Blue Angel Naval Recreation Area

 
4.2 (85)
175623   2   33   0   109

User reviews

30 reviews with 4 stars

85 reviews

 
(43)
 
(30)
 
(7)
 
(3)
 
(2)
Overall rating 
 
4.2
 
4.3  (85)
 
3.8  (85)
 
4.3  (85)
 
4.3  (85)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
30 results - showing 1 - 20  
1 2  
Ordering 
 
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Dec 1, 2017 - March 1, 2018

The Battleship Row side of Blue Angel Naval Recreation Area is a wonderful RV park. We would stay there over and over again. We were there 3 months from December to March. The sites are far enough apart that you have plenty of elbow room - don't feel crowded at all. Each site is a concrete pad and very level. All roads are paved and in excellent condition. The grassy areas are kept up and I never saw any trash around. Even though there is a 90 day limit, none of the sites look like people have taken up homesteading. Its a great place for daily walks and bike riding. There is a paintball place behind the park and also a frisby golf course. All utilities worked perfectly. The host was really friendly and helpful and the location on Perdido Beach is very scenic. Our only complaints were there is no wifi - none at all. The location is out of the way. It's about 10 to 15 miles from the most popular things like Walmart, restaurants, etc. The 2 mile road (Bronson Rd) off of Hwy 98 is rough going and after awhile it gets on your nerves. There is no clubhouse for pot lucks or get-togethers. Now, if wasn't for those 4 things, this park would be perfect!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Jan. 29- Feb.3, 2018

We have stayed here several times and always enjoy our visit. We had a front tow site in Battleship Row, right across from the water. Our site was shaded, concrete, level and spacious. We love the room to ride our bikes and take the dog for a walk. Very quiet and peaceful. Stores are a 10 minute ride away and the commissary is about a 15-20 minute ride just down the highway. No cable but our satelite worked great. Mike in the office was friendly and helpful. We will be back!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.6
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Apr 30 - May 14, 2017

I stayed at battleship row. It's not very close to most things in Pensacola. It is very safe with large spots. Very little shade only in the morning. The new laundromat was inexpensive but washers didn't seem to work well and dryers some times took 3 cycles to get things dry. The new bathhouse is also fairly clean. The camp host was snobby and not helpful. Rules were only enforced with people he chose(usually younger families who were there more than just the weekend) the older retired couples and weekenders were never made follow the rules. Phone and internet signal were awful and I didn't have service most of the time. All the amenities such as mini golf and friends golf you have to pay for. The beach was very narrow. No see ums were terrible and I was covered in bites daily so bad I had to take allergy medicine and steroids from the swelling. All and all I would probably stay here again.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

13-17 Jul 2016

There were a couple signs posted that said daily rates were increasing $2 a day starting 1 Oct 16. 

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

March 13-15, 2015

This was our most recent stay at this facility as it is local to us.  We stay on the Anchor Cove side as Battleship Row is always full.  If you don't mind sand/dirt pads then this is the one.  You are directly on the water with this one. We like that as we can carry our paddleboards from camp right to the beach without having to go across the 1/8th mile of concrete you would have to at Battleship.  Bath house is decent. Sites only have power & water here but dump station is convenient. Very quiet & secluded with total shade. As we sat around campfire at night a couple raccoons decided to make a visit & steal some of our smores "fixins" right off the table. We also watched a small herd of deer (9-10) walk through campground. There are miles of walking trails, a paintball course, a Frisbee golf course, mini golf, & a nicely outfitted marina & ship's store.  It is a very large area with great sunsets over the bay. Hard to beat the price too. Will go here frequently.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

March, 2016

This is really two campgrounds - Anchor Cove and Battleship Row - that are in the Blue Angel Pak and are about 1/2 mile apart.  Anchor Cove is much more primitive; sites are dirt, have water and electricity, but no sewer.  Laundry facilities are a mile away in a different area of the park (an old seaplane base).  Battleship Row (a complex, not a row) has paved roads, water and sewer and electricity, laundry facilities, and huge concrete pads.  It is a quiet and a comfortable place for an extended stay.  The only down side is communication; the park has no cable and no wifi.  When I asked about the wifi signal, I was told the system was down and a new system was going to be installed.  Later, a camp host told me the park was two miles from the highway and plans to install cable and wifi were scrapped due to cost.  There is almost always space available in Anchor Cove, but if you want to stay in Battleship Row during the winter months, make reservations.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: October 14, 2015)
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

