James E. Johnson Memorial RV Park

 
3.7 (38)
138024   0   19   1   37

User reviews

17 reviews with 4 stars

38 reviews

 
(8)
 
(17)
 
(11)
 
(1)
 
(1)
Overall rating 
 
3.7
 
3.8  (38)
 
3.2  (38)
 
3.9  (38)
 
3.8  (38)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
17 results - showing 1 - 17  
 
Ordering 
 
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

March 6-10, 2017

We never saw any signs directing to the campground. When we arrived we asked the gate security who to get to the campground. "Right, left, right and you'll see it." About the time we thought we'd made the wrong turn somewhere, about 1 mile after the last "right" we found it. However, we missed the building where sign in was located and had to go back. Sign in/registration is the brown quanset hut before you get to the campground. There's a large parking lot at the quanset hut so there's no problem getting any vehicle combination in and out of the parking lot. Our campsite was long, clean, and great view of the lake. During our stay it was quiet. We saw very little activity on the installation. We did not find a BX/PX or commissary. There isn't a whole lot to do nearby but it is less than 1 hour drive into either St Augustine or Jacksonville.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

17-21 November 2016

Signage directing you to the park did not exist. There appears to be only one gate open onto the installation, which is co-located at the museum entrance. Nice RV concrete pad campsite, things are a bit old but functional. Our 50amp breaker was inop when we arrived. Our site was next door to the camp host, and I notified him. Within a short time, a maintenance technician arrived and replaced the breaker. The lake is very scenic and was a short walk from our patio area. The price ($24.75 a night) is at the high end of military campgrounds. And they charge you an additional $2.75 fee for pets. Still a fair value, but not a bargain in my opinion.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

October 2016

Very nice, quiet and clean. Worth your time and money. Visited in October. Will be very hot in the summer.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.4
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

October 21st-23rd 2016

We arrived on Friday October 21st about 1 pm. I followed the directions on the website and it was right on the money. At the end of Hollywood St. is the Check in office straight across Avenue B. Its a large parking lot so it makes a great place to unhook the toad if you are not going to a pull thru spot. Check in was no issue, she asked for our dogs rabies certificate then wrote pet on the two cardboard placards for the car and the sign in front of your site to slip the other in. They have a straight drive in to the 9 pull thru sites from this parking lot. For the other sites they are just a short, very short drive to the other RV area then the tent area. We were on site #24 which was very nice and facing the lake. Most sites are concrete slabs with full hookups and 30/50 amp power pedestals.They rent canoes, paddle boards, and kayaks where you check in at. it was very windy so we didn't do either this time. Pets are only allowed at the campground and no where else on base. Also there is a $2.75 per day per pet fee taken at check-in. There is a small restaurant by the check in office at the Convention Center building. We didn't utilize it either. Its about 8 miles to Starke from the base, which has anything you may want, restaurants, Walmart, gas stations.They have fire barrels on most sites but not all. we checked out the WWII Museum at the front gate on Saturday and it was very nicely stocked, outside aircraft and tank displays too. Donations accepted. Lots of shade and huge pine trees in the 1-29 site section. The newer section was quite open with little to no shade. There was only a bath house in the tent section, and a bathroom in the new area.There is a dog Park in the old section also. A couple of docks in the tent section for fishing or swimming too. We like quiet and this place was. We would go back again. They have some special rates for the winter also right now going on. 

