used for access.
Report this review Comments (2) | Was this review helpful to you? 6 0
View all user reviews