Blue Angel Naval Recreation Area

Hot
 
4.2 (85)
168363   2   33   0   105

User reviews

41 reviews with 5 stars

85 reviews

 
(43)
 
(30)
 
(7)
 
(3)
 
(2)
Overall rating 
 
4.2
 
4.3  (85)
 
3.8  (85)
 
4.3  (85)
 
4.3  (85)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
41 results - showing 1 - 20  
1 2 3  
Ordering 
 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Feb 5, 2018

We loved this military campground located right on a beautiful bay. It is operated by Pensacola Naval Air Station, but is actually 9 miles outside of the NAS back gate off Highway 98. We stayed over on the full hook up side (Battleship Row), and were able to get reservations for 2 weeks in February. There is also a partial hook-up RV side which is closer to the mini golf. There are miles of walking trails and its an easy drive to the base with an amazing Naval Aviation Museum and a terrific lighthouse. 

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

31 MAR-9 APR 2018

My family and I had a GREAT time at Blue Angel Recreation Area (Battleship side). The staff were very nice and accommodating. As soon as we got there, we hooked up our RV to the sewer and electricity lines and walked to the beach! The sites aren't on top of each other and they're very quiet. We rented a couple of kayaks during our stay and the rental fee was inexpensive. 2 (2 person) Kayaks for 3 hours was 38 dollars. There's a Walmart and Target nearby in case you need anything, Pensacola Naval base with the national aviation naval museum and Light tower and Destin is about an hour away. Like I said, we had a great time and WILL go back as soon as the opportunity presents itself. My only concern is making the sign on Bronson road a little clearer to drivers. There's a sign informing of the turn a quarter mile away (small brown sign) but it's still pretty sudden when you get to the turn. It's only a 2 lane road so you have to be cognoscente of oncoming traffic and the vehicles behind you. Beside that, we love it. Thank you to the site staff for being great! 

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Mar 14-17, 2018

We stayed 4 nights in anchor cove, the campground is somewhat off the beaten path but that is one of the things I truly loved about it, it was very quiet and peaceful. Camp Host was very helpful. Your about 20-30 minutes into Pensacola or Orange Beach Alabama. The park is right on the water and and the view is nice to say the least. Will definitely be going back. It was a truly enjoyable time.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Feb 29 - Mar 22, 2018

We stayed three weeks in the Battleship Row part of the park. Originally were going to stay our first two nights in Anchor Cover but due to a cancellation were able to stay the entire time in Battleship Row. Don't think I'd be comfortable trying to maneuver my 45' MH in Anchor Cove. Park is on the water....the old sea plane section of war time Pensacola. Great walking and the sites are superb. Concrete, nicely landscaped, and at the right price. No wifi but the Verizon signal was good so wifi worked just fine. We were able to hook up our satellite but I could see how that might be a problem in some sites. It's a bit of a road trip to get out to most things but this is a great park and we will most definitely be back. $22 p/night.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

3-14 thru 3-17, 2018

This was our 2nd stop on our 1st RV trip ever, we stayed in the anchor cove side of the campground, it was wonderful, quiet and peaceful. we will be staying there again thats for sure.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Feb 8-14, 2018

This was our first time staying here and there is only one word for this place.... OUTSTANDING. We stayed at Anchor Cove which has no sewage because Battleship Row was full but we had a wonderful site. We were in A2 so we had the water right in front of us and it was beautiful. The staff is outstanding. We are going back many more times.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Jan 4-14, 2018

Stayed in Battle ship row from 4th thru 11th. move to Anchor cove for last few days. place was great clean and well maintained. Not as advertised for internet. NONE there. gone for about 2 years now according to the staff. will stay there again had a great time and a lot to do.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Nov 20, 2017 to Dec 01, 2017

First visit to this facility. Stayed at Anchor Cove without full hookups. This facility was very nice and all the staff I met were helpful and friendly. Would recommend this facility to all. There is also a lot to do in the area. Many walking and bicycling paths. Will return.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

5 October 2017

Beautiful, well kept campground. Many thanks to camp host J.D. who made checking in and finding a lot very easy and fast. Also thanks to Mike at the Welcome Center for his kindness while driving to Pensacola and then help extending our reservation. The park grounds are well maintained, and the bathroom/laundry facilities are clean. 

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

July 26-30, 2017

Stayed at Battleship Row from a recommendation from a friend and he was correct that Battleship Row is nice, quiet, relaxing and clean RV park. The showers and laundry were clean. Check-in was easy and the front desk was informative in get us to our spot. They are first come first serve and we were given great directions and wonderful recommendations of spots. Once your get used to the area, the drive to the Navy Shopping Center and other sites are easy to get to. Spent the day at the National Naval Air Museum which is was a great experience. We even witness a change of command/retirement ceremony. A couple of downfalls to this park is no cable or internet. It is a shame that in this day and age that these are not available. This park is highly recommended as a way to detox from technology. 