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

18 - 27 Oct 2014

Not sure what previous reviewer meant about pets. A number of folks in the campground had their pets with them. However, pets are not allowed on the rest of the base. But little reason to visit the rest of the base as there are little other resources on the base. We enjoyed our stay and will be back but we got off to a rocky start. We had occasion to arrive several days early and called them repeatedly that AM from about 0900 until we got here at 1140 and there was no answer! When I asked them why they were not answering their phone they got all huffy about it "They do answer the phone!" They were not in the office when we arrived and did not return from lunch until 1315. So if you need them don't wait until the last minute to call.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

March 1, 2014

The RV park is run by MWR, not by the billeting office. In making our reservations, we learned that all RV sites have been upgraded and are now 20/30/50 with water and sewer or, as we love to say, full hookup. The older section known as Camp Johnson, sites 1-29, is really nice with lots of trees for shade and an unobstructed view of the lake. They also have picnic areas and swings right on the water. Very peaceful, very nice. The newer section, sites 31-49, is down the road a bit. This area is all paved sites and, unfortunately, they stripped out all vegetation. You still have access to the lake but it is not as nice as the old section. We do not use and did not evaluate public facilities. We live local and will definitely come back so will check them out next time around.

  • File Description
    File Size
    File Type
    Downloads
  • New RV Area Map
    Map of the "new sites."
    122 KB
    4016
Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: February 29, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

23 Feb 2012

Found the campground to be an excellent choice. I can't speak of the facilities i.e. bath house etc. as we did not need them. People were nice when we checked in, and we had no problems while we were there for 5 nights. I did find water pressure to be a little low, but no other problems. Access into Blanding was easy, guard came out and directed us to outside lane to avoid getting too close to guard house. All in all a very pleasant experience except for having to drive to Starke for any dining outside the campsite. No cable or Wi-fi, but antenna brought in a number of acceptable channels.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: March 06, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

March 4 - 6, 2011

They have made several improvements here in the last year or so. The formerly dusty pot hole plagued road in the "old" RV section has been paved - sort of. They have put down old ground up asphalt from who knows where and compacted it very well. Not a perfect paving job, but a welcome improvement nonetheless. They have also added a couple of covered pavilions with tables, fire pits, and grills. The biggest change is the new RV section located on the other side of the primitive area. This has 20 full hook up sites with long, wide, level concrete pads. There are now 50 full hook up sites plus the five located in the primitive area. The only poor part of this is that they clear cut all the trees and destumped the area in order to make it easier to put the utilities underground. Hopefully they will plant some tree in this area to provide some shade in the years to come. The sites are also a bit close together, but not oppressively so. Adding bath houses to the two RV sections would be O.K., but a more welcome improvement would be putting laundry facilities in the quonset hut where the office is located. There is plenty of room in there and I've got to believe this could easily be a revenue generator for the operation.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: November 15, 2010)
Overall rating 
 
4.4
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Nov 3 - 30, 2010

We were here a week and loved it so much decided to stay another 3 weeks. This is the off season for this recreational facility so stay limit of 21 days does not apply. Pay for 2 days and 3rd day is free. We are in the new section and have it all to ourselves. Very quiet and dark at night. They have a very strict pet policy (which is good). Other campgrounds I have complained because dogs have been left in the campers all day, alone and barking. Not here. In fact they have a section where no dogs are allowed, also no dogs on post.If you have a dog it is limited to the campground and cannot be left alone. There is no commissary, but they have a consolidated dinning facility that is so reasonable ($4.75) we eat there more times a week than I cook. There is also a restaurant beside the campground office which is open several times during the week. Nice roads for walking and a small gym. Laundry room was not very clean. Camp Blanding is in the middle of nowhere but we have found many places to ride our motorcycle, flea markets, St. Augustine, Jacksonville, the Ocala Forest, Orange Park, the dog track. And a great little seafood restaurant outside the gate to the left. We will stay here again.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

1-30 March 2010

For some reason we've return to this facility three years in a row, each year discovering more history about Camp Blanding. Again this year, the camp hosts were not seen by us for the entire visit. We were able to stay at Primitive Site #1 with full hook-ups the entire time with no prior reservations. The primitive area does have a bath house which has cleaned about once a week. The closest laundry was at the lodge (it was not clean). They are working on 18 more sites with bath and laundry facilities. If you visit, don't miss the museum. It is small but very informative. Learn about the post and the German POW camp and the roll Camp Blanding played in WW II.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Feb. 28-March 8, 2010