9-12 July 15

Nice campground. I stayed in Anchor Cove and visited Battleship row. Both areas are nice in their own way. Anchor Cove is shady but Battleship row is new and has concrete pads. The rest rooms in Battleship row are very nice and clean. I can't say the same for those in Anchor Cove. The bathrooms are prefabbed and I'm sure were very nice when they were new but the quality is deteriorating. They barely seemed cool by the A/C and in the summer in Florida, this is pretty important. It would be great if they constructed a facility like the one in Battleship row! :-)

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

March 8-13, 2015

The campgrounds are in a great location with a nice beach and close to the NAS Pensacola. Getting a reservation was a nightmare. I called several times over several days and did not get an answer, both at the Rec Area and the main MWR at the Air Station. I left messages on the dates I was interested in and never received a return call. I finally got through and made reservations and the first day fee was taken from my CC. We arrived Sunday and the girls at the gate/info center stated that she could not find our reservation. We had booked the Battleship Row side and she said she could squeeze us in for a few days but we would have to come back to talk to Mike. After driving 750 miles that is not what you want to hear. We didn't know that you just picked an open space and claimed it. So we drove around and decided to stay on the Anchor Row side. The girl at the from desk was very helpful and tried to accommodate us but she was to overwhelmed with checking people in, checking passes, getting fishing permits etc... We did enjoy our week there but would probably opt for the Battleship side since the Anchor side did not have the cement pads and full hookups. One day the bath house was closed and there was no sign as to when it would open. The store had odd hours and it seemed like every time we checked it was closed. I would suggest that they fix the reservation line, at least call people back if they are not able to get through. An information brochure for the park with hours, locations (laundry location and pet wash) and local stores. It was not a great trip but we would give it another shot.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Christmas 2014

We stayed here over Christmas. Nice stay except for the rain. So we did experience a few evenings with spectacular sunsets. 2 different sections to the cg. We stayed in the Battleship section. Large sites. We had a pull-thru. Nice bath house with laundry room. Clean. I had lots of trails, etc. to hike or ride my bike. This cg is in a gated area but is not located on the base. The commissary/NEX is about 15 minutes away. This base used to be for the seaplanes. Didn't get to see any Blue Angels flying. We'll have to plan a trip when it's not a holiday so we can watch the best of the Navy fly.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Jan-Feb 2015

Nice campground. We were here for several weeks. They don't assign sites. You drive around and pick any open site that doesn't have a blue tag. Most sites are back-ins but we got one of the few pull-thru sites next to the laundry and showers. You can move sites if you find a vacated one but we stayed in the same site the whole time there. Our site felt more spacious and was open to the sky. Interior roads are paved and pads are cement. No free wifi (you have the option to pay $7.95 per day or $24 a month per device). No off leash dog park but many areas nearby to walk your dog. Hookups were convenient. While we were there, they opened a new pet wash room. I really wish they had spent the money on a fenced in dog park instead. We had our mail forwarded here during our stay. Laundry room had 4 washers and 4 dryers, $1 per load to wash or dry. Showers are individual family rooms, spacious and clean. Camp host was visible. Nice area. Quiet at night and very well-lit. Many longterm residents with some rvs that looked like they were there permanently. Roads into park are narrow but in good condition. Commissary and NEX are about 15 mins drive. Would stay here again.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.1
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

June 15-21, 2014

We stayed in a 40 foot MH in a back-in site. No problem maneuvering into the site. The roads to the site could have some tree trimming performed. This is a nice recreation area if you are into kayaking, sailing, boating, etc. It is definitely a quiet area and far removed from shopping and other areas. The area was clean, and the hospitality was very good. Our overall experience was very good and the value is very good considering the civilian RV park prices in the area. We would stay here again.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Apr 8-21, 2014

Stayed at battleship row. Reservations can be made 90 days in advance. Cost is $20 per day, no weekly or monthly rates. Sites are spacious and easy to get my 40 ft 5th wheel into. Many pull thru sites available. Watch out for some low lying sites that flooded during thunderstorms, which are plentiful in Florida. We had to move once due to flooding. Campground is located approx 8 miles from BX/commissary. All roads are paved. Bath house appears new and clean with 3 family shower rooms. Upon arrival you are told to choose site you want and call office with site number. Ocean view sites are available but scarce and taken by long termers. Blue angles were practicing twice weekly at the naval museum and open to view at 1130 am tues and we'd. Visited the oaks and anchor grounds. They are older and appeared crowed with small sites.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Mar 9-13, 2014