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

17 - 21 July 2017

The camp host for Battleship Row was very helpful and friendly. The view of Perdido Bay was great over looking the WWII seaplane ramps. Although the weather was hot the breeze off the water and the trees sure did help. The park area was clean and well kept.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

July 3, 2017 - July 8, 2017

The wife and I transferred from Oak Grove to Blue Angel park over the July 4th week. Was very surprised that the campground had a opening. We stayed at spot 9 at Anchor Cove. Camp host - We can't comment because we didn't meet him even though he was directly across from us. We saw him several times but never said anything to us. Mike (at the front gate) was very nice and helpful. He is the one that signs you in and assigns your spot. Location - Great for us. Away from the crowded touristy spots. Was a short 20-30 drive to Pensacola Beach (where the rest of my family was staying in a beach house). The park is off the beaten path but we liked that. Short 5-10 min drive to local grocery store or local restaurants. We were in campsite #9 at Anchor Cove. Cleanliness/Hospitality - The park was very clean. The bath house at Anchor Cove was nice but your typical military bath house. Showers and floors were cleaned daily but the walls and ceilings look like they hadn't been wiped down for months. The campsites and general paths were clean. Larger 40' rigs would have a tough time getting through some of the paths to some campsites. Battleship Row has much more space for larger rigs. Amenities/Facilities - The bath houses at Battleship Row are much nicer and have laundry facilities. The "beach" is at Anchor Cove and is small but rarely crowded. The water is brackish, shallow, and warm. It was perfect for us to relax in with the kids. But we did make several trips to Pensacola Beach to get waves. There is a large concrete pad near Battleship Row for trailer and boat storage. The campsites at Anchor Cove are sandy and dirt but fairly level. No sewer connect at Anchor Cove but that didn't bother us too much. There is a putt putt course but needs a little TLC and a disc golf course (we didn't do either but looked fun, our kids didn't want to play). No Wifi but we were there for vacation so it didn't bother us. There is any abundance of shade and trees through Anchor Cove. Value - Great. $15/nt over a holiday week during the summer. Can't beat that. Overall - We will definitely be back. Our only dilemma is whether we stay at Anchor Cove or try out Battleship Row.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

17-24 April 2017

We stayed at the Battleship Row section. Making reservations was a bit of a hassle as the online system was uncooperative and the campground wouldn't answer the phone or return my phone calls. Eventually, after a few days of persistence, we were able to speak with the campground staff when transferred from the Navy Getaway 800 number. Once we arrived, registration at the entrance office was painless. We were met by the Camp Hosts when we arrived at the Battleship Row section and given a list of the 8 available sites. They suggested we look at all of them and pick whichever we'd like. We settled at a site near the rear of the campground and was able to receive DISH Satellite and Verizon 4GLTE. We absolutely enjoyed our stay and the surrounding area. Spent two days exploring the National Naval Aviation Museum and viewing the Blue Angels Practice sessions. We will visit again.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

June 2016

Great location. Campground was kept clean. Although the weather was very hot and humid, the camping experience was enjoyable.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

1 Dec 2015

This is our 6th yr to stay for up to the max of 90 days at Blue Angels on B side (battleship row). It's always been great for us, but new manager took over a few months ago & has only made it better. Mike & crew at check in do a great job & Mike(cg Host)is very visible & I see a grounds crew here almost every day, rest rooms & laundry is still very clean. There has never been a time when park was completely full but premium sites(facing bay)are usually only available if you wait a few days.  It's a little isolated, but NEX, commissary, NAS hospital & VA clinic are only 7-8 minutes away. FHUs + 50amps @ $540 a month, could it be better???

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Oct 23, 2015

This is a great Fam Camp. We arrived early in the afternoon on a Friday and stayed 6 days. Did a quick ride around to check out open sites. Camp Host Mike, stopped us very nicely, gave us quick advice and took my wife around in the cart to find a spot while I unloaded our tow vehicle. Extremely courteous staff. This is off base, a bit out of the way but still a very nice camp. Clean facilities, nice if smaller laundry and still only $1.00 to wash / dry. We will be back, there is so much to do and see in the area and we had a nice experience.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

March 1-5, 2015

This is a true gem of an RV park. At least Battleship Row is great! (didn't go look at Anchor Cove) Nice sized sites, very friendly people and access to the beach and the bay! Good weather while I was there, except for the freezing temps the last night. There are two restroom/laundry facilities, but even the older one was clean. Great walking path into the woods for the dog. I highly recommend this park and will be back!!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

November 2014

What a great experience! Our first visit here and will look forward to coming back! Stayed on the "B" side, large spacious sites on level concrete pads, easy in and out, beautiful setting with some amazing trees and small but very pretty beach area. Clean laundry, beautiful sunsets and a peaceful atmosphere. Disc golf park, paint ball park, cabins for rent, sailing and kayak rentals and very nice pavilions on the beach area for gatherings. Dollar store and small grocery not far away. Corry Station commissary and Exchange about 15 minutes away.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

APR 16 - MAY 16 2014

V.O. left this review using the Directory software: - WONDERFUL PARK. GREAT JOB BY MIKE. CAMP HOSTS WERE NOT ENCOUNTERED. STAYED IN BATTLESHIP ROW SIDE. ENJOYED. PROPANE IS OFFERED ADJACENT TO OUTDOOR RECREATION RENTAL (NEXT TO ENTRANCE TO WAGON WHEEL SIDE). NOT GOOD ACCESS/EXIT FOR BIG RIGS.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Apr 19-20, 2014

We stayed at campground A (Anchor Cove). The sites here do not have sewer hook ups but for only $13 a night it's one of the best bargains anywhere. Wonderful, shaded sites with water views, literally steps from the beach. The septic dump facility for Anchor Cove is oddly located at the far end of the campground, so you have to pull your rig through some very narrow and windy turns with big trees guarding the edges of the dirt roads. It was so scary looking I did not even attempt to get to the septic dump site. Other than that one drawback we loved the place and would definitely return.

Was this review helpful to you? 
41 results - showing 1 - 20  
1 2 3