Stayed here from Feb. 28-March 8. Very pleasant stay. Our reserved site was #4, right on the lake...beautiful view and excellent site to put out our canoe. I would recommend reserving this site. View from camper at sunset was gorgeous! Office was closed when we arrived, but went over the next morning and had no trouble signing in. TV reception and cell phone service was very good. Starke was the nearest city but was only around 10-15 minutes away. There is a small exchange on base with limited items. We really enjoyed our stay...and the weather FINALLY warmed up. As was stated in other reviews, there are no bathroom facilities in the RV section, but we didn't need them. Only problem we had was a "tripped" transformer that supplied our site and the one next to us. A squirrel triggered the tripping...one FRIED squirrel!! We reported the problem and within a couple of hours, the transformer was fixed. We would eagerly recommend this Famcamp for anyone wanting a relaxing and quiet time. Don't know what it's like in the summer, but winter was great.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

April 21, 2009

G. B. left this review using the Directory software: What pleasant surprise. The camp ground is on a lake shore of a nearly perfect round example of a Florida sink hole lake (estimate it's about 2 miles in diameter). CG is clean and quiet. The roads are hard packed gravel/shell surfaces. We have a full hook up (50 amp/'water/sewer) which is better than many other sites I've visited. The paved pads are large (my 40 foot coach has lots of room) and are quite level. Many of the sites face the lake. The grounds have several trees but there are a number of sites that are open and have unrestricted access to sat TV signals. We're only here for one night but I'll definitely come back for a longer stay just see if the lake has a fish population commensurate with it clarity and cleanliness. It appears you can beach or anchor your boat on the shore in front of you site. If you're considering boating, I ask the friendly office folks for guidance on this subject before you come. The office hours are from 0830 at 1630.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

17-24 Jan 2009

Jean (office lady) was friendly enough, stayed in my FW for a week while I was working with an ARNG BN on the north part of the camp; other reviews are accurate: beautiful lake-front campground but many semi-absentee "6-month" stayers limits site availability; poorly thought out landscaping has probably done more harm than good in area around newer sites; (I have posted latest site map so you can see the added sites others have described); base PX is OK (small "field" PX but adequate); Starke is 10-min down SR16 to W; JAX outskirts is about 30 mins NE and St Augustine is about 30 min SE; I got about 12 channels (digital and analog) with a standard roof antenna; you can launch boats/canoes etc from the shore or the nearby REC dock; there's a Conference Center/Restaurant within walking distance (Moody Hall, see REC Area map) that opens for daily meals on weekdays; concur that a bath house in the RV area and laundry facility would be most welcome. The primitive area had the 5 pads mentioned previously as well as several partial (no sewer) sites which serve as overflow when the RV area is full. The lake is beautiful, clear and does, indeed, have great sunsets.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

April 20 2008

The bathrooms showers needed cleaning. The office personnel were friendly. Had a good spot by the lake. Had a lot of new contruction pertaining to RV parking. It will take time to complete but will make the stay better. Over all enjoyed the stay, it was nice.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

25 Mar-28 Mar 07

Nice lake. Clear, clean, scenic. Driving more than 5 mph in park creates a lot of dust. Will stay again. Could use a shower/washroom in RV section. Hook-ups are 50/30 amps, water (clorine heavy), and sewer. Fire pit and grill on each site. Many birds to watch!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

---

I used to camp there ten or so years ago WOW what a change, new pads, 6 month stays are available plus pets. Pets have to be registered prior to your stay, fax or mail a shot record. I have my spring break location again.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Oct 2006

Lake Kingsley is beautiful! Very quiet park. Ask for sites 1-5 in "overflow" - no amenities on base. 11 mile drive to Starke. Near Jacksonville for full base amenities. Rough dirt roads. No bathhouse otherwise would give it a '5'.

Was this review helpful to you? 
17 results - showing 1 - 17