Dover AFB FamCamp

 
3.7 (26)
37626   0   11   2   13

User reviews

Filters 14 reviews with 4 stars

26 reviews

 
(3)
 
(14)
 
(9)
2 stars
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Overall rating 
 
3.7
 
3.8  (26)
 
3.1  (26)
 
4.0  (26)
 
3.7  (26)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
14 results - showing 1 - 14  
 
Ordering 
 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Jun 30, 2017

Really like this famcamp! Just wish they would add more sites. We've stayed here a few times in a 40' 5th wheel. Nice big spots and love the sound of freedom here with the active runway. Nice new bath house with a laundry room. If you have kids with you there is a great park/playground right across from the famcamp. Nice walking trail close by too. Come and take a chance to get an open spot...

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

10-19 Oct 2015

Good news is they now have FHU at all 10 of the RV sites. Bad news is most of the sites (8) are occupied by long term residence. All sites were occupied when we arrived. We called the office and we were advised to set up in the grassy area around the perimeter which we did for 2 nights. Two of the sites opened up on Sunday so we quickly packed up and slid into #3. Never did find the other 5 sites reportedly available for dry camping... Overall our stay was pleasant. Plan on staying up until 2200 hrs weekdays as "Big Mike" (PA System) plays "Taps" and it WILL wake you up!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

7-8 July 2015

We stayed here in a my 5th wheel. All or most of the FHU spaces were claimed by long term residents. Several appeared to be workers on the runway re-construction. There were no showers or laundry facility & no WiFi. Verizon was 5 bars though. The grounds seem cared for. Good spot for an overnight if transiting the delmarva peninsula.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

29 Mar 2015

Overall a nice stop. No wifi, no cable, no sewer. 3 PBS channels on the over the air TV. But for a 1 night stop in while headed south down the eastern shore, it was good.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

14-18 Aug 2014

Just 10 sites at this small campground, sites 1-3 no sewer. No WIFI, no cable and no bathrooms at campground. There is a nice park across the road that has bathrooms which were nice and clean, well stocked. Check-in at the Outdoor Rec Center, we never saw anyone come by to check on campers or to see if rules were being followed. With the amount of dog feces in the grassy areas and loud barking dog it was obvious some folks just did not care. Campground is next to flight line and did get pretty noisy at times but the loudest part of the day was the playing of Taps at 2200. Small base but did have an exchange and commissary as well as gas station that had diesel. Sprint cell service was OK and had 4 TV channels on ant.. Dover Downs casino just 8 miles away. This place was good value for the location but could use some adult supervision at some point.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

1 August 2014

Stopped for one night on trip from VA to MA. Good stop over location but space is limited and some campers appear to have been here for lengthy stays. Grass overall was well maintained however it appeared that the site we stayed in had just been vacated after a lengthy stay by the previous camper...grass was over a foot tall in places and completely obscured the sewer hook-up. Trash around the site from the previous camper.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

July 2013

Dover’s RV park has been identified by others as a good stopover place, but not a destination. I agree with that assessment. It’s a nice park, but there isn’t much going on in the Dover area that is going to capture your attention for more than a day or two. With that thought in mind here is a brief list of positives and negatives. POSITIVE: Small and uncrowded. They don’t take reservations and you won’t need one. Airlift museum, accessible fm Rt 9 just south of the base is right next door. If you like big airplanes Dover has lots of them coming and going. This is home station for many C5’s and C17’s. Dover Downs NASCAR track is just up the road. If you want a space during race week you better get here early. All base facilities are within a mile or so. A 1.5 mile running / jogging trail starts and ends at the park. Bombay Hook National Wildlife Refuge is up Rt 9 about 15 miles. The goose population during fall migration is something to behold. DO NOT MISS Sambo’s restaurant in the tiny little town of Leipsic. It’s also up Rt 9 just south of Bombay Hook. It is arguably the best seafood restaurant on the planet. Hard to beat the parks nightly rate of $18. Revolutionary War history abounds in downtown Dover. Many of the state capitol buildings date back to the early 1600s. Especially on “The Green”. The RV park can handle the largest rigs with utter ease. There is a large picnic ground adjacent to the park. Lots of playground equipment for the kids too. NEGATIVES: Noisy whether you like airplanes or not. The park is close to both runways. Trees but little shade. They were sighted wrong when planted. Flatter than a pool table. The base is just a mile or so from Delaware Bay. Don’t get excited about that. There are no beaches just lotsa mud and marsh. Some of the spots are taken by active duty homesteaders. If it’s hot out it will be really hot at the park. If it’s cold - you get the picture.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: September 14, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

