Blue Angel Naval Recreation Area

New Hot
 
4.2 (84)
160120   1   31   0   101

User reviews

9 reviews with 3 stars

84 reviews

 
(42)
 
(30)
 
(7)
 
(3)
 
(2)
Overall rating 
 
4.2
 
4.3  (84)
 
3.7  (84)
 
4.3  (84)
 
4.3  (84)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
9 results - showing 1 - 9  
 
Ordering 
 
(Updated: July 10, 2017)
Overall rating 
 
2.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0

April/May 2017

Beautiful place, right on the bay, we stayed at the Anchor Cove side. The campsite was nice, plenty of room between campers and quiet. I can not fault this place for it's beauty, plenty to do from mini golf to renting out a canoe. If the weather is bad, nothing indoors to do so plan ahead for the kids. The sunsets over the water is beautiful. Lots of hiking paths, nice play area's for the little ones. The bathrooms at Anchor cove are not great. We always drove down to the battleship row family restrooms, which were always clean, large, and air conditioned. Right next to the restrooms is where you have to go for the laundry facility, so it worked out well for us. If I can attach some photo's of one of the restrooms at Cedar Cove I will. Unfortunately for us, the manager here seems to dislike all dogs, there is NO WHERE to let your dog run free, even if you have a well voice trained dog. My suggestion, take a long extention leash, If your dog is a swimmer like mine, you can go to one of the boat ramps and let your dog swim with the long leash on, Or at least they can paddle their feet. There is no dog park here. You can't take your dog to any of the beaches here anymore either, you will have to leave them inside your very hot tent, or camper, maybe your dog is lucky and you have a/c. I was yelled at one day by the manager, I had just tethered my dog up outside by the picnic table, I then popped inside to pour a drink to take back out when I heard my dog start to bark, I stepped out immediately knowing someone must be coming by and right off the bat I was being yelled at and a finger pointed towards my dog, he was shouting as he kept walking by "NO DOG MUST EVER BE LEFT UNATTENDED - NEVER!" I was so shaken at being shouted at by I just clammed up and ran and hugged by dog, this man scared me, and I had no clue he was. He just kept walking no introduction or waiting for me to explain that my well behaved dog was being left for under a minute. Later that day, my husband found out this gentleman was the manager. I do not like confrontation, and I always obey rules, this rudeness literally took me to my camper for the rest of the day, I have never in all my life been yelled at and it really upset me, not what he said, but the tone used and the look of anger on his face. My husband wanted to go and knock on the managers door, but I stopped him, I just wanted to leave. The next morning we packed up camp early and left. Looking back, I wished I'd stood my ground and spoken up, but that's the past now. A lot of the staff aren't friendly either, with the exception of Mike and the very nice man in the shop. Don't expect a warm greeting from the camp host at number 10, he simply stares and ignores you! Do I recommend this place? Yes, If you don't have a dog, We personally won't be back, as like many people our dog travels most places we do. I had heard about the new management changing a lot of things for the worse, I really didn't expect a man with a very bad temper to be hired on in a customer service type job.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.5
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

April 2015

The park is somewhat "out in the sticks" so commissary and NEX are not readily available...about a five mile drive. Perdido Bay is nearby but across a large expanse of concrete which apparently was the seaplane base back in the day. The "water facing" sites are taken by long-termers so almost impossible to reserve one of these sites. I would highly recommend a rotation basis for those folks that would like to have a water view. One of the laundry facilities is new and very nice but no rules and regs posted anywhere so we had one individual who commandeered the laundromat for hours by leaving clothes in washers/dryers and leaving facility. The park is run too loosely for our likes. There appears to be no security that we saw. We have been staying in military RV parks for many years now and move around frequently every year so we have knowledge of many military campgrounds. We stayed in the Battleship Row section of the park and all the roads are paved with concrete pads/picnic tables and full hookups. The other side of the park has only partial hookups and very wooded so your satellite service may not work. There is no free wi-fi. Did not use the marina store so can't comment. Beach is okay....not well-maintained and small.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: December 10, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
3.5
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