We stayed on Battleship Row. Very nice campground. Beautiful site of the bay. The place was extremely clean and well maintained. Very quiet and peaceful. The host was very friendly and helpful. The shower house was cleaned daily. (Can't recall the maintenance man's name who cleaned the place but he's a 5 star employee. Great guy.) Unfortunately have to only rate Amenities as a 2 as there is nothing else at the location. That was fine with us but for others expecting an Exchange, Commissary, golf course, etc within walking distance you'll have to drive a distance.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

October 14, 2013

Very well maintained, quiet, exellent staff, secluded campground. We stayed in the "full hookup" campground (Battleship Row) with a view overlooking Perdido Bay. After hours security lacking. We were quite pleased and will return in the future.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: May 17, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

May 15 - 18, 2013

Last minute change in plans brought us to Blue Angel RV Park, and we were very pleased with the facility. Friendly, helpful staff, nice sites with concrete pads and full hook ups, very nice bath house and laundry. Great view from the front rows and a short walk to the beach and a great view of Perdido Bay. We took a ride to check out the RV Park at NAS Pensacola and weren't impressed with how tightly they pack them in over there. The only down side I can see to the Blue Angel site is they don't take advance reservations because they aren't computerized. Seems like the military could figure that out and bring this to a full 5 star facility. In all, a GREAT location and close to everything. Make sure to spend the day at the National Naval Aviation Museum - even if you've been there before, it's changed and worth another visit.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.1
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

10 to 14 Mar 2013

B.C. left this review using the Directory software: - The new section was added and opened in Nov 2012. More pull throughs and Handicap. Slabs level and less trees then old section but easy to park your rig.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: January 21, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
3.6
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
1.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

JAN 2013

THIS CAMP GROUND HAS WENT FROM 450.00 A MONTH TO 540.00 A MONTH WITH NO ADDED AMENITIES. THEY HAVE LOW WATER PRESSUER SINCE THEY ADDED THE NEW 40 SITES IN BATTELSHIP SIDE OF THE CAMP GROUND. IT IS A NICE PARK, BUT IT IS OVER PRICED.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: September 23, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Sep 2012

My favorite so far. Lots to see and do or just relax. First park Military or civilian that I have hated to leave and will look forward to coming back for a longer stay. Kayaking in the bay with dolphins all around you, just don't get no better.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: April 04, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Nov. 1, 2011 - April 1, 2012

Stayed here from Nov. 1 to April 1. This is the policy for winter stays. CG has everything you need, full pad, 50 amp, sewer, paved roads and street lights. Cable would be a nice addition since most sites you can not get satellite because of the trees. The grounds need help. did not see anyone doing anything on the grounds during my stay. The trees need trimming your rig will hit small branches as you travel threw the CG. the leaves need to be racked, grass cut and fire rings cleaned and repaired. I asked the office if they ever racked or cut grass and the excuse was that several years ago they where weed eating and a small rock hit a RV and the person tryed to have his rig repainted because of it. I don't buy that excuse because every CG we have visited they post when they are going to cut the grass and state they are not liable. Which is good enough for me. I asked about the fire rings being cleaned out and was told it was my responsibility. (I cleaned and repaired mine). The camp Host is tucked way in the back of the CG and i was not sure who they were. They have started construction on 40 more sites and the manager of OAK GROVE is also Blue Angles manager. I expect to see some great changes and improvements as he has at Oak Grove. Reservations and maybe some personnel changes. This review is for the Battleship side of the CG. Anchor Cove side is a mess. would not stay on that side. Camp Host over there has a porta potty and window AC units that should say it all. Some tree trimming and gravel would make it a good weekend / short stay / over flow CG.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: March 25, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

March 25, 2012

We came with a group of civilian and retired military and their family and had a wonderful time paint balling. The two people handing out equipment were polite and helpful. The grounds could be cleaner but it was ok, as it was paintball. The gate staff, however, was rude and very unfriendly. We smiled, were polite and very friendly and she was grumpy, downright rude and slow. Not a good first entrance experience for anyone later that day! (We were there at 10:30am).

Was this review helpful to you? 
30 results - showing 1 - 20  
1 2