6-9 September, 2012

Stayed here 4 nights while visiting old friends in the area. Great location, but a bit remote from base amenities. Nice layout of parking spots, plenty of space between neighbors. Despite staying 4 days I was unable to reach a real person on the phone, so I used the convenient payment drop-box located at the park entrance. All in all, a pleasant experience. Would stay here again.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

17-23 Aug 2012

R.L. left this review using the Directory software: - We absolutely loved it here. The green space all around, just the right amount of trees, extremely large well spaced sites, the park and walking path, just great! Fun to watch the planes, which for the most part were quiet at night. Outside of the base museum and the Dickinson Plantation just down the road there's not a lot of "tourist" activities but shopping for just about anything is pretty convenient. Will look forward to coming back.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

May 2, 2010 - May 15, 2010

We stayed here on site #9 for about 2 weeks. Area and base were very nice. Price is good as well however, no reservations can be made. There's a 2 week limit but you can extend it if needed. There's a nice park across the street if you have small children and a decent size BX and commissary. Overall, my family and I really enjoyed our stay here. There's also a nice AMC museum next to the FAMCAMP and police are constantly patrolling the area. Some things to keep in mind is there's no bath house, CATV, or laundry facility. There's also only around 10 slots but outdoor rec informed us they will be upgrading the camp with 15 more slots in the future. Base is small however, you are very close to several beaches. Note: take the main gate entrance and stay to the left. Fairly easy to get to the camp but there's no pull thru sites. That being said, the sites have plenty of room and we had no issues with our 36' motorhome towing a car.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.4
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Sept. 10, 2009

D.N. left this review using the Directory Software: We stayed here for five nights and thought that it is a good value. The place is kept neat and tidy. Seven sites are full hookup and three sites are W/E. Sites 1,2, and 3 may accumulate water during heavy rain. Sites are level and spacious. Yes, because it is near a runway, some aircraft noise may be heard occasionally. We did not think it to be objectionable. We have stayed near rail road tracks much noisier than this place. All in all we would use this campground again.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

5-7 Dec 2008

Our first visit to this FamCamp. Bottom line...... definitely a pleasant experience. First thing to note is that the office is not co-located with the RV sites. It is across from the commissary. The RV sites are located across the airfield, but not difficult to get to. As noted in another review, definitely use the main gate for entry. It is easy to get to on Route 113. No problem with a 37' fifth wheel. After the Main Gate go approx 1/4 mi and take the 1st right onto Dover St. Take the next right right and go to the T at the commercial gate. Turn left onto Arnold Dr and proceed around the end of the runway (couple of miles ??) to the FamCamp which will be on your left. Read the posted signs for info about the camp. We arrived, got setup and then drove back to the office to check-in. Nightly rate was $15 which is a $1 increase from what is posted for this FamCamp. As is often the case, for a first time visit, a daylight arrival is recommended. It was an easy check in, very nice people in the office. Definitely a smooth operation all around. Yes, the sites are located just to the side of the end of one of the runways. Wasn't a problem for us. Depending on the winds, that runway may or may not be in use. And when there was a C-5 or C-17 taking off it did not bother us that much. Just be thankful for the job they are doing! Very nice exchange and commissary. The exchange gas station has been torn down and apparently will not be rebuilt. Saturday morn the temp was 22 degrees! We had dripped one faucet and thus had no problem with a freezing hose or water pipe. Hope your visit to this FamCamp will be as good as was our stay.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
2.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

April 17, 2008

Nice clean mostly quiet campground. It did seem that every plane that had landed during the day took off around 10 PM. But no problem with noise other for a very short time. Only stayed one night. Did get to exchange and commisary. Nicely stocked and clean. Rated location a little low. May not be for someone wanting to stay in the area for any time, but a little out of the way for just a one night stop.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

April 2005

Located pretty much in an open field almost under the glide path for the main runway it is noisy. But it is within walking distance of the museum. Some of the sites have sewer, some do not but if you get one that doesn't you can use the central dump at the north end of the campground for free (normally a $3 fee if you are not camping there). No showers or bathrooms on the campground but the full facilities of the base are available if you drive there. Friendly people at Outdoor Rec. When it rains lots 1 and 2 become a lake. No pull thrus although you can make a couple of them pull thrus by driving across the lawn--I won't do it but I watched others do it. A bit pricey for what they offer but still a good little campground.

Was this review helpful to you? 
14 results - showing 1 - 14