8 Dec 2011 - 10 Dec 2011

We arrived at 4pm and the office was already closed. Didn't quite know what to do about picking a campsite but we found some campers outside and asked them and they just told us to pick a spot and go to the office in the morning to pay. That worked. There were many available campsites to pick from and we got a pull through in the Battleship Row. The campground is rather run down looking but you can't beat the price for the area. Had a hard time finding the BX/Commissary even with a map but finally found it. The guy at the office was really friendly. I would say it's good for an overnight stay or two but we wouldn't stay there for any length of time. It was cold when we were there so we didn't check out the beach.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.1
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

November - April, 2010

Very quiet and peaceful. My biggest complaint is that the management could care less about the upkeep of the CG. Weeds are knee high, fire rings never cleaned, street lights half out along with the lights on the power hookups. We stay here quite often and it is a beautiful area and a good price - word is the manager is more interested in the disc golf than the campers. Camp hosts are in each area (A and B) but other than getting a free site they don't do anything that anyone can see. Same pieces of trash blowing around the CG for the past 2 months. Restrictions on the B side require individuals to leave (no homesteading) at least once during the summer months but it is a known fact there are two or three individuals that are permanent residents. Why? Something about their CO writing and getting an exemption - wonderful - at least one of them is drawing full BOQ and the other is a retired Navy working for a DOD contractor. This could be a top notch CG if managed properly - too bad the Air Force doesn't run it. I am a retired MCPO and it's a shame not more attention is given to this facility.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

Mar 16-19, 2008

We decided to check into this campground as we heard such good things about the area when we had been at Tyndall FAMCAMP. We were able to get a very nice site in the older section of the campground. It was pleasant and peaceful. We decided to spend a few days here to wait out a storm that was passing through our travel route across TX. The cover of the trees block the majority of the wind so we were saved from the total effects of the weather. Enjoying wooded campsites, we really appreciated our surroundings. The campground was quiet and restful. The bath house/restrooms were not up to par though. I did ask one of the employees at the check in area about plans to upgrade these facilities and from what I understood, there are no plans in the near future for Anchor Cove to have upgraded bath house/restroom. The other facilities had limited "open" times so we did not take advantage of any of them. This campground is near NAS Pensacola and all the facilities of that base. One treasure we discovered there is the National Museum of Naval Aviation. This is a MUST SEE for anyone visiting the area. There is a wonderful overflow site right on the water at this campground also. We will definitely visit here again.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

April 26, 2007

This is the third time we've stayed here on the "A" side, while passing though. I know nothing of the "B" side because I've never stayed there or been through it. The "A" side is fine for a short term (overnight/weekend) stay. The facilities are adequate, if somewhat down at the heels. And the price is right. My three stays have been spread over a period of two years and, sadly, each visit the facilities seem to be a little seedier. The prime example of things slowly degenerating is the bath house. It's a pair of single-wide trailers configured as toilet/bath house. One for women and one for men. While they are kept reasonably clean, they are just worn-out looking inside. A couple of the fiberglass shower stalls have been broken, then repaired with some brown epoxy stuff as a halfway measure. The floors are worn-out linoleum that should have been replaced years ago. The whole effect is "just keep it working well enough to get by..." Not much pride of ownership by the management. The campground is in a lovely setting, if they'd just take a little better care of things.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

March 2007

This is an old seaplane base converted into a recreation area. Stayed in older section since the new side was full. Sites are rough, sandy soil ruts easily, along with many trees make navigating through the camp an adventure. Good location for Pensacola and Mobile siteseeing. Would stay here again, but would call ahead and try to get the newer side.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

Jan 2006

Repairs still taking place to upgrade the campground. Not a bad place to stay, will be much better once all the upgrades are completed. Many trees ! Be sure to bring "Off" with you....

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.2
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

October 2005

The campground is divided into two sections. One section is closed and being upgraded with sewer/water/50A and concrete pads. Other campground is run down and rough dirt roads. Not much space to maneuver large RV's. Lots of trees prevent satellite coverage. Nice place to stop and relax, but grounds need improvements, which they are addressing.

Was this review helpful to you? 
9 results - showing 1 